NAP 2014: Proton to expand CBU exports and CKD programmes; look into EEV in the future

proton-persona-sv-launch 022

Proton has released a media statement following the National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) announcement today. You can read the statement in full below (after the jump) or read our summary of it here.

The gist of it is, as the only full-fledged car manufacturer in the region (the company’s own words, not ours), Proton is in full support of the Malaysian Government’s initiatives, adding that the move in is line with the company’s shared vision for the industry.

Proton has recently introduced two new, cheaper models in reaction to the Government’s aspirations to reduce car prices. According to Proton, the Saga SV and Persona SV, priced around RM34,000 and RM45,000 each, are already the most affordable B- and C-segment sedans in the Southeast Asian region.

Beyond that, the local carmaker will also be looking at expanding opportunities to grow abroad. This will be executed in stages, through direct CBU exports and CKD programmes at selected countries.

As for the Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) policy, Proton says it’s in the midst of investing in R&D activities involving the development of “advanced powertrains, a new engine family as well as hybrid and other alternative propulsion systems.”

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• I thank you, idiot
    how about D-segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 48
    • Pontiac on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:20 pm

U r the one idiot. The accordana is the d segment what??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 41
      • Well said
        I almost forget the famous accordana sv

thanks ya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
        • Proton - Rakyat's Burden on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:24 pm

For 30 years we rakyat suffer paying high car prices. All because of Proton. Actually car prices the past 30 years have not gone up that much despite inflation. You can see this from the US prices. A Honda Accord 2.4 and Toyota Camry 2.5 2014 model is USD$22,000. Yes, top of the range cars are only about RM60,000. US cannot be stupid and sell their cars at a loss.

So, this proves, car prices have not really gone up much the past 30 years. We still can be buying a Toyota Corolla or Nissan Sunny brand new for maybe about RM40,000, up from RM20,000 20 years ago.

So, for 30 years, we have been paying super high prices to protect Proton. Proton also gets hundreds of million ringgit in grant every few years from our Government. This is our hard earned tax payers money.

So with all the protectionism and all the suffering every single 30 million Malaysians been paying overpriced cars because Proton needs protection, all they can come up is a few thousand ringgit reduction and that also with lessor accessories?

Tak malu ke Proton? Disgusting. 30 million people suffer for the past 30 years and ALL Proton can do reduce price with lower accessories. What are your engineers and designers doing? So many years, Proton prices should come down.

We Malaysians suffer so much the past 30 years. Because for 30 years we have been paying overpriced cars and our tax payers money been given to Proton in the form of grants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
          • Don’t forget the supply chain is …from part manufacturer – Distributor – Crony A – Crony B – Crony C – Last Proton.

• pondan on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:36 am

Well I feel ashamed already just by mentioning the name! Accordana is the biggest joke and a disgrace to our nation…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
        • just me on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:40 am

What about rename it to proton anaconda, sound fierce and powerful or may be proton kangkung, everyone loves it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • Man21 on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:44 pm

U know what Proton High Perfomance!!! CAMPRO engine stand for ‘Condemn Profile System’ Always rosak. Lebih pandu Proton lebih miskin

• Julius on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:41 am

No need to be ashamed because you cannot buy the present version. Moreover the most of the people that will be using the present version will be chauffeured driven. Bergaya bro.

• just me on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Trust me there will be many dumb and dumber replaced proton Emblem to honda. Kalau bukan malu apa agaknya???

• Ibrahim on Jan 21, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Ye ler malu tak bertempat.

• deaftek on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Pigi dah drb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 28
  • Kankung on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Semua u punya pasal proton kankung….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 21
    • Everything must be sacrificed to promote Proton’s future. Might as well we call this PAP (Proton Automotive Policy) instead of NAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
      • How can i say that when p1 dont even qualify as EEV car..p1 SS 9L/100km in C segment…to qualify SS must be 6.5L/100km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • paucharsiew on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:01 pm

its really retarded when the NAP is a time where a so called national company that does not benefit 98% of its citizens in any way releases its long term goal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
  • sirimusa on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:06 pm

PROTON is so messed up under DRB that they can’t even get their company introduction below their press statement right (under “about PROTON”):

Copy paste:
    “Its offerings include versatile and reliable four-door family vehicles such as the Saga and Persona, THE DYNAMIC SUPRIMA S HATCHBACK, and Satria Neo three-door hatchback for the young-at-heart, stylish executive sedans such as the Prevé and Inspira, the spacious and affordable multi-purpose vehicle, the Exora, THE DYNAMIC HATCHBACK THE SUPRIMA S, as well as world-renowned sports cars from LOTUS. Most importantly, PROTON models are developed with LOTUS Engineering, offering customers superior ride and handling experience in every drive.”

