NAP 2014: Fate of Open AP system to be decided after in-depth study, status quo for now

nap-2014-ap

Today’s National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) announcement did not touch much on the matter of the Open AP system that is currently being enjoyed by a relatively small group of holders in Malaysia.

Instead, the government will be appointing a company to do an in-depth study on the impact of the termination of Open APs on Bumiputera participation in the automotive industry. This will happen sometime after the CNY holidays this year.

The last update on the Open AP system was that it would be discontinued by December 31, 2015, which is just under two years from now. That will remain the status quo until the findings of the study.

We noticed the MITI minister made it a point to say that the “termination or continuation” of Open APs will be decided after the study.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kadajawi on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Already decided what. AP will stay. No need for study.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 1
    • most of us dont buy Open AP car anyway..these r for unofficial distribution aka gray import…Franchise AP that we need terminate ASAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
      • Najib, where is the 30% you Promised? on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 7 months have passed and nothing has been done. He promised last year!

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is EEV or ELV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise?

Madani, please ask your boss Najib to honour his promise. This basic thing also MAI cannot do, how can the rakyat trust MAI and the BN Government?

The reduction in your chart is Superficial. Got no meaning at all or any real savings to the rakyat. It is unfair, while we rakyat are told to eat Kangkung, the Minister’s wives are buying Birkin handbags costing RM100,000 each. And that also one person got berpuluh puluh Birkin handbags.

And the AP robbery is still going on. 30 Million rakyat suffer just to benefit 20 or 30 crony AP holders, all related to the Ministers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
      • Malaysia Prices vs Global Prices on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:32 pm

All the analysis above are nothing but lies. The AP system is to protect the 20 or 30 cronies. And because of the 20 or 30 cronies, 30 million Malaysians suffer. these are the real car prices. They are CBU. Which means, our CKD should be cheaper than the CBU prices. But instead of paying cheaper, we kena pay 3x the prices!

Mainstream car prices

Honda Accord 2.4 (CBU)
        US$21,480(RM64,440)
        Malaysia Price – RM175,000 (CKD)

Honda CRV 2.4 (CBU)
        US$22,495 (RM67,485)
        Malaysia Price- RM185,000 (CKD)

Honda Civic CBU
        US$15,955 (RM47,865)
        Malaysia Price- RM115,000 (CKD)

Toyota Altis (CBU)
        US$16,130 (RM48,390)
        Malaysia Price – RM112,000 (CKD)

Toyota Camry CBU
        US$22,055 (RM66,165)
        Malaysia Price CKD RM180,000

Kia Sorento CBU
        US$23,150 (RM69,450)
        Malaysia CKD Price RM160,000

Hyundai Tucson
        US$19,245 (RM57,735)
        RM140,000

Hyundai Sonata
        US$20,895 (RM62,685)
        Malaysia Price CKD – RM150,000

Hyundai Elantra 1.8
        US$16,695 (RM50,085)
        Malaysia Price -CKD Inokom RM118,000

Luxury car prices

BMW 328i
        US$36,500 (RM109,500)
        Malaysia Price – RM300,000

BMW 528i
        US$46,900 (RM149,000)
        Malaysia Price RM420,000

BMW 535i
        US$52,500 (RM157,000)
        Malaysia Price RM600,000

BMW X5
        US$47,500 (RM142,500)
        Malaysia Price RM580,000

Mercedes E350
        US$51,000 (RM153,000)
        Malaysia Price – RM420,000
        In M’sia for only CKD E250)

Jaguar XF
        US$53,000 (RM159,000)
        Malaysia Price RM500,000

Porsche Cayenne
        US$48,850 (RM146,000)
        Malaysia Price RM570,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
        • AP Scandal on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:58 pm

The recent lobbying by Pekema worked. Now, they got extar 2 more years to rape people even further.

What is the government doing about the Bumi AP holders selling their AP Permits to the Chinaman? The whole purpose of the AP system is to promote Bumiputera participation in the car industry. If the government is giving thousands of free APs to bumis only to be sold to the Chinaman, what is the whole purpose of the AP system? The AP system has only resulted in cars generally becoming expensive because if our genuine car companies are given unlimited APs (eg companies like Honda, Nissan, BMW and Mercedes) they will be able to drop prices.
          But instead, the APs are given to just a handful of cronies, who in turn, instead of setting up business, as set our in the spirit of the whole purpose of the AP system, they just sell the APs to a 3rd party. Each AP is worth about RM50,000. Some get thousands of free APs. So, some individuals are getting millions of free ringgit. All this results in prices of cars increasing because there is no economies of scale for our genuine car companies and our genuine car companies cannot reduce car prices. Only a handful of 20 to 30 AP cronies are getting ALL the thousands of APs handed out free.

