Proton safety poster shown at Sales Carnival, Melaka

Click to enlarge.

This interesting poster was displayed at the recent Proton Sales Carnival in Melaka last weekend, where the national carmaker also unveiled the new Suprima S Super Premium variant. Take it how you will, but a real world incident is perhaps the best way to showcase the safety of a car – a Proton Preve in this case.

The poster explains that the vehicle is believed to have rolled over in the high speed incident, hence the caved-in roof. The photographic evidence shows that the car’s side structure remained largely intact, enough that the doors could be opened for the driver (the lady standing next to the engine) to come out without difficulty.

As for the much-talked-about detached engine, Proton stated that the phenomenon occurred by design, especially in such a heavy frontal collision. If needed, the heavy motor would drop down the engine bay to avoid being pushed back into the passenger cell.

Just last week, company boss Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil vouched that customer safety is paramount to the national brand. Proton’s most recent models, the Preve, Suprima S, Saga SV and Persona SV all offer improved safety, with the C-segment sedan and hatchback models in particular boasting five-star ANCAP safety ratings and feature six airbags and ESC as standard.

The two models under Proton’s new Super Value line-up, meanwhile, are more affordable than before without compromising safety. The Saga SV is ASEAN NCAP three-star rated, and comes with two airbags and a host of other improvements. The same goes to the newer Persona SV, which features dual front airbags, all-wheel disc brakes, ABS and EBD.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Id say good move by proton these days, putting priority on safety in their recent cars. I dont know bout others, but ill definitely have an eye on safety when im goin for my next cars, last time for me it wasnt such a big deciding factor.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 4
    • policeman on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 143
      • You gladly risk the life of your family for power windows?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 4
        • That’s because power windows will bug you every time. Sometimes you’ll just feel like killing yourself. Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
        • policeman on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:22 pm

not just power windows but others mentioned above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 49
          • question: did all things you’ve mentioned above really did happen in current preve?

if there is any latest case involving that car… please share…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
          • victortan on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Utterly rubbish comment, as if you experience all those problems in the Preve.
            Go own a car before you type like a keyboard warrior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • kadajawi on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Toyota had to recall millions of cars due to power window failure. And in the case of Toyota the car could start to BURN. Kind of more serious, isn’t it? Any car has quality issues. As long as they fix them that’s fine with me. The airbag popping out issue was fixed long ago. Should I bash Toyota for brake failures? Stuck accelerators? Those were far more recent problems…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
        • alldisc on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:40 pm

talk is cheap. pls give link to support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
          • victortan on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:56 pm

Just go and use Google dude, and I’m ensure you what he said is true.
            Your awareness in automotive is not that high, aren’t you?

• saga FLZ on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:03 pm

First edition Saga BLM got no front side
        indicators: how come Proton never think of safety then ..only later model then got. So simple yet never think during design stage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
        • mental on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:48 pm

at least they got come out with their latest model. dugong don’t know how many generations, still 2 airbags.
          they got think of safety? at least proton thinks now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • speeddoesnotkill? on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:46 pm

I LoLed at your comment

• atong on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:45 pm

Maybe value of life in your family is not important to you thats y u consider quality more then safety of the car…..did you know power window now come with lifetime warranty and 5 years on all parts……

• Aerro on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Yes it’s called “Enjin Auto-Cabut”…new safety features…not even Volvo realised it too

Hey, Volvo! Shame on you smart Sweden engineers! Why you guys never thought of it before?? See, Proton far ahead than you lah! LoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 69
      • Low Budget on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Really good design, engine automatically detach from the body upon impact, just wonder why they did not get 5 star safety award.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 43
        • Hyundai De La Junk on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:04 pm

That’s because Low Buidget ignorant people like you do not know engine mounting are build in such a way to avoid engine to intrude firewall & kill the driver & passenger, can’t blame you you are on low budget car which doesn’t have such features…lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
        • kadajawi on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:54 pm

What are you talking about? The Preve and Suprima got 5 stars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • Bengong! on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:08 pm

