GALLERY: 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis – preview pics

2014_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_Malaysia_ 001

Not much longer before the 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis is launched in Malaysia – in fact, the UMW Toyota site offers a countdown as to when that’ll happen. We’ve seen the car on trailers and through classified ads on oto.my, and now, here’s a set of photos offering a quick peek at the local specification Altis, taken from the media preview drive that’s currently taking place.

As previous posts have highlighted, the new Altis range will be made up of three variants, the baseline 1.8 E, which is priced at RM114k, the 2.0 G at RM123k and the range-topping 2.0 V at RM136k.

The white car here in the lead pix is the high-spec Corolla Altis 2.0 V, easily distinguished by those striking 17-inch alloy wheels, which are wrapped with 215/45 Michelin rubbers. An “Additional Safety Package” is available for the particular variant, and this increases the airbag count to seven (front, side, curtain, driver’s knee) and adds on a passenger seat belt warning indicator. It also brings the price of the 2.0 V up to RM139,900.

We’ve already driven the 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis in its top 2.0V form. Read our full review here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sam Lou on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:00 pm

The best Corrolla design ever. Finally Civic can bow out.

Thanks to Kia and Hyundai, now Toyota forced to change its design style.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 36
    • Obama on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:53 pm

The design is has so much sharp curve, which is kind of unpleasant to my eye, interior looks not that solid with proton feel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 25
      • OMG, so cheap 139k for 7 airbags.
        I thought Preve is the cheapest since it’s 6 airbags for 73k!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 17
        • carlies on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:47 pm

Nice car! Good looking and good job Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • Iskhalifah on Jan 17, 2014 at 8:24 am

73k Thats the cfe. Even the non cfes below rm60k all have 6 airbags & ESC as standard. LED drl also standard.

See with the double price, does the altis is two times better than the preve? Does it mean those drive altis twice as successful as preve owners? (att: sam loo) I dont think so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • alldisc on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:16 pm

loses all the tax and corolla altis can be even cheaper than preve cfe.

one main reason why proton cant be competitive in international market – production costs still too high.

if dont believe, go check UK car price. persona 1.6 is not that much cheaper than golf 1.6, or focus 1.6 – spec-to-spec.

• With the price of it, I doubt so

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Valeo on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Nice design but overpriced. Hurts me each time when I see the price list

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:04 pm

This is the car with best RV and only those who has standard can afford this car. It is symbol of success and not like the hailat kimchi driver that always cry after trade in their K5 to my boss Sam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 64
      • yup….it is for ppl with standard…..KANGKUNG standard!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 15
        • Why the f**K you buy car just to have high resell value?

If you want to buy a car because you want to sell back the car,better don’t buy at all.

You think konon sudah pandai hal-hal ‘investment’ ka? Hey,stupido. Car is not asset lah. It depreciates every year. How the f**k want to invest?

wow. Malaysians are getting stupid every day meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 13
          • It can be an investment. You just must know which car to buy. Ferrari Enzo went for USD660k new. Now its USD1m+.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
          • Kenny on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:52 pm

When buy a car, some people look at RV, some look at design, some look at safety. Dif people Dif opinion and needs. So jaga your mouth, dun fXXk people. Your God will come after you.

• don’t waste your time on this junk. wait for mazda 3 skyactiv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 20
    • Nissan on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:23 pm

so much money for a larger vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Truth hurts on Jan 17, 2014 at 8:55 am

If you look at all robberies on cctv shown on Facebook, you will notice that robbers always drive Toyota’s. That explains the demographics of Toyota owners. Ha, ha, ha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • benny on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Personally i think it’s the best looking c-segment car, even better than mazda 3 heheheh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 61
  • SamLoo on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:04 pm

This one a must buy! Good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 65
  • hondaman on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:05 pm

UMW is saying safety is only for the rich.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 5
    • Rich people go for BMWs Mercedes. Poor people just want everything without paying. This is UMW way of saying “poor people work harder and smarter so that you can afford those BMWs Mercedes”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 42
      • bvc100 on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:36 pm

That statement rather sounds like Sam Loo’s. Ah, forgot. He’s a T guy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • sam69 on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:10 pm

poor malaysian only can afford kangkung!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 7
    • Apparently it works? If people are willing to pay RM114k for a car without VSC, why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
  • victortan on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:06 pm

meaning that, for UMW, safety is an option or extra, that’s pathetic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 2
    • theanswer on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:26 pm

sad. top safety spec should be available on low spec too. give them fabric seat, metal rims..but dont forget safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • ben yap on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Toyota is trying to tell their customer, if you want safety, pay for it. if not, you can go and die.

