Mitsubishi ASX CKD rolls off TCMA Segambut line

ASX-CKD-01

The first locally-assembled Mitsubishi ASX rolled off the line at Tan Chong’s Segambut plant in Kuala Lumpur this morning, flagged off by Morikazu Chokki, senior executive officer at MMC, Kozo Shiraji of Mitsubishi Corporation, Datuk Rosie Tan, deputy MD of TCMA and Tetsuya Oda, CEO of Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia.

The 2014 ASX compact SUV, the first modern Mitsubishi to be made in Malaysia, is contract assembled at at the Segambut factory of Tan Chong Motor Assemblies (TCMA), which besides Nissan vehicles, also puts together the Subaru XV for local and ASEAN consumption.

The initial production volume for the CKD ASX is 5,000 units per year, and it is purely for the Malaysian market with no exports planned at the moment. The localisation target is 50% in 18 months time.

ASX-CKD-03

The move to assemble vehicles in Malaysia is in line with MMC’s major strategic pillar to concentrate business resources on emerging markets. ASEAN and Malaysia is a vital component in MMC’s “New Stage 2016” business plan.

“Today is a milestone moment for Mitsubishi in Malaysia. MMM was set up in 2005, and we have grown from strength to strength through the years with more than 70,000 Mitsubishi cars on the road. But today is a special moment for us as we’re witnessing the first ‘birth’ of a Mitsubishi in Malaysia,” said a beaming Oda.

“All cars produced by Mitsubishi Motors worldwide are governed by the same high standards that ensure consistent quality. The ASX that is locally assembled in Malaysia will have the same quality level with the ASX made in Japan,” the MMM boss assured, adding that MMC personnel from Japan have been overseeing the production line to watch over quality control and processes.

ASX-CKD-09

The facelifted CKD ASX is powered by a 2.0 litre four-cylinder with 150 PS and 197 Nm of torque. The MIVEC engine is paired to an INVECS-III CVT gearbox with Sports Mode (six virtual ratios), and one can choose between 2WD and 4WD variants, the latter with the ability to lock drive at 50:50 for both axles. The default mode is FWD, and the AWC button to change modes is next to the handbrake.

The ASX has been available here as a CBU import from Japan since late 2010, but only in front-wheel-drive form – the 4WD variant is new to our market.

Safety wise, the ASX comes with three airbags (dual front + driver’s knee), ABS and EBD across the range, with the 4WD variant adding on Traction Control, Active Stability Control (ASC) and Hill Start Assist (HSA).

Both CKD variants are decently equipped, with automatic lights and wipers, leather seats and steering, GPS navigation, Bluetooth, front/rear parking sensors with reverse camera, automatic air con and a high contrast instrument panel all standard.

mitsubishi asx glass roof

Exclusive equipment for the 4WD include a panoramic glass roof, magnesium steering paddle shifters, cruise control, keyless entry with push start button and solar/security window tint. Visually, the 4WD wears 17-inch alloys (16-inch for the 2WD) and some chrome trim on the front and sides.

Open for booking since early this month, the 2WD is priced at RM114,744 (CBU car was RM139,982) while the 4WD is priced at RM128,880, on-the-road excluding insurance. Three accessory packages are available – the RM4,599 Aero Package, RM1,799 Chrome Package and RM899 Interior Package. Items are listed in the brochure scan below.

Body colour choices are Black Mica, Titanium Grey, Cool Silver and Solid White. The ASX comes with a five-year unlimited mileage warranty plus two years of free maintenance.

The pre-facelift CBU Mitsubishi ASX 2WD was part of our five-car SUV shootout, which you can read here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• *Cancel CX-5 booking and book an ASX*

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 3
    • motorhead on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Good for you sir.. Happy for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Vadet on Jan 21, 2014 at 3:07 pm

What is the different between keyless operation and keyless entry that stated in brochures. The 2wd version is not bad, just hope it is keyless as well..

• skatax on Jan 21, 2014 at 4:51 pm

sorry to tell you the bad new but asx is smaller than cx-5 and the ride isn’t that good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • That means I should stick to CX-5?

• motorhead on Jan 21, 2014 at 8:43 pm

CX5 no paddle shift.. Better you test drive both. See which suit your driving style. I don’t like soft ride.. Can’t feel the tarmac..