So much for ASEAN’s only “full-fledged OEM”. Get your spelling and grammar right you idiots. Then make cars. Aiiyoo!
    Such mistakes in a Press Statement in unbelievable. Amateurs. God Help Us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
    • Lotus is a company in financial trouble. Says a lot doesn’t it?

• AntiSocial on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:33 am

Saw the fourth Suprima S on the road in my lifetime this morning.

• kl fella on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:23 pm

i only saw one in my lifetime on the road, and it was a test drive car!

• z7901 on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:08 pm

and i quote “proton says it’s in the midst of investing in R&D activities involving the development of “advanced powertrains, a new engine family as well as hybrid and other alternative propulsion systems.”

give me one good reason why should i believe u proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
    • it’s probably a new fancy flathead R+D screwdriver, cost a pretty penny, perfect for taking badges off its mounting. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Superman on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:18 am

Investing? Are you kidding? So what happened to all the lonely that we’re given to proton as grants to develope hybrid and EEV cars with Fraser Nash uk? I believe around rm300milllion so far.. Where is the money and where are the cars? Seriously who will believe drb will put money on RND? They only want to make triple profit on the cars and they only messed up the company. Can dato lukman answer whee the grants have gone?

• shawal on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Cn u improve d preve first? Fuel consump…. int quality … adaptive suspension mebe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 13
    • Grammar Nazi on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Can you improve your grammar and spelling first?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 41
    • Oh MY ENGLISH on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:53 am

Gosh. You can’t even spell MAYBE properly. Improve your english first then only bash proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • well it might be true. on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:12 pm

well proton do have a point. they do sell the cheapest B segment car in the whole of ASEAN i believe. If you dont believe it try and compare the prices of car overseas?

even the oh so beloved detroit of asia (aka thailand) has much more expensive cars. not as expensive as ours though but still expensive nonetheless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • The thai cheapest variant almost all lost abs+ebd+ba..some have oni 1 airbag..some lose AC..some lose power windows..some lose audio din+speaker..not fair la compare with saga flx sv or persona sv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • west end boys on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:17 pm

talking about exports,its been more than 2 years preve still not in the middle east market im guessing suprima s will launch in middle east in next 4 years. berangan je lebih proton eev lah,global car lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
  • Black Dog on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Sure support lah. More R&D money from Govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • jolly_idiot on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Proton again. Until when only we can stop listening this name in screwing us up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 19
  • Sharing your company’s vision? No thanks. Please let us live with our own automotive dreams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
  • Proton and DRB-HICOM, less talk and more action please.

Proton’s new cars have improved a lot in the last 3 years, but their market share and sales have not.

The only way forward is export. Do what Hyundai-Kia has done, build some CKD factories in emerging markets like India, Brazil, Eastern Europe and the Middle East. So far, Proton only has one CKD plant in China, but this one plant manages to make more than 150,000 Proton Gen-2s and Personas a year for the Chinese market. That’s almost as much as all Proton cars manufactured at the Tanjung Malim and Sham Alam plants combined !

To improve your brand image in Malaysia, you must do well overseas. Only then will Malaysians regain confidence in Proton.

Anyway good luck Proton and all the best. Make Malaysia proud.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 7
  • Hmm, these I assume are Proton’s vision ;

Crappy cars
    Expensive cars
    Poorly designed cars
    Infinite life models
    Copying other brands-sharing platform as they call it
    Badly influence policy makers
    Refuse to DIE.