• humbug…

• DrCooper on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:11 pm

wonder why LCD panel is located at very low part of the center dash ? most car nowaday has it on very top to ease the driver glancing at it while driving….otherwise its look like a good car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • typical toyota. i don’t think their engineers understand ergonomics. not sure they even have degree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • kambinganas on Jan 16, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Betul tu! Macam nak bagi orang kat belakang tengok, bukan untuk driver.

• puterakupang84 on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:12 pm

nice car but with terrible price:(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 3
    • So the choice is a highest end ALTIS or an entry level ACCORD?

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:14 pm

140k for a segment C ? While others can do it from 100k ? You had got to be kidding me!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 4
    • Yoursay on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Our car tax couples with flimsy Ringgit what do you expect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 56
      • So UMW Toyota is the only car company in Malaysia which have to pay tax?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
      • Dude, everybody knows about the tax.
        But this is clearly tax + extra markup

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 2
    • HondaLover on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:42 pm

At least better than Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 109
      • DrCooper on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:52 pm

And what that ‘least’ thing saying it better than cerato ? please don’t tell me the reliable brand blah bla blah BS coz that is the past story of toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 18
        • Gentleman on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:49 pm

in US consumer Report.
          2013 October:
          shows Top 10 reliable brand, No.1 = Lexus. No.2 = Toyota.

Kia Hyundai is out of Top 10.
          Ford is the bottom 10.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Cerato rapes this fugly sh1tbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 22
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 19, 2014 at 12:09 am

Cerato should be compared with India and China manufacturers

• DrCooper on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:15 pm

And no rear aircond vent? For C segment car selling over RM140k+…can report to consumer tribunal already for rip off !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo 2 on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:17 pm

This car will breakdown in river Kangkung..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 14
  • Gentleman on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Classic Dashboard boosting the luxury.
    Most important is the Quality = Reliability.

Unfortunately is that the feature is quite little.
    To me still a great choice! I dont want a car that is less reliable wasting my time going for too much of repair & fixing.

Pondering between 3 choices:
    Altis, Prius or Lexus CT200h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 63
    • hoong on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Most important is the Quality = Reliability?? So it seems to you safety is not at all a criteria. I hope Malaysian car buyers will emphasize more on the importance of safety specs in vehicles, apart from quality and reliability. 6 airbags, VSC and the like should be made standard, not a premium.

Don’t for one minute imagine that accidents happen only to others….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • sudonano on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:19 pm

It will look better without the bodykit imo.

Such a pity, decent looking car. but destroyed by a poor spec list and insane price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
  • Xplorer on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Hmmm… No New Tech Engine lor ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • SpongeWai on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:21 pm

which is better?!

Honda Civic or Toyota Corolla Altis or Nissan Sylphy or Mazda 3 or Mitsubishi Lancer or Subaru Impreza?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Kia Cerato. you buy a car to drive not a car to resell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 18
      • civicEK on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:51 pm

kia cerato handling macam sampan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 25
      • SpongeWai on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:11 pm

no Kia Cerato please…

I prefer Kia Forte rather than Cerato

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • SpongeWai on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Kia Cerato is good car but not good enough…

if I choose Kia Cerato, I prefer Kia Forte 1.6SX rather than add up RM25k for Cerato 1.6

unfortunately discontinued already… USED Kia Forte very hard to find now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • HondaLover on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Either Honda Civic or this new Altis.
      Remember,never consider a Korean car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 49
      • not all korean car, elantra is not bad, but cerato is really sucks….too much vibration, if dun believe can go test drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • carguy on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Driving experience > Lancer, Impreza, Mazda 3
      Comfort > Sylphy, Altis
      Current gen Civic are kind of a mix bag, doesn’t have a sporty ride as the previous gen, and not as comfortable as it should be, and it is not cheap either. So better avoid it. This new Altis also overpriced for what you get. In my opinion, Sylphy is the best bang for your bucks if you are looking for comfort, and remember it is fairly cheap as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
      • You call yourself carguy and you dont have the Focus listed in your driving experience list? just saying :)

• theanswer on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:28 pm

and he did mention lancer too! lol. not sure why impreza is there..if impreza is there..where is focus st or megane rs?

• carguy on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:32 pm

I only categorized those that are shortlisted by Sponge War, since he mentioned impreza. And the Lancer I mentioned is the Lancer gt, not the evolution. Not sure why impreza is in his list though since it is a sport car as supposed to a c segment family car.

