MAA reveals vehicle production & sales data for 2013

maa-tiv-comparison-2012-2013

MAA today announced the Total Industry Volume achieved in 2013 – essentially how many cars were sold in Malaysia last year. The grand figure has come up to 655,793 motor vehicles, which is a new record and represents a 4.5% growth over 2012’s 627,753 motor vehicles and ahead of MAA’s initial TIV forecast which was 640,000 motor vehicles.

The 655,793 number consisted of 576,657 passenger vehicles and 79,136 commercial vehicles, an increase of 4.4% and 4.7% over 2012 numbers respectively.

maa-tiv-trend

If we look at monthly sales, vehicle sales were consistently higher in the first four months of 2013 compared to the same period in 2012, however May and June showed a 15% and 5% decline over the same period in 2012. This could be attributed to GE13’s lower car prices manifesto.

maa-tiv-month

Things picked up again by the end of June, and July 2013’s volume was up 15% compared to July 2012. Sales dipped again slightly in October 2013 compared with 2012 due to a wait and see stance in anticipation of Budget 2014. November was also down thanks to JPJ’s disastrous MYSIKAP.

maa-pc-segment

Malaysians still buy sedans the most with a 77.5% market share, followed by MPVs with a share of 16.5%, 4WD/SUVs at 4.9% and window vans at 1.1%. MPVs lost market share (18.1% in 2012) while 4WD/SUVs increased market share (3.5% in 2012).

maa-sales-brand

Perodua tops the charts in 2013 with 196,071 units sold, followed by Proton which sold 138,753 units. Toyota leads the non-national segment, followed closely by Honda with a 10,000 unit gap. Then there’s a 5,000 unit gap to Nissan. Other than Hyundai/Inokom which managed 11,382 units, the other non-national brands all sold below 10,000 units.

maa-hybrid-cars

As for hybrid car sales, Honda topped the charts this year with 8,550 units. It would make sense since they have a wide variety of affordable hybrid cars. Toyota came in second at 5,789 units, which consists of the Prius and Prius c. Lexus sold 709 hybrids, no doubt most of them would be the affordable CT200h with the Prius powertrain. While Porsche sold 11 of their hybrid cars last year (Panamera and Cayenne), the figure this year was zero. And now we know there are 1,907 A6 Hybrids on the road.

maa-forecast-2018

MAA is forecasting 670,000 units in 2014, 684,000 units in 2015, 699,1000 units in 2016, 715,200 units in 2017 and finally 732,400 units in 2018.

In terms of vehicle production, 601,407 vehicles were produced in 2013, an increase of 31,787 over 2012”s 569,620 numbers. This consisted of 543,892 passenger vehicles and 57,515 commercial vehicles.

maa-1

maa-cv-2013

maa-2013-total-vehicles

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Lemer on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Honda increases about 3% share of market and toyota lost about 3% compare to last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
    • Tok Berlagak on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Yeap, As long as its Honda and Toyota or Nissan.

Total Sales Vehicle.
      nissan better then Honda.

Hyundai/Inokom shows zero growth.
      while Kia show 0.5% growth.

We buy only Quality cars – high Reliability.
      Perodua, Toyota, Honda or Nissan.

Proton Sales is dropping.
      SV boost sales? if there is no SV.
      i think the sales may drop beneath Toyota already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 27
      • the only reason proton can make it to 2nd place, is because the people pocket couldn’t stretch that far due to our taxation structure. not because it is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
    • People was waiting for New Gen Toyota Vios..

so. year end sales only back to normal.

With 2014 going on.
      New Altis and New Vios.
      Toyota may see stronger growth, with attractive promotion from time to time.

The boom of New vios everywhere is so quick. Less safety features, but it’s a Quality Car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 42
      • Ibrahim on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:52 pm

So, I don’t see any reason to lower the cars’ prices. People can afford ma. Basic economics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
        • Lam guan engg on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Diam lah..bodoh..bodoh …bodoh…3 kali saya cakap.u memang bodoh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
    • BMW n Mercedes…sell more car than mitsubishi!

• Kawan leher on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Hi ,bolehkah saya tanya Chat ini ada masuk Kereta ap.?terima kasih

• Lam guan engg on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Dear paultan,

Any Chat show 2013 How many car tarik from bank?……

• KillBox1Alpha on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Best selling non national car is not even half the volume of the 2nd placed one…pathetic

• hondaman on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:22 pm

honda & kia top in market share increase..bravo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Hyundai De La Junk on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:55 pm

KIA increse at the expense of NAZA, KIA increased 0.4% but NAZA drop 0.8%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:42 pm

most of honda sales came from hybrid models. insight, civic hybrid and jazz hybrid.

• Baronic on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Proton oh potong

what a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
    • ABTguy on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Despite 2 so call “popular” SV model plus subprime car.

