NAP 2014: CBU hybrid and EV incentives discontinued

DSC_0150b

Tax incentives for CBU fully-imported hybrid cars have been discontinued, Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed declared at the ongoing National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) announcement at Matrade, KL.

“The exemption of excise duties and import taxes for hybrids and EV will be extended for models that are (CKD) assembled in Malaysia. The exemption will be extended until December 31, 2015 for hybrids and December 31, 2017 for EVs,” the MITI minister announced.

This confirms what many in the industry have speculated, and it affects popular hybrid models with engine capacity below 2.0 litres such as the Toyota Prius and Prius c, Honda Civic Hybrid, Honda Insight, Honda CR-Z, Lexus CT200h and Audi A6 Hybrid. On the electric vehicle side, two models are affected, the Mitsubishi i-MiEV and just-launched (at KLIMS13) Nissan Leaf.

2013-Top-5-Audi-A6-hybrid-02

Sales of the hybrid models have been encouraging in recent years thanks to full import tax and excise duty exemption announced in Budget 2011, which was extended to end-2013 in Budget 2012. The incentives expired on December 31, 2013.

We understand that prices for current stock of the above models that are already in Malaysia will be maintained until stocks are exhausted, and some of the above CBU hybrid models will be discontinued as “regular” prices will simply be too high. The Honda Jazz Hybrid is the only CKD locally-assembled hybrid car on sale currently – it will continue to enjoy the perks until December 31, 2015.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:01 pm

I guess, it means that if anyone who wants to get a hybrid would be stuck with the 2013 MY ones, and better start queuing up at the dealers. Honda, Toyota and Audi are going to have mad rush Malaysia Mega Sale lines now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 3
    • kazanixn on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 247
      • Malaysia Prices vs Global Prices on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:34 pm

The NAP plan is just to benefit the 20 or 30 AP cronies and let the 30 million rakyat suffer. We have been suffering the past 30 years to protect the cronies

Mainstream car prices

Honda Accord 2.4 (CBU)
        US$21,480(RM64,440)
        Malaysia Price – RM175,000 (CKD)

Honda CRV 2.4 (CBU)
        US$22,495 (RM67,485)
        Malaysia Price- RM185,000 (CKD)

Honda Civic CBU
        US$15,955 (RM47,865)
        Malaysia Price- RM115,000 (CKD)

Toyota Altis (CBU)
        US$16,130 (RM48,390)
        Malaysia Price – RM112,000 (CKD)

Toyota Camry CBU
        US$22,055 (RM66,165)
        Malaysia Price CKD RM180,000

Kia Sorento CBU
        US$23,150 (RM69,450)
        Malaysia CKD Price RM160,000

Hyundai Tucson
        US$19,245 (RM57,735)
        RM140,000

Hyundai Sonata
        US$20,895 (RM62,685)
        Malaysia Price CKD – RM150,000

Hyundai Elantra 1.8
        US$16,695 (RM50,085)
        Malaysia Price -CKD Inokom RM118,000

Luxury car prices

BMW 328i
        US$36,500 (RM109,500)
        Malaysia Price – RM300,000

BMW 528i
        US$46,900 (RM149,000)
        Malaysia Price RM420,000

BMW 535i
        US$52,500 (RM157,000)
        Malaysia Price RM600,000

BMW X5
        US$47,500 (RM142,500)
        Malaysia Price RM580,000

Mercedes E350
        US$51,000 (RM153,000)
        Malaysia Price – RM420,000
        In M’sia for only CKD E250)

Jaguar XF
        US$53,000 (RM159,000)
        Malaysia Price RM500,000

Porsche Cayenne
        US$48,850 (RM146,000)
        Malaysia Price RM570,000

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 348 Thumb down 17
        • numbers speak.
          i should have 2 porshe cayenne in my garage now.
          sad coz i am in malaysia.
          those who drive proton gen 2 and myvi should in honda civic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 4
        • Dr Kay on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:55 pm

But then again in the US they are paying higher fuel prices at market prices. Compared to the peanuts taxes they collect, foregoing the subsidies means they government saves more than 20+ billion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 82
          • But then again they are earning USD… If you are comparing apple to Apple, the new grad there can afford to pay off an altis in a year time but it may take our middle income earner 9 years installment for an altis. But then again even the petrol price is at market price, they are still better off due to our weak currency. I.e. Salary = usd2500 petrol usd 1.50 per liter. In malaysia salary = rm2500 petrol rm 1.90 per liter (low grade fuel). But then again who is better off??????????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 4
          • Do you think Malaysia fuel price is low? The government will increase the fuel prices and later no more subsidiary will be given to the fuel and then the car price still maintain this high level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
          • Captain Obvious on Jan 21, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Higher fuel prices in US?

http://www.eia.gov/petroleum/gasdiesel/

Incase you can’t count – 1gallon = 4 liters, therefore the price is about the same as here, while we are an oil exporter and they aren’t.