Next model to be called xxx-tuned by kang kung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 47
    • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Proton won’t die if there is life support machine hook on to it, hopefully Proton will wake up from coma one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
  • Guan Yin Ma on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:54 pm

With the new NAP , who can laugh and enjoy until the end ? PROTON. and did i see wrongly ? CBU ?? can proton post their CBU sales report out ? HAHAHAHA. Even ferrari sold more then proton in uk . 504 units ferrari vs 208 units proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 17
  • Daily driver on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Proton market share in Malaysia keeps falling. It has gone from 80% to 25% since Proton started, and is falling towards 20%, This even with the high taxes on foreign brands, which Proton avoids.

Proton is selling a few thousand cars abroad every year, but losing money on each car.

After 30 years, Proton still needs goverment protection to survive.

When the politicians promised cheaper cars, people thought they meant all cars. What politicians did not say was that they had in mind cheaper Protons only.

That was a summary of the new MAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 14
    • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:05 pm

No-lah, Perodua also become a bit cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Nobody debunked what I say in the previous2 article bout high car excise tax…n yet still people say foreign brand tax high….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • pondan on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:48 am

No body gives a damn bout your argument… the country had gone from bad to worse under BN reign, and proton is just an abomination of cronizm and corruption, thats the fact! ‘

You post in nearly every proton, government policy related post doesn’t change a thing! just save your breath!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
        • U the one who don’t want to understand….u reject bcoz of ur sentiment to BN..the new NAP is not perfect especially AP related (it should be terminated as plan) but…other than that it quite gud…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
          • i agree with kzm.. there r a liiiiittle bit good in this nap 2014..

• Pakai Otak Sikit on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:41 pm

kzm, you are still talking rubbish. Uitm or Mara did not teach you anything is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • sj413 lwb on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:48 am

no worries kzm, as malaysia have a lot of keyboard warrior but silent evil in practice. and not to forget, ignorance and self pride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Sigh... on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:08 pm

The Monopoly continues! At citizens’ expense!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
  • Contender on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Thank you Proton for the NAP 2014 and beyond …. Proton might as well change name to Parasite …. while poor Malaysians have to continue to subsidize this Parasite Company, directly and indirectly … even when you choose not to buy Proton, indirectly your taxes from buying other cars and income tax will go to help the crippled people in Proton@Paarasite and the food chain of Vendors@Vultures

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 15
  • Majuperak on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:13 pm

Quote from their press statement “In line with NAP .. create 150,000 employment opportunities” … yeah at what cost ? So the 20 million citizens have to pay through their pockets just for this 150,000 job opportunities ! What a whole load of crap ! Economics 101 will tell you this is a silly thing to do !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 13
  • motorhead on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Export?? Hahaha.. Sell cheaper outside also can’t sell.. Puihhh P1.. Gotohell quick. RIP. Your time is out.. Thx to NAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 23
    • Julius on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:29 pm

You are worse than Proton. So RIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
      • now now you cannot deny his frustration with proton tongkat when we are told we are a rich and advancing country when we cannot even afford to buy a good reliable car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • motorhead on Jan 21, 2014 at 7:27 am

Thx dude, you got the point.

• Julius on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:15 am

Why cannot buy? Can pay installments up to 8 to 9 years for cars. Which other country allows such long installments. It should only be not more than 4yrs. Low interests some more. In many parts of Indonesia you have to pay cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • suck&tired on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Really respect proton. The only full fledged car manufacturer in the region! Why la u guys want to complain when got proton.!? Even our neighbor’s are jealous of us! Preve, saga, exora, savvy, inspira (fcking Mitsubishi shamelessly copied the inspira. Proton should take them to court). Even BMW is shivering when they see such a steller line up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
  • NerdD!ck on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:35 pm

For the first time, at least for me, i love Sam Loo than whoever announced this idiot policy. However, a small part of the Wira owner will still support Proton but they will never think that, because of this monopoly, they couldn’t get a better quality car for the price of a new Proton B Segment car. I know there are going to have ton of bashers to criticize me. But, it’s the fact. Yes, Preve has improved a lot. But, why atleast 50% of the malaysian still think that it is a lousy car manufacturer? Don’t blame me, blame them. They don’t have the right marketing strategy. Ok, if Proton really has improved so much and it is so much better than lets say the Dugong vios or Forte, then why not abolish the unfair whatever duty excise tax and let them priced around the same and see which have the better sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Tok Berlagak on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:39 pm

