NAP 2014: No details on Euro 4 fuel introduction roadmap, to be announced in two months

nap-2014-eev-specs

The National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) that was announced today did not mention any details on the introduction of Euro 4 (or Euro 4M, as it is called here) petrol and diesel fuel in Malaysia. We understand that studies are still undergoing and a timeframe for deployment will only be announced in two months time.

Euro 4 fuel is integral in the new Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEV) incentives policy, as the EEV classification that was revealed today is only the first version of the table. The EEV classification – which comes into effect immediately – calls for a minimum fuel efficiency that needs to be met based on how heavy a car is.

The next version of the EEV classification will include CO2 emission specifications as well – however, that needs to wait until Euro 4 fuel is implemented. At present, CO2 emission specs cannot be introduced as our Euro 2M fuel will result in higher CO2 emissions compared to the same engine running on Euro 4 grade fuel.

Even the many diesel engine powered cars introduced in Malaysia, as fuel efficient as they may be, need to have a system called a diesel particulate filter removed, which actually increases the amount of pollutants emitted.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Yes, in 2 months time the diesel price will be more than RON95. It is because this new Euro 4 diesel is more expensive to import and the G still subsidising it at the same rate on non Euro compliance diesel before.

• EURO4 meant for both diesel n petrol la…they import crude oil not process one..from crude oil refinery will produce diesel, petrol n other oil product…boleh have 6 oil refinery..3 control by petronas, 1 by shell, 1 by tipco n 1 by petron(who inherit from caltex)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • azrai on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:26 pm

The petrol yes come from our country, but due to the ‘high’ quality of our crude oil, even if process it cannot be diesel. Actually we export our high quality crude oil for more barrel of low quality one from overseas. And ours now Euro 2 at every pump.

• superbird #43 on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:51 pm

very true.
          our govt continues to provide low quality fuel supplies for the citizens while providing a better quality fuel supplies to other “worthy” nations.
          sounds like “More bang for the buck” to me.

Now, r we Malaysians being treated like a pariah by our own govt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
          • Dont talk rubbish if you just know a little thing. to have Euro 4 standard all refinery have to be ready which mean cost as well. all players need to invest ($$$)! thats why Gov have to take care of this as well. Gov provide low quality diesel? Do u think changing a standard an one night decision like the way u can change u’r car? keep dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • Alexxx on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:09 am

Petron inherit from ExxonMobil (Esso), not Caltex.

• Ambil SPM semula on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:12 pm

now kzm is an oil analyst. Don’t talk rubbish kzm, go do your SPM again. We all know how easy it was for you to go into university.

• monstermind on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:54 pm

i think with the introduction of Euro4 diesel…it will not subsidize anymore…G had to support palm-oil biodiesel that will cost consumer merely at RM3 per liter..

• sudonano on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:00 pm

But what is the benefit of EEV in the first place to the consumer? No breaks, no reduction in price, nothing.

If you see, even some petrol cars are already EEVs. Take the 520i and 528i. Less than 7l/100km. Same applies to many other European cars. And those Mazdas with Skyactiv also should be EEVs.

But that’s it. No benefit. Move on folks. Sadly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • BMWShouldBeTakingNote on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Yes. DRB-HICOM would benefit from this.

Whether all these tax break/incentives would eventually be waterfalled to the consumer, that’s unknown and highly doubtful.

And the incentives are opaque at best. Lower taxes? How much lower?

Don’t hold your breath.

• superbird #43 on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:09 pm

i think once it is introduced, our fuel price will be the same with singapore, only the currency is different.

• Vincent Cheng on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:15 pm

First time in my life time heard that EEV go by weight and not measure any Co2/g…If 12 L per LM consider as EEV,than all lorry, bus, container trucking is EEV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • blackbox on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Malaysia kangkung standard! Since kangkung sell by weight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Most vehicles already fall into this category. Example, BMW 528i does 6.5L/100km. I hope they don’t come up with the CO2 emission as a reason to increase tax. Or maybe the CO2 emission was left out with this in mind? Hmm…

• Reiner on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:17 pm

How is this going to apply? Applicable for Petrol car also? I’m driving a Lexus IS250. Combined fuel consumption is about 11-12km/L (Approx 8.5L-9L/100km). Will I get benefits from this?

• What s the testing standard? The FC are combined, urban or country drive or the Proton 90km/h for 100km test?

• lonelyobserve on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:17 am

The recommended testing standard should take reference from European and Australia’s ADR81/02, which has three figures, urban/city, extra urban/highway and combined.

Proton’s one just merely driving 90km/h (without mentioning is it constant speed or average speed), cannot be trusted. My friend already asked why the figures in brochure is big different from actual (he’s not harst driver).

• More clarity is needed from the Govt…

If ur fren is living in KL, hv to factor in the stand still jam… perhaps Malaysia should come up with our own testing standard including realistic driving conditions in KL and other major cities.

• Jonathan Keller on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEV) is most important at this time because petrol and diesel prices hike very rapidly day by day. Relative CO2 emissions from transport have risen rapidly in recent years from 21% of the total in 1990 to 28% in 2004, but currently there are no standards for limits on CO2 emissions from vehicles. When will be Euro 4 fuel implemented? Thanks for sharing.

• Eugene on Jan 24, 2014 at 9:39 am

No way. Euro 4 will kills Proton hybrid on the spot. Wait till cow comes home.

• Plus+ on Jun 10, 2014 at 7:02 pm

no euro 4 no skyactiv D 1.5 :(