Please get your facts right before you open your anus for others to penetrate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
        • Jamal on Jul 25, 2014 at 11:27 pm

FU*K Panda Kangkung and his ministers ministers! all cronies, don’t know where all these monies goes and still keep greedy want to increase tax!

• Blackbox on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Seriously, you didn’t ready the full plan of NAP, or you just waisting your time reading and didn’t understand.
        “The exemption of excise duties and import taxes for hybrids and EV will be extended for models that are (CKD) assembled in Malaysia. The exemption will be extended until December 31, 2015 for hybrids and December 31, 2017 for EVs,” Which stupid manufacturer will invest to built manufacturing facilities to for Hybrid Vehicle of 2 years only? This is telling Honda ready to bungkus their Jazz Hybrid line and move to Sawadeeland.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 5
      • Blue-traveler on Jan 21, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Toyota insiders has just confirm that they will discontinue the Prius models for malaysia mkt due to this ruling. So much for pushing for new job, even worse, now we have less choice.

• Vader on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:54 pm

I think the G is out of expectation that many Malaysian go for hybrid cars and the tax exception is to huge until they don’t wanna to loss it? Masak pocket sendiri better than Malaysian pocket..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
    • _xXx_ on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:44 pm

…and those selling their CR-Z in mudah.my can start adding 70k to their selling price and make some big quik bux…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • obama on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:27 pm

Who is going to buy used hybrid car if it’s pricier now? and after sales support will be a problem, spare parts will be uncommon and expensive down the road cause the demand decreasing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Guan Yin Ma on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:02 pm

So hows our hybrid car insurance ?? revaluation ???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
  • Mozilla Chrome on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Even with the exemption of excise duties and import taxes for hybrids and EV, the price still far pricier than most parts of the world. Poor us for being conned from the very beginning.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 8
  • wow, while everyone takes a step FORWARD, we are stepping backward. WOW JUST WOW. MALAYSIA BOLEH!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 4
  • Does anyone know what is the Lexus CT200h price WITH tax? Standard specs is now RM170k but with tax, Rm220K kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Guan Yin Ma on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Actually is 330k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
    • Heskey on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Should be double with 100% tax. Same with Prius

• Green on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:41 pm

Pris originally was about RM175k.

then, Tax removal come, became RM137k.

soon, back to normal = 30% price increase.
      taking this as reference,

Toyota Prius C = RM95k -> RM125k
      Honda insight = RM100k -> RM130k
      Honda CRZ = RM120k -> RM 155k
      Honda Civic Hybrid = RM120k -> RM155k
      Lexus CT200h = RM170k -> RM220k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Polo Saga on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:05 pm

That means we should eat more Kangkung. Terima kasih, Be-eNd.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 5
  • RoKie on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Damn glad that I got mine way before the end of 2013. Bye-bye CBU Prius. Sad to see you guys go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • kawan…. when stock sold out, no one will buy prius, toyota will stop importing prius, spare parts will be rare… 3~5 more years when your prius starts to rosak here and there… u r damned… good luck bro.

poor CBU hybrid car owners… u r all hailat now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 17
      • By that time No used car dealer dare to hire your used hybrid. The only way is go for besi buruk or trade with Kangkung

• Always Nay sayers around. When Hybrid had tax exempt it was ” battery replacement cost v high, costs more to buy vs petrol price etc” After exemption taken away, it’s “no spare parts, no resale value etc”
      Seriously, If I had to live a life that way it’s a sad , pathetic life. Buy what you like and can afford. If you don’t like the car, there is no need to put it down. Bad faith.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Bring back more carbon into our air!!!! What a “good” move. Promote EEV? + as usual “safeguard” their ass on comfortable chair. After reading all day long, I decided better just go back to work & paste photo on my desktop assuming driving “cheaper” German cars. Sayonara M’sia “GOOD” cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Vincent Cheng on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:11 pm

So, there are only interested to continue protect those related to their friends… Now, Honda got no more competitor.. take it or leave it! :(

• Jebonr on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:15 pm

WHY ???

