GALLERY: Old and new Toyota Corolla Altis compared

Old_new_2014_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_compared_ 001

You’ve seen the all-new Malaysian-spec 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis in our small set of preview pictures yesterday, and now it’s time to see how it visually stacks up against the car it replaces. Take a look above – there’s no doubting the car’s “all-new” tag now, is there?

Well actually, some bits are new, while others are not. On the outside at least, it’s all change. The second-generation Corolla Altis, post its 2010 facelift is still a rather handsome looking car. Put it next to the third-gen Altis, however, and you’d think it was penned in the Nineties.

Sharp lines now replace simple curves, making the new model appear significantly more aggressive and modern than before. Some will like it more than others, but it certainly garners more attention on the road than the oh-so-boring car it replaces.

Old_new_2014_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_compared_ 003

The 2014 car, with its 100 mm-stretched wheelbase, has grown in size – 80 mm longer, 16 mm wider but 5 mm lower. Masking the physical growth are massively enlarged head- and tail-lamps, and like on the latest Vios, they stretch deep into the side panels too.

Apart from the badges – which have now been simplified to fix the old car’s cluttered back end – you’d hardly guess that these two cars are related at all. Fortunately, the theme continues inside too.

The age-old waterfall treatment is now gone, and in its place lie a new cliff-faced centre console with simplified controls. Another love-it-or-hate-it design, this definitely is. The classic digital clock is still present, though, lest you forget you’re in a Toyota.

A lot of people forget that the outgoing car already has plenty of soft-touch plastics, and you’ll find a lot more quality materials in the new Altis. The entire dash top and all four door cards are pleasant to the touch, and the rest of it, though equally hard, are better than those in a comparable Honda Civic.

Old_new_2014_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_compared_ 012

Like the Vios, the seats are much improved. The fronts, especially, are much more supportive than before. Rear passengers get more space and comfort (the back rest reclines now) than before too, but will still have to rely on the front air-con blowers.

So what do you think, has Toyota improved it enough? We have reviewed the outgoing Corolla Altis when it was launched in 2010 (read it here), and as for the 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis, check out our full drive report here. Enjoy the comparison photos and like-for-like “new vs old” galleries below. We also have a similar gallery on the old and new Toyota Vios here.

2014 Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0 V 2010-2013 Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0 V

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:45 am

Lately Toyota cars are getting sportier & smooth looking. Honda seem going little backward or doesn’t change much. Love those DRL, unlike Vios & Camry, just “add-on”.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 131 Thumb down 123
    • how much toiyota pay you for comment ? toiyota is the one whose going backwards. low spec high price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 75
      • perodua on Jan 18, 2014 at 10:28 am

Toyota car is a good and reliable car. Your sense is going backward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 40
        • meltsh on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:12 pm

Reliable, maybe (that’s what toyota are known for) but it’s lacking innovation or maybe they are just taking their customer for a ride…old altis engine coupled with cvt? 2 airbags? at that selling price and in that range, it’s competitors have a lot more to offer…

• ERIC OOi on Jan 17, 2014 at 3:28 pm

By the way, the air cond blower individual switch which we swipe to adjust the air cond wind has been removed as I can see in the picture of passenger side air cond blower close up. Is it digitalized or removed? If remove then if let’s say passenger or driver want to just adjust their side air cond blower also due to either one of them is too cold then how. Just my opinion as I always adjust the blower that’s why I notice. Good design by the way. Looks futuristic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Toyota rewards all their customers with high resale value, safety, reliability, durability, dependability and zero headache (apart from self-induced hangover) for owning one

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 81
      • Sam Loo 4 on Jan 17, 2014 at 9:10 pm

But why Honda Civic RV better than Toyota Altis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 84
      • SamToyotaSalesMan on Jan 17, 2014 at 10:37 pm

The only bad thing is Toyota employed such an arrogant junior sales man like you at the showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 70
      • RV Good because you have pay extra upfront for it. At the end of they day, i think they are are more a like the same like other brand.. not to forget that with higher loan amount you serve, the more you lose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
      • glaze on Jan 19, 2014 at 5:12 pm

I agree on resale value, reliability and durability but sorry where is safety? Ahemm, 2012 Camry is a rotten cabbage now without VSC!

