BYD Qin plug-in hybrid on sale in China, 1.6 l/100km

byd-qin-launched-a

Having first surfaced two years ago at Auto China 2012 in Beijing, the BYD Qin is finally on sale in China. It’s the plug-in hybrid version of the F3 Su Rui (yes, the one with remote-controlled driving) and the successor to the F3DM (DM for dual-mode), the world’s first mass-produced plug-in hybrid vehicle.

BYD is targeting “key world markets” with this one, and reveals that a similar model could be sold in Europe sometime in 2015, probably with a different name. Funnily enough, the Qin has already been on sale in Costa Rica since November.

The Chinese company, into which Warren Buffett has invested US$232 million (RM765 million) for a 9.89% stake, is planning to enter the US market in 2015.

byd-qin-launched-c

Taking its name from China’s first dynasty, the BYD Qin carries a 154 PS/240 Nm 1.5 litre TID petrol engine and a 150 PS/250 Nm electric motor for a total output of 295 PS and 479 Nm of torque.

This accelerates the plug-in hybrid to 100 km/h from rest in 5.9 seconds and on towards a 185 km/h top speed. Fuel economy “under normal conditions” is a claimed 1.6 litres per 100 km, and it can travel 70 km on electric power alone.

The driver can select EV+Eco, EV+Sport, HEV+Eco or HEV+Sport modes. When charge is low or when the driver demands acceleration, HEV mode automatically activates and the petrol engine kicks in (can also be done manually).

byd-qin-launched-b

The regenerative braking system recovers between 2.5 to 3.0 kWh every 100 km. Recharging can also be done from any conventional household socket.

Standard features include a 12.1-inch TFT instrument panel, smart key, tyre pressure monitoring, an electric parking brake, Isofix, ESP, Control Deceleration Parking and… ready? 12 airbags.

Like its non-hybrid sister, there’s remote-controlled driving too, and cloud-based connected services (currently China-only) and internet connectivity are also available.

How much for all this? Prices range from the equivalent of 23,725 to 26,225 euro (RM106k-117k), prior to any EV subsidies. 4,155 bookings have already been recorded in China.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Jebonr on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:17 am

China brand, hmmm…I would give it another 10 years to mature before trusting on the brand. But where is our locally made Hybrid/Electric car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:15 pm

OMG…the design is so complicated…and the taillights…oh wow how busy can it be…even the great wall is not complicated as this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:49 pm

China Brand same as Korean category lar.

In fact, China brand will outsell kimchis in 5 years time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • ProOFcar on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Lets compare our local car…Proton…
      Proton Suprima S vs this Car how???
      Did you think Proton is the best??

• This car,obviously way more economical than the Suprima. And,the acceleration time is also way faster than Suprima even though it is a hybrid! WTF ._.

• SayTrue on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Lets compare with our Proton Suprima S …

• Goverment will announce NAP today. Any news?

• too chinese..el cheapo looks & outdated design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
    • be logical on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:28 pm

you are the one whose cheapo and outdated, still dreaming in boleh-land. they are already planning to go into europe and usa in 2015, even Warren Buffet parked his money in this company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • slk3879 on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:39 pm

You got to wake up now, dude! Chinese design no longer equate to cheapo & outdated. Ask any third party, which design they prefer? This or those from Proton & Perodua?

Sorry if I offended anyone, am nottrying to against anyone, just trying to be unbias here, and please, don’t ask me to balik Cina!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Paul Tan, thanks for this nice piece of information. I like plug-in even if I don’t yet have a license. BUT,Qin is not China’s first dynasty..that goes to Xia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Qin dynasty is first IMPERIAL DYNASTY..Xia is indeed first dynasty

• Josh Ling on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:23 pm

yup. it was not the first dynasty in China. Emperor Qin should be the most influential emperor in China though.

• motorhead on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:24 am

Sprint time very good.. Amazing FC. Thumbs up.

• Xia, Shang, Zhuo, Qin, Han….in that order.

• Xian, Shang, Zhuo, Qin in that order so Qin is not the first Chinese dynasty! But I do enjoy reading this piece on plug-in hybrid from China. Paul, do you think someone will bring this BYD to our shore? Thanks..

• Look at their aim and ambition. That shows you how f**king retarded Proton is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • thepolygon on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:29 am

Seriously… 295 PS and 479 Nm Torque from a 1.5 L Hybrid… and a 70 km on electric alone… uses 1.6 L every 100 km… very tempting… I do hope they bring in this one… just for the sake of variety and testing on Bolehland soil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • if 5 stars safety rating on this, just like burger with extra cheese. please bring this in malaysia.

• Cropika on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:31 am

Im first..i hope plus u wont get that in a proton.i do undertand that due to china market, they byd blossom faster n manage to be high tech in less than 10yrs. But i dont think it would be brought in to msia anytime soon. Nice to knw in aisa, toyota n honda are being challenge with these companies

• kadajawa on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:31 am

Those days the Emperor surely ordered the car designer to be hukum pancung for making such a hideous design!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • theanswer on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:34 am

0-100 in 5.9sec? wow..sports car acceleration.