Too bad…..

Hope they close down very soon, so our Govt can remove the duty and tax, back to 80’s pre-Proton era :D

Yeah !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 22
      • Julius on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Installment period will also shortened to 4 years as before. Same installments amount ma. Untung hanya kalau cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • No wonder dun want to share sales data la.

• Ibrahim on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:55 pm

No jokes observed up there.

• Sam Loo on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:31 pm

And the top non-national segment is ….. Fung Tien

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • rchoo on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Yes, but down by 17%, sorry to say.

• True story on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Sales went down so badly because of a bunch of junior sales man like you who has no integrity, like to criticize others, no respect to others and bad mouth others.

• Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:53 am

T sales went down because I gave option B to consumers :-

15 month old and below Hyundai Elantra and Sonata at rock bottom prices that even sushi owners can’t resist

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • vader on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Pakcik mimpi lagi atau belum makan ubat ? Jangan cakap bodoh.

• dugong on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Sam LOo is now kia salesman. This year toyotata will fall even more.

• Detached=DropDown? on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:38 pm

JAW DROPPING dropped sale performance by Proton… But let’s see next with their ‘detachable engine’ safety feature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • Oh Gitu on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Hurm VW still doing pretty good sales…
    Even the VW Group’s Audi, Porsche, Scania, MAN, Suzuki…

• Fuel Cell Phone on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Possibly boost in honda sales mostly coming from jazz hybrid and jazz ckd and in nissan coming from almera

• Wah, UMW Toyota got served ! They deserved to go down. Even the new Vios could not save them. Shows that Malaysians are getting fed up with how UMW Toyota is treating us, making us pay so much and yet can’t even spare a few more airbags and ESC/VSC.

Good job and well done Honda MY, but ‘no comments’ on ETCM Nissan. As for Perodua, don’t syiok sendiri too much. 2014 will be a tough year for you. Kia and Mazda also did ok, but I was hoping for better. Dunno what happened to Ford and VW, very disappointing to say the least.

I hypothesise that Proton sales are down slightly even though their cars have improved because customers are waiting for new and improved versions of the same models. Potential Proton owners know that if they buy a Proton now, they will rugi because of all the ‘Super Value’ models that are coming. Anyway, fact is fact, I am still disappointed with Proton’s sales, and I hope they will improve their market share in 2014 with the new GSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
    • Customers waiting new and improved version? …hahah .syoknya sendiri. Even your SV also cannot save you. Your Preve launched last year not new? last year sales teruk. This year got Suprima … not new? sales worst than last year. You are doomed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • Customers waiting new and improved version? …hahah .syoknya sendiri. Even your SV also cannot save you. Your Preve launched last year not new? last year sales teruk. This year got Suprima … not new? sales worst than last year. You are doomed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Akira on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Well, considering UMW’s automotive division consists of both Toyota and Perodua, the gap is just mental.

• kadajawi on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:41 pm

No data for Citroen? Too bad. Even Renault is listed with… 44 cars. Great strategy only selling expensive sports cars, TC….

• VW.. sales volume drop abit but still the best selling continental passenger car..

• You called that drop a bit? VW is one of the biggest losers after Toyota. I guess the DSG fiasco and after sales service are hurting them badly. Most likely Mazda and VW will switch position for 2014, if the new Mazda3 does good. Anyway kudos to Honda, Nissan and Mazda, the biggest winners.

• conti car la…
        thats the different between real men vs boys playing with jap cars..

• TIV for Malaysia will never be realistic due to the fact that some people opt for recond cars. As much as MAA hates those grey importers, they are here to stay according to MITI.

Obviously PEKEMA never going to reveal how many units being sold by its members. The other only source is JPJ who has the database on the registered recond cars.

Only then the TIV is realistic.

• kemosabe on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:07 pm

With numbers like this, who would want to give up the NAP policies.

• Maserati on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:10 pm

For all the “effort” put in for Kia & Hyundai, they still are ranked so low.

2014 is the year which will see the Koreans wiped out completely.

Elantra is a lousy car on highways. Absolutely no feel from steering at all.

Cerato is a horrible car to drive even though thrs alot of kit. Steering feels weird! Engine is weak and rough.

And the rest of the Korean cars are absolutely rubbish. Selling looks & kit. Thats all!

So thats why 2014 is the year of the Japs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
    • Very GOOD to see LEXUSHIT and TOYOSHIT DOWN on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Very GOOD to see LEXUSHIT and TOYOSHIT DOWN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • I never understand the appeal of the Elantra, thou it looks awesome, the interior, spec and also price don’t really match up with most of the Japanese and the upcominng Europeans. But of course theres the main reason which personally is the Cerato, which I disagree of it being horrible, its a bloody good car. Good NVH, comfortable, and good quality interior, otherwise stuff that I can overlook the poorer driving dtynamics in the segment.