• APKing on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Altis is the original king of sampan la!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 19, 2014 at 12:15 am

If you are a smart buyer, you would get the Hyundai Elantra instead.

Everthing else under the skin is the same design with the K3.

For Forte, knowing that it is assembled by Naza, quality is worse than Proton or Perodua

• crokco on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:26 pm

there is 1 more choice in this price, which is Mazda 3 Skyactive, Underpowered good FC New altis(safety package) or Hipowered good FC Mazda 3 Skyactiv std 6 airbag( come with commander system( mazda speak for i-drive), pls help me decide , hmmm..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • garry bertran on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Not feelin the dashboard..

• hmm.. i just don’t like the design.. just a boring design, no wow factor.. nothing special about it.. sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • YoungMan on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:37 pm

from the back, bumper belakang make it looks just like nissan almari…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
  • TS.Lim on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:45 pm

For this gen of Altis, you guys can only take the 1.8 variant into your consideration if you plan to buy car. The both 2.0 variant is very very overpriced and use same engine and gearbox as previous gen, unlike the 1.8 variant is using new gearbox instead.
    I read through reviews of this gen from sources from other countries, 1.8 is perform better (by a very small margin) and have better FC, due to the implementation of new gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • dugong on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:41 pm

NO need to read elsewhere. UMW’s own brochure shows the 1.8 got better acceleration 0-100kmh and higher top speed than 2.0. But they will easily get away with it as most toyota buyers are car noobs anyway.

• james on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:46 pm

only malaysia get 2.0
    (singapore 1.6, thailand & taiwan 1.8 only)
    based on the engine spec, it’s more than enough just buy 1.8 but greedy UMW marketing know how to earn more money by just plain spec for 1.8… terrible marketing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • price so damn mahal some more! let just wait for NAP 2014.. good news? great news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Altis is good car but the price is….. I would wait for new nissan sentra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Get ASX folks.. ASX.. Got paddle shifts some more.. Forget this Altis.. Very few on the road dy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Im always hoping this model can beat Kia K3 in term of safety, design,performance etc..but i only see nothing;(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Confuser on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Where is the 1.8 halogen projector?? Y I only see halogen headlight without projector?

• honest on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:07 pm

I dont like the front grille
    inspira front grille is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • jolly_idiot on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Sam loo is busy receiving orders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • chung78 on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:12 pm

considering 2014 K5 optima facelift.direct inject engine with 6 speed transm.plus get all the best tech from korea.i like the new dashboard which more driver focus.buying the car to enjoy their tech,drivability..not thinking about resale.still sad though optima K7 and K9 are not getting introduction yet in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • dont know what’s wrong with toyota n honda designers these days. interior seriously looks cheap and ugly. hyundai looks cheap also but at least not too bad. i personally don’t prefer the futuristic look by other asian cars but this is downright yuck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • policeman on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:16 pm

wah…this car got clock.
    The only other car I know that has clock is Exora.

• roxas on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:28 pm

for ur info, elantra n cerato have them too.

• net5zcd on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Aston Martin, Porsche, Bentley, all have clocks. Analog clocks. Digital clocks are used by Old skool Honda accords, Exora….Toyota should have used Seiko watches inside their cabin. Or at least Casio la.

• KoreanCAR on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:30 pm

this Altis Looks nice but price is too higher …
    now all play LED… but Altis don’t have..

and same with camry : boring design, boring handling..kosong Spec and nothing special about it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Philipo on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:31 pm

I need you guys opinion on which car should I go for as I listed below….
    Honda Civic/Toyota Corolla Altis/Mitsubishi Lancer/Mazda 3 Skyactive….??

• It_All_About_The_Drive on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Specs alone can only tell you so much, real driving “feel” is much more important. Wait for the cars to launch and go test drive them to really know which one fits you best…

• Acrix on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:29 pm

All depends on what you are looking for in the car. Below are some of my opinion

Features, specs and tech wise: Mazda 3 > Civic/Altis
      Space and comfort: Altis > Civic > Mazda 3
      Drive and handling: Mazda 3 > Civic > Altis
      Safety: Altis(with safety package) > Mazda 3 > Civic > Altis (normal spec)
      Price: Civic (RM115980-136980), Altis (RM114000-139000), Mazda 3 (CBU)(RM138935.50)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • kambinganas on Jan 16, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Mazda 3 specs bagus? You ada baca the Mazda 3 posting today tak? The Mazda 3 has the worst specs for the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Philipo on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Thanks alot bro..