• Passerby on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:38 am

plotong! you malu ka tak malu? and where are you now? we are surpasses by chinese now and become the top 1 in the world count from bottom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Nothing to be malu about…with this kind of design…only those from there wd know how to appreciate it and wd want to drive it…hehe no hard feeling for those who are from there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:47 pm

No need hard feelings, for all you know a lot of money already flow to the Middle Kingdom from Boleh Land. Hundreds of millions worth of Telecom gear are bought by our Telecom operators plus all the smart phone gadgets from there too, they are happily helping Huawei to become the world number 1 in quality Telecom gear supplier.
        One day Proton might re-badge cars from China and our astronaut might also take China Space Taxi to the moon to experiment planting kangkung in the moon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
        • AutoFrenz on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:21 pm

I hope you know what you are talking about…but just dont drink their milk…we still care for you…despite your obsession with that country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • Put aside of the outlook design (Honestly it is not good looking but still better than Proton). The technology in the package is amazing for such a new company!
        Now a day, China can really evolve fast and strong into all kind of high tech business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Joker on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:38 am

Wow… the looks are better than alot sushi and kimchi.. 12 airbags @@… If it’s promising in reliability as well, this car is gonna be a world beater… a 150PS electric motor i wonder how big is tat…

• Passerby on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:39 am

plotong! you malu ka tak malu? and where are you now? we are surpasses by chinese now and become the top 1 in the world count from bottom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • just-in on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:41 am

Wow! the car looks good

• RUGAL on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:47 am

The design..too overdone perhaps?

• Simon Hoh on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:52 am

Century dash in 5.9s??? That’s even faster than an F30 328! Don’t mind having one to play with but probably worry about reliability of their battery packs.

• Spirior on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:54 am

Will definitely qualify as EEV under the NAP2014. Eh still napping? It’s already Jan 20th!!

• weiii,….why so ugly ma….

• MycarMylife on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:56 am

wow , that’s what I call innovation BYD !!! bring it on to the world, not like our PI Suprima facelift at higher RM astonishing dream or foolhardiness at its best !! Come on P1 you can do better .

• Errr… will it catch fire and explode too ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • eerrr….5.9 sec is BMW 328i msport century dash la…. how is the brake and other safety features reliable or not…..drive fast ….fast no brake how ??

• ABTguy on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Wow, much better than a Potong & Yoyota :D

Joke aside, BYD started up as a battery maker so hope their car batteries are reliable. Definitely raise the eye brown of many !

• Akira on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:14 pm

How’s that possible?

• Eddie on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:58 pm

OMG…

I dislike the brand’s name, car name, front and rear design…it’s ugly…

fuel consumption (TICK)
    Acceleration (TICK)
    Price (CROSS)
    Reliability (UNKNOWN)

I would drive any proton or perodua over this chinese crap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
  • bax79 on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:11 pm

1.6L/100km?
    from penang to kl and balik only more or less rm25…

• xavier lert on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:15 pm

will it disintegrate when sprint?

• behsong on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:31 pm

nice design….malaysia wait 10 more years also won’t reach that level

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • kadajawi on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Look, a Hyundai, a Toyota and a Honda had a threesome, and this is the result! To be fair it doesn’t look too bad, from the front. But that rear… it looks like those aftermarket “lets add as many fake lights as possible” glue on lights… It’s hideous!

Also now we know why Toyota has so few airbags in Malaysia… the Chinese have stolen them! 12 airbags! Where on earth did they put them?

• ProOFcar on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Very powerful car….
    0-100 car win Golf Gti ……

China car also can do like that…
    compare with our Malaysia Car Proton….
    Proton Suprima Vs BYD Qin …..
    lose gao gao …..haizzzz Malaysia ah..Malaysia…

• motorhead on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Look carefully.. Her look not bad. It’s just the nose grille.. Just take it out.. It ll look ok. FC is incredible.. Good effort from china.. Set a new level of FC in car industry..Good girls from china also.. Yum-yum.. Thumbs up… Will go look for china girls later..

• Scouser on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:39 pm

looks are subjective (i think the front & rear ends are a bit overstyled), but the performance seems promising (at least on paper)… thumbs up!

• from paper it looks excelent!
    design wise it has it own lines, at least look like from this era, not like proton, the design always 10 years behind.
    look at the price bro, at 110k you get such a performance car with such low fuel consumption.
    i wonder this is real or not?!
    if bring in i definite will get one.

• That’s joke of century. You are the only one praised this design here and you must be blind saying preve’s design is 10 years behind,

• RoKie on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Wow ! 70km on EV mode ?! 12 airbags ?! Toyota who ? Honda who ?

• JeremyNg on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Wtf I jz read ?! LOL ….. If this is true , I think they will win LeMans every year with the ridiculous fuel consumption.

• El Cheapo look is quite fine…it’s simply subjective. If it is really fuel efficient at 1.6l/100km as reported here (is this for real :)? and if EuroNCAP safety is good, I am more than pleased to own this at the right El Cheapo price ! Haha..

• Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:43 am

This will be the ultimate nail in the coffin for kimchis

• Not sure if u guys seen any BYD hybrid cars in China before, alot are used as taxis in the shenzhen, I would say it’s a very comfy and powerful car, compared to the standard VW taxis. Not the best looking car around but they are definitely heading to the right direction.

• SamLoo on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:47 pm

WOWWWWWW….12 airbags? Seriously????? This car is too soft compare to TOYOTA that it needs this much of airbag to assure driver safety!

• CarNutCase on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:11 pm

I take my hats of to them, el cheapo china products is long gone. 12 airbags?? damn u will be killed by the airbags itself not by the accident haha. anyone has reliability issues when it comes to products from china, but do you know that premium ones are top notch quality?? there’s a saying “Cheap is not necessarily be good, but good it will not be cheap”