This is earlier quote (as reported by Paultan) “Proton said that the engine detached itself from the vehicle by design”. So DETACHED-vs-DROP DOWN mean the same Proton? If yes, than all Preve should’ve been recalled. If no, than people who gave the statement should’ve been f***d.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 49
        • DonkeyKong on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:44 pm

It means the same for the entire industry. It only doesn’t mean the same for idiots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • Eyesore on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Hello dumbass… in order for the engine to “DROP DOWN” from the car it has to be “DETACHED” from the car… No??
          Or is there any other way for it to drop down without being detached??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
      • Volvo employs a totally different concept for the issues of frontal intrusion crashes.
        The engine and gearbox itself is design to act as an absorbing material and a barrier to prevent intrusion through the firewall and into the safety cage. The gearbox is often extremely compact and mounted on the left side of the engine to assure this. This is exactly why all Volvos starting with the 850 onward are front wheel drive with the engine mounted in the transverse position. Another example to quote is how Volvo is able to maintain a similar safety performance for the smaller S40 which has a very compact engine bay as compared with its bigger siblings. This is achieved by redesigning the engine to partially integrate the gearbox with the engine block to be extremely compact.
        Volvo were prepared to opt for a slightly understeer diving characteristic which as a consequence lead to a non-trilling driving experience when compared to BMW for example because of a safety aspect that they wanted to achieve. This is exactly why most car writers says that Volvos do not have a fun driving and handling experience.
        But what is to be said is that unlike some other car manufacturers who build front wheel drive cars due to cost savings, cheaper manufacturing option, Volvo did this because of safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
        • And for those who want to bash this statement what I mean is that in order for Volvo to have a solid absorbing block Volvo needed to remount the engine transverse. To ensure that the gearbox did not act as a projectile into the cabin area the gearbox had to be mounted on one side. Hence because of this arrangement the car had to be front wheel drive.

In order to better improve the driving characteristics, Volvo introduced TRACS and the Haldex AWD system in its 850.

This is because one of the limiting factors of a front wheel drive car is that it becomes very difficult to handle beyond 250BHP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
          • didnt know volvo did the FWD migration due to safety reason. very good info. thank you sir!

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Now, that’s what I called Defensive In Style..!!

Just keep the info flowing…

• DonkeyKong on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Volvo realized that long ago. It’s one of the reasons why they moved to a predominantly FWD platform because they wanted the engine to totally separate from the car in the event of a major accident. On a RWD car, it’s a bit trickier to implement because there’s still a tough prop shaft connecting the engine to the rear diff housing.

• Mr Mac on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:15 pm

dei! volvo used this on all vehicles especially their trucks! google before commenting. malu la

• Safety first? Then please explain the proton saga 3 star ratings

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
      • Safety first? My foot! Arena how many star? Wira? Juara? Tiara? Old Saga/Iswara?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 57
        • DonkeyKong on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Idiot, he’s talking about the newer cars. Then you might as well criticize Toyota – “Safety first? What about the 1970 Toyota Celica? 1984 Toyota Corolla?” etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
        • keyboard.rosak on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Deyy, itu kereta suma Mitsubishi / Citroen punye design la, proton assemble saja masa tu. n buat apa compare model dah tak produce?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
        • wakeup on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:06 pm

wira? juara? tiara? errrr…….. wake up we are in 2014 now! in 90’s even T and H barely equip with safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
        • mental on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:52 pm

you talk about 1000 years ago?
          Why don’t you say the same to toyota.
          now we compare 2014. the latest-gen vios and latest-gen altis only got 2 airbag? Safety? My foot!

• Veneno on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:29 pm

don’t be stupid.. tu yg lama punya ma.. diorg cakap yg baru punya..

• policeman on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:23 pm

old design. Safety first started from 2012.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • kadajawi on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:03 pm

The Saga was already a big improvement over the Iswara and Wira, the Exora should be a 4 star car, and the Preve/Suprima are 5 star cars. The Saga is about to be replaced, I expect the GSC to get 5 stars as well.