I support u.

but not just lousy marketing strategy.

their car got no quality.
      just having 5 star Crash test still does not prove their car is reliable.

show us high reliability and Rakyat will love Proton.
      the best and quickest way is adopting Honda Engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Vincent Cheng on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:58 pm

While our NAP is happy talking about EEV which can allow U move 100KM with 5L fuel, Porsche new super car can make it in 3L and China has just introduce their BYD which make it with 1.6L….Kita memang boleh..siok diri sendiri!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Green on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:35 pm

100km with 5L to be qualiefied.

if u enforced 3L for 100km..

then, eventually there will be no car that can get EEV tax exemption..

I wonder if it’s you syiok sendiri or Government, Vincent Cheng?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • At least chinese people in china berlumba2 to produce car…even though most of their car are low quality..here boleh people berlumba2 to buy car oni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • thebug2 on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Proton has been talking about export for the longest time if I can remember correctly… what is the results? Preve is a global car… what is tthe reaults?

I owned Preve and love the handling. A part from that, quality is failing, rattling everywhere but I do thankful to Proton COE for trying to fix the problems. Unfortunately, most of it is design issue and that’s the most COE can do.

How to go oversea for lousy quality car where oversea consumers have more choices of equally price car for much better quality and design. Wake up and stop dreaming. Fix the bloody quality first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Archangel on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Proton and DRB Hicom, please focus more on action rather than talk.

• Another syok sindili statememt…if the B and C segment car they produced is the ” cheapest” in the region, tats means tat P1 is world class low cost producer, so why on earth still jaguh kangkung opps i meant kampung after all these yes? Why no Potomg in one of the worlds toughest market, the USA? Takut ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • shahir on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:12 pm

cara terbaik untuk rakyat Malaysia mendapat kereta harga rendah ialah dengan memPROTONkan kereta jenama lain …. seperti Proton meNasionalkan Mitsubishi …paling latest ialah Accordana ….. just select beberapa model dari Toyota, Honda, BMW, Audi, Mercedes …rebrand as PROTON…then ..walla …. jadi kereta nasional ….. tak payah melabur dari segi R&D …… jimat apa …… hahaha…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • shahir on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:19 pm

lepas baca press statement oleh Proton …. nampaknya Proton belum belajar dari pengalaman dan sejarah mereka yang hampir 30 tahun ni ….. diorang patut tumpukan untuk mengembangkan potensi perniagaan mereka di luar negara ….. aku sangat sedih bila baca ayat ‘at selected countries’ saja ….. mcm mana nak maju? patut la PROTON bagi alasan tak boleh nak buat R&D untuk kereta kelas mewh menggantikan model PERDANA dan terpaksa cilok model HONDA ACCORD untuk jadi Accordana …kenapa? pasal volume tak boleh justify R&D cost …. why? kerana PROTON hanya berharap kepada pelanggan domestic saja …. diorang TAK RETI nak cari market luar…. PROTON ni HANYA JAGUH KAMPUNG ……. selagi mentaliti tak berubah, Proton will remain as national liability …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • SeluarMambang on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:47 am

pakcik Shahir, apa yg ko merepek ni? Press statement in response to NAP. NAP ni untuk domestic, memang la citer domestic. Apa jadah nak bagi statement pasal sales luar Negara pulak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • naasuarez on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:44 pm

bodoh bangang kecik2 tak nak mapus

• CRONY F U on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Cibai country cannot live anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • Julius on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:29 am

If you don’t like this country, there are others who love this country. Are you an illegal worker from somewhere? Balik ler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • dirtyoldmen on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:49 am

simple/lazy minds often think;
      govt = country
      proton = country

wise men say;
      Life is hard; Life is harder when you’re f****** stupid.

I predict you’ll have a hard life ahead and wish you a long life.

• Cannot live anymore? Go die lorr..