• vote for cx5 on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:00 pm

ASX, just open the boot ASX.. see the huge diff with cx5.. and HP, Tork..cant compare to mazda

• I prefer comfy, lower fc and maintainance because this will be my family car. Which one should I get? Boot space doesn’t really matter because I can install Thule later on.

• Wisdom on May 13, 2014 at 9:19 am

Is the rear bench now incorporate reclining adjustment?

I found the earlier model cant adjust that, and the seat were quite straight up, making long journey painful for rear passenger..

• cskiat on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:15 pm

I am an ASX owner, model year 2012, have a family of 4 pax. So far the car serve me well. Driving is comfy and I travel a lot as a construction guy. No doubt CX5 boot space is larger but driving wise, I prefer ASX. I tested CX5 and ASX before buying.
          End of the day, it subject to ur personal taste. You want to know more, check out both forums for CX5 and ASX at Autoworld.com.my.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • motorhead on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:41 am

Family & comfort better go for CX5.. If you are a hard driver & want ve some fun go for ASX, want more fun & thrill go for Subaru XV.. Ask your taste & your wallet. Btw.. Why not check CRV.

• sutrak on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:57 am

are u an auntie? coz if u are, u’ll recommend checking crv.

• motorhead on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:40 pm

This guy is a family man & want comfort. Im a hard driver.. I just gave fair suggestions to him.. Not to me. Read all my comments. If you think Im an auntie.. Just tell me where & when to meet. We sort it out..this auntie can teach you some lesson.. Btw… CRV did win in Driven.. No bias. You don’t like CRV that’s your problem.. Personally I like VX & ASX.

• Yes I love to go offroading too but I don’t have a SUV, I might enjoy offroading in my new SUV. CRV is never in my list because it is too sissy. XV did came across but the spec is disappointing.

Just wondering if I get CX5 or ASX which one will my father enjoy driving to meet up with his old friends? I never told him that I am getting a SUV.

• motorhead on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Those two ve their own pros & cons.. Offroad VX is the beast.. Watch in youtube VX handling. She easily can outclass Rover defender.. If your are talking about your father.. I think he ll be impressed with CX5.. Simply because.. It’s a new model. ASX in market years dy.

• motorhead – you are a very cool auntie :)
            i just ordered the ASX .. i tested it out and it felt sooo good

• sutrak on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:56 am

put a couple of chicks with super slender body and orgasmic faces, then ur asx will be more laku. instead, you go and put an aunty there. sad case. really sad case.

• victortan on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Can anyone tell me, does air bags really expensive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Shaun on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:27 pm

yes, air bags are pretty expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
      • victortan on Jan 21, 2014 at 3:26 pm

I see…
        Feel like want to criticise something but I can’t because car looks stunning from inside out.

• sutrak on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:57 am

shaun, which rabbit hole are you living in?

• Maybe.For Corolla Altis u must add RM4000 for the side,curtain,and knee airbag and front passenger seat belt reminder

• Pity Malaysian have been well educated by Potong and Gov. not to emphasize on safety. Now, suddenly Potong keep saying they care on safety!!???
      A considered premium car only with 3 bijik airbag?????
      Why other country can get 7 airbags with cheaper price but here 3 only with higher price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • motorhead on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Good job Mitsu.. Good job.. My car loan going to finish soon.. This kind of news I like. Thumbs up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • kabal on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Between 2wd vs 4wd, what r the pro n cons?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Shaun on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:27 pm

2wd is comfortable and consumes less petrol. 4wd is higher, stiffer suspension, consumes more oil but ideal for some off roading

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • 4WD better during hill climbing. I think perform more stable during raining too.

• Gentleman on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:55 am

4WD wont perfom good on sudden slippery road. It’s Traction Control, TCS that play the role, yes, not stability control.

on the other side,
          4WD is manually activated.
          4WD is nothing usefull in daily driving.

Unless u do go offroad into muddy place or cross country, 4WD is your choice.

most of the time 2WD is good.
          2WD can also be suitable for construction, but only the Dry construction area.