Yes it is more expensive but the spec is well worth the money you ar paying. Personally the Koreans occupy the two extreme end of my C-segment list, From the Best C-segment car on sale today, The Cerato…..to what I think is the worse: The Elantra. Given that there are more(i think) Elantra sold over the Cerato, I’am guessing that there are a huge majority that disagree with me.

• Obviously on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Then u never own a naza serviced car b4. The perception and feedback is really bad. Go ask around. They will give all kinds of excuse to void a warranty claim. That is what is keeping Kia going higher.

• There is a reason for this on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:18 pm

Then u never own a naza serviced car b4. The perception and feedback is really bad. Go ask around. They will give all kinds of excuse to void a warranty claim. That is what is keeping Kia going higher.
        And hence for kimchi,ppl turn to Hyundai instead.

• dugong on Feb 04, 2014 at 6:09 pm

If you own a current model elantra you will know why. The car is every bit as reliable as any jappo. Spec is nothing much to shout about but still better than tin kosong japs ( toyota / honda). Exterior/interior design is awesome. Warranty claims are fast and efficient.

• shhhh jangan bising on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Hey Maserati

your car “maserati” no sale so go shut up la..
      jangan bising2…
      at least those kia/inokom did good sales..

Maserati?
      x de dalam list…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • dugong on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:53 pm

2014 is foresee toyotata losing another 10% sales. Servves them right for offering overpriced, ancient, fugly and empty junks comparable to tata or mahindra.

• sudonano on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:16 pm

I guess we see that Toyota got tanked, with the poor Vios specs and all, with a loss in market share. Other Japanese brands have improved. (Sam Loo cannot say now that his sales have increased).

Hyundai has maintained. But rather shocked at Mazda and Kia, quite good increase! It pays to have good products.

Suzuki and VW got tanked too. Suzuki sold 50% less in 2013, not helped by the empty Swift and overpriced Jimny.

Subaru did fantastic. 1000 cars compared to 50 in 2012. Yes. Land Rover increased by 100% too. Good job. Same with Audi who sold about 1500 more cars, 100% increase, of course many of it being the A6 Hybrid. BMW as usual maintained to be the top selling luxury brand. Good on you.

Good job to those who performed better, companies, take note, give good products and we will buy. Give us empty tins, and you will not sell.

We are watching.

(Wonder of they can give a breakdown of the sales by model.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Toyota and VW suffered the biggest blow last year. Honda and Nissan getting closer to snatch the title from Toyota.
    However, unless both Honda and Nissan comes out with new models fast, their sales will probably lose badly to Toyota for the first half of this year as Vios and Altis will probably take the reign in the B and C segments

• Polite to me please on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Based on the data gathered, generally the Government should really really be considerate from increasing toll price in view of increased in volume of road consumers.

• Pendek on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:09 pm

We need to reduce the number of cars on the roads. Toll should be raised.

• chauffeur on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Sadly, I have to agree. Please improve the public transportation too.

• Subaru 2012: 53 cars sold
    Subaru 2013: 1084 cars sold…..
    …..Thats a big wow right there, and they deserve it. Althou moving to a more conservative and Friendly from their otherwiwse very utilitarian past, they still possesed quality that are unique in the market, the Flat-4 engine that is still present throughout their model range including the well spec/priced XV and Forester.

Honda, being one of the more well spec of the Japanese came in strong with the price reduction of the City and Jazz while offering what Is amongst the most impressive D-segment, the Accord….still needs more airbags, but otherwise well spec cars. Kia too, being the undisputed king of the price/spec combo and most probably the only manufecturer with standerdise safety compliments throughout their model range…..and I still find it weird that Hyundai out sold Kia, given that personally, that they look worse, priced higher, and spec worsed.

On to the locals, Perodua, being the only company that offers somethinng that the majority of the citizans can afford, continue its dominance on the sales throne and Proton with all its improvement needs to fight harder and introduce more cars that can win the hearts of people over Perodua’s offering, and not just focus on going up market…..also please improve the fuel consumption.

Next up, Nissan, competitive pricing for their ever roomy but under-spec Almera, and better comfort on the Teana are taking over most of UMW’s potential buyers away. And the dark horse of the arena, UMW, proving that even with better Toyotas to sell, if you don’t improve that rotten sales stretegy, theres a one-way ride down hill considering the its old rivals, Nissan and Honda…and new rivals, Proton and Kia, are selling better spec cars of cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Lemer on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Toyota is losing big time this year! I think Malaysians know better this overprice crappy junk without safety package not worthies the value.

• Polite to me please on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Did Subaru came like “lightning fast” last year or that data was inaccurate?

• vincent on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Hyundai could be better if Sime Darby willing to offer more safety spec for the price point which they are selling. Please hear us out Sime Darby!

