Mazda 3 Sedan Malaysian specs revealed in slides

While part of our team is test driving the new Toyota Corolla Altis today, let’s have a look at that other C-segment sedan coming soon.

We found a set of what appears to be a set of slides walking through the different equipment level in an actual Malaysian spec CBU Mazda 3 Skyactiv Sedan. The walkthrough is pretty detailed, and points out what we’re going to get and in some cases what we aren’t going to get.

Our metre panel seems to be the version with a speedo in the center, flanked by two LCD displays. The RPM metre is a digital display in the left LCD. There is a different metre panel design with an analog RPM metre dial in the middle flanked by two LCD displays. In that version, the speedometre is a digital display in the bottom right quarter of the RPM metre.

Other notable equipment included are a sunroof, a MZD Connect infotainment display, the i-Stop auto start-stop system, keyless entry for the front doors, 18 inch wheels, amongst others.

View the slides below for the full details. You start from this slide and use your left and right arrow keys to navigate through the series of images.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 1st row legroom(inches)/2nd row legroom(inches)/bootspace(Litres)/Total passenger volume(cubic feet)
    Focus: 43.7/33.2/374/93.1
    Civic: 42.0/36.2/354/95.1
    Elantra: 43.6/33.1/419/95.4
    Cerato: 42.2/35.9/422/96.1
    Altis: 42.3/41.4/452/99.3
    Mazda 3: 42.2/35.8/408/96.2
    All cars are based on latest Sedan Models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • Preve?

• deficy on Jan 16, 2014 at 5:46 pm

OMG..so cheap this Mazada3 but specs is way better and price is wayyy cheaper than Preve!!! Thanks Bermaz for this very affordable pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
      • Tok Berlagak on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:11 pm

When Preve use Honda engine, You compare.

We dont want China Quality Campro Engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
        • Care to explain china quality? As if other engines are perfect from any hiccups

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Gentleman on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:46 pm

This is why i love Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 57
      • BenchmarkSlide? on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Looks a lot like the work of Anil/Ateng…

• Not yet launched but the speedometer has gone for good, LOL

Mazda is not reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
          • Gentleman on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Mazda has always been Top 10 reliability..

On the other side,
            Toyota has always been top reliability.
            While Hyundai Kia hardly get into Top10.

It’s better buying a Mazda then Hyundai Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
          • kambinganas on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:45 pm

@Gentlemania, Hyundai is reliable. But just like this Mazda it is overpriced in Malaysia.

• The speedometre has broken. All lights are on when the needle shows 240km/h.

Failed before launched. Better send back to whatever it comes from, china quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
          • bigman on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:31 pm

are u moron, lol ?cbu from japan will have china quality? n i think tat pic is took when it start the engine …u dunno nowadays when start engine those speedometer will turn? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • When you start engine the speed goes to max 240km/h? If the gear is in you will go straight into drain or wall. That’s dangerous.

Got problem even before launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
          • siputsedut on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Dude…

It’s not defective. The picture was taken while it’s in self-diagnostic mode. Have you ever seen Defi meters before..?

• lol how ignorant! its the speedometer initializing sequence when you power up the car.

• Better cancel the booking. meter panel broken already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
          • Dispointed mazda 3 malaysia spec on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:10 pm

soeedometer digital maa? never watch on utube ehhh?

• Hyundai is Reliable??

emm.

It’s not Top 10 reliable in the latest 2013 American Consumer Report.

• You forgot to bring in 2 cars that crush everything you mentioned.
      Nissan slyphy and Proton Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Proton Preve is can beat them??
        Preve has the shortest wheelbase for C-segment.

• SamAsCheap AsKangkiung on Jan 17, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Anytime better than Toyota.