Don’t forget also, about 98% of all AP holders clock down the odometer in their cars before they sell the cars.

This still does not address the root of the problem. Because of the AP and crony system, we consumers have to deal with these cowboy AP holders and 2nd hand dealers who tamper with the odometer. Its no secret, 98% of used cars dealers and also grey importers bring high mileage cars in and then tamper with the odometer to show very low attractive mileage. Malaysians cannot be sure or certain that I am buying a car with genuine mileage?

The government must ensure that all 2nd hand cars and grey imports come with service booklets that indicate clearly the service history of the given car. And it strictly must enforce that if a car has zero service history, AP holders must not import the car in and must strictly adhere to this ruling. The problem with the whole situation is that the Government gives all the AP’s to their cronies and it is the consumer that suffers with dodgy importers.

These AP holders make a huge profit. Because in overseas, high mileage cars are sold dirt cheap. In UK, the price of a car is based on the mileage on the odometer and NOT the year of make. For example, a 2013 Mercedes E250 with 100,000 miles on it is very much cheaper than the same 2009 Mercedes E250 with just 9000 miles clocked on it.
          The price difference can even be about 10,000 pounds.

What our AP cowboys do is very simple. Besides getting hundreds of free AP’s, they buy these high mileage cars, bring them to Malaysia, and then clock down the odometer to say, 8,000KM. And then sell for a hefty sum telling you the cars are hardly used or showroom cars in the UK. Malaysians also get excited as the year of make is 2012 or 2013.

In reality most of these cars are ex-rental cars that have been trashed over the years by people who rent them.
          Ask any used car dealers or AP dealers and 99% of the time, they tell you the car has no service history or service booklet. Even if the car is a 2010 model and is still under warranty in Japan or the UK. Surely if it is still under warranty in the UK or Japan, the owner must keep his service booklet and warraty card to service his car in the UK. Bear in mind most cars in the UK have 5 years warranty. So, if the owner int he UK does not give the warranty booklet or service history, something smells fishy.
          So, having warranty packages is an unnecessary additional expense. Already we consumers are paying a huge bomb for the grey import. Bear in mind that most of the AP holders and 2nd hand car dealers buy these cars so cheaply and their profit margin on these cars are nothing less than RM100,000 per car despite the AP holder paying the government duties and taxes. And these AP holders get hundreds of free APs per person.
          The government also must ensure that the buyers of these grey import cars are able to contact the respective previous owner in Japan or the UK to verify the mileage claim and service history. Because of the Data Protection Act in the UK for example, even with your VIN or chasis number, the dealership in the UK will never reveal any information on the car you newly bought in Malaysia, despite you being the new legal owner. And the AP holders know this. They themselves most of the time don’t tell you who they bough the car from.
          So what the government must do is simple.
          1) Ensure ALL grey imports and 2nd hand cars come with service history and their respective service booklets.
          2) Enable the owner to verify the mileage claim on the odometer with the UK counterpart or directly with the UK owner. Here, the AP holders in Malaysia is merely a middle person or an agent assisting you, the buyer buy the car from the seller in the UK.
          Bear in mind that a car that cost RM400,000 may cost you an additional RM200,000 in parts replacement if the parts are worn out if the car has already done over 100,000KM. But you thinking it has done only RM8,000KM on the odometer made you decide it was such a good buy in the first place as it was hardly used.
          So many people have fallen for this trap. After few months, gear box rosak and the they have to cough out another RM100,000 to replace the gearbox.
          Most AP holders sent the cars to the AutoSpa and refurbish the cars to a brand new state. No matter how bad a car can be they just change the tyres and let the AutoSpa work magic. The next thing you know, the car is so shiny and brilliant.

• Mann Bell on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:55 am

kzm semua tau

• Never Against Pekema on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Read my full name OK (NAP also)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • satekj38 on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:52 pm

“in-depth study”???

who will believe this.
      AP will stay, just an excuse to cover up

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • If the intention is to maintain AP, just do so. No need to spend public money to conduct any study which many believe will not lead to any fruitful outcome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:40 pm

The cronies sing, “AP,AP we love you, we want more,more,more..”

