SPYSHOTS: Nissan Teana sighted near Sungai Choh

nissan-teana-spyshot-0003

We first saw the 2014 Nissan Teana on test in Malacca in May 2013. Although the big D-segment sedan had some pretty heavy disguise on it then, the shape of the car was quite recognisable.

Today we have spyshots of the car with significantly less disguise on it, snapped near Sungai Choh, which is near to where Tan Chong’s Serendah assembly plant is.

Since the new Nissan Teana and the new Nissan Sylphy have a similiar shape, it might be a little hard to tell the two cars apart at first. Differentiating them from the rear is simple – the Sylphy has tail lamps that extend into the boot lid while the Teana’s tail lamps do not.

The new Teana will likely come with 2.0 and 2.5 litre engine choices once again, but the big difference this time is the discontinuation of the V6 engine, with the new 2.5 litre being a four-cylinder instead.

A research report published by HLIB late last year revealed that Tan Chong is looking to launch the Sylphy in Q2 2014 and the Teana in Q3 2014. In the meanwhile, read our test drive impressions of the Teana 2.5.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Fahmi on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:20 am

Why it took so long for ETCM to launch new car here?? Other brands do act faster to bring new models here, why can’t Nissan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • seancorr on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:31 am

Suzuki Malaysia took an awful long time to bring in the new Swift and so did Honda Malaysia with its new CR-V as it takes a little longer to bring in models that will be manufactured here…at least that is what I think.

• abuya123 on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:01 am

Overpriced junk. Probably outdated already globally. ETCM always launch 7 years later than global launch. ETCM always sell to msian old stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
        • HondaLover on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:24 am

Anyhow,Honda Accord is always a better car.By the time Tan Chong launch this car,Accord already flooding the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Nobody want to buy nissan anymore after their No1 boss say that it is good to keep car prices high in Malaysia and it is good for high excise and duty on cars.

Bodo betul CEO. After that, semua Nissan fan tukar jadi Honda fans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • theanswer on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:45 am

true. still no new x-gear too. new teana looks better than current one. seen few teana on the road in oz.

• sutrak on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:47 pm

*yawn* what a boring car.

• Mr FAHMI, THAT WHY WE ALWAYS SUPPORT NISSAN, BECAUSE IF ALWAYS COME IN NEW MODEL OR FACELIFT , OUR CAR SECOND VALUE DROP VERY FAST

• skatax on Jan 16, 2014 at 2:30 am

without reading the title the rear photo looks more like a waja with aftermarket rear lights.

good option for those shopping for a new large sedan in 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:06 am

Bring the new Slphy also quick.. You are too slow Nissan.. Xtronic is brilliant! Superb.

• Jaybond on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:08 am

I think Nissan has started to act faster this time.Mazda has stole the limelight among the Japanese car giants with their superb Mazda 6. And with the imminent launch of Mazda 3, Nissan is in danger of being relegated to fourth position in the passenger car market scene..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • In other country the New Teana launch and the new Mazda 6 launch are almost at the same time.

Whereas in bolehland, Mazda6 launch concurrently with other country one year ago, but the New Teana? No sound No Smoke after one year.

• Jebonr on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:59 pm

I do agree with You there Jaybond. However, the problem here is choice of models. Nissan has a lot of models with latest technology. But Tan Chong has always been very slow in introducing those models here to Malaysian. By average, it will take Tan Chong 6 and even up to 10 years, to bring in these new models to us, Malaysian. Infact, grey imported cars has more latest choices than what Tan Chong can offer. I predict, If Tan Chong continue with this type of “Business strategy”. They will continue losing more potential customer every year.

• Kevin Tay on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:08 am

Lol looks like Waja

• 2.0 Teana

Just look at the key insert hole at door handle, and the ugly rims.

• You need to look at the door handle more closely. This white car probably has i-Key. The button is chrome instead of black.

Rims would probably by 16 inch for 2.0 and 17 inch for 2.5.

All I could hope for the Teana 2.5l is for it to have a black interior, sunroof and LED DRLs.

• Teana’s engine is much more refined than Camry and Accord. NVH is superb n being one of the best in class. Handling is on par with Camry if not better but still way below Mazda 6 & Accord.
    CVT is the main let down, should put in the 6-speeder auto instead…
    For Japanese brands D-segment is concern, my choice is
    1st — Mazda 6 2.5
    2nd — Teana 2.5
    3rd — Accord 2.4
    Camry 2.5? Eerrr…..
    Whether u like it or not the evolution of Hyundai and Kia is absolutely threatening Jpn marques in 2 or 3 yrs time. Of course Mr. Sam Loo would disagree with me…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • i love the 6 but i feel the interior is somewhat average for its category, i would probably go for the teana if interior space is what im worried and the accord if i want the most up to date interior.

• HondaLover on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:26 am

Compare to the useless junk K5,Teana is better.But wiser choice will be H.Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • sudonano on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:44 am

Agree.

I like the new Teana. Looks way sharper than the dated one we get now. Though the current one has a super comfy interior.

• No need to ‘camo’ I guess..

• victortan on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:54 am

Everyone gonna come here to question ETCM why it takes so long to launch a new car, but I don’t think they care a damn thing because that’s how they operate for years, and able to survive in this strange automotive market.

• mamat on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:55 am

ingatkan WAJA reborn.. haha!