• shame_Loo on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Quite disappointed with some of the missing features, eg. cruise control, front sensor, rain sensor, leather seat, bonnet insulation cover & etc. Surprise to see the big LCD screen and the “i-drive” type of interface which is missing in Mazda 6 over here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
    • Fabric, with no option for leather seats? booo….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Stevie on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Totally Agreed. quite disappointed that it comes with mid spec M3 despite the price is 139k for this segment. They don’t even have the leather seat as standard. Hopefully the CKD version is the full spec version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • kambinganas on Jan 16, 2014 at 5:21 pm

What is most disappointing is there is no BOSE sound system in this CBU spec. Mahal gile!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Nobita on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:46 pm

lot of new stuff. but basic stuff for C segment like auto headlamp, auto rain sensor, front sensor, ,front hood insulation, cruise control, dual zone air Cond, rear air Cond is missing

disappointing…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
    • New_loo on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:07 pm

True – basic C segment techno goodies might be missing, but I think Mazda would rather offer something new and leave the rest to the Kimchi’s to compete with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • theanswer on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:21 pm

true. most spec u mention above are standard on high spec c segment nowadays. 140k w/o leather seat? hurmm…

• sam69 on Jan 16, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Apa lu lagi lu mau, kasi kangkung you wan kangkang.. poor malaysian drive Toiyoita!

• Really can’t understand why there are so many comments here that emphasize on some missing specs in this car. Many failed to look at the bigger thing like direct injection engine, highly efficient fuel economy, safety features and most importantly the drivability for the driver himself. Instead they look at missing leather seats which I fitted on my car for 3k with a much better quality leather than standard one. For me is the overall satisfaction of driving a car instead of looking at specs that you may never even use it once. I don’t think I will use auto cruise for driving a fun car like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 42
      • kambinganas on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Are you going to say the same thing if they priced it even higher some more? All the things you have said can apply to the Ford Focus as well and it is much much cheaper. FYI, the Ford Focus is a CBU and has no import duty just like this Mazda. So why should people buy this car over the Ford Focus? Get it? It takes a lot more than some of the specs you mentioned to make a car successful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
      • zzzzz on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:37 pm

nowadays ppl wan everything but not willing to pay with high price …so thy will just remember the missing things, but not the new things thy hav added…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:50 am

Problem is people are paying more and more, yet they are still short changed. Because there are fools that believe people should pay more and more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • How far its fuel efficient? You go in KL or PJ all those won’t be efficient anymore. Take Vios,, only 11km.l.

This one might be 9km/l. That’s suck with that “modern” direct injection engine.

What satisfaction of driving this car? Can you explain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • This is a perfect example of people who just like to presume without getting to know more about the car. How did you know it will be 9km/l in pj and kl? Have you driven the car? Satisfaction of driving this car is to go and actually test drive it first and then talk. Not talk loads of bs before you even see the actual car. I m not saying this is a good or bad car, I am saying why talk about leather seats and etc before you even drive the car. I m just amazed that people are more inclined to say its good car when they are overwhelmed with specs but without knowing how they like it when they drive.

• gicci on Jan 18, 2014 at 9:16 pm

How did i know? Pls this is not rocket science thingy. Read more and figure it yourself

Btw have you read the might word in the comment? Sheesh

• shame_Loo on Jan 17, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Pitt, I don’t see anything wrong for people to looking into features or “wish list” to be “appear” in this new car. As you mentioned the engine related stuff, nothing new since skyactiv engine already appeared in some many model of Mazda. So, people will anticipate more into “features” & the price of the car. Smart consumer will look for balance pricing vs feature. Btw, you are not using cruise control, doesn’t mean other won’t use. I guess you won’t use the airbag too…..

• 1st row legroom(inches)/2nd row legroom(inches)/bootspace(Litres)/Total passenger volume(cubic feet)
    Focus: 43.7/33.2/374/93.1
    Civic: 42.0/36.2/354/95.1
    Elantra: 43.6/33.1/419/95.4
    Cerato: 42.2/35.9/422/96.1
    Altis: 42.3/41.4/452/(Biggest no doubt)
    Mazda 3: 42.2/35.8/408/96.2
    All cars are based on latest Sedan Models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Mazdas are for people who cannot afford Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 65
    • actually its VW….Audi is VAG premium badge

• All relative on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:34 pm

1 x Price of Audi A3 =
      1 x Price of Mazda 3 + trip for 2 to Berlin flying business class =
      1 x very happy Mazda 3 owner.

Conclusion: Mazda 3 owners could save the money that they would otherwise spend on an Audi to learn more about German culture than an Audi owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
      • After learning about German culture, they’ll buy the Audi they lust for. Good thing they do their research before buying into their dream.