• nandakumar on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 130
    • phuwekkk on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:48 pm

well disease like you maybe..talking crap all day long. you are way worst than proton. talking without studying the facts. Proton nowadays are different from the past. well maybe there are still problematic proton but hey..other brands also got problems what?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
      • Past had problems, now also got problems (even you agree). No progress. Hmm…So who’s talking crap now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 41
        • Refer to your statement, P1 previously and currently also having problem is no progress, other car maker like T,H,Peug previously no problem, now have problem mean they are walking downhill?

• setiapaduka on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Please laa don’t expect your rm40 k -80k to get new luxury car and hope the ‘desease’ won’t infect you and yor family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • 80k buys you a full spec Camry/Honda elsewhere. If they are gonna tax cars like crazy, at least improve public transport to a point where the public don’t feel the need to own a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • victortan on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:47 pm

You talk as if you understand the tax system and how to price a car. In reality it won’t work as you say, the economy of the other countries aren’t the same as us. There’re always reasons and factors why the other places price the cars cheaper.
          Simply put it ths way, if gov unable to earn revenue from “A”, then they’ll try to earn this deficit from “B”. In the end, rakyat still susah.
          Agree though we really need a better public transport system, that’s why there’s the new MRT. Improving the public transport always take ages.

• Yes, you can buy a Camry for 80k in countries where a hospital bill cost you an arm and a leg.

In Norway (a rich oil country with no national car industry) a Volkswagen Golf 1.4 90 KW Trendline (Europe’s Persona) will cost you RM143,850

• u expect low n middle income to drive luxury car? that little bit over rite…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:02 pm

What for do you need a luxury car? And cronies are (one of) the reasons why cars are so expensive in Malaysia. Besides, it’s a huge income for the government, that they can spend on helping you. Healthcare and what not. If they didn’t have this high car tax (on ALL cars), they would have to raise other taxes. Higher sales tax on all goods, higher income tax, no fuel subsidies but highly taxed fuels, … And don’t even think about 9 year loans. You might get a 3 year loan if you’re lucky, so in the end you’ll be driving the same cheap cars as before.

The AP system really needs to go though, it doesn’t benefit Malaysians at all, except for a few lucky ones with good connections.

• Thompson on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Probably he is opposite minded… Actually left then say right, up say down etc…

Pity for stubborn people like you

• Pity on u on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Nandakumar, why u such a narrow minded, before u pull a trigger, have you learn anywhere how to shoot? Same goes here, Don’t u know about the safety feature? which comes to a priority? LIFE or ur CAR??? Wake up. Please google first before u talk. If u doesn’t know what u r talking about. So better be silence.

• speeddoesnotkill? on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Even Toyota and Honda cannot provide safe cars across their range. In fact most of them are claimed to be safe but actually all safety equipment stripped down.

• Woot Woot on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:16 pm

eat your words haters!hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • motorhead on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Safety?.. Yes.. But everyday I go to work I never thought to ramp somebody.. Or even scratch my cars, I always try follow the rules & speed limits.. Everybody knows how it feels driving at 80kmp in any modern cars today.. Even a Kancil.. Please la.. It’s 21st century dy.. & the issues nowadays are.. Green technology.. Efficient engines.. Low FC etc… Go to hell la proton.. Campro for decade dy.. No much improvements..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 76
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Have you ever wondered why a car crash is called an “accident” and it rarely involves both parties driving aggressively? It just takes one idiot to make an accident, the other party can be totally law-abiding and yet lose his/her life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Bro.. on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:27 pm

what if….. somebody else ramp your car?
      maybe you are indeed a good driver, but we’ll never know how other people driving their car la bro..
      just my opinion..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Savvy88 on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:32 pm

So you think people who get in the accident, they intentionally want to ramp their car? Hello.. malang tak berbau. Its for safety precaution. Even if you drive as skema as hell, if other driver recklessly hit you, you also involved into that accident.

pegi beli Toyota ko sana.. its the MOST RELIABLE car brand, isn’t it? safety kurg xpe, janji power window x rosak, enjin save minyak..bla3..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • speeddoesnotkill? on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:50 pm

I just pray that your car have the safety technology when you need one. Or maybe you are so skilled that accidents will not happen to you? Even F1 drivers get into accidents, so maybe you are more skilled than them?

