Hyundai Veloster Turbo mule spied, launching soon

veloster-turbo-spy

The Year of the Horse is just around the corner, and so are 184 Korean horses, it seems. Reader Zaim Hilmi sent in this shot of the Hyundai Veloster Turbo cruising in Putrajaya. It is a registered unit with a ‘Sime Darby Motors’ emblem on the tailgate, so this isn’t one of those training units (Hyundai’s regional training centre is in Glenmarie) we occasionally see.

Previewed at KLIMS13, the Hyundai Veloster Turbo is powered by a 1.6 litre T-GDI engine with 184 PS and 265 Nm of torque, available from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. Compared to the standard Veloster’s 132 PS/158 Nm, this turbocharged coupe will have proper pace to match its striking looks. The KLIMS13 display unit was a six-speed automatic. A six-speed manual is available in the UK, but not in Thailand.

The KLIMS13 spec sheet listed a 0-100 km/h time of 8.4 seconds for the 1,330 kg car, but Hyundai UK quotes the same time for their 6 M/T version, so the auto should be a tad slower than that. We’re expecting 18-inch alloys, a glass roof, VSC and six airbags from the Veloster Turbo, which has already been spotted at JPJ Putrajaya. Shouldn’t be long now.

Hyundai Veloster Turbo at KLIMS13

Hyundai Veloster Turbo at JPJ Putrajaya

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Speed limit 50km/h?

How can that be! It should be minimum speed is 100km/h! LOL

Don’t screw up the price and the kit, Hyundai-Sime Motors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • gameboy on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Here comes Hyundai Veloster Turbo! This will smoke Golf MK7! DSG fall for good. Agree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 53
    • yeay yeah on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Consider ride and handling; GOLF is a conti..
      tuned for EU comfy..

also remember the GOLF only uses 1.4L compare to this Korean 1.6L
      which in a drag race wont be that much difference..

go test drive and feel….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • Freddie on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:13 pm

don’t care whether 1.4 or 2.4, it doesnt matter anymore, sekali beli VW, forever regret already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 19
        • ye ke? on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:02 am

VW dont have 2.4…
          haha..
          only kimchi use 2.4 un-efficient..

if dont want issue go for the 2.0 or 3.6L VW..
          no issue with the engine/DSG…

• kumar on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:57 am

oh ye ke??

my lovely 3 years old Forte still can kick some butts on Karak highway and Ulu Yam, and the best part is that:

i dont have to claim warranty for anything, unlike those Golf / Polo ah beng race car wannabe.

• Keris Jawa on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Forte? :-)

• think u are deluded or something..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • qwerty on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Are you referring to the GTI? If you are, it will not probable come true. Not too sure what the real-world figure is, but on paper, this cannot win.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:46 am

In Sydney, these kimchis that were “hot sellers” 1 year ago is being traded in at no more than AUD5k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
  • cheap rip-off version of the megane RS, looks like shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 49
    • Chris on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:07 pm

This brings a whole new meaning to “I can’t afford shit.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • with the non-turbo version charged at 132K for its premium specs, one wonder how much does this cost. surely peugeot’s 208 GTI and the Polo GTI are better options with better performance as well. Initially wanted to buy the Veloster, but i think Sime Darby is taking us for a ride. anybody agree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Of course Sime Darby is taking us along for the ride. Along with all the other local marques.

The Hyundai’s under them have been remarkable thin on specs and high on price.

• dino years on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:53 pm

sorry but the design…ada masalah. turbo emblem can’t help the looks or the handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Fahmi on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:57 pm

I saw this partcular car W5149G strolling around in the Putrajaya-Desa Pinggiran Putra about a few times already… Hope that it will be reasonably priced, or else it will be not successful here..

• mmaker on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:06 pm

yup, i saw they drove this car in MEX Highway since last week

• sudonano on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:46 pm

expensive car = niche market..

not using low cost strategy.
      Sales quantity is not important…

Why dont u say why so little Lamborghini on the road?
      not selling like hot cake leh this brand.

• kangkung on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:27 am

ur mindset really problem

expensive ally on Big brand make mean and sell well, expensive apply on hyundai korea car it not ever made sense, and SDM sales service spare me >.<

• Turbo_Ridera on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:26 pm

i would love 2 buy it if it is 2-doors
    3 doors sounds so weird

• Guys, can this Veloster be considered as sports car? How about Scirocco and Megane?

• What the, different standard lah bro. Megane RS can do 0-100km/h in less than 6 seconds, and have much better handling and quality as you would expect. Also recond price rm200k above how to compare with this cheap car?

