Perodua achieves record sales in 2013 with 196,100 units, predicts a challenging 2014 ahead

Perodua 2013 Sales-1

The year 2013 was a good one for Perodua, which again broke its sales record with 196,100 units sold. The 2013 total is a 3.7% increase from 2012’s 189,100 units, which until now was an all-time high.

The encouraging figures are thanks to strong demand for the carmaker’s value-added S-Series range, launched in March 2013. A total of 103,000 units of the S-Series (Viva S, Myvi 1.3 SE and Alza S) were sold in nine months, representing 52.5% of total 2013 sales.

“With an estimated total industry volume of 653,800 units in 2013, we anticipate a market share of about 30%, making Perodua the most preferred automotive company for eight years in a row,” Perdoua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid said at a media briefing in KL this morning. Note that the quoted TIV is P2’s estimate, as figures from the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) have yet to be released.

Perodua 2013 Sales-2

Besides selling new cars, after-sales is a revenue generator for car companies, and service operations at Perodua jumped 5% in 2013 to 1.87 million vehicles visiting official service centres. “We fell short against our target of 1.88 million set earlier in the year due to some challenges when we moved to our new parts warehouse during the third quarter of 2013,” explained Aminar.

Things may sound rosy but Perodua is anticipating a challenging 2014 ahead, with competition in the automotive industry set to intensify in a time when inflation and cost of living are on the up. 2014 is described as a year of “consolidation” for Perodua, where consistently strong growth and production takes a breather of sorts to accomodate a brand new factory with new processes and staff.

DSC_0156b

“For 2014, we target a modest growth of 0.2% to 197,000 units as our new plant begins operations and need time to adjust,” Aminar said, adding that 2014 production is expected to decrease slightly (by 1.5%) to 203,900 units including exports. The company will seek to maintain its 30% share of the market.

Besides the new Perodua Global Manufacturing plant, the second half of 2014 will also see Perodua launch an all-new model. We recently visited Daihatsu’s high-tech second plant in Nakatsu, Kyushu island, which will lend its best practices, clever processes, technology and low defect rate target to P2’s new factory in Sg. Choh. Click here for the full story.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Good sign for the rebadge work…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Another 8years 6month to go :(

Earning 3k instalment kereta 1k :(

Thank you Perodua !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • ERIC OOi on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:00 am

Thank you Perodua for flooding our roads with 200k of cars to make our road more congested every year! Congrats!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • azrai on Jan 16, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Good news and more profit for UMW. This translate into should be more dividend for PNB’s unit trust since they own UMW. And not forgetting more tax for the G.

• Aerro on Jan 16, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Big tahniah to Perodua for helping rakyat save fuel costs with their proven economical car engines.

Rakyat simply need reliable, cheap, non-Turbo car for daily use. Those have bigger budget of course only choose Toyota.

Perodua and Toyota alone control nearly 2/3 car market, which means over 60% rakyat keep rejecting Proton! Clap clap clap:::

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 61
    • qwerty on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Toyota would have to sell another 190,000+ cars to support and solidify your claim. Did Toyota sell that many in 2013?

Although I bought a MyVi SE too, I am indeed curious why you are so anti-Proton. Did they owe you a million dollar and ran away?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • Gentleman on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:16 pm

If Proton continue reluctant to use Honda Engine.

there will less and less people want to buy a Campro Powered Proton.

• There’s a typo error of the word “Perduoa” in the article. Should be “Perodua”

“PERDOUA” president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid said at a media briefing in KL this morning.

• das auto on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Should have been Perutdua! Greedy fellers selling tiny tin kosong at premium prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Yeah.. Thumb up Perodua… I ve bot two Myvi dy.. Reliable.. Spare parts everywhere.. Lot’s of room & parts for modifications.. Would like to buy Alza.. But donno where to park my cars dy..Go Daihatsu.

http://www.reliabilityindex.com/manufacturer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • nyayanya on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Butthurt Proton fanboys comment in 3, 2, 1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Haha… But.. But.. They are speechless… How’s their sales anyway? Why so quiet? Sales down? Hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Only proton bashers are busy to bash for the sake of hatred and money.

• 2013 will be the last good year for Perodua.

Perodua will suffer in 2014 because the new Proton GSC will be miles ahead of the Myvi, in terms of safety, design and value for money. Only thing Perodua will have on their side is reliability.

2015 will probably see the new Proton Saga replacement, and naturally, being Proton’s best selling model since 1985, they won’t be screwing around. The new Exora will also launch in 2015.

If Perodua can at least export their cars in great numbers to poorer countries, I won’t complain. But so far, Perodua’s export sales is no better than Proton.