• Sam Loo on Jan 19, 2014 at 5:51 pm

That is why the ACV40 is more sought after than the ASV50

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 17, 2014 at 5:32 pm

This is car for successful person like my boss Sam. You want to show to be success, work hard and you will be like Sam one day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 49
      • dsport on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Pui…..if u r success, u dun drive a toyota lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 11
      • Sam, you really do like kissing your own butt don’t you? Oh, an Altis is a sign of success? No, in Malaysia its not. Not even at other countries because the Corolla is known the world over as a utilitarian, typical bread-and-butter car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Daniel on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:49 am

New Altis looks good.
    But if the 2.0V is priced the same as k3 2.0, it will be even better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 10
    • Boy Racer on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Really doubt it will be at the same price level of the 2.0 k3. The 2.0V would be easily be priced higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Spinach Water on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:11 pm

That’s why Altis price twice more than Preve, enuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
      • Enthu on Jan 17, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Please. Not the jaguh kampung again. Leave it at home where it belongs please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 31
        • AutoFrenz on Jan 17, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Sadly it is people like you who should think outside the box…Preve is a good car…and please don’t insult those who drive one….please save your sarcasm for yourself because you are simply pathetic…lousy at best…you are the one who should leave the country if you think you are too good…please just get lost and don’t come back…shhhooohhh and F_ _ _ O _ _

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 41
        • ruddlr on Jan 17, 2014 at 9:02 pm

who cares preve 6 airbags and ESC for 73k vs altis 7 airbags and VSC for 139k. do you want to pay another airbag for 66k? that’s ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
          • affinity on Jan 17, 2014 at 10:35 pm

If proton have the balls to compete in equal footing and not hide behind some lame NAP I will give them my respect. Until then it’s still garbage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 19
          • ruddlr on Jan 18, 2014 at 8:58 am

Go and check other prices in ASEAN countries. Still proton is way cheaper by a segment. You just gave garbage comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Dispointed mazda 3 malaysia spec on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:57 pm

and almost same price with mazda3.. performance wise.. mazda 3 win, but the price and spec so ridiculous. where the radar cruise control..autolight..wat a stupid bermaz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • I just saw it in the showroom… to be honest, it is quite good looking. No bias. better that photo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
    • Enthu on Jan 17, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Koreans are meant to be cheaper, much cheaper. That is why Korean makes stand a chance to compete. If you can’t afford it, I suggest you stick to Kimchis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Jan 17, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Good looks is one thing, but you get peace of mind.

My 2009 Camry’s biggest maintenance cost was changing the 4 tyres, coz they are 17 inch buggers. And for better grip compounds which tends to be softer, they will last no more than 35,000kms

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
      • stupidCarl on Jan 17, 2014 at 10:38 pm

What do you want to tell here, please explain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 33
        • truman6 on Jan 18, 2014 at 2:30 am

no wonder you called yourself stupidCarl…he meant toyota is reliable & maintenance is cheap with less “kacau” lar..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
          • samipaul on Jan 18, 2014 at 10:33 am

You are just an innocence as the Toyota sales man and I guess you are one of the same junior sales guy too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 18, 2014 at 11:41 pm

As the Chinese saying goes, there is no medicine for stupidity

• SamisPaul on Jan 19, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Sales man being sales man. I guess you need to work hard to talk bad on other brands as we know your sales is bad. Work hard uncle, hope you can get promoted in next few years. Must keep up your work, dont waste your time talk coxk at the blog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • stupidSam on Jan 19, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Yes Sam, what do you want to tell here, please explain for yourself?

• Sam Loo on Jan 19, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Yan Chun Mo York Yee

• stupidSam on Jan 19, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Confirm your name is correct for you !

• Sam Play WithThumb Down (Syok Sendiri) on Jan 18, 2014 at 3:57 pm

it is pity that this guy continue to thumb down others comment. What a shameful act to ” Syok Sendiri” Betul betul Kiasu and you better sell kangkung at pasar malam rather than selling car Sam Loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 18, 2014 at 11:47 pm

There may be many apparent kimchi supporters that drives a sushi being keyboard warriors in this forum.