• Dear World…let us introduce to you our flagship car…Proton Perdana!! ….without further adieu, let me now hand the mic over to Honda’s Global Development Director

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • joanna on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:10 am

People always said Proton improve a lot? A lot what? Preve with a single range of engine? Suprima S and Exora with the same freaking engine?
    They keep saying we should proud of the company since Proton is the only South East Asia carmaker. Don’t you think countries like Singapore or Thailand cannot produce their own carmakers?
    They could but what’s the purpose of having their own car manufacturer if its only burdening the people by subsidising the company directly or indirectly?
    Sorry Proton. In order to protect your bosses, our excise duty is the highest in the world. We have to make a 9 years loan just to pay the taxes. Your bosses will continue to enjoy profit nonetheless while our hard earned money will be use to subsidise your company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 15
    • No..actually thai has one local car manufacturer (Thai Rung) doing rebadge (eg Humvee) but not as succesful as p2..indonesia has several local car manufacturer called mobil nasional or mobnas eg Esemka, Timor, Tawon, GEA etc but most of them level way below china car quality….Philippine the national car project never take off, fail project..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Dont compare with failed projects please. You cannot improve if you keep comparing against other people’s failure.

• Henry on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:51 am

I remember Proton wanted to do a JV to build cars in the Philippines. It was during the time of President Fidel Ramos. The project was a stillbirth.

• AutoFrenz on Jan 21, 2014 at 6:36 am

Bravo Joanna you will be promoted as senior red army bean…you will be given 100 beans under your platoon…now continue to attack…but make sure to do your homework before you go to school…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • farghmee on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:14 am

joanna,

what’s wrong with one single engine powering all cars?

1.5L i-vtec L15A is currently used in city, jazz & freed.
      is that wrong?
      1.5L vvt-i 1NZ-FE is currently in new vios & was also used for the last gen vios.
      is that wrong?

frankly, have u driven the CFE/Turbo engine?

ur excise duty is also imposed to proton/perodua. got that?

can u imagine the situation if excise duty is removed from both imported & local car?
      obviously local car can become wayyy cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Julius on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:33 am

Luckily you got 9 yrs loan. Or else tak boleh beli kereta ma. I hope the government disallows this very long installments so as to reduce the number of cars on the road.

• ‘expanding opportunities to grow abroad’
    ‘other alternative propulsion systems’

How about a turbo diesel for Europe?

• uncle drb on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:42 am

DRB just to come in and suck money. They are not here to develop the company, car or technology. It has revert back to the previous Tengku Mahaleel days of managing Proton since DRB took over, evidenced by their press statements.
    Proton, yet another car assembly plant under DRB, another channel to suck money, slurp!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • AutoFrenz on Jan 21, 2014 at 6:30 am

All red army beans…start attacking now…thats what you are paid for…dont just sell vcd lucah…haiyoo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
    • hondaman on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:01 am

let see how the kacang hijau army trying to defend this..

• Majuperak on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:22 am

This is car blog not political blog …. Please bring your political discussion else where mind you ! Or are you an employee of DRB or Proton …. LOL

• farizY on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:43 am

“Proton has recently introduced two new, cheaper models in reaction to the Government’s aspirations to reduce car prices. According to Proton, the Saga SV and Persona SV, priced around RM34,000 and RM45,000 each, are already the most affordable B- and C-segment sedans in the Southeast Asian region.”

Does this means reducing cars prices equals to lower spec cars with bare minimum kit? At least from Proton’s POV? Not good at all.

• Alifz on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:01 am

Have you study the specs of the both SV model.?
      Saga SV got 3 star Asean NCAP, airbag. Persona SV gets 4 disc brake, ABS, EBD.
      Compare to previous base varian model and you shoud knkw which I better.

• macai on Jan 21, 2014 at 9:09 am

2018 Proton going to sell Saga 60th years Merdeka edition for RM26,999.00, a 30% price drop from pre-PRU13 RM40,000.00 Saga FLX.

Terima Kasih BN, Janji Dicapati!

• ”Proton is in full support of the Malaysian Government’s initiatives, adding that the move in is line with the company’s shared vision for the industry” This statement make us laugh. Of course its in line because the NAP was made based on Proton and to keep Proton alive.

• Abdullah on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:19 am

All bullshit talk.

