SPIED: Mercedes-Benz CLA 200 – a local spec unit?

cla 200 al 02

Amazing what you sometimes find in the lowest level of a hotel car park – during the Kia Optima K5 facelift launch, this Mercedes-Benz CLA 200 was spotted sitting all by its lonesome in B2 of Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral; with camera about, the opportunity to do some photography was too good a chance to miss.

We could well be looking at a Mercedes-Benz Malaysia car in its local specification, unlike those seen in earlier spyshots – doubt that grey would go the hotel basement storage route, and the registered A 45 AMG Edition 1, also likely to be a MBM mule and which had arrived by the time I was leaving the place, adds more fuel to the speculation.

After its introduction here in June last year, the W176 A-Class was on display in front of the Aloft lobby for a good period, so could this CLA be a similar showcase mule?

The particular CLA 200 is shod with an Urban equipment line, complete with a two-pipe exhaust system, a chrome rear diffuser cutout and interior decorative trim done in silver chrome, as well as a Night Package, identifiable by the black wing mirror caps and high-gloss waistline trim strip.

The 18-inch two-tone, twin-spoke wheels are wrapped with 225/40 rubbers – we’ve seen the configuration before, on the first local spyshot of the car back in October last year. The interior scheme, visible through clear windows throughout, is a crystal grey/black combination; the front seats still had protective wrap, with seatbelts locked in place.

Word is that MBM is set to introduce the CLA-Class here only in CLA 200 form at point of launch – the CLA 200 is powered by a Camtronic-equipped M 270 DE 16 AL 1.6 litre mill, with 154 hp and 250 Nm for output numbers. The more brutish CLA 45 AMG is also on the cards, we’re told.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• wow yeay on Jan 19, 2014 at 8:37 am

Premium front wheel drive car…
    wonder how will it perform in Malaysian market…

:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • Audi, VW, Volvo, Toyota….All are premium front wheel drive car in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 54
      • Wah toyota pun premium ka????
        Then sure Honda/Mazda/Nissan wanna say premium also…

VW not that premium la; except the VW CC (1.8/2T FWD)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 15
        • vw’s premium brand is Audi while Toyota’s is Lexus….hayoo! still cannot get it kar?….btw, nissan’s have infiniti while honda’s Acura….while Beemer/Merc have no non premium brand (maybe mini is non premium for beemer)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
          • ARIFFIN on Jan 19, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Then say it Audi, Lexus, Infinity or Acura not toyota nissan and whatever.

• Hondaman on Jan 19, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Merc got laa, it is called a semak car (SMART)

• sam69 on Jan 19, 2014 at 11:32 am

It is an Altis with merc’s logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 45
      • dugong on Jan 19, 2014 at 12:16 pm

With the same amount of money;
        Smart people will buy 2 Altis with Toyota’s logo.
        Stu** people will buy 1 Altis with merc’s logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 59
        • ARIFFIN on Jan 19, 2014 at 8:57 pm

Some brain, he he

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 19, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Sure will go for 2 Altis, BMW and Mercedes is an overated car with bad reliability.

• Hallucinogens on Jan 19, 2014 at 10:41 pm

At the end of the day its really about what you want

• But Altis has bigger space and more comfort.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 19
  • that white A45 is a MBM car. Thats the current preferred ride for the CEO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • skatax on Jan 19, 2014 at 9:15 am

Impressive figures for a 1.6 mill non-turbo engine (camtronic does the trick), but the rear lights still has the worst design ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 37
    • All M270 series engine is turbo charged. Can’t have a NA producing 250NM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Read more before giving silly comments. It’s a 1600cc inline 4,turbocharged engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • crokco on Jan 19, 2014 at 11:12 am

LOL, its standard power figure for all 1.6 Turbo this days..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • not in cfe case

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • DrCooper on Jan 19, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Unfair to compare this with CFE..this is a Direct Injection engine.

• Direct injection is for fuel efficiency.
            So if M270 without direct injection it will still produce around 150hp.

• DrCooper on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Direct injection efficiency also attribute to performance

• kereta yang cantik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • sam69 on Jan 19, 2014 at 10:29 am

Sui Kwan Euro

• this is one true sexy car to me, regardless the negative feedback from car critics. can it possibly be priced similar to A250?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Robert on Jan 19, 2014 at 11:00 am

If priced well, I might consider purchasing one. It looks really good in the flesh, I saw it a couple of weeks ago while I was in London. Looked absolutely beautiful in white. Although not spacious, it’s perfect for single young guys who want style over practicality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 19, 2014 at 9:36 pm

London…you know London…you should repeat it several times…thats how nost people talk when they go to London…you know London…; )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • horacio on Jan 21, 2014 at 7:58 pm

butthurt coz nvr been to london coz no money…hahahaha..let alone buy a car..

• downsys on Jan 19, 2014 at 11:14 am

What would the price range be? And where does it fit in the merc line up?