• To wtf: I am not comparing this Veloster to the Scirocco and Megane. I’m just asking whether these cars is considered as sports cars. Read properly.

• Those car you mention are never sports car dude. They are just hot hatch. Period.

Reminds me of those ah beng crz that think their car is sports car or even honda civic type R.

• alldisc on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:50 pm

the styling is still most adventurous of any cars, except perhaps Mazda RX8

• ss427 on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Well my bolehland frens, you can finally get to enjoy the 1.6L Gamma II GDI Turbo engine from Hyundai. The 184hp is Euro tuned. It can easily pull 200hp from the factory, and that’s how the North American markets Veloster Turbos are built. The only catch is that you need premium grade fuel if you have the 200hp version

You can see how SG market Veloster Turbo looks like and equipped here.

http://www.hyundai.com/sg/en/Showroom/Passenger/VelosterTurbo/PIP/index.html

http://www.hyundai.com/wcm/upload_wwn/SG/ebrochure/2012_Veloster_Turbo_ebrochure_1385706331161.pdf

• aqil@fiq on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:01 pm

appriciate the body line but the “3 DOORS” sound weird…6MT would be great then AT…baru boleh race dgn cooper s ma…hehehehe

• wakaka on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:06 pm

159888?

• gavin on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:15 pm

awesome because it means there is a chance they Santa fe 2.0 sport with 264 middleweight show up , not to mention the optima and sonata turbo

• Keris Jawa on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:48 pm

How can you trust a company who once LIED about their car fuel consumption?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • ss427 on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:45 pm

How can we trust a certain Malaysian car company that employs tons of deluded people thinking that their cars are ‘world class’? That they keep claiming how great, quiet, powerful etc their products are when it was obviously crap to begin with LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Hadi75 on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:12 am

True that….how can we trust a company that lied to the consumers…..in Bolehland is easy…just give gula-gula…

• Archangel on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:16 pm

The price of this turbo version sure will be higher than the non-turbo version.

• Denaihati on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:20 pm

looks great appearance and high performance for 1.6L engine, suitable for young and single. Veloster Turbo so fantastic than hachback, in term of price too, i think…heee.
    can see at the middle of rear seat have drink compartment which cause less 1 passengers.

• Macam kereta myvi kena hempap trailer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • Henry on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Due to the low volume this car is going to be CBU. My guess is that the price would be around RM160k but you get plenty of stuff.

• hazamiey on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:48 pm

I’ll take this over vw anytime. Decent power without worry of faulty DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • nofight on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:59 pm

I agree. Nowadays see vw on the road makes me laugh or maybe pity.

• Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:48 am

Ask a student to bring back a 1 year old unit from Australia. Should be around AUD5k only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Jayden Koo on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:22 am

Please write and talk more before you involve in an accident. I might afraid you don’t have the chance to sell your Toyota at all before you pass away in an accident due to the badly built chassis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • Otai Jiwa on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Sam Loo Boleh. Jayden Koo _|_ off

• JaydenSoHi on Jan 25, 2014 at 10:36 am

Why you so butt hurt with Toyota you loser ? Cant afford one ? Go buy your kimchi and live long.

• Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:10 pm

When you wanna sell of your rotten cabbage after watching job promos pass by you, come look for me.

I may pity you and give you a better price.

Remember, once you boss finds out that you drive a Korean Car, you are by default not trustworthy

• Ash Crimson on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:41 am

This car is so unique, either you love it or hate it. Doesn’t look ugly to me but hey, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. One thing that bothers me though is those rear fog lamps or reflectors. Look aftermarket to me, like toyota’s body-kit.

• I don’t like the hyundai shape but i would have prefer the kimchi bring in the kia pro’ceed GT. That kia is more pleasant to the eyes and it’s equip with 200hp from the 1.6 engine.

• the spec sheet shows fuel type: RON 97. so, does it ONLY use RON 97 or 95 will also do?

• putra rider on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:09 pm

i saw this car before. The tester bring with his children cruising around putrajaya with the open sunroof.
    Looks too fancy..

• Kamil on Jan 25, 2014 at 7:54 pm

i already had the pleasure to test and see this car personally. i met the reviewer when i was strolling around Taman Saujana Hijau Prescint 11 Putrajaya. when u see and test for yourself then you know how awesome this veloster turbo is. and plus i have the pictures in my phone. ill always treasure the moment i stepped in it last 2 weeks

• Sam Loo on Jan 26, 2014 at 6:04 am

In Sydney, even Korean that have bought the car early last year are selling them quickly, as the maintenance costs sky rockets and these cars start to break apart after 6 months or so