• Massam on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:57 am

Do anybody know what is the cheapest Nissan car that comes with stability control (VDA)?

• I was very disappointed test driving the Teana the other day after the test driving Mazda6, Honda Accord and 508. Even though the drive department was great, the interior was a plane jane. Alsmost everything was optional compared to other cars I drove. I am talking about the HL/Premium versions of all. Despite the many less options which others give as standerd, Teana has a very minimal approach. Loved the Mazda 6 and the 508. Wonder if I should test drive the new Kia K5. Not very keen on the RV but just what I like. K5 looks good. But does it perform as well ?? I am bit confused on the options that i have at Rm 150 K range …

• BLT CLUB on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:14 am

It’s plain Jane not “plane jane”.

• Thanks for the Spell Check. But do you have anything to add on “Cars” ?

• sudonano on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:49 am

I personally think you should consider. It is a decent car. And you might like it.

If you don’t mind a bit extra, try the i40 too.

And if you don’t mind a slightly smaller car, but has loads of style and luxury, go test the Volvo V40 (which is really nice). Or the 118i which is quite sporty.

• V 40 and 118i is smaller than the others mentioned. I have never test drove a V40, but I hear its very high maintenance. Thanks for the your suggestions.

• theanswer on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:59 am

if u r not very keen with rv, 6 and 508 definitely a good choice.

• Ford Mondeo might be slightly outdated in term of outlook. But, if you got chance to test drive it, this car would most probably suprise and inspire you, the superb handling and 240ps hourse power/340NM torque is not a joke…

• Denaihati on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:26 am

in term of appearance, much better than existing, but not really attractive at the front i think. will be lunch in Q3 2014 not a good news…

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 16, 2014 at 11:34 am

Sylphy and Teana are BIG PART OF the reason why NISSAN had overtaken HONDA brands in term of sales volume, since 2012.

That was again shown as the 1h2013 brand position

Launching in 2014 for these two models perhaps is deliberate since teana was given a product update in feb 2013 .new Sylphy in Q2 would allow stock clearance of the old sylphy going cheap . Both models currently is giving 2 return tickets to LA/NY/Vancouver or 12 to 15k down payment rebate for teana 2L to 2.5L respectively And as for sylphy it is either 2 return tickets to Rome/Paris/Brisbane or 10k rebate to down payment

Special interest and high trade in some more, apa Lagi mau, kangkung?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • swaik on Jan 16, 2014 at 12:57 pm

been driving the VQV6 for close to 2 years now. I must say I am utterly impressed with the smoothness of the engine. Too bad if they decided to discontinue the V6, powerful, smooth and not overly thirsty been paired with the CVT. Another plus is the CVT, once used to it and compared to my other CX-5 conventional tranny, I would want to spend more time with the CVT …

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 16, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Old habbit die hard… ever since in the 80’s when they introduced Stanza and Langley (both of them are good cars but with bad after sales support), it seems ETCM and TCMA somehow have a broken link somewhere. They assembled good cars but bad after sales. Have lots of models but selected few are on sale in bolehland. They keep on producing the same model that they think are so popular while buyers have no choice at that time.

The same thing happens today. Still slow and late as ever.

• nabill on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:29 pm

that v6 was the star of the car….no matter how good a 4 cylinder is , its never like a v6 roar ,refinement n charecter…

• Archangel on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Dear ETCM, please launch the new teana and new sylphy this year.

• Maseratits on Jan 16, 2014 at 3:48 pm

nice car but my fat ass can’t fit in the back seat of this

• vios dugong rear..

• nabill on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:39 pm

I hate cvt’s…..worst invention ever…i dont kno about u but i always read online forums is dat nissan cars are not exactly reliable…its the poor man’s japanese car…i had a cefiro before n it as crap frankly…terrible reliability n damn expensive spare parts….no more nissans for me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • looks like proton waja facelift

• wootsy on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:09 am

i thought i fastforwarded to year 2018 when I saw this news, coz I think probably ETCM will launch this model in 2020?

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Honestly if Nissan want to survive, they need to fire their designer and hire a better one. Really hurting my eyes looking that ulgy thing. Hope no more spy shots on this yucky looking car

• Maaan….I thought its the New Waja…the tail lamp and the chrome ornament…. haizzz till I read the header of the article…. maaaaaaannn

• nissansux on Jan 18, 2014 at 12:26 pm

stupid nissan, all ASEAN countries already have Syphy and new Teana, even Vietnam already launch, and TAN CHONG bodoh still did not want to launch it.

• Tan Chong Malaysia’s management must have been sleeping and dreaming all the time.these bastards better follow their own Tan Chong Singapore Management. Bloody hell, when i was there recently, Their Singapore Nissan dealer even sells the official cbu made in japan nissan gtr. no recon shitboxes like here in bolehland.Malaysians here suffer,have to buy stupid outdated shit.Stupid tan chong management bastards!

• Tarzan on Feb 04, 2014 at 7:36 pm

CBU in bolehland require AP reserved for cronies, unlike Singapore. Perhaps Tan Chong Malaysia cannot get AP to import.

• Shaun on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Waja inspired Teana? :)

• Jebonr on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Wokey Tan Chong, i get Your message. Teana and Sylphy for 2014. Then what? Sleep for another 10 year for some more Teane and Sylphy? Kah..kah..kah..