Proton has been talking about exporting cars for the last 30 years. Result is a dismal failure.

• I think kia and hyundai wasn’t even around yet that time. Haih… malaysia getting more and more memalukan lately… but all the BN supporters still sleeping… wake up guys, the indo and viets is already awaken… if we don’t catch up soon … i really no semangat to continue dy … too sad …

• All Blue Troopers….quickly…defend blindly…then you can return to your HQ and bend over for your bosses to……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Proton is the hub of all the cronies, this crony supply the bumper, that crony supply the headlight, that crony supply the wheel.. then proton collect the money from the rakyat by forcing the rakyat to buy their car and then chanel the money to the supplier(the crony). So if proton die, or profit less, all the crony affected, so as long as BN is in charge, proton will be the same proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Henry on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:46 am

For imported brands it looks like the best deal for Malaysian car buyers is still CBU or CKD ASEAN.

• AKoNGz on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:52 am

I hope that everyone can see the ‘permainan’ of the government claiming that they have reduced the cost of owning vehicle. The fact is, it is the manufacturer effort itself that had lead to price reduction. Or maybe the government is involved in PUSHING the manufacturer to reduce the price.

This is normal practice of all manufacturing business where they have to constantly find alternate sources to reduce their manufacturing cost.

IMO, government can claim they did reduce the price WHEN they decide to reduce the TAX / abolish AP

• Joker on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:55 am

Instead of NAP it shld be called the RAP (Rubbish Automotive Policy).. They just mention EEV and make no implementation whatsoever.. and what happened to ELV?? They didnt even reduce the excise duty by let’s say 5%.. Not even 5%!!!! I jz hope they will abolish the whole excise duty and petrol subsidy.. Then we’ll see which car can sell the most and who’s better…
    Proton should be ashamed of themselves for being in the automobile industry for 30 freaking years and no major accomplishment whatsoever.. and seriously wat’s wrong with the design team???

• BLT Club on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:32 pm

“…other alternative propulsion systems”. Accordana baru yang akan dipasarkan dalam masa 2 tahun lagi akan dikuasai oleh enjin yang menggunakan kangkung sebagai bahan bakar. Enjin ini dijangka mampu mencecah kelajuan 500km/j.

• I would like to see someone write a white paper on how to wind down proton with minimal impact to the supply chain and industry in general. Would be an interesting read. Any bored economist out there?

• why can they just do as they promise??? myself, my family, my friends r not asking to reduce the car price drastically, at least reduce a little bit of that excise duty, 4% or 5%. but, the Govt. is like having a deaf ears.. like always syok sendiri!!! damn it man!

• bndogol on Jan 21, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Proton is proton jaguh kampong it cant be kimchi or sushi proton taste like cincalok belacan and budu nothing more so rakyat 1M had to accept it although its taste bitter.

• i think proton is dying sooner or later by looking at their cars.
    their car just CANNOT compete with other brand, not even in their own kampung-malaysia.
    their management just too lousy-i doubt they are sleeping all the while.
    their CEO just dont know how to lead the brand-every one drive proton when no choice .
    can just let us know how many preve have sold after launch in australia?
    no car company can survive solely based on one market.
    even in malaysia, proton is losing market share year by year.
    proton is dying.
    as a malaysian, for better future of our young generation,to free them from poverty because of the 9 year car loan after start working, for better living of life, please let proton decay and rotten.
    it is just hopeless to see each of their strategies.
    i wonder what they can do next as preve doestn get much response from the market.
    EEV proton is a dead move.unless your hybrid is comparable to toyota. even korean is reserved in this segment.
    other brands is sooo much ahead.
    wonder how much proton losing each year?

• Flat Black on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Affordable to buy je… dgn FC persona 1.6 IAFM auto 8.5 ~ 9.5 litre/100km. This is real figure by me. Just ask any persona user can they achieve 8 litre/100km? The answer will be only during long distance (100km++) journey on Hi-Way.

• old dog on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:19 am

after all these years, find a country where you can find Protong on the road for more than 1 cars …LOL…export my ass…all these exports jokes are for the sake of making protong sounds good, that they does export, but got buyers or not is another story….frog under will never learn