• So I guess , instant increase of RV for the CBU units of Hybrid like the CR-Z , Prius?

• spongewai on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:18 pm

RM123k for Honda CRZ auto going to RM200k above
    for example….

nooo

• Mamak Kerala on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Looks like another “great service” by dumno to the country and people by eliminating more car choices. Wonder what will happen to availability spare parts etc for those hybrids sold todate which may not be sold anymore in the future. looks like we are stuck in reverse gear with each passing day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Not daddy's son on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Puiiiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • Ma Ka Hai!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • Enthu on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Bravo to the gomen. Their EEV objective is directly conflicting with this move. Bravo~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Stupid govt, they desperate for excise duty revenue.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • Wilson on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:31 pm

If all these models are discontinued, meaning these models’ second hand price will drop further? Since no aftermarket spare parts available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • start a figt on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:54 pm

could be the different way… the price of second hand might appreciate.. just like the era when first car import tax introduce…

• this is stupid, and i felt stupid. what a stupid decision!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • start a figt on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:52 pm

if u missed the boat. so u make a stupid decision not to jump to hybrid..

• if they want me to buy their shitty proton hybird car, in your sweet dream you bet!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • start a figt on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:59 pm

u have option either
      jazz hybrid
      camry hybrid
      accord hybrid

(that’s what i know)

but if u can’t really afford these car, u should stick to ur shitty car. tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 50
  • sweet NAP on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:02 pm

CBU hybrids no more kangkung prices

• Toyota on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:04 pm

I guess this is to make way for proton eev…

• disappointed on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:07 pm

so when will proton eev finish u know la.. how thay R&D and u thing how reliable it will be..

• potonglagibest on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Dah agak dah… gov ni tak boleh percaya langsung… ni mcm kena kena tinggalkan kerja kat KL dan balik kampung, potong kangkung…

Ambil potong je, janji pocket tak kena potong… kalau bawak kat kpg… org gelar jaguh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • PUKIMAK!!!

Cibai Kangkung Government!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 9
  • Raptor on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Is there any way we can officially protest and/or appeal against this? With paultan.org as a channel, we might stand a chance. After all, the vehicle scrapping policy was cancelled twice after ‘public outrage’.

I think this is outraging enough.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • Najib razak on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Burit

• How about serena hybrid? What is the price after this?

• sianglee on Jan 21, 2014 at 7:49 am

TCM will still selling remaining stock with current price. Once the stock finish, they may introduce the ckd version. Expect TCM will sell it with the similar price now..

• whattanow on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Which green? Leaves or money? No money, no green leaves. Good job guys. What a hypocrite government.

• Fahmi on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Honda can use this to their advantage to CKD new Accord Hybrid and Jazz Hybrid…. They just completed their 2nd production line…. Don’t just strip down and sell the CKD cars with ridiculous prices…

• paucharsiew on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:01 pm

well good. the Audi Salesmen wont be so lansi.

• IAmThePro on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:07 pm

very good. less lexus wannabe ct200headache on the road. and those ugly priushit. praise the lord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Feeling cheated? No problem, stick to your current car as long as you can, and you will see the changes, if the impact to see economy slowdown and nobody buy new cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Its a matter of time saturation point is reach and the revenue from Excise duty die down.
      This is why there are proposal to scrap your car the moment you finish paying up your loan.

• RM5500 on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:29 pm

All the efforts go down the drain. What is the point of promoting hybrid vehicles in the first place? A whole load of crap from those decision makers. Gradual price decrease of vehicles by 2017? Dun hope for it. Then they will say you dun the the pricing go somewhere else and stay. Wait and see.

• NAP is just a crony plan..
    Bumiputera Agenda? sounds more like Crony Agenda….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • BeemerFreak on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Vote la, vote for BN some more, this is what you get in return. Totally betrayed the people’s trust. Semua otak macam kangkung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • tishaban on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:38 pm

OK so I’m not surprised at what the govt did. Not happy, but not surprised either.

So not for the first time in Malaysian auto industry a typical car will actually appreciate in price, becoming an “Investment” instead…

Audi A6 hybrids originally at RM288k brand new, selling for RM300k+ slightly used last year will jump in price again. Same thing with the Prius etc.