• ARIFFIN on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:10 pm

There are many Audi owners who never travel to Europe cos they need to save to pay for their Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • ARIFFIN on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:08 pm

There are millionaires who use proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • Specs seems to be a bit disappointing. Both the Mazda 3 and Altis doesn’t seem to be worth the price tag of almost 140k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
    • theanswer on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:23 pm

i think current fav for worth to buy still ford focus *push aside leg room*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
    • Guan Yin Ma on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:40 pm

You think they UMW and BERMAZ want to price it so high ? No company want to sell their stuff at 2x the market price, all because of the TAX…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 29
      • kambinganas on Jan 16, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Ye ke? So they are not greedy at all? How kind of you to say that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • verba on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:51 pm

If price gets high proton bashers will say, “Ini semua salah Proton”

lol what a childish mindset.

• Put it this way, compared to the 2.0V Altis, this one has 6 airbags, CBU, 18″ wheels, DSC, TCS, istop, commander switch and 3 YEARS FREE MAINTANENCE..so if u choose the 2.0V over this, its obvious your some uncle who only cares about RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • kangkung chili padi on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:29 pm

3 years free maintenance is not free lar , is already packaged with that price!… so meaning to say, you paid for the maintenance!?!?!?! not such thing as FREE.

• kambinganas on Jan 16, 2014 at 5:31 pm

If you get the Altis with the safety package, it will have 7 airbags (bukan 6, tapi 7!) with all the safety specs in the Mazda 3 at roughly the same price. Plus you get all the other features/specs not available in this Mazda 3. The Altis is also a CBU unit by the way, it is not locally assembled.

So no, this Mazda 3 is very poorly specced for the price. Mind you, there is no longer 30% import tax for CBU units from Japan, so this high price poor specs is not justified just because it is CBU!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Mazda 3 CBU from Sushiland but I thought Altis is CBU from Tomyumland?? Anyone care to clarify?

• connot on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:53 pm

You get cheap torsion beam setup in Altis. C segment car will behave like cheapo car on roads with that setup.

What a waste of money.

• kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:15 am

And you get a bigger boot and more rear passenger space. So your point?

• connot on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:25 am

Torsion beam gives wobbly ride and lousy handling. Dun compare it with conti cars, it’s different.

• Well if the mazda 3 and altis(with add. safety) are similarly spec-ed and priced then imho id prefer a mazda brand over a toyota. Plus im sure it would be a more premium sight compared to an altis in the future. The skyactiv engine is proven to be fuel saving as well. Besides that things like multi-commander, skyroof, that touch of class and design arent small stuff. The free maintanence includes parts and labour which you would have to pay for an altis.

• And Audi is for ppl who cannot afford Bently… so?

And Suprima S is for people who cannot afford anything…. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
  • SpongeWai on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:17 pm

let’s talk about launching date

Toyota Corolla Altis launching date is next week

Mazda 3 launching in March??!

• nabill on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:18 pm

rear passenger space looks tight n crampy…bt the car is a looker!

• Kangkung on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Cut cost like nobody. zzZ

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:35 pm

So contrasting. New Altis coming out, Mazda 3 also coming out around same time. Nice marketing strategy ? or I should say purposly schedule it to launch at same time ? HAHAHA

• puterakupang84 on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:36 pm

so many features are missing…so dissapointed..with this price tag Mazda shud offer more to us…sigh…

• DrCooper on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:35 pm

I have to agree, after seeing the tags in those pictures, I feel Malaysian Mazda3 has no premium feel it ought to have with that price

• Makan kangkung boleh menjadi PM on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:38 pm

with this price tag,i can get 2 new alza and add tinted, new michilin tyre, full tank, free road tax, and insurance. to e frank, M3 price is overly priced.wrong strategy and it hurt the sales so much. But Bermaz may thinking to release small amt of CBU unit and focusing to bring in their CKD unit soon.therefore it price high.afterall, CKD will show sign of price dropping and price slash too. hope Bermaz is thinking to appoint me as Marketing CEO, so I can get free Mazda 3,6,7 or what so ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Wilson on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:41 pm

something i feel sad about:
    1) big tachometer in the center
    2) cruise control (which i think quite useful)
    3) Leather seats

but seriously for near RM140k, i thought everything should BAO(included) already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • farizY on Jan 16, 2014 at 5:01 pm

1)kinda like it
      2)never really use it
      3)I can make do with fabric

but RM140k? this I agree, too expensive. C-Segment cars are getting really expensive.