Anyway, good luck Perodua, you’re going to need it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
    • motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Hahaha… Ohh.. Potong need the luck.. Not P2.. Do you know Avanza assemble by P2?.. If P2 rebadge Toyota models poton can close shop.. Ohh.. Poton salesman detected.. Sorry, if you go jobless.. Send your resume to P2.. Sorry2.. Good luck.. Haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
      • bekas perutdua on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:10 pm

bro. dulu avanza lama memang perodua assemble. last tahun 2009-2010 if i’m not mistaken. sekarang tak dah. avanza assemble kat umw shah alam plant.
        the original P2 tak ambil orang dah. dia dah put pressure to local people to resign. takde VSS offered. dia concentrate lebih kepada P2 global. P2 manufacturing asal yang assemble myvi, viva and alza di anak tiri.
        true story. no regret to resign from the company even though the yearly bonus 5-6 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Thx for the info.. No regret resign? 5-6 months bonus? Well, I respect that.. Lu mesti dpt offer lebih bagus to leave that kind of work (bonus). If me. I ll stay. Bonuses for family.

• qwerty on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:49 pm

“Assemble” means “assemble”. That’s it. Not building and selling and earning the profit.

Let me tell you, IF Perodua rebadges Toyota models, not only Proton close shop, Toyota also need to close shop. But has it happened? No, because “IF” mah~

“IF” cannot be taken seriously, bro. “IF” pulak~Pfft!

• motorhead on Jan 17, 2014 at 9:27 am

Smartaxx.. Pls check Perodua shareholders.. & pls check Daihatsu belong to who.. & Myvi is Toyota Passo.. The point is they are in a group.. The point is the share Technology.. No matter how the gov bend the rule.. Perodua+Daihatsu+Toyota can easily come out strategy to counter.. Simply they share same platform.

• Your Saga since day one has never been better than Myvi. And that Sawi replacement? doom to fail. People are buying Saga is because of the booth not because its proton. Now the Sawi replacement? most likely will end up like all your recent models, suprima, preve,… jadi your vendor pun suei … order ciput saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • The reason why some people hate proton is simple, we need to pay 100% tax for other brands in order to protect proton…. I know some of you are proton fans, but look at it this way, can proton and perodua survive without local sales? Did preve made it as a global car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
    • both p1 n p2 has similar tax as asean made cbu..this Vios 1.5J manual..peninsular RM70800 (not otr) WITH abs+ebd+ba, langkawi RM51900(not otr) WITH abs+ebd+ba, thailand ~RM55900(not otr) WITHOUT abs+ebd+ba.. can u get 100% tax?(excise,import,sales tax)..u say easy..try calculate if u can get 100% tax impose

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • i will support wat u said if u can get 100% tax impose…if not u oni tok kok…

• motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:38 pm

CBU excise duty is up to 120%.. It’s in Wikipedia.. Just type Malaysia excise duty. CKD around 70%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • lol…bolehland excise duty is up to 105% la beb..30% import tax non asean and 10% sales tax..calculate up there first..u get ur not..

• brian on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:30 pm

anyway excise duty must b reduce n abolish caz it is not fair local manufacturer who had invest long time than p1 n p2.

• ruffstuff on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Source on the 100% tax. Got people said 300% tax. Please check your info first. Know the breakdown of the tax and know what kind of tax applies to local, ckd, and cbu car before commenting.

If you check the data of TIV vs excise tax collected, it is only 10 percent of the TIV. So where all the money goes? Hint.. UMW can give their staff 6 months bonus.

• motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 8:43 pm

2.5 and above may up to 100%..CBU..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • try compare peninsular price n langkawi price can u get 100% cbu excise tax?

• motorhead on Jan 17, 2014 at 9:30 am

Weh kzm.. Depends on CC lah.. Bigger cc the tax may up 100%.. Don’t calculate small displacement like vios..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Then calculate la big CC car tax la…but please la don’t include high performance, luxury, super luxury n supercar that obviously high..calculate big CC for masses..u don expect middle income to buy ferrari rite..

• To make life easier for u..I give 2 example..Civic 2.0 highest spec langlawi RM87810, peninsular RM132451…Accord 2.4 highest spec langkawi RM119589, peninsular RM166973…all price not OTR…now try calculate if u can get 100% excise tax..

• brian on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:35 pm

excise duty must b abolish cuz it is not fair 2 our local manufaturer.

• Correction. UMW give 9 months bonus in year end 2013. Please get your fact straight.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 16, 2014 at 7:35 pm

If this car company that capture 3 of every 10 car buyers are projecting a tough year ahead concentrating only in consolidation and slow growth of merely 0.2%… I wonder what that leaves for the rests ? Negative growth surely?!