• Desperate Citizen on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Always dream of buying a hybrid but never had enough money for 10% deposit.
    With this bad news I will keep using my 10 years old car until its very last mileage.
    Hope it will last another 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • motorhead on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Hhaarrkktpuiihh!!

• verysadmalaysian on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Bodoh Kerajaan Malaysia. They are forcing car makers to built cras here in Malaysia. YOU THINK THOSE COMPANIES WHO ARE 100 TIMES BIGGER THAN PROTON WILL SUPPORT YOUR WHIMPY PLAN. KERAJAAN SINI TAK TAHU APA MAKNAYA MALU JIKA DIKETAWAKAN OLEH PASANDARA DUNIA KERANA MENLAKARKAN DASAR AUTOMOTIF YANG TERLALU TERUK MALAH SANGAT MENYEDIHKAN KEPADA RAKYAT MALAYSIA. CKD cars in Malaysia is so poor and in fact very the ciplak. Malaysia Goverment very bad in planning and decision making. All they want is makan rakyat duit, ambil rakyat duit and let rakyat have poor quality cars. Look at them driving Bently and Porsche. All the money go the cronies buying imported cars and rakyat stuck with poor, shameful cars built in Malaysia.
    Thank you Kerajaan. TERIMA KASIH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • lexuszibaiH on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:02 pm

I juz booked the last unit of ct200h, loan approved, standard spec silver..wanna sell rm180k anyone?come bid it..kekeke
    Ps: sparepart dun worry, get it from ebay :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • You must be feeling like a sorhai now. Nobody will want a hybrid now.

• lexuszibaiH on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:57 am

thats why im selling lo..can get quick angpow money dy, no duties excise etc the car should be selling at RM277K to RM330K ma, you’l b able to save 100k to spare for sparepart cost (pick this quote from car reviews “since it’s a lexus, it should be reliable” lmao.. so any ngonghai wan to buy from me or not..think carefully, no more CBU premium hybrid is coming to m’sia after this, as for those CKD 1, lu orang percaya kah????

• unlucky on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:47 am

usually the car price goes down..but your car go high. so u are lucky one! in this malaysian land..semua boleh maaa

• lexuszibaiH on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:06 am

TQ BN..TQ PM..TQ for taking care of me eventhough u din get my votes

• roxas on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:38 pm

GG lor ~ after reduce price on kangkung, thn cut off other thing. i rather not having kangkung. giv us cheaper car price !

• joanna on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:50 pm

Shut up la you all. Next coming general election still vote for this shitty unreliable government. Blame yourself.

• AutoFrenz on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:18 am

Pakatan is even worse…fighting non-stop…is that what you want Joanna…talk only no action…BN is still the best…btw who the hell r u asking people to shut up…get a life la auntie…aiyooo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 36
      • RejimKejamGanas on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Both are bad, it is a question of who is worst! In this present time BN is the worst. States under them still losing money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • RedKnight AHA on Mar 17, 2014 at 10:55 am

BN Action? COMING UP WITH this Pea Brain Decision ON NAP LAH thats IS THEIR ACTION- GROW UP KIDDO AutoFrenz….go suck their Arse!!

• Should have given a grace period for these cars. Man this is a big blow to many who plans to get CBU hybrid cars this year. Save the earth VS save your money. Sucks man…. Bye bye CRZ, plans B, jazz hybrid.
    BTW, Can we get a 1.5 hybrid for 2014 model Jazz this year? 1.3 power just feel powerless…

• probably because the rumored proton hybrid is going to be somewhere around Rm90-100K they just want people to buy Proton’s hybrid rather than a Prius, CRZ etc.
    NO ONE is going to buy a hybrid made by proton.

• sonyman on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:24 am

why cant they built a proton plant in UK and import the Proton Hybrid from there. Then all cars can enjoy exemption. then we all can choose those cars?

In malaysia making a hybrid is so expensive. That is why you need to go to England to produce. I am sure other brands made in Germany and Japan can sell so much cheaper. Probably their man power prices are lower than malaysia. No wonder so many bangla come to work in malaysia.

• RedKnight AHA on Mar 17, 2014 at 11:00 am

…Plenty OF BUYERs..those low incom or KIasu

• Carl Wong on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:33 am

Am I fortunate? I waited for half a year but still got my Insight Hybrid (Light Blue/Platinum Aqua Metallic) in April last year. Worth the wait and I still absolutely love it :)…!!!