• mastermind on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Proton should be careful to promote their product over this issue. Some word may lead misleading.

Proton should provided real measurement on impact that absorbed by the safety features in the involved car.

for example, Tesla provided measurement of impact that caused their car to flame itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:47 pm

The passenger cell was intact,the driver could still open the door to step out unharmed despite the bad crash. What more do you want?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Lam guan engg on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Aiyo…lagi Mau cakap,harga mahal u tau tak..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • krizalid88 on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:28 pm

in bolehland, RV >>>>>>> safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • policeman on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:26 pm

lu mana sakit? RV = money in
      Safety = money out

Imagine crashing in a 5star car (preve) at 110kmh vs crashing in a MyVi @ 110kmh. In preve you’ll have injuries, claim insurance, premium increase – money out. Myvi, you die – money in – Family happy, they get your insurance money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
  • Lim tok kong on Jan 20, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Baik beli Vios spec J maa…production cost 30k jual 80k.Govt tax 5k.Toyota banyak untung tipu buyers.Airbag kasi 2 cukupla hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:07 pm

u forgotten the fact that cars have a minimum of 75 excise duties incorporated.

and the fact that.. if govt allows toyota to sell at slightly more than persona, ppl will buy vios. proton will close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
      • Celicazz on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:04 am

75%? where did you get the number?

Vios is made in Shah Alam. Imported? NO

You stupid? Yes

• speeddoesnotkill? on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:51 pm

2?? Satu saja la!!

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Hey!!! today is NAP announcement, any updates?
    Btw Proton ahead of Volvo? You must be kidding Bro. Every manufacture has it own design. You haven’t see how Volvo safety equipment “DON’T shame” on others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • niaulong on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Proton,

I like Your EDS (Engine Detach System) built in the PREVE
    Good Job for leading this technology to the new world!

• DonkeyKong on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Most modern car manufacturers already utilize this. Proton is late to the game, but better late than never. Maybe you should read more first?

• kadajawi on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Common tech. Many brands have that feature, but no one (except for Subaru) advertises with it.

• Or maybe use ‘handling by lotus’ word on all proton cars.. Its not an alien tech. Lol

• ex-proton user on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Proton is bullshitting again. The caved in roof should not be due to rollover. Pls note that the driver’s door and side mirror are undamaged/unscratched. Do you think the plastic side mirror is strong enough to survive the impact of rollover several times?If an automotive company like proton can make such a stupid commend, imagine what they would consider when designing the car. The impact on the left side of the car is more likely the cause of the the caved in roof.The left A pillar is visibly slanted inwards towards the driver. Rollover will most likely cause flattened roof, not like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
    • xflow on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:41 pm

wow we have a crash expert over here knowing everything without interviewing the driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:55 pm

I take it you haven’t watched any crash investigation documentaries before nor seen how a vehicle gets thrown about when they roll over? Since when do vehicles roll over neatly like a rolling pin??

In a rollover, the vehicle will be thrown about because a normal passenger sedan’s width is more than the height. All sides of the vehicle will not experience the same amount of contact with the ground, the car will in fact be “bouncing” as it rolls.

The part of the roof that caves in or deforms more will usually be the side that hits the ground first. Due to the initial deformation, subsequent rolls will not cause the roof to cave in uniformly and in fact, the deformed roof section from the initial roll will alter the roll characteristics. Ideally the sides of the roof should be more resilient to caving in, but at least in this case it didn’t totally crumple inwards as would a Myvi’s roof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • ex-proton user on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Agree with you that the car may bounce during a rollover but if the rollover happened a few times, why is it that the driver’s door is still not damaged? Are you saying that the car will bounce each time it reached the driver’s door?Pls provide a more logical explanation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
        • spyshotX on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:46 pm

if i’m not mistaken the a-pillar and b-pillar structure are part of the reinforced safety structure (ress) which are made of super-strength hpf steels.. it explains why the roof caved in during roll over since the steels of roof structure is softer than those hpf steels.. maybe the objective is to protect the doors from deformed so that it can be open easily without the need of the rescuer to cut the pillars like most other accidents where the roof just totally collapsed..