• AutoFrenz on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:27 pm

One using 2 tyres and the other 4 tyres…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • motorhead on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Ask yourself.. Do you really need the 4WD?.. It become handy if you live in estates.. Snowy countries.. Put in mind 4WD FC will be higher as it slightly heavy. If you are mostly on the road not offroad, get the 2WD.. Better fc & cheaper.. Save the balance to counter the interest you ll pay to the bank. But I must say Subaru VX & new CRV ve quite impressive FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Pay for 4WD, more safety features.

4WD may not needed, but it’s manually activated.
        http://www.forcegt.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/2013-Mitsubishi-ASX-4WD-Diesel-Auto-16.jpg

there is a 4WD button for you. In normal driving, same FC as 2WD.

• Quite a good pricing!

Can I wait for Proton to rebadge this like Inspira….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
  • practical and affordable. makes the pug 2008 really expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • rchoo on Jan 21, 2014 at 4:46 pm

I have to agree with you on the comparison of these 2 SUV. Even though I am for Peugeot and just bought a 508 Premium which is decently price. But Peugeot 2008 SUV is a bit over price though.

• Please tell me which car in Malaysia is not over priced?

• rchoo on Jan 21, 2014 at 6:31 pm

I have checked the Australian Peugeot Website;

Peugeot 508 1.6THP Allure with the appropriate options (same as Malaysia 508 Premium) comes to AUS 47,900 (about RM 150K)on the road. After conversion it is very close to the Malaysia retail pricing of 170K Minus promotion with discount (about 160K). In that sense, I did not feel cheated, worth buying.

• takNakP1 on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:21 pm

for how they are trying to ‘show’ price has reduce with CKD (does it really if factor in the value of missing features and functions), RM100k is still costing a person’s arms, legs and head even you are qualified for a 9 years car loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Ibrahim on Jan 21, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Remember you get subsidised food stuffs and subsidised petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • price reduce still price reduce don denied it…if no price reduce u ask price reduce along with long explanation for 30% promise..if reduce this comment come..make out ur mind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • DrCooper on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:21 pm

I’ll go wait Sportage FL over this..basically the same breed only by different car manufacture

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • AutoFrenz on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Chinese New Year already aaa…wear cheongsam some more auntie…anyway reasonably priced…will compete directly with subaru xv…which incidentally is also assembled at Tan Chong…haiyaa why busy assemble other people’s cars…bring nissan new models laa…or assemble nissan new models better…can or not…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Rakyat on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:50 pm

If Tan Chong good business in Malaysia then it will be take over by Kangkung crony. Therefore in term of survive they prefer do this & that but nothing further in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
  • if we want cheaper cars, all cars must be “proton”..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • stupid on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:32 pm

more cheapskate rubbish cars on the road, great

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
  • waiter on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Loan approved.. pending unit.. is that mine? Can’t wait anymore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • sudonano on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Should have put TCS on the 2WD model too la.

But the price, is actually quite cheap. 128k for the top spec. Not bad not bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • theanswer on Jan 21, 2014 at 5:37 pm

cheap..but do we really need the 4wd since tcs only available at 4wd version.

• sudonano on Jan 21, 2014 at 6:08 pm

I would say quite reasonable la the 4WD. In a way 4WD is better when it rains and mini floods appear la.

Plus nowadays 4WD consumption is also good la. Cause they only use 4WD when needed.

• GTR36 on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Nice car, nice price. Pity a bit cramped at the back. Looks also like Lancer and Inspira.

• NAP KICKING IN ? on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Hmm.. Is this the new pricing scheme after the NAP policy yesterday??? It seems quite affordable…

* CROSS FINGERS & TOES *

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • drMpower on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:51 pm

why no people make parody about this cheaper vehicle issue?
    this ASX price goes down almost 20%. this is great for najib. thank you najib. i know price reduction of vehicles, under your premiership, will happen.

and IT IS HAPPENING now. thank you najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 57
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 21, 2014 at 3:03 pm

I totally agree with you…suddenly not many Red Army Beans here…becoz they got nothing to attack…hahaha…yes the new NAP policy is taking shape…thanks again to our PM…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 34
      • Turun on Jan 21, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Funny because you failed to realise that the reason why the price drops so much is due to the lower excise duty going from CBU to CKD… What is the most effective way to reduce car prices again? Is it by having a more efficient production process?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Tarzan on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Price reduction due to different tax structure under CKD. Compare ASX Langkawi price 2WD CBU and CKD, and you will notice price in fact increase RM5k. This is called inefficiency!