• Steve on Jan 19, 2014 at 11:34 am

Saw it in SG Mercedes showroom the other day. Wasn’t quite impressed with it. Maybe it was because I viewed the new S-Class before viewing the CLA. :) the rear lights do not look good in the flesh as well and the rear headroom is laughable

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 19, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Overall looks great. Better than toyota by miles for sure. However they could have done better with the rear design. Back lights looks soft with melted down kind of impression. Not macho enough.

• Cla rocks on Jan 19, 2014 at 2:19 pm

To c all new merc before launch need to check aurodetailer in pj. Few times in the past they prep the cars for the launch n demo

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 19, 2014 at 2:53 pm

I test drove this in UK and upon return from London on my first class ticket, I made a booking with Mercedes Benz for this beauty. 2014 is going to be MB year, mark my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 56
    • glaze on Jan 19, 2014 at 4:34 pm

how does the CLA related to your first class ticket?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • AutoFrenz on Jan 19, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Haha what a joke…nice one…wanna show off…not d place laaa…you go to Motor Traders site laa…here everyone fly on pruvate jet…

• guninkia on Jan 19, 2014 at 5:45 pm

he juz wanna show off with first class ticket..even if u are driving a ferrari..who cares??juz an idiot..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • yahoo on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Test drove it when i went to the moon via first class, upon returning from the moon also in first class, i cant stop thinking about the car while sitting in my first class seat, byeeeeeee

• A380-800 on Jan 19, 2014 at 5:58 pm

When aircraft taxiing,what would you see on the first class LCD screen? :)

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 19, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Your mother jerking off to the pilot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
        • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 19, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Maserati is just a low baller. Travel by sneaking in a suitcase he said first class. Get a life la.

• No class on Jan 19, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Congratulations on ordering the CLA but seriously, what kind of low class person would point out that they were on a first class ticket? People who earn their money thru hard work rarely travel first class, unless it’s paid for by the company. People who earn money through questionable means, however, love travelling first and business and show off about it. So are u the former or latter?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • disgrunrledBMWowner on Jan 19, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Maserati is only a low baller. Travel illegally in a suitcase he claims first class..

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 19, 2014 at 3:50 pm

“…saya kaya”

“… saya hi class”

“… tapi saya x cukup wang beli CLS; CLA pun jadi la”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Jan 19, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Kimchi owners posting as Maserati.

Hello, come to my yard and you will be shown the broomstick. I do not accept any trade in b4 CNY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • albag on Jan 19, 2014 at 4:35 pm

proton, please rebadge this car… the rakyat will not scold you or complain you anymore if you rebadge this car… please~!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • mizuru on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:18 pm

and the mercedes CEO will flash his middle finger right up our face and say ‘in your focken dream’

• Archangel on Jan 19, 2014 at 5:41 pm

I wonder who is the owner of the A45 AMG beside this car. Hehe.

• spongewai on Jan 19, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Merc Malaysia considering to do Merc CLA in CKD project if selling like hot cake

• seancorr on Jan 19, 2014 at 6:10 pm

A beautiful car for sure but not a practical one at the rear end. In other countries this car is priced lower than the C class so the local pricing should follow suit.

I noticed the smallish screen on the dash which means no navigation and the reverse camera isn’t there either which suggests MBM is trying to price it attractively.

• DisgruntledBMWowner on Jan 19, 2014 at 8:35 pm

U r right. Its not car manufacturer’s fault. Say tq to BeEnd. A mere extra sunroif the tax is higher. Any extra accessory in the car they increase the tax even if it is for safety like airbags. Hence u will notice our malaysia cars for double the price are way under specs compared to other countries

• Naza_Motor_Italia on Jan 19, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Actually car prices in Malaysia is not that unreasonable.

To make cars affordable our Govn allows recon cars to come in at a chap price so that consumers can afford it. Not every country allows recon cars to be sold in their country.

U go to Singapore u will find it hard to buy recon cars.

Syukur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • justSAYING on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:49 am

yeah..i paid rm1500 or above just to afford a secondhand car from japan/uk…what a dream

• anonymous on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:50 am

Why would foreigners in their own country want to buy a re-con when they can buy a new one that is cheaper than Malaysia’s recon? Unless they are dumb…

• Petron_ron97 on Jan 19, 2014 at 10:43 pm

I recently bought a recon Toyota alphard 2.4(2006) and fetched my friend from the US. And I tell you he was really impressed with my car. From his facial expression I could tell he felt like being chauffeured like a VIP. They don’t have JDM recon cars for sale in the US.
    We are so lucky.

• paucharsiew on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:34 am

very overrated car. can’t blame anyone though. it looks good.

• macam buntut almaera la..

• Haripal on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:17 am

The spied photos should consider black out the car plates for other cars, for privacy.

• mizuru on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:14 pm

cla 250 is already considered underpowered in the states.cla 200?damn,it should have never been produced.if this thing cost more than 190k,i would rather spend my money on 316i instead.

Thirsty

• Only the CLA 200 coming ? What about CLA250 ? Or take the infiniti Q50 2.0T … Hard to choose ….