• net5zcd on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:41 pm

shud only consider Altis or Mazda la. The rest too damn 7 common on the road. You buy these 2 cars now, At least now you drive to mamak got ppl look at you. The rest people treat you as invisible. Wanna hook some chicks, get these 2.

• amirad on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Rear looks spacious. That multi segmented dashboard needs getting used to. Overall, nice looking.

• Ku Nazri on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:58 pm

dashboard yang mengecewakan…

• Equip 1.8E with VSC then it is worth buying it…

• But … at the end of the day people still buy T & H.

• net5zcd on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:44 pm

All because of resale value. They want the depreciation like Myvi, but more class than Myvi. So they go T&H. But T&H won’t go wrong, cuz they are known for reliability and resale value. You buy Audi or VW, you pokkai along the way. Unless you damn 7 rich, then ok.

• Y.C Low on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:19 pm

How much is 123K gone to taxes?

• Where is Sam Loo, the original??

• Tok Berlagak on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:40 pm

The basic Luxury that give you Quality and Comfort.

Goverment bila janji capati 20-30% car price reduction?!

• the dashboard is 1 of a kind.
    looks like an upgraded version of K2 corolla my grandpa had..

• Sam loo on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:52 pm

received so many orders today,what a tired day…thanks for support

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Whitegoods on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:02 pm

OK – now that the Mazda 3 was given a good beating by those who want to fit an entire family in it, how many people do we want to fit into the Altis (note: C-class car) so that the T boys can be happy?

• NISSpengAN on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:05 pm

coming soon Nissan sylphy sure will tapau New altis anytime !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • net5zcd on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:49 pm

Maybe. But the name…..Nissan Syphilis?
      Can’t they name it back to Sentra.

• Heskey on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Not really excited. Need to tease harder.

• heybadigol on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:09 pm

To be honest, think the car looks good with the bodykit. Interior is good looking too, though not sure about how they feel (hard or soft plastics). US reviewers all loved the huge sized interior which they said rivalled almost D segment sedans. Hate to say it, but think UMW is gonna be laughing all the way to the bank, and Bermaz may have to reconsider the specs and pricing for the Malaysian Mazda3.

• kambinganas on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:06 pm

I hope Bermaz wises up. Unlike UMW, their service centers and parts stock is not up to par. Bermaz needs to build up their reputation first, otherwise they will ruin the local Mazda brand. They will end up like SD-Hyundai, overpriced cars with insufficient service centers.

Currently Bermaz, can’t even cope with the demand for CX-5 and are losing customers.

• net5zcd on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:51 pm

Yeah, their sales personnel….told me will call me when the parts arrived. After 2 months, I called them…..the advisor said, “oh!!! it just came down from the plane”…..I bet it has been there damn long, and they forgot about me, their not-so-valuable customers

• nabill on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:22 pm

vios philosophy , change body n design,keep the old mechanicals…i agree that thr a number of othr cars to consider at that price range…bt targeted buyers r nt that darey to go othr brands…thy dont care or ignorant if thrs another car thats bigger n better n same price…their buyrs target a corolla n nothing else..

• 114k ? better get recon toyota wish

• thefact on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Why You Should Buy The 2014 Corolla?

– You’re the kind of person who doesn’t mind getting middle-of-the-range MPG and bottom-of-the-range performance.
    – You’re the kind of person who doesn’t mind a rough, unsettled ride on broken pavement.
    – You like a car that seems a little flimsy.P
    – Quantity is quality.
    – You don’t like to break the mould.
    – Groundbreaking design isn’t really your thing.
    – For you, “not bad” is good enough.

http://jalopnik.com/the-2014-corolla-is-2003s-best-new-car-1208955434

• It’s a good car in the sense that it is an improvement over the last on almost all respect. Bigger, better looking and I believe more frugal. It also finally can be had (with a premium fee)with a decent safety set-up. Cerato aside which price and spec is enough to humiliate this, I believe this is a very competitive offering from UMW in the C-segment class.

I really appreciate UWM for at least thinking of offering a well spec corolla, but please improve the basic safety and equipment offering, the base spec or anything lesser than the highest spec is a big disappointment. Good move, but more needs to be done.

• mustbeJoking on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:26 pm

You can appreciate what Toyota offering but you are just nothing for them to appreciate you

• I do not expect any business to appreciate what I am doing, that’s why it’s call a business, not a charitable NGO. I am only a average Malaysian typing on my phone about my thought on the article, I have not save the company nor have I done anything to benefit the company.