• baloney on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:44 pm

extremely good looking exterior but what a total ripped off. 140k with fabric seats and what’s with the hoax carbon on the window switches? look super myvi. and and.. the hud just breaks my heart

• Whatever on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:47 pm

The unavailability of Auto Cruise is a BIG turn off for me.. maybe wait until facelift version to see if they’ll come with that function.

• zoomzoom on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:48 pm

cheated…

• I like the way they emphasize “mid spec” in the last photo. Good sense of humor by stating the obvious…

• mazdaa on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:14 pm

maybe 2.5 is coming later after 2.0

• John Jenin on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:16 pm

What a ripped off..with those specs, better buy low spec Honda Accord.. much bigger and better RV. seriously wrong strategy executed by Bermaz. Then when the CKD comes, better specs and lower price, seriously will hurt the CBU RV..Poor first buyer of this model

• shawal on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Cruise control is alot more useful than a sunroof, how can brrmaz ommitted such an important n common feature..
    U pay 140k for fabric seats n each time u look at d steering devoid of extra buttons u know uve made a huge mistake spending a bomb on a midspec car

• This car is for showing off, not functionality. Same thing you find on Toyota Vios which looks like turbo car but kosong specs.

• DrCooper on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:28 pm

To sum up…This is a

Great car,
    with lousy spec
    and a ripped off price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Angela on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Internal is different with the catalog i get from Mazda showroom yesterday.
    How come there are 2 spec ? Oh gosh, this is so disappointing.
    I was planning to pay deposit tomorrow, now i might think about Altis

• Archangel on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Oh my, it will be considered as an overpriced car (with many basic features missing) if the price tag hit approximately or nearly 140k.

• ME WANT HUD!

• Why are these totally diff from the catalog they showed me ?

• such a good car, especially the hatchback but here….the specs really disappointing. Price at D segment, K5 ir xtra 3K for Accord, cant complain more about price due to high taxes but i bet they make quite a number of profit. I rather topup more and get V40 or CTH200 during promo with big discount.

• farizY on Jan 16, 2014 at 4:57 pm

I can’t help but noticed the cars prices are actually increasing instead of reducing. CBU maybe causing this? More spec? NAP 2014, 20% to 30% price reduction, come on, walk the talk.

• With one of the highest compact sedan price,it seems we r getting the 3i-sport with some xtra instead of 3i-Touring or Grand Touring specs. What a huge disappointment. Should hav offer BSM+LDW+TPMS instead of 18’rim + sunroof. The original perforated leather seats look amazing but surprisingly left out also. After a great start with cx5 & 6, this is a HUGE Disappointment

• y no 2.5 spec ge~

• That’s for showing off only, 2.0l driver will feel it’s 2.5l. Actually it’s underpowered and slow.

• superbird #43 on Jan 16, 2014 at 5:22 pm

DISI and 14:1 compression in a regular passenger car? thats a breakthrough….
    now, can they cope with our “watered-down” fuel quality in Msia?

• cropika on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:05 pm

i felt like Kia Picanto would have a better spec than this 140k c segment- ya i know wrong segment to compare but i trust that bermaz has future plans for CKD it to bring in full spec. like what volvo did for V40 la.. anyway- TS, u think will they CKD it?

• selatus on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:12 pm

Sure if you are willing to pay 170k for a C segmenter like this.

• irage on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:09 pm

I think the strategy from Bermaz is to put mid spec for CBU and high spec for CKD.. then they will say see higher spec with cheaper price!.. i think they try to avoid the CX5 issue where the CKD is a lot less specced that the CBU.. just my 2 cents!

• Agreed with you. If CKD were to be introduced later with unchanged price tag but with additional features that are missing in the CBU Jpn (like HUD, Auto Cruise, Leather seats, etc), they will think it’s worth it for us but we consumer would know that CKD parts are mostly locally sourced from vendors so quality level would reduce.

Just like how Honda DRB did for Civic Hybrid. 1st batch CBU from Jpn but later CBU from Thailand at the same price with additional features like DVD Navi reverse camera which is not found in the CBU Jpn.

• kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:46 am

Other than the BOSE speakers and sunroof, how is the CKD CX-5 a lot less specced? Can we expect Bermaz to include the BOSE system in the CKD Mazda 3 that was not included in the CBU units? Only the CBU units had the BOSE system for the current range. I know of other buyers that wanted the CBU spec because of the BOSE units and better sound proofing.

I only see Bermaz removing even more specs from the CKD spec (like the sunroof for example). I doubt they will be able to add things like the BOSE system as they do not have the facility to install these here.

• policeman on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Paul, its meter (instrument) not metre(measurement unit)

• Yes agree, HUGE disappointment! Going to retract my RM1k booking fee. No BOSE, no cruise control, no HUD, no leather seat are the main turn off with such price. Mazda, did u ever do market research what your customer wants???

• Annihilated on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:53 pm

TB, I share the same feeling with you. I am thinking of getting back my booking fee. If there’s fair number of people who cancel their Mazda3 bookings like us, I think we can send clear message to Bermaz about this.

• kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:36 am

Agreed. Bermaz must know we are not going to cut them some slack just because this car has received rave reviews overseas. We must be unforgiving just like when UMW shortchanged Camry buyers with poor safety specs.

• heybadigol on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Im surprised they are giving sunroof (which is useless in Malaysia), but only cloth seats, and no auto cruise (which are more important). This omission is ridiculous in a car costing almost RM140k. Im sorry, but I think you should wait for Bermaz to launch the 2.5 version, which will get all the good stuff, and will only cost slightly more. They did it with the Mazda CX5, they may just do it for the 3.

• Nasi lemak on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:38 pm

A big let down after seeing the specs, it’s better u get a Kia cerato. A older forte 2.0 is way better than tis . Spend few more bucks get an accord.

• Annihilated on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:48 pm

I’m disappointed. I actually put RM 1K booking for this car in OU last November.

While it is nice that they include iStop and i-ELOOP, it’s just a turn off for me that they omitted Cruise Control, Dual Zone air-cond and BOSE speakers.

I don’t really mind the HUD missing or the iActiveSense. Even the leather seat, while I really hope for that to come standard, I can tolerate since I can fit it later.

Now I feel cheated. I don’t know if I’ll proceed or cancel and get back my booking fee. My SA is already calling me telling the car is arrived at the port and I can get the car by Feb or March. I wanted to know if anyone else who booked the car and feel the same. Kindly let me know. Really appreciate. Thanks.

• Annihilated on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:54 pm

*has arrived

• Same here. My loan has even been approved. I’ll look at it in metal first and then only decide. Have a look at this > www.mazdausamedia.com/download/2014+Mazda3+Specifications.pdf and you’ll know how much have they shortchanged us

• pojie on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:44 pm

Don’t forget the manual dimming rear view mirror. At that price, this should be a given oredi.

• kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:31 am

I can confirm that what you see in the spec list in this Paultan article is accurate. So no point dreaming that you might get lucky and get better specs with current batch.

I was most disappointed with the omission of BOSE speakers. The sound insulation in Mazda cars are poor, unless they fit the BOSE system which includes better sound proofing. Take a test drive of the 2.0 and 2.5 Mazda 6 if you don’t believe me. I won’t be taking this spec. Unless my SA (who is a direct Bermaz rep) can promise me a better spec, I will be demanding my RM1K deposit as well.

What I hate so much with Bermaz is that they teased the buyers at 1U with good specs, only to tipu us with poor specs and high price. Now we have our RM1K deposit stuck with them and have to chase for a refund.

• kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 6:09 pm

I saw the car at their showroom today. Yes, I confirmed that the price and specs are final. Everything shown in the pics is accurate as well.

• Annihilated on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:22 pm

so up until now there are 3 of us. I’m sure there are others who share the same sentiment. I’ll be seeing the car in metal before making final decision. I’ll share with you guys my final decision.

• In the same ship with you all, pay the deposit and everything but end up the brochure and the actual car is totally different so disappointing , `

• kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 6:05 pm

I went to see the car today at the Bermaz showroom along federal highway. It is the first car on the left of the receptionist when you enter the showroom. It is in white and the front plate is written Mazda3. I recommend you go have a look over the weekend if you have the time. They are open on Sunday as well.