• Of course tough year ahead. Didn’t you read the papers? Everything go up and ‘hard’ these days maaa. The only go down and ‘soft’ is kangkung….hahaha….

• pirlo on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:19 pm

congrats perodua for reaching that numbers. quite a good year for perodua last year. the sales were largely booming because of myvi. just imagine, myvi alone can capture at least 8000 cars/month.
    to other basher proton/perodua, give a credit where it is due.
    do not be too bias.

• motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:18 pm

Well said sir.. Yeah.. I bot two Myvi.. One SE 1.3 manual for play & modifications.. One 1.3 SE auto.. Send hometown for my wife. 1 vios for work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • motorhead on Jan 16, 2014 at 9:46 pm

The fact is Proton is biawak hidup.. Bring misery to people.. I know a few people bankrupt & blacklisted because of cars.. Proton must find strategic partners or better close shop.. I remember my dad a lower gov staff.. Can buy a VW, Corolla & Mazda last time.. Before proton come into pictures.. All cars are affordable that time.. & I want that time to come back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • coosieur on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:55 am

No need to buy car if not affordable. There are many options available why go for overspending and bankruptcy? Why you want to blame proton? It’s one decision not proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • coosieur on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:56 am

Before you say the public transportation sucks, there are many cheaper cars inc used cars.

• ruffstuff on Jan 17, 2014 at 6:56 am

Nope. There is an article in LFD. Car price before and after Proton remain the same. Saga were cheaper due to the CKD kits were not taxed. That is during early years of Proton of course. But now the calculation are all different.

• Wow, what a biased comment but I am not surprised since its coming from you p2 salesman! If you said p1 causing people to go bankrupt, look for ads by p2 salesmen offering full loan to anybody regardless of documents. And look for repossessed cars ad by banks to see how many p2 cars got auctioned. Some are not even half year old.

• annoy_namous on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:34 am

Wow… How much Perodua pay u to create this hate feelings?

• Denaihati on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:08 pm

congratulation perodua. hope with low defect rate target in the factory will have a product that satisfies customers.
    but little bit worry, low defect might due to release the defect or lower/loosen the specification at production line….the importance is low or minimum defect to customers.

• Wow, i thought the jokers at MyCC said cannot publosh or share monthly sales data, MyCC team wat r u waiting for??

• I don’t know whether I should congratulate perodua for their perforamance cause the more the market share they hold it show how pity we are as Malaysian, for the amount of money we pay for the perodua we get such a low quality car ( Jeremy clarkson of topgear uk called it “rubbish” ) , no offence to perodua owner the tax structure is to be blamed .

• sl_tan on Jan 17, 2014 at 3:06 am

PERODUA has 2 Marketing TACTICs

One – keep Changing BODYKITS and no engine update (BORING) – cheat people like they got new model
    is the same freaking thing.

Two – Show Off Sales Achievement .
    KONON sales good = car good

I not buying your hype , your cars are overpriced

• sly tan on Jan 17, 2014 at 8:48 am

Proton got only one marketing crap:

If not laku, give free 6 months installments…SV models…free modenas bike…full loan 9 yrs no deposit…

Still not laku maybe buy one free one…joke company lah Proton wakakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Scouser on Jan 17, 2014 at 10:54 am

yea i saw that advert… does it mean no installment for 6 months or they take away 6 months’ worth of installment from the total loan amount?

• motorhead on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:44 pm

& someone wish Perodua luck? Proton need lots of luck now. Hahaha..

• kangkong on Jan 17, 2014 at 5:36 am

maybe these statements and facts are just reflections of recent purchasing power..too bad then more people could only manage to get p2..and my wife included (kesian pun ada)..not much options around those p2 prices anyway,thanks to taxing structure…but no thanks..

• Ma Chai on Jan 17, 2014 at 10:29 am

one thing puzzles me – the prices for the facelifted alza are still not published on perodua’s website. i went to the showroom a day after the launching but couldn’t test drive the car – the salesman told me “we haven’t received the official price yet, so the test drive model cannot be driven out of the showroom”

• Archangel on Jan 17, 2014 at 8:58 pm

I envy the Perodua marketing team for creating a good advertisement for the facelift Alza unlike the advertisement for the Suprima S which is kind of boring with that wicked song.

• The whole rebadge system is there, anyone can become the CEO and top sales figures acheieved becoz the rakyat no choice, and is it me or both of P1 P2 boss looks lncompetent

• Paul Morgan on Feb 21, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Perodua should also take care of the customers. They will sell you a car with 3 year warranty and also with a 3 years extended warranty.
    When you claim the extended warranty , they will tell you that it is the discretion of the insurance company. Don’t be so proud of the sales but make sure the promises are kept.(warranty)