• mayb his opinion was based frm his experience rolling the vege spring rolls..

• ex-proton user on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:13 pm

are you referring to your vege spring roll?
          Can’t you see in the picture that only 1 side of the pillars were pushed inwards and the other ones on the driver’s side looked unscratched?It is so obvious that you guys are making stupid commends and blindly supporting whatever proton claimed without analyzing the picture carefully. If the car was involved in a rollover, do you think that lady driver could still walk to the engine and stand beside it to have a look?Even if the car has a very safe structure, she would have been very dizzy after the rollover.Pls use your brain to think before making anymore stupid commends

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
          • come on dude.. do you think the photographer was there just after the incident? LOL..
            Lucu la awak ni…

• rahim maarof on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:33 am

DK ni bodo pya org..tau nak basher je…get the proper facts la weii..

• ex-proton user on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:03 pm

low class proton supporters with no engineering knowledge to differentiate between facts and lies. That’s why they cannot accept the fact that proton is lying again and disliked the commend above.Don’t believe?Ask that lady driver what happened.Rolloever and spin are 2 different scenarios.Spinning a few rounds is more likely than rollover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
      • Celicazz on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:07 am

So, you are the expert? Low-class?
        You think others low class bcos supports proton on this matter?

How abt you not being openminded and really are low-class in the thinking department?

• taboogen on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:24 pm

wow you might have interviewed the lady owner lah.. how is she? have u seen the car rollover? didnt you know that when the rollover occourd it could be a million ways possible? unless you are the all mighty then i rest my case lah. Coz malaysian nowadays talk only the talk..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • ex-proton user on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Since when did I say I have already interviewed that lady owner? You don’t understand English?

• Pity on u on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:21 pm

So why u talk so much??

• Pity on u on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Ex Proton, So why u talk so much??

• elpaciko on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:39 pm

you didnt interview the lady… so how do you know what happen?

how do you know what are facts and what are lies.. just by looking at the picture??

i think American NTSB should employ you la..

• Preve Lover on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:58 pm

you can’t even spell comment correctly..and somemore you want to teach Proton how to design/make cars? go back to school please…get your spelling correct, and after that come back here to comment…stupid !

• art appreciator on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Hmm. Not very comfortable at all about the promotion poster. It makes the entire incident seem frivolous, even more so with the rather lampooning captions. Might be the owner of the car gave her consent, but still…a somewhat crooked and dark kind of promotion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawi on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:56 pm

If it works I’m all for it. People need to think more about safety in this country.

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Haix. Only proton will come out with these type of promotion idea.

• yup, because toyota’s victim cannot standing beside their car since they are in a critical condition or dead already… so they didnt hv a change to take a photo like this for their safety adv.

• Imbcsab on Jan 20, 2014 at 1:50 pm

If it was really a design feature was it proclaimed in the sales brochure? Methinks it’s another kangkung story.

• mental on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:01 pm

cause they won’t like toyota keep show off their RV and low FC.

many manufacturers didn’t advertise about it, except Subaru. Meaning all the manufacturer like BMW don’t have this feature at all? Kangkung bmw lah

• qarnill on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:28 pm

This advert is really a joke….proton oh proton…stop the nonsense…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
  • RoKie on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Syabas Proton !

• farizY on Jan 20, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Can’t argue with that, the safety features proven both in the lab and on the road.