• dissapointed on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Need to appoint another company to do assessment before deciding? #1 are there no more qualified and smart people in the govt? #2 appoint company yo waste money again?

• gostan on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:45 pm

well, the best part is the appointment of a ‘company’ for this in-depth study. no doubt the people in that company are gonna be millionaires soon..

• Polo Saga on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Good for the cronies. Malaysia boleh, kamkung boleh!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
  • sepatun on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:30 pm

seperti yang dijangka..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Ah moi on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:31 pm

in-depth study my a**!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:42 pm

They just go home and sleep for a couple of weeks and then annouce, “AP stays.”

• Steve Jobs on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:31 pm

gila apa mau terminate.cash cow nih AP system… only with selected people with connections….

#truestorybro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • erwinkarim on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:32 pm

who they hire to do the in depth study? consultants or con-sultans?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • Mozilla Chrome on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:35 pm

To reduce price need to open lab to study. To hike price simply raise first, no need to study.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • Barry on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:41 pm

SAME SHIT DIFFERENT DAY. MITI KAH,MATTA KAH,MOTTA KAH ARE ALL KANGKUNG.NOT RELIABLE AND TRUSTWORTHY.

JUST LIKE BAPAK KANGKUNG….THESE ARE ALL THE GOMEN DEPT YANG HABISKAN BERAS SAJA.HAVE ANYONE HERE SEE HOW THE GUYS IN MITI WORK? HAVE YOU BEEN TO THIER OFFICE? HOW WASTEFUL THEY ARE AND A BUNCH OF IDIOTS WHO JUST SIT THERE AND MAKAN GAJI BUTA. YOU WILL KNOW QHAT I AM TAKING ABOUT IF YOU BEEN THERE OR WORK WITH THEM BEFORE.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
  • Tok Berlagak on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Waited so long and Still the Same Shit??

Malaysia Boleh.

Study Never End.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:41 pm

At time of writing, the new NAP is now worse than the last one.

“Stocks carried over from last year continue import/excise exemption. But full import/excise exemption for CBU hybrids and EVs has been discontinued”

Welcome the 500k Audi A6 Hybrid. All those A6 hybrid owners have now become richer by 250k overnight.

But besides that, its really kangkung la. No actual tax break for EEV. If you see, the BMW lineup, MB and probably VW lineup too will fall under EEV. Proton cannot. Incentive for manufacturing, but do you think the price will drop?

Best part, exemption for CKD hybrids, anyone remembers the CKD Jazz Hybrid? The price was still high, they cut costs by throwing out 4 airbags, rear disc brakes and cruise control, auto wipers/lights. Even with a little common sense, everyone knows buy the CBU, cause just a set of 2 discs and cruise control will cover the 5k “reduction”. Both CBU and CKD were tax free anyway last time.

Oh well, brace for the rice hikes. GG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • bootupjoe on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Local Kangkung price drop…..others naik harga..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • bluebird on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Announce like no announce,
    Chinese called it LPPL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • TeacW7 on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Tell me who will give up an easy making money opportunity? Ini macam duit jatuh dari langit, tak kan nak abolish? Kroni mati lah cam ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • drust on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:57 pm

I feel sad with this announcement. Feels like govement dont really care what the rakyat feel and what. Do what you want to do and voice what ever your disactifaction but in the end Gov just do want they want to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Jebonr on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:03 pm

AP stays = then car price maintain. That’s it.

• What’s new, Another upcoming U-turn policy by the G!

And hiring of a company to do the study? haha, use of CON-sultants again….end up paying BIG $$ to the CON-sultants and end result is either they will recommend to continue with the Open AP system (as it affects many rice bowls, probably the CON-sultants too) or they unable to come to a conclusion, so back to Square one and G achieve nothing but has to pay the million dollar consultant bill! Just Watch and see….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • tokcock on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:13 pm

anuar told u all alrdy before, sokong pkr, harga kreta turun, ada banyak orang lagi bodoh lgi sokong bn kankong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • superbird #43 on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:22 pm

because of them the price for my ’70 6-cyl Firebird increases nearly 10x when i brought it in here. that applies to the European luxury and exotic supercars or classic cars as well.
    is the govt trying to provide cover-up the real culprits of this whole AP thing?