Now I can understand why I am having more and more thumbs up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • nescafeais on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:56 am

smart and sporty…toyota always moving forward..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 93
  • Mat Global on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:00 pm

This time around, the new Altis is certainly a worthy candidate if one is shopping for a mid saloon car. I like it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 22
  • sudonano on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Probably another thing they improved was quality.

http://paultan.org/2014/01/17/gallery-old-new-toyota-corolla-altis-compared/2010-2013_toyota_corolla_altis_-061/

Look at that rubber seal! :O

As I said, the new Altis is decent. Beats the Camry. But the price it asks is wrong. Will it survive, only time will tell.

Oh, and I don’t like the cliff interior. Prefer the softer waterfall design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • Critique on Jan 17, 2014 at 2:01 pm

UMW Toyota seems pretty confident that they will survive with their pricing strategy and spec level offered… It’ll still sell I guess…

A pity tghg, this could’ve been the opp to blow their competition out of the water. Instead, they’ve still omitted some form of vsa across the model range and additional airbags are a cost option.

Hence, the civic FB (2012) still has sthg over this Altis (not referring to looks cuz that’s subjective).

Interesting thgt thg, how will the 2.0 V + safety pack measure up to the Mazda3 Skyactiv which is also RM139K’ish, CBU, 6 airbags, and needless to say a different animal to drive*

Also, the Accord (although its the tin kosong spec) VTI is abt RM139K’ish.. hehhehe…

Only time will tell..

Cheers :)
      *(based on the various reviews on youtube)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • sudonano on Jan 17, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Totally agree with you!

Not to mention, a Focus S+ or Titanium+ is about the same price, same with the Volkswagen Jetta TSi which is about 10k more.

And, the Kia K5 Optima which is a beautiful machine and only 9k extra too, over the top 2.0V.

Honestly, at 130-150k, you can get anything you want now.

I guess it will sell. I just hope, those who buy it, at least opt for the cost option airbag. The TRD kit ain’t gonna save you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
        • alldisc on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:10 pm

what you gained in specifications and features with other cars of the same segment, you will lose to corolla in terms of reliability and after sales service network – which admit it or not, is still one of the best in malaysia.

talking about resale value – well any car costing more than 100k (especially high end C segment and especially D-segment) has a heavier depreciation value compare to those below 100k.

the reason is similar to C class and S class – no one buys a used S class at 500k. since they can afford to buy at half mil, there is no problem to buy a new one at 700k. that is why S-class, bmw 7 series and Jaguar XJ will loose easily like 100k once the car is registered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • sudonano on Jan 17, 2014 at 5:52 pm

In terms of after sales, yes, I agree, UMW is king. No one can touch them on that.

But in terms of reliability?

I had an XV40 pre facelift. Lets see what was wrong…

1. Suspension leaked, causing it to lose hydraulic fluid. Squeaked about and i had to change it 3 times. Driven on normal city roads, always slow down on bumps.
            2. CD changer died after 3 years.
            3. Rear defogger died after 3 years. Part of the glass cannot defog.
            4.Power folding mirrors sometimes have a mood of their own.
            5. Some of the interior plastics, colour came off within a year.

Powertrain was reliable till 80k, but even when I sold it, the power steering ball bearings had to be replaced very soon too. SO yes, it does have its fair share of issues too la. Not bulletproof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • dugong on Jan 18, 2014 at 10:56 am

You’re wrong. The civic FD has got the most insane RV. Much better than Altis. And its way above 100k.

• I think they will be banging on 1.8 for the sales. 2.0 is just too expensive

• I notice most Japanese car manufacturers are still providing non-MF car battery instead of MF battery.

• their battery is actually MF..but accessible to top up batt water

• Understood there have refillable and non-refillable MF battery in the market. Two different compositions. Personally think refilling battery water or any battery chemical into MF battery is a maintenance.