• You pay less for the reduced safety features and other lower material cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • motorhead on Jan 21, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Can’t describe your stupidity level. Still ve no idea what is CKD all about. What a pity.

• Cheaper or not? on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:56 am

Take 1 CBU ASX and take 1 CKD ASX put them side by side and make a detailed comparison. If there is no discernable difference in specs and quality I’ll take the cheaper one anyday.

• we need to puji kerajaan. because I just realised that the kangkung price turun again.

• It is not price reduced, it is CKD!

• donky on Jan 21, 2014 at 4:38 pm

It was ckd that why it cheaper than cbu…it was no thanks to him…..

• downsys on Jan 21, 2014 at 5:15 pm

I love Mitsu. Have owned a Mitsubishi Magna (in Australia) and a Triton Bold here. However, this model is about 4 years old now (apart from a minor facelift). I worry that a replacement model might be introduced not too far in the future.

• KangKung Man on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:55 am

Are U Sure ?

• mmaker on Jan 21, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Quite nice but I admire Subaru Xv

• theanswer on Jan 21, 2014 at 5:38 pm

xv look good..but sadly the boot is quite small..plus no thanks to full size spare tyre.

• thebugbud on Jan 21, 2014 at 3:02 pm

I like the sun/moon roof already…

• ah chai on Jan 21, 2014 at 3:10 pm

reasonably priced! i’m sure it will attract more buyers. i will surely take this car into consideration if i am in the market for a SUV.
    the price of 114k makes others look very expensive.

• rifle on Jan 21, 2014 at 3:20 pm

I like the plat number..RM..from perlis maybe?haha :p

• Redline on Jan 21, 2014 at 3:21 pm

This is quite good. Nice SUV, great price.

• Toy Yoda on Jan 21, 2014 at 3:42 pm

At 128k this is even cheaper than Ssangyong Actyon e-XDi which is 130k which may be the cheapest in its class here. I’ve not checked if there’re any China made SUVs on sale here though. Still prices are not at US or Japan levels but its encouraging that car prices are actually going down. Too bad I’m not in the market for a small SUV now.

• A mid spec 2WD CX-5 offers better features than 2WD ASX…

• Denaihati on Jan 21, 2014 at 4:27 pm

about RM25k reduction compare to CBU, it is a good choice. attraction on big glass sunroof create very nice view.

• azrai on Jan 21, 2014 at 4:34 pm

But today is a special moment for us as we’re witnessing the first ‘birth’ of a Mitsubishi in Malaysia,” said a beaming Oda.

I thought the history lesson that in 1985 Saga is the first Mitsubishi born in Malaysia, while the latest are Inspira also born in Shah Alam. :-) Not forgetting the Wira and Juara also.

• Harga ASX sudah turn. Pujilah Kerajaan!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
    • Macai BN Bodoh on Jan 21, 2014 at 7:14 pm

from CBU to CKD, of course lah harga sudah turun maaaa…stupid macai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • quite attractive, but still thinking this car quite small size actually, small SUV ?
    same size or slightly bigger bit than myvi if both compared

• A mid spec CKD 2WD mazda CX-5 has better features than this CKD 2WD ASX…

• Then, 1 year down the road, proton launched rebadge mitsu suv and price it at rm90k. All you mitsu buyer hailat just like how the mitsu lancer boy bang balls.

Smart people buy proton rebadge mitsu.

• KangKung Man on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:03 am

Ai Yo Yo! Cam ni … rugi lor … Mit Owner …

• SamMistress on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:35 am

True also. Knowing mitsubishi love to screw their fan base and don’t be surprise proton may rebadge this crossover. Don’t forget proton did says they might look into crossover suv quite some time ago and this does fit the bills.

So, be smart and don’t get con again by mitsubishi. Anyway, wtf with 3 airbags when picanto at rm55k also 6 airbags. tsk tsk tsk.

• nabill on Jan 21, 2014 at 5:36 pm

It really is good value….its a nice surprise pricewise…2wd is more than enough for 99% of ppl.dis car only drawback is a noisy whiny cvt….

• Archangel on Jan 21, 2014 at 6:00 pm

The exclusive equipment for the 4WD is very tempting.