• Tamiya on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:40 am

this is expected but still upset reading it …

• waiting Mazda3 CKD on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:50 am

Previously im going to honda.. and im asking about Hybrid car price in 2014.. he look so upsad.. look like he already know, NCAP discontinued for cbu hybrid car..

• JuboLGE on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:01 am

If we refer to new NAP rule, car with EEV status such Golf GTI MK7 2.0 with rating Fuel Con. At 6L/100km entiltle to get benefit EEV of reduction 20%-30%… If VW make CKD Golf gti.. But wait, how bout BMW 3 series CKD… It entitle to get this EEV benefit… Price will be below 200k! Why u buy Prius instead u can get BMW?… Macai, jgn makan kangkung banyak sgt.. Nanti otak mcm lembu…

• Sam Loo Ori on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:44 pm

BMW or VW got so standard la sochai. Prius is toyota. Toyota is Lexus, the most luxury brand in the world mate.

• dulan on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:54 am

Stupid G policy always pusing like playing masak.. who dare to dump in big money to invest in blolehland!!

• So pathetic i ken daiiiiiii

• motorhead on Jan 21, 2014 at 7:57 am

And AP holders still selling their car at tax rate.. Market price.. They only ve to sell one a month.. Untung dy.. While we live like dogs.. Pay all the loans.. Puuihhh

• sonyman on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:30 am

cheh, this just means, we all get to drive back what ever we have for the time being, This also means the PM is asking us not to spend his money so much, because he wanna buy another condo in New York.

This also means that if we all go buy new cars. His stupid looking perdana accorda is totally junk, and you know lah, he need face mah, how can you your income like RM 5000 a month can drive a lexus, prius and A6? Where can, you rakyat must drive proton EV, lah, Why go buy other people product when you can Support Kangkung products here.

You think of it, all these happenings has got to do with his plan to pull more money out from us, because Ex PM our Tun, will ask him to go, he already know this. So what to do, since the fat mama spend money like this.

Think think. dont just see the NAP, see the overall picture.

• Motorhead on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:09 am

EEV does not refer to only hybrid vehicles wise ass. Heck, there are a lot of Diesel engine cars that offer far superior fuel consumption figures compared to hybrids. The 1 liter ford ecoboost engine for example is being used the mondeo which is a full sized D segment car. Even the latest skyactive engines which are normally aspirated ie normal engines are said to offer a 30% improvement over the already frugal current generation Mazda skyactive . I won’t lose sleep over the removal of tax exemption for hybrids as there are many other ways to achieve the goal of being an EEV

• Prius on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:10 am

This decision will affect availability of spare parts but for international cars like the Prius, there shouldn’t be much problem. The Prius is on the market for some time with enough spare parts on the market. If parts for Civic Type-R can be easy to find, shouldn’t be much issue for Prius.

As for 2nd hand car price, since hybrid cars are now out of reach for most people, it will create a perception of luxury for people actually already owning one. So go ahead and get one.

• WaJib on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Do we get incentive for kangkung price at pasar borong after hydbrid incentive discontinued?
    Any joker or clowns can answer?

• Mossi on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:40 pm

they discontinue is it because we already have many choice for CKD hybrid? I think there only Honda Jazz CKD… how do we want to support environmental vehicles when we have limited choices..

• Another question here, they said CKD hybrids is entitled for tax exemption, does the engine capacity of below 2.0 gets the tax exemption only or the engine CC doesn’t matter as long it’s a Hybrid? Because we did heard that the Camry Hybrid will be CKD-ed but the CC is 2.0

• Betul on Jan 21, 2014 at 5:12 pm

The Jazz hybrid is only an assisted hybrid actually. I think the government should distinguish between a mild hybrid like the Jazz against a true hybrid like the Prius. Jazz has a much smaller battery and the fuel consumption is nowhere near the Prius C for that matter

• Fellali on Jan 21, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Welcome to Malaysia – from Project Usahawan Kangkung 1Malaysia (PUK1MA)

• Kentuckie on Jan 21, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Stupid arse minister
    Will again said” if u all cannot afford to buy these cars, then take public transport”!

• Car enthusiast on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:42 am

Fantastic plan to be EEV hub in ASEAN:

1. Unlike Thai and Indo who don’t tax most of their EEV, Malaysia tax most of our EEV.

2. Want to force Toyota to produce Prius in Malaysia can meh?

3. Tax exemption for CKD hybrid 2 years, who can invest and recover capital in that time?