The car looks beautiful on the outside. This feeling changes when you look at the bare interior and under the hood. Front driver seat don’t even have electric controls, fully manual like the front passenger seat. While the seat is soft, it is made from simple polyester+nylon fabric. The speakers are cheap speakers like you find on the 2.0L Mazda 6. The engine hood and bay has no sound insulation, even a 10yr old Inokom Matrix has this simple thing. The SA that was there, was kind enough to start the engine. My wife could see the disappointment in my face as the obvious engine drumming seeped into the cabin. The cabin noise is even worse than the 2.0L Mazda 6. They won’t have test drive units available until mid Feb, in other words this is the best you can get in testing the car for now.

When I told the SA I plan to cancel my booking, the SA advised that I should consider holding on to it and wait for the CKD Mazda 6 2.0 coming in March. According the SA, it will be 10K cheaper with no change in specs. I should be able to get the better spec Mazda 6 2.0 for only RM10K more. Looks like even the SA thinks this Mazda 3 specs is not worth it. If anybody out there thinks this car is worth anywhere near RM140K, you must be out of your mind.

• roxas on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:49 pm

toyota n mazda now fighting to get ‘overprice’ crown for their cars.

• policeman on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:10 pm

LOL @ this 100K car. Cheap Inspira also got auto wiper/headlights. What a joke.

• Can’t believe there is no bonnet insulation ,is it very expensive ? look like down grade than previous M3 ady

• kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:18 am

Bermaz expecting you to pasang sendiri, like they expect you to pasang your own leather seats.

• Because skyactive engine doesn’t produce any sound like running on battery only no combustion parts that’s why.

Haha!

• Complain for nothing lah! on Jan 19, 2014 at 1:04 pm

I don’t understand why you would want bonnet insulation in a hot country like Malaysia? Bonnet insulation is used to keep the engine warm in colder climates like Europe to enable smoother starts. It is not for sound insulation.

• spongewai on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:40 pm

when someday Mazda 3 heading to CKD project, I am wondering how many variants are there?!

• kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:17 am

I wonder how much more they going to potong from the CKD spec, when this CBU spec already teruk.

• fail_m3 on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:21 pm

I will cancel booking and seek refund .
    Totally disappointed – mid spec car .
    Considering TSI GOLF , continental feel , handling and fuel efficiency

• Polo Saga on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Good bye, Mazda 3. Here I come, Honda.

• Not Honda but Accordana.

• Guan Yu Kor on Jan 17, 2014 at 2:30 pm

As much as I hate the spec offered in this CBU M3, I’ll still pick this sport sedan over the boring wannabe Altis and Civic range any time.

Different story for previous Gen civic though…

• old dog on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:17 pm

cancel booking lining up i guess…

CBU without HUD and Bose? pity us malaysian…anyhow, Bermaz might as strip down to the bottom and offer cheaper then this half bake 3 with a price of Accord/Optima..

• You buy Mazda just because of those things? You can it cheap at Kedai Abang. Just show them the money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • mmaker on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:13 am

WTH they bring very nice m3 to one utama but suddenly anybody who placed booking for this car will get very low specs?? Its like display apartment with marble floors but after we bought the apartment we only get cheap tile floors. What a shame

• kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:56 am

This is what we call “bait and switch” my friend!

• sploe on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:21 am

This is what we call “appertizer” my friend!

• kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Since when ‘main course’ worse than ‘appetizer’? Bangang punye logik.

• wootsy on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:00 am

Put this side by side with my almost 3 years old 2.0sx forte 6-speed which I got for 97k, I don’t think your sunroof, i-stop,bi-xenon headlamp worth my extra 42k, minus off I need to tear my leather to fit bare fabric, no cruise control during highway, no electrochromic rear view mirror, no reverse camera to watch my back, and surprisingly even no bonnet insulation cover?!! Bermaz, are on a JV with UMW now to barebone these global car to become Kangkung Car?!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Maserati on Jan 17, 2014 at 9:22 am

Tolong lah, ur Kia forte is a horrible car to drive. Absolutely terrible steering feedback + ur car interior is now aging way faster than it shud be.