• new altis exterior and interior looks better, not bad but the price very bad

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
  • loner on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:15 pm

NIce look, but I prefer Kia k3 cerato …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 22
  • inderaloka on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Except newly launched Vios, the all-new Altis looks good and modern inside-out. As for the Camry, exterior looks good but interior still old-fashioned.

• honest on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Everythings ok but the front grill & the touch screen location

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Fahmi on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Nice car let down by bad pricing strategy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • Boy Racer on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Only 2 airbags for all-specs unless you pay more for the “Additional Safety Package” which then only you get 7. Pay more than RM136k and still only get 2 airbags…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
    • Wonder y Toyota is still treating Malaysians like this. so much support we gave them all these years…=[

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Rezu, bcoz there are ppl like u who still willingly let umw suck $$. They know they can get away with whatever kosong car they sell with ridiculous price as long as they stick a toyo batch on it.
        So yeah,they will continue offering kosong car with even higher price in the next model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • alldisc on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:21 pm

bro, UMW is owned indirectly by Permodalan Nasional Berhad and PNB is actually the investment arm of Malaysian government.

get it? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
        • it’s not majority

• Akira on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:06 am

Given PNB’s aggregate stake holding via its various subsidiaries being UMW’s shareholders, it is actually…

• victortan on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:48 pm

The interior looks a lot better than its predecessor though, but a huge face palm on the “additional safety package” which didn’t come as standard feature.

• youdontbuycarforRV on Jan 17, 2014 at 12:59 pm

The new altis center console design is so dated and the design looks like it’s carried from 70’s @.@

To me the center console design is definitely moving backward…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • The new Altis should be a decent car, if you opt for the Additional Safety Package. The styling is great, and I really like the Camry-like chrome garnish above the rear license plate that extends to the tail lamps. The one on the Camry is way too fat and hideous.

Would be a perfect car if they throw in better safety kit like blind spot warning, active city stop or whatnot (on higher spec models perhaps) and make 6 airbags+VSC standard across the range. And oh, lower the price maybe.

• Same, ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
  • Gracke on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Nothing different in technical but only changing exterior and interior for renovation (as expected), but changing price too, luckily is Toyota or else FINISHED!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • The steering and dashboard of the old Altis looks better than the new one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Steve on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Hafriz,
    Any photo comparison for the lower spec models?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jan 17, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Sorry Steve, only the 2.0V (old and new) was available at the media event yesterday.

We have a few pictures of the 1.8E variant (sans LED projector headlamps and DRLs) here:
      http://paultan.org/2014/01/16/gallery-2014-toyota-corolla-altis-preview-pix/2014_toyota_corolla_altis_malaysia_-005/

• dozy8888 on Jan 17, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Just a facelift model!As usual!

• Sam Loo on Jan 17, 2014 at 2:46 pm

To all malaysian out there please choose this sexy beast..its the best compact sedan out there. Famous for its reliability and great RV. Best car i’ve ever seen since the 2013 toyota camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 58
  • vee-oh on Jan 17, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Uncle Sam Loo is such a successful Toyota salesman…now with this new Altis, he will be more successfulll :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • KanagkungJawi on Jan 17, 2014 at 5:31 pm

He is just like you, a junior UMW sales man. Work hard ah boy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Jan 18, 2014 at 2:50 am

I only trade used Hyundai. 2 models that have the highest margin are Sonata & elantra

As for KIA, even/when i trade them, the corresponding values will typically be 2/3 of Hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • KanagkungJawi on Jan 18, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Sales man continue to talk like boss. Masih mimpi atau belum makan ubat pakcik ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • There is no point of having good RV anymore when you are paying so much more than the price that the car is worth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
  • spongewai on Jan 17, 2014 at 3:06 pm

new gen of front grille nose is sharp and long…

old is wide and nothing special

• james on Jan 17, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Only consumer could stop UMW Toyota ego.
    Don’t buy it. I’m sure in 1 years time u would see much better spec…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Dejavu on Jan 17, 2014 at 10:56 pm

That one no need u say already kno. as history has repeated again and again for outgoing altis(4 gears for a year plus) and current camry(no vsc for a year). Only stupid ppl still never learn from mistake and buy from them.
      That time whatever rv they intended to get also hailat. Imagine who wanna buy a 2nd hand 4gear Altis or non vsc Camry, while the 1 year difference 2nd hand model has it?