• shawal on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:28 pm

A special committee will be set up to study this matter, an undisclosed budget will be given to conduct it, hire ‘relevant’ people to validate their findings , weekly meetings at undisclosed locations in secluded resort to stimulate thought process, travel expenses to other countries to study their automotive policy , eg. Brazil , S.africa ( its a mandela thing ) , a new office location to get in touchwith key automotive movers , shakers , wankers and such , few vehicles will be purchased to study their relevance for the malaysian public . This special commitee will give its conclusion once it is deemed necessary by MITI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • The Government has decided that an in-depth study to be undertaken to assess the impact of this termination on Bumiputera participation in the automotive industry.

Bumiputera participation or CRONY participation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • bluebird on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:53 pm

I thought they already study this 10 times already? Still want study?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:49 pm

AP is hot potato, need to consult Tai-Ko first.
        Many VIPs also get APs, so don’t ruffle the VIP’s feather.

• gomen opisial announcement on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Ahem ahem… official go men announcement

After spending millions to do an in-depth study, our CON-sultants have recommended that we do not need to change anything. We always study first without simply taking action and now we have concluded that we actually need not take any action at all.

terima-kasih. now please enjoy your kopi and kuih kangkong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Only idiot, retarded, and cronies believe in them. That why in my life, I will not buy Proton and Perodua. Because of this 2 lousy brand, billion & million of rakyat money gone into drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • bluebird on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:45 pm

They will announce a study visit to Antartica to study the impact of removal of APs to local industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • bluebird on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:04 pm

A study will be commenced to see if the study is needed for a study to actually study the impact of how a study on the local APs will be needed. The result is expected to be announced in year 2020, in line with Malaysia’s vision of year 2020.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Archangel on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Another drama to cover up on the AP by hire or appoint a company to do an in-depth study.

• west end boys on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:11 pm

kedekut nya gomen,bukan semua orang mampu beli hybrid,harga without tax untuk hybrid still mahal compare ngan negara lain.tu kalau macam ni kena makan kangkung sampai mati lah nak bayar hutang keta.i rather have tax incentives on hybrid rather than the gomen giving people br1m.

• thedarkside on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:12 pm

nice job kroni kroni….because of you the price of malaysian cars remain high and the govt has even managed to come out with a lame and vague excuse such as in need of “in depth” study.

• farish on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:21 pm

what a rare occurance. 99% of the comment are united.

• Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Because ordinary citizens are denied AP, not even once in their life time, only those who work as expatriate overseas will get it so they can bring their car back to Boleh Land.

WE ARE UNITED BECAUSE THIS CLEARLY IS CORRUPTION.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:08 pm

And kimchis will still not have RV, NAP 2014 and beyond

• sick&tired on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Why do people like naza still need help!? They are already billionaire’s. What else do these blood suckers want!? Mark my words come 2015; nothing will change.we will be screwed continuously by bn. I have been hearing about car price being reduced since 2000. We are being treated like fools! Just spit it out and tell us that aps will never be abolished. No need to waste tax payers money. I am sure the company being appointed to do the ‘study’ is a crony company. Enough is enough. Next election pls kick them out. Give PR a chance. The older generation has already screwed us by doing nothing when Mahathir increased car prices to protect proton. Now let’s not do the same to our future children.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Study here and there (with outcomes many predicted), G still hesitate, if want to abolish then do it faster! Malaysia government do thing very slowly, no wonder the country still lacking behind!

• Nicholas on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:31 am

Wait la, haven’t milk finish yet the money… Wait until current APs holder pocket overflow first…

• Dato AP on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:58 am

Just terminate it already… Indept study? Hahahaha! Typical bullshit from G!

• Janji ditepati, rakyat didahulu kan~

• Steve Jobs on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:10 am

if the Gomen really want to help the Bumis…is not to give the Open AP.they shouldn’t involved in directly selling the cars…lets the franchiser do it.

Ask the Bumis to involve in manufacturing the components.

The AP is only helping people with networking inside the government.

• Kangkung on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:25 am

We all must be grateful.. Malaysia is a peaceful country and all of these implications are for the benefit of the people..

Well all u BN supporters Pls open ure eyes, hearts n will to take action in the next election..

• AcerMan on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:13 pm

We all now know what BN can do to our automobile industry. Think should give the mandate to PR in GE14. Then we will know who can run the country better. :)