UMW has offered us a 7 airbags with VSC version of the Altis, knowing fully that UMW could easily given us no spec for the top spec. It’s a step in the right direction even thou it’s not enough ,that’s all I’am saying. I’am not giving a divine command theory to buy an Altis, if you definitely need a Toyota , there’s now a good spec Toyota on sale for the cash, are you implying that UMW should stick to the status quo and give no safety whatsoever on the Altis. Besides, when Hyundai does it for the high spec 2.0 Tucson, no one complaint.

• Archangel on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Good car with bad price.

• Denaihati on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:20 pm

external appearance still ok for me, but dashboard to simple and not so attractive. in term of price almost not much different than honda civic. anyway toyota and reliability so synonym…heee

• kambingkangkung on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Lol better buy Honda Accord Rm139k better than 2.0v altis..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • net5zcd on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:52 pm

But Altis has 7 speed and will save more fuel than your accord.

• cloud 1704 on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Ford focus hv better spec, better ride and handling.
    And even Elantra and Cerato have way much better spec than this Altis.
    UMW as usual selling at cut throat price. Too bad, too many Malaysian worship Toyota. Haishhhh.

• roxas on Jan 16, 2014 at 7:02 pm

no doubt the best looking corolla, but in my eyes its still the fluidic elantra or the mazda3

• GrenPa on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:41 am

Maybe you are a girl.

Elantra is too cramp for me as a driver.
      I am only 170cm but the roof already touching my head while leaning @ driver seat.

• roxas on Jan 18, 2014 at 12:14 am

im a boy, stil ahd plenty of headroom in the front. mayb the seat height is too high when u sit ?

• Shaun on Jan 16, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Finally a gud looking car from toyota. After seeing the latest camry, i was quite hopeless but now i still some hope. The price is high due to our govt policies not cuz umw wants to rip us off.

Thanks to korean cars who have brought sexy back :)

• NISSpengAN on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Coming soon 2004 Nissan sylphy it’s the best looking c-segment car.

• NISSpengAN on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Sorry type wrongly !!!Coming soon 2014 Nissan sylphy it’s the best looking c-segment car.

• sl_tan on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:43 pm

buy preve save at least 40k

• kelvin on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Why the interior so ugly? Walao look at the dashboard design

• LIM KC on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:28 pm

UMW is saying safety is only for the rich. Only the 2.0V series can upgrade to 7 airbags! Better buy Peugeot or others europe cars.

• Ali Karim on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Do no laa… still looks …mmmm :-/

Lots of glaring plastic works. Keep trying TOYOTA.

• Seriously on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:57 pm

I prefer the American Corolla version better.

• roxas on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:31 pm

and the T owners will thought they drive a lexus and nose pointing high !

• Vinz91 on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:20 am

Well to be honest…Malaysian specs look much better than the one Turkey had… you can check them out here…

http://www.toyota.com.tr/cars/new_cars/corolla/index.tmex#spinDimensions

• aiya guys.. It’s “Toyota” ma.. Price it at 200k people will still buy it over a Honda or a Kia simply because they believe it’ll last them decades and still have good RV

• walalah on Jan 17, 2014 at 8:33 am

this is nice car.. dun be silly.. sour grapes always expensive to be tasted..wahaa..

• toyota on Jan 18, 2014 at 12:25 pm

i thought all variants get an projector head lamp ?info from toyota offical website?…

• AntiSocial on Jan 18, 2014 at 5:31 pm

HAIH!!! Car expensive, house expensive, everything also expensive. How to survive in this country… HAIH!!!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 19, 2014 at 12:17 am

“Kalau tak suka negara ini, berhijarahlah” – quote from the stupidest politician in Bolehland

• John Lim on Jan 19, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Spec wise it is almost the similar with proton suprima s. I would rather buy a suprima s rather than this overpriced corolla.

• Fool online on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:11 pm

rather save its depreciated value and go for bmw 116i next year……

• MYNAME on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Please Toyota, bring in manual also like in US.

• mudassar.latif on Feb 07, 2014 at 1:03 am

outstanding car superb!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Hyundai79 on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:31 pm

To those who criticized the comments or this car, first ask yourself a question, could you afford this buy it? If not keep your rubbish mouth shut !!

• Hyundai79 on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:32 pm

To those who criticized the comments or this car, firstly ask yourself a question, could you afford to buy it? If not keep your rubbish mouth shut !!

• veron soon on Aug 18, 2014 at 1:10 pm

do anyone know that how much for 1 set of toyota altis original rim in 17 inches?