Limited-edition Ducati 1199 Superleggera, RM488,888

1199-Superleggera-Main

Next Bike Sdn Bhd recently opened its latest Ducati store in Pavilion KL, where it also showed off the Ducati 1199 Superleggera. The limited-edition superbike, which is on display at the shopping mall outlet till January 23, can be yours for RM488,888 (nett selling price).

The 1199 Superleggera is billed as the lightest superbike ever created at 155 kg. With over 200 hp and 134 Nm from its Superquadro L-twin engine, the featherweight 1199 has the highest power-to-weight ratio of any production motorcycle in history. To keep weight down, materials such as titanium, magnesium and carbon fibre were used. Only 500 units will be made, each with its individual number inscribed on the top clamp.

Half a million bucks for a bike sounds mad, and you’d think that Ducati bosses will be rubbing their hands with glee when receiving the cheques, but it’s not a straightforward process, even if you have the cash and want to buy one. We understand that Ducati will be “very selective when it comes to determining worthy owners” and all prospects will have to go through a thorough short-listing process.

Here’s something (slightly) more achievable, the Ducati 1199 Panigale.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Holy molly. People are complaining about Toyota being overpriced. This is taking it to another level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 17, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Bcoz it is made in Italy maaa…and branded some more…just compare kenzo to gucci…which one more expensive…but not to worry you can buy a cheap one at factory outlet….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
  • ridzhas on Jan 17, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Closed to cbr250 weight

• Pinky on Jan 17, 2014 at 6:54 pm

I’m gonna start eating kangkung from today onwards and start saving.. You guys will see me on the road with this monster, 20 years later..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 9
    • _xXx_ on Jan 18, 2014 at 7:50 am

too late, your mum should start saving 20 years before you were born…hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • heybadigol on Jan 17, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Its faster than most supercars right? So when comparing prices, the Ducati seems like a bargain :) You cant get a new Ferrari for half a million Ringgit. Though you’d need big balls to ride them fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • A Nissan GT-R, tuned to 850hp, vs a BMW S1000RR in stock condition:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sv6oviSD5KA

• for half a mil, its pointless to get a bike. If you are a bike fanatic, there are many other choices that are just as fast, and cost less than half as much. That is used ferrari 430/GTR territory, you can use those every day without getting worried about things little like rain.

• rulerhot on Jan 17, 2014 at 7:43 pm

The price is killing me…

• Heskey on Jan 17, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Low RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • rm500k, better add another 200k get F430 or rm500k for R35 2012

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • This wat i call overprice!

• motorhead on Jan 17, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Hrrmm.. Rich folks.. May I recommend you buy a personal light plane or helicopter over this.

• TS.Lim on Jan 17, 2014 at 8:41 pm

pengsan when see the price!
    @_@!

• Oleoresin on Jan 17, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Errr….. saya nak beli rumah jelah dari ducati nih…. Balance tu buat beli vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Fahmi on Jan 17, 2014 at 9:30 pm

At least house can pay with 20++ years loan. AFAIK bikes maximum loan only 3 years..

• Pontiac on Jan 17, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Ini lah melayu. Kerja gaji ciput, beli velfire pinjam 90% selama 9 taun. Pinjam downpayment sikit, tapi hutang lama2. X mampu beli cash atau pinjam kejap xya beli kete. Pakai je kapcai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
        • Turbo_Ridera on Jan 18, 2014 at 12:41 pm

you live only once
          so buy anything you want b4 you died eventhough you need loan

• superbird #43 on Jan 17, 2014 at 9:37 pm

i can use that cash to buy the 2015 302ci Mustang….

• norman on Jan 17, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Seriously its absurb to pay 488,888 for a two cylinders superbike nvrmind its 203hp..I rather buy the BMW S1000RR HP4 195hp 4 cylinders 1000cc bike than this

• “Half a million bucks for a bike sounds mad…”

It doesn’t sound mad; IT IS MAD!!

• Maseratits on Jan 17, 2014 at 10:47 pm

nice car but my fat ass cant fit in the back seat

• protonsucks on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:46 pm

enough power to carry rosmah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • They had to cut the bikes’ weight in order for that to happen.

• WTF… if compared with std 1199 Panigale it was very small diff weigh <9kg (164kg Vs 155kg) , hp <5+hp (195hp Vs 200hp) & tork <2Nm (132Nm Vs 134Nm) but the price very huge diff around RM279k (Rm210k Vs Rm489k)..

• spongewai on Jan 18, 2014 at 12:15 am

rm490k can get one Merc E400 or BMW 528i M Sport or 2 Audi A4 or 2 Audi A6 Hybrid or other cars you can buy.. but this is only for collector who love collecting a limited edition superbike as a showing display or musuem after bought

• flizo on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:02 pm

satu taun gaji RM15juta maa…merc…bmw…ferrari sudah ale maa…sikalan mau beli ini moto la plak…he

• My US friends told me, it is so ridiculous to have 2 wheeler more expensive than 4 wheeler. Toyota Vios is more expensive than Yamaha R1 there.

Malaysia is really a ridiculous country in terms of vehicle.

• In the UK, the insurance for a liter bike with a 21 year driver costs around 4000 Pounds a year (for a 43 year old driver it’s around 230 Pounds).

As this insurance system doesn’t exist in Malaysia: How do you want to prevent a 18 year old in driving a second hand liter bike that is faster than a GT-R with 850hp?

• sl_tan on Jan 18, 2014 at 2:52 am

lololol ,

a superbike with the price of a brand new porsche

• This beast will smoke all of your Protons, Toyotas!! hahaha…… By the way if you guys wanna lepak on the road! should buy this man! Ada Gaya la!

• wrecked on Jan 18, 2014 at 10:51 am

Just becareful that out of nowhere, protons, toyotas cut into your ‘lepak’ lane.. tergolek tak apa.. RIP highly.

• Kangkung on Jan 18, 2014 at 11:04 am

Nearly half a million..
    When it comes to rain, u still have to wait under the bridge…in style lah ( they claimed) :)

• i found many commenters just plain stupid to compare a car with bike. Ducati never target common people like us to sell this bike. so STFU and enjoy this monster.

• Yeah this bike is like the Ferrari FXX on how they’ve very ‘selective’ to determine their worthy owners. Ferrari stated that in order to buy a FXX, one of the requirement is you must have own at least one Ferrari before proceeding to buy an FXX.

• kakibusuk on Jan 18, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Damnnn that price…kena start makan kangkung mulai sekarang!

• This beast is only for rich and famous guys only. Not for ordinary people even they are millionair. Ducati desmodidici cost nearly RM 600k in bolehland. Only 2 unit in Malaysia.

• is this the most expensive bike here?

• supra 1.5 on Jan 18, 2014 at 8:49 pm

its not for everage vios driver..

• Simon on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:28 am

I will dubbed this as Ducati 1199 SuperlaGila price.

• farizY on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:49 am

Super duper rich toys.

• jgn persoal

this is to protect proton

o wait-