• KL Stray Cat on Jan 17, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Did Toyota just make a Honda ?? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Enthu on Jan 17, 2014 at 5:41 pm

No, Honda just went from the top to the bottom. Just compare the Civic with this, heaven and earth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Guan Yin Ma on Jan 17, 2014 at 4:29 pm

The only good looking toyota model that UMW sell now is Toyota 86. Other then 86, hmmm…. vios trd target to ah beng ah seng , altis target to stupid uncle , camry target to stupid white collar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Enthu on Jan 17, 2014 at 5:40 pm

it is the best selling car on earth for a reason. A pity some of us here have no idea why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Ya I recall that best selling car statistic. Wait that that was 5 years ago!
      Did time freeze for u?

• Sam Loo on Jan 19, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Some people just do not know how to used the seach engine.

Worldwide Best seller for 2013 is Ford Focus followed by Corolla.

The only D-Segment in the 2013 top 10 list is the Camry (Yahoo Auto)

• The front driver and passenger seat look like very comfortable.

• Maseratits on Jan 17, 2014 at 9:23 pm

nice car but my fat ass cant fit in the back seat

• alot of toyota fans gonna be happy

• roxas on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:37 pm

flat rear bench there.

• roxas on Jan 18, 2014 at 1:40 am

kimchi got long headlamp n rearlamp, they oso wan to follow. cis

• I liked the rear, side profile, interiors. Hated the front, specs and price.

• babygrand on Jan 18, 2014 at 2:46 am

First of all, i would like to emphasized i not Toyota Fans and i admitted Toyota pricing is very wrong but have you ever wonder why Toyota still standing strong as No 1 Global Car??? I expected the answer from toyota basher to answer this!!!

From my point of view, majority toyota basher here never owned any toyota driving experience they just “Air Talk” very biased comment like “those who brought Toyota is totally idiot person” In fact do you really think in this world got so many idiot who help Totoya as no 1??? Even until now i dare not to said whoever buy proton is idiot it was due the the individual budget and thanks to gov tax structure!!! if vios exempted the tax the prices is exactly same as saga BLM but than still got people buy saga BLM no doubt they all are genuine IDIOT

I would like to share my own true story here :

Vios 2009 J Spec manual milleage 110K +++

1) During warantty perior claims (FOC)
    – full set rubber door trim inner and outter part (Wind Noise)
    – one set Lower arm (got sound whenever go over hump)
    – 6 piece of tyres (worn out outer part but still slightly worn out after install camber at both front side)
    – AC blower (Chit Chit sound)
    – Not managed to claim full set absorber as for now no leaking and working in good condition !!!! So durable !!!! because it was a comman problem asorber leaking during my batch !!!!!

2) Engine performance like mad cow so many power waiting you to take !!!

3) FC is brilliant i guess no B segment car can beat vios !!!! (bear in mind my vios is manual)

4) All electronic device working fine and tip top condition as well as the interior stuff

Cons

1) when speed above 110km car is floating and steering very loosen but can over come this by full load of 4 adult passenger

2) Sound proof is bad especially roof top when raining is just like atap zink !!!!

3) Air cond as not cool as proton wira during start up

4) Toyota original car paint is very very thin and not a par with current City standard

Conclusion :
    If u ask me looking for cheap maintanance, FC king, Good engine performance and DURABLE bullent proof car !!!!!!! This is the car you looking for !!!!!!! So there is a reason there why Toyota still the NO 1 global car !!!!!!!!!!!! thank you for spending time to reading my true story . Salam Satu Kangkung Sia !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 15
    • Captiva 2.0d 2007
      Mileage 147000

Warranty 5yrs include free 5yrs regular service (include oil, filter and etc…)just pay RM3 for each service.

Problem are.
      -Rear passenger dustbin cap loose
      -Power sterling morning hydraulic abit hiccup after 5 minute ok liao (warranty over liao :( problem only start at 130k)

That all the problem i have untill now!

Other than that all is normal wear and tear, scratch here and there. Currently my ride still going strong POWERRR, FC is superb but handling suc!