• I don’t think it is a good idea to put the poster unless it is official crash test! As other commenter, people might got wrong idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Norman on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Ok bosses let me explain this way before we overact.Im a supplier of parts to BMW,Toyota/Perodua,Honda and Proton..BMW,Toyota and Honda got stringent quality checking before we are allowed to sell the parts to them.Perodua on other hands is under UMW so they get the second best and guess what the quality peoples in Proton are forced to accept parts that are rejected by those companies even though they knew the parts will create problems..Now who is the cronies here?I understood cronies will protect National car but in this cases its the other way round…So sad actually Proton also not so bad causs.ive borrow from my overseas friends.Until this problems is solved i will still see rakyat will bash them like no tommorow.For those who think that compete with Europeans and Japanese’ was an easy feat then try built your own car.Korean already pass the test..Sooner is Chinese cause of their money power and they can even buy Volvo for their safety aspects,Japan engines for their reliability and Korean style of offering more gadgets at an affordable prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • supervisooorrr on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Oh really, liar?

I work at a chassis supplier for Honda, Proton and Perodua, and because of ONE misaligned small hole in a Proton/Honda part can make us go headache making months of experiments, reports, assembly line improvement, retraining those assemblers blablabla. Because of a TINY HOLE somewhat get senget by 0.5~1mm

Perodua on the other hand, makes very diligent defects analysis like mad japanese but what the hell they accept the parts anyway.

• Thompson on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:22 pm

In the end, everyone wants RV more than safety.

• Denaihati on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:52 pm

congratulation proton that incident prove better safety standard. hope will give more clear info and more technical on feature “ejection engine”, i think many of customer really want to know.

• superbird #43 on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:04 pm

i have yet to see a suprima on a road in east msia, albeit the opposite is true for newly facelifted vios.

• this kind of advertisement will bring negative effect or not? later suprima owner “think” their car is really safe and speeding more often ler! then we see more suprima speeding way beyond national speed and accident rate will increase or not?

• Who care on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Safer car does not mean its permission for you to drive your car like there is no tomorrow. But if they insist, who cares.. let them die in their car. Don’t blame the car..

• britney on Jan 20, 2014 at 6:58 pm

That crash Preve is only Executive Spec model with 2 airbags only and ABS. Preve ANCAP 2014 model provides 6 airbags and ESP. Praise for Proton!!.

• thedarkside on Jan 20, 2014 at 7:05 pm

why one earth people think that in order to get a 5 star rating, a car has to be built like a tank??? if it is, you will die much faster as there is no distribution of the force upon impact.

• speeddoesnotkill? on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:53 pm

you have to understand, not everyone is as informed as you. if every malaysian is as informed as you, we would have much safer cars long time ago.

• Norman on Jan 20, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Some people here are really narrow minded fool that forgotten where their roots is…really amazed me.

• I See Dumb People, They’re Everywhere!

• mesinrumput on Jan 20, 2014 at 10:05 pm

saya rasa pemandu itu pasti menyesal bawa terlalu laju kereta berkuasa turbonya yang baru itu…sangat sedih!

• nabill on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:17 pm

is it our education system that some comments here are totally garbage or its jus that some ppl are born retarded…?? godness me , zero knowledge abt anyting bt talk with conviction….
    wat is hapening ppl????

• Persona oh persona on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Kereta Persona saya pemegang pintu sebelah dalam tertanggal…kete baru setahun..mgkin ini ciri2 keselamatan utk elak jari anak saya tersepit…hmm..alasan oh alasan..sian kat u.

• atong on Jan 21, 2014 at 12:11 am

Congratulations proton……

• silvia 33 on Jan 21, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Good start from proton to explain and prove their car had a higher level of safety.
    Go and buy others car if you think they can give you high protect when you drive over than 160kmh.Proton done it and proved every where.the car still had strong structer even accident with heavy vehicle.
    other car like subaru had same safety feature with double cost.but proton maintain at reasonable price.

• Flat Black on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Sure ke lg selamat dari Honda City, Toyota Vios, Mazda 2, Nissan Almera, Kia K3, Hyundai Elantra dan Volkswagen Polo?