Ur interior is full of cheapo looking plastics and whatnot. Plus ur car body metal is like a milo can.

Dont compare Kia and Mazda la. Its like a million years apart.

Forte is peobably one of the worst cars I have driven on a highway b4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • alonso on Jan 18, 2014 at 12:00 am

Don’t BS bro.. I owned a the same car before. Its a nice car..value for money. Handling is average, afterall its a family sedan. Probably you can only afford a tata..

• skatax on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:49 am

mazda3 might win some hearts in other countries, but this malaysian spec does not impress. and the claustrophobic cabin doesn’t help either. i believe bermaz is trying to market this car at german level price (almost as expensive as VW Jetta that only offer fabric seats).

will continue to be a niche model in the market, perhaps even rarer than mazda2 that have been on our roads since 2008.

• nuds ladoraka on Jan 17, 2014 at 5:57 am

Dear All
    Pls be cool, actual price yet to release but I will be glad if somebody cancel their booking. At least reduce my competitor to get best car of 2014

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Annihilated on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:14 pm

bro, I have placed a booking on this car and the bank is now processing my loan application and should be approved anytime soon. RM 138,935.50 is the final actual price. otherwise, how could the bank process my loan? there’s other that already had his loan approved. what ‘actual price’ are you talking about?

• nuds ladoraka on Jan 17, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Approving Loan is just bank procedure bro….have Bermaz display official price for this car on thier FB or Website ? Don’t like it just cancel your booking no harm….there are many c segment model in the market and many people que for this car…..I hope I can get the 1st batch zoom-zoom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Tolonglah! Take your reverse salesman psychology elsewhere. My SA from Bermaz already confirmed with me the price. After I marah teruk, then he try to main psychology with me pulak.

If you want the car so badly, give me your e-mail address and we can go see my SA. If you like you take over my booking, otherwise don’t talk cock.

• Mazda3 Best on Jan 17, 2014 at 7:37 am

The Mazda3 has just been voted the Best of the Best for 2014 in Canada.

• farghmee on Jan 17, 2014 at 9:57 am

Same spec ke?

• Kukubesi on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Yes best car… if it is full spec one like other countries…. but if it measure the one here… under spec one… I don’t think it will even close to best car

• Einstein on Jan 17, 2014 at 9:56 am

I feel very pity or “kesian” towards those uncle-uncle who comment meter panel are faulty. But cannot blame those uncle because they not no what are they saying.

Happy new year to them. It’s already 2014.

• Dissapointed mazda 3 malaysia spec on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:16 pm

No radar cruise control, no Head Up Display on the dashboard, no leather seat.. sure cancel call for this car.. VW got better car with almost the same price.

• williaml on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Just to recall, the New Mazda3 that displayed during 1U was a preview, and that unit is Australian spec of 2.5L, the top variant. I believe sales person had mentioned many times that it is not for our market.

• kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Dear Mazda salesman, I know you from another forum. I was at the 1U preview and Bermaz reps (not just one person but a few) said only the engine spec will be different but most of the other spec will be same for the RM139K pricing. They even speculated that it might be slightly cheaper as pricing is unconfirmed. But looks they were totally wrong.

• Lemer on Jan 17, 2014 at 2:15 pm

This is overpriced ugly car at 140k, better get Suprima with leather seat at 80k equipped with turbocharging generate about same output torque and power.

• required on Jan 17, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Overpriced? Maybe. Ugly? Hmm, you got a very unique taste.

Oh and by the way, Suprima is “cheap fugly”.

The 60K price gap became reasonable when you compare the plastic-ish built quality and the boxy design of the suprima with this mazda 3.

• Lemer on Jan 17, 2014 at 3:44 pm

And your head need to be checked if you consider 60k difference is acceptable for that weirdo ugly looking car With that extra money in your amount you could travel to Europe spend good several days there, north america go visit disney land and universal studio and australia spend some relaxing days then back to Malaysia. And you still have some extra to spend with your friends while taking them with your new Suprima.

• Suprima S Super Premium on Jan 18, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Hahaha, yea right! Especially Suprima S Super Premium , its the best one yet!