Conclusion is not only toyota is giving durable and bullet proof car, other car manufacturer also sometime giving good car. Just my sharing.

@kangkung

• goliath on Jan 18, 2014 at 2:06 pm

My 2006 hyundai getz 1.4M is already clocking 250000km. FC is still awesome. Easily 550+ km per 40L tank. Bear in mind it weights 100kg more than a vios. Most expensive repair was a worn out clutch set at RM700. Other than that its durable and solid car. Car feels planted even at 160kmh. Not floaty like empty sushi tin.

Vios is just overpriced and nothing to shout about except your shallowness that you did not try out other cars.

• babygrand on Jan 18, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Guess u city must be cvt type gearbox and mine city is 5 speed conventional gear box driving at town very fuel thirsty !!!!!!!!

• youidiot on Jan 18, 2014 at 7:46 pm

If tax restructured Saga BLM for sure still cheaper than Vios coz now also Proton been high taxed.

If you say Vios and Saga will be at same price that actually genuine IDIOT

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 18, 2014 at 9:52 pm

And the trade in value of your 2006 Gets is around RM2k only

• Acrix on Jan 18, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Whats your FC to claim its good? The figures i get is usually 11km/L which is not that good actually. Hell even my old Myvi gives me 12.5km/L with pure city driving only.

• dugong on Jan 18, 2014 at 1:53 pm

honda city’s FC easily trumps the vios yet nobody makes a hoo haa and dare to claim its the FC King. Only clowns like you haven’t experience other cars think it is the king. P1 and p2 also can be king in own kampung la dei.

• babygrand on Jan 18, 2014 at 2:27 pm

It is u based on u own assumption ??? Try to Google u self most save fc b segment car or search in Paultan and u able found the article and with the test result.

• dugong on Jan 19, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Google for what? My wife easily achieve’s 600km per tank 70% city 30% highway. Its how you drive dude.

• Wanna hear my story?

Ford Lynx RS 2.0 2003. Now 280,000km mileage.

Problems: -Waiting a bit long for parts
      -complaints from friend for driving too fast.

Pros: -Can keep up with sports car in corners.
      -Mazda FS engine. 7000rpm all day long no problem meh. made to be abused.
      -Practicality matches Persona
      -rare. RV demm good.

Cons: -FC thirsty becoz keep mashing pedal. maybe need kangkung additive.

Conclusion: compared to your review, Toyota bulletproof reliability is a myth. Not so reliable.

• fazron80 on Jan 18, 2014 at 7:43 am

work hard n get something better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • common sensor on Jan 18, 2014 at 8:17 am

Could you please put the new vios side by side with this new altis .. ayoyo .. look almost the same and probably with plenty of common parts. Smart move of cost cutting by Toyota!

• I like the new rear lamp. omnomnom

• Kelvin on Jan 18, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Probably the worst looking dashboard ever!

• Archangel on Jan 18, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Nice comparison review article. Keep it up.

• MiloSpot on Jan 19, 2014 at 7:02 am

Another facelift from Toyota

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 19, 2014 at 9:59 am

Another hog brain that does not read.

How can this be a facelift when the wheelbase is 100mm longer?

• dugong on Jan 19, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Its the same old platform. Use your brain! Perdana also can stretch and become executive or limousine la.

• Lemer on Jan 19, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Altis does not have vsc/esc, except for highest model 2.0V, this car has ancient engine performance and lowly technical specs. This overpriced antique junk worthies around 80-90k. The one without vsc should be priced at 70k and nobody should buy foreign brand without vsc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Ah beng love Toyota on Jan 19, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Well said,, only fools who can’t read brochures and don’t do test drives, buy Toyota nowadays…ancient specs for ancient owners or dusty brained. What a waste not to get better cars

• yongnt on Jan 19, 2014 at 9:51 pm

So, how many ikat of KANGKUNG do I need to barter for this? ^_^

• yong tau foo on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Is it me or the new Altis looks exactly like a modified Honda City….

• Johnny on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:47 pm

The auto-cruise looks like they took it from my old Satria Neo

• I love these rims what model are they