• stayclassy on Jan 21, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Could anyone help me out a bit.. I’m thinking of selling my 2005 Myvi EZI for the ASX 2WD.. but does it have that start/stop button? I’ve looked up on their website and it says “keyless entry” for 2WD and “keyless operation” for 4WD.. what’s the difference??? i don’t think i need 4wd as i live in Kota kinabalu and I’ve never strayed away from this town.. ever.. i just need a bigger car to counteract some floods that are rapidly occuring as of late. Or can anyone suggest me high ground clearance car with start/stop button and a budget of less than 120k.. thanks in advance :)

• Don’t talk crap la. You can get base model 2014 Preve or new Kia Picanto. Both have 6 airbags, TCS and ESC. Only RM50k+

Not for badge snobs though.

• roxas on Jan 21, 2014 at 11:35 pm

wahhhh its an suv tat is cheaper than the c-seg altis …

• Aljib on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:46 am

Please somebody advise me for i am about to buy Peugeot 2008… Is it worth for money??

• If you can afford a CBU don’t waste your money on CKD..plus, 2008 packs a lot more attractive features than this barren ASX. Size wise 2008 tend to be a bit smaller.

• Roy Mustang on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:11 am

“All cars produced by Mitsubishi Motors worldwide are governed by the same high standards that ensure consistent quality.”

This made me laugh. Especially when it comes from TCM.

• Ivan Pei on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:49 am

More likely Honda CRV gets rebadged lar, since Proton JV with Honda now.

• cskiat on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Finally … someone who is awake and not in the rabbit hole. Getting really tired with all those monkeys that keep saying Proton will re badge this and that from Mitsubishi … YAWNNNN

• since tcma has extra production capacity why they not consider to assemble own nissan xtrail 2014 which can really give compete to crv / mazda5…it seems to be always japan start to launch facelift model then here only plan to launch the prefacelift model…

• DOnt take 2WD.

Do pay extra RM15k for 4WD.
    you get all safety features, Traction control and Stability Control.

4WD Makan minyak?
    no, 4WD is manually activated when you need it over muddy area or hill climbing.

In daily driving, 4WD will perform similary to 2WD.
    no extra fuel consumption.

http://www.forcegt.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/2013-Mitsubishi-ASX-4WD-Diesel-Auto-16.jpg

this picture shows you there is a 4WD button.
    For You, When you need it.

Dont Take 2WD.

• cskiat on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Totally agreed with you but then 4WD version is 100kg heavier than 2WD (therefore FC will be more) but going for specs wise, its better to go for 4WD. Hell … if the CBU did come with 4WD … and slightly expansive, I will go for it too but too bad, 4WD version was not available when I brought mine.

• AsxLangkawi on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Cbu langkawi rm7xk .. Now ckd rm8xk?? Nice to live in bolehland ..

• AsxLangkawi on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:06 pm

CBU in langkawi rm7xk.. Now CKD in langkawi rm8xk.. Really good to live in bolehland..

• should make it come with 7 airbags just like the euro-version. all-in-all it’s still a great car.

• FoongKeong on Feb 23, 2014 at 7:04 pm

MMC probably positions themselves wrongly with this ASX, should call it a Crossover rather than SUV. If you think it is a SUV, you will probably be a bit disappointed by the cabin space. The whole car is bigger than segment C sedan but smaller than the SUV of CX5, CRV, Tucson, etc… A Crossover sound suitable with its sporty design.

Overall, it is a good car with reasonable pricing. My personal rating is around 70% b’cos of the safety features and driving pleasure with good handling. With the same price for 4WD, if MMC could:
    1) put back the missing 4 airbags (which they scored EURO 5 star standard), then it is a 80% rating.
    2) plus, put back the Rockford Fosgate Audio System, then it is 85% rating.
    3) plus, make the rear seating adjustable like Tucson (too steep same as CX5) and change the cargo cover retractable, then it is a 85% rating
    4) plus, give some free accessories like LED Daylight, Front/Rear Undercover, add-on SoundProof rubbers cover 4 doors/Engine/Boot, then it is a 90% rating
    5) plus, future facelift version, interior cover with more soft rubber, then it will be very close to perfection

Since it is a CKD, further tax reduction would helps…..consumer in Malaysia always lose out, too bad.

• markohead on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:37 pm

every 10k maintenance is very expensive..i wonder why ?