• Being Shortchanged on Jan 17, 2014 at 3:01 pm

My loan is even approved by MBB with 2.5% interest rate 2 days ago. I am almost 90% there to pursue it until I pull my brakes yesterday upon seeing the specs.

Most dissapointing for me is the lack of:

– Bonnet insulation (even my old waja has it)
    – Fabric seats (bermaz u reli r kidding me with this, u treat us as foooools?)
    – i-activesense and HUD
    – reverse camera (this is the basic these days, no) It is to detect children behind my car! Bermaz do u reli care?

I dont mind no cruise control, auto wiper, rain water sensor, LED or mono air cond because im too used to my waja that I can live without these!

For 140k, thanks for the commentators here I think u guys woke me up.

Im cancelling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • nuds ladoraka on Jan 17, 2014 at 3:17 pm

A lot people cancelling their bookings I like it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 5:35 pm

If you berani, take my challenge. Don’t just ajak ajak ayam!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Mazda Fan on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:05 pm

Email me your SA contact, name, phone no., which branch….if I place my booking can I get this batch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Annihilated on Jan 19, 2014 at 12:10 am

Dear Mazda Fan,

You can have mine. Give me your email address and I’ll email everything to you. If you are lucky enough, you could have my free Tribos coating transferred to you with the new Mazda3.

• Jimbo on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Its such a shame and letdown that Mazda (correction: the great Bermaz) decided to bring in this variant instead of a higher-spec variant. With an asking price of almost a 140k, even the soon to be launched Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V seems to be a better deal even though I’m not a fan of Toyota’s in Malaysia, at the same time how can one forget that the newly-launched face lifted K5 and the 2.0 Accord command around that price.

• 14th and get this kind spec. Stupid

• Planed to buy this car but now see this kind spec. …better go for Honda accord.

• Mazda Fan on Jan 18, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Honda Accord also same spec with this or low…..only in term of size accord is the winner. Better buy Suprima in term of price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Mee goreng on Jan 18, 2014 at 2:43 pm

2.0 with 18 rim become turtle move

• Got 12 years car and actually want to change m3. But 140k with this shit spec. ..so forget it and give up. Bye bye 2014 m3.

• Later ckd will be less about 10k but I think without istop. sunroof . 18 rim change to 17. Anything else?

• Bermas I though u different umw. But until m3 spec shown and you made disappointed. You like totally like shit as umw. And think we are stupid and fool.

• Such a wasting. ..nice out looking but with terrible interior low spec………

• 140k with fabric seat and single zone air cond and etc …make me sick….shame on you..bermaz as umw give altis spec.

• DarkSun on Jan 19, 2014 at 1:31 am

I was waiting this car to be launch since last year, I really don’t think I want to pay 140k for this shit spec. Very disappointed.

• Hello on Jan 19, 2014 at 1:35 am

Ford Focus is the logical choice here. It’s the best in terms of value. Not to mention it’s amazing driving dynamics. New Altis or Mazda 3 doesn’t even come close.

• Mazda Fan on Jan 19, 2014 at 11:46 am

Hello

Ford Focus using old platform of Mazda3. It seems like you buying Accordana than Accord……

• Complain for nothing lah! on Jan 19, 2014 at 1:09 pm

I think people are jumping the gun on specs that are not fully confirmed. Best to wait until the car is fully released to the market bro’s!

• a brother has visited Bermaz showroom along federal highway and confirmed this kind shit spec.

please refer above comment as “kambinganas on Jan 17, 2014 at 6:05 pm”

• I also kecewa with the specs and price. I am considering to cancel my booking done in one utama. Was promised same spec diff engine but this is very dissapointing !!

• So eager to trade my civic fd with this m3. But with this kind of spec i think better for me to stick to my fd and wait for other better coming new car……bye…bye…m3

• Just coming back from mazda puchong. I can say not worth buying m3 for the said price. Beside the “i” thing, i would say it is a very basic car.
    Carbon fiber interior look cheap just like put some sticker on.
    No place to put your small stuff other than inside the glove box. Ther door side just suitable to put mineral water bottle. Under arm rest suitable to put business card or your toll ticket. Centre console also only suitble to put 2 bottles or cup.
    Black interior fabric just so..so…
    Just wait for ckd hopefully there will be some improvement.

Overall i dont think it worth buying for the price tag