• Wiraman on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Why hide the high value vehicle sales number? I believe more than 9 unit each for Bentley, Ferrari, Lamborghini, Maserati respectively.

• mmaker on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Where is Citroen and Infinity?

• Where is the LOTUS? Sales been included in Proton figure?

• Archangel on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Wow, Honda and Nissan are closing in. Toyota, please beware. Hehe.

• Joker on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Hmmm… a smack in the face for UMW… I wonder where’s Citroen, Infiniti, Hummer, Lotus etc… 0 sales?? Impossible…

• Paucharsiew on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Nissan sold so many hybrids? Sad to see Volvo selling so little these days.

• Nissan sold 2008 units of hybrids in Malaysia? Means majority is Serena Hybrid? How come I still hardly see them on the road..

• Bravo! on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:15 pm

So touching! Rakyat really getting smarter, despite some toyo salesman keep spewing crap about rv. What is the point of RV when u already pay 30k higher in advanced b4 even considering interest?
    Good citizens and 99% of commentors here can see the truth! Keep up the good work! Boycott blood sucking companies!

• Albert Lee on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:04 pm

What happened to Proton?138k units sold ?It is a massive FAILURE. If there are no SV models to re capture lost market share,the sales figure may even dip below 100,000 units for 2013.
    That is not even half the capacity of the Shah Alam plant.You might as well close down the Tanjong malim plant which was designed by some bright spark to produce 1 million cars.
    10 to 20 years down the road,we cant see any light at the end of the tunnel.

• oblong on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:59 am

138k only data for consumer market but contract from gomen don’t know how many units more:- i) Persona for middle-rank army officer ii)Preve for PDRM (IO) & other Gomen Agency, iii) Inspira for PDRM (Highway Patrol)/SPAD/Gomen Head of Department, iv) Accordana for Minister/Dep. Minister/MB/EXCO/Ministry Sec-Gen…DRB still ‘untung’ lor!

• Afnan Muhammad on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:59 am

Local – 51.6
    Japan – 37.9
    Korea – 3.0
    Germany – 4.0
    Other Euro – 1.4
    US – 1.9
    Others – 0.2

• amirad on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:43 am

What! No sale from Skoda. I almost got myself an Octavia VRS last year. If I did, then I will probably be the only customer for Skoda for year 2013.
    MAA projects 670,000 vehicle sales for year 2014. Out of that number, I believed the percentage for the first time buyer is low. If those who already have cars can hold of their purchase until next year, then we will see some drastic moves by G and industries. But then we are too easily lured. With new delicious models coming out, people just cannot tahan.

• IAmThePro on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:10 pm

this year lexus figure will be interesting. hahahahaha

• dugong on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Lexus only depends on CT200h. Without that hybrid model, their sales is less than 500 units a year. Serves them right for their bloody arrogant pricing which is way above merc,BMW and audi.

• FrenchShit on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:10 am

Renault only sold 40 cars. Boleh tutup kedai lar Renault. Even Chery sold more car.

I am sure the profit from 40 cars can’t even cover the salary of the renault management team.

Time to tidy up your cv boys. Better apply for perodua job.

• atong on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Most malaysian already know that umw is the blood sucking company that selling tin kosong with a price of gold……yes resale value is nothing when you already pay extra 30-50k with the same sagment car is more cheaper then others….

• Proton kena buat r&d engine yg jimat minyak, or hybrid… or develop diesel engine, maintained msti la kurang, co2 pn kena kurang..energy efficient… 4L/100km co2 88g la not 180g, proton kena bergerak pant as cas + not -.

• Godzilla on Apr 27, 2014 at 12:51 pm

i’m driving 2 yrs old Vios E spec -company car n i owned a Forte 1.6 with 1yr+ on the road. Comparing the price between these 2 models at RM83k n RM86k respectively, Vios is too simple until u forgetting u r driving Toyota car… i know is not logic to make comparison with these cars… but hey, the price gap r very close.
    Talking abt the driving experience, Vios is easy to drive but not comfortable while Forte is giving u “luxury” feels when u step in it. Although the engine technology is not as gd as Japanese car makers in low fuel consumption n smoothness but Korean is showing their “sincerity” to promote their brand to the market.
    i was a proton and Japanese car supporter for quite some time. i agreed with the “SV theory” causing Proton’s car re-sale value drop n UMW selling strategy is ignoring the market changes, there will be a stiff competition involving Korean n Conti car makers trying to steal the market share from Japanese car makers.
    As for Perodua, Myvi model is selling ard 6 ~ 7k a mth… no joke on that…
    If u think that Korean car is not trustworthy n Toyota is not worth for its price then u may consider Honda brand… lately they r showing their “sincerity” in their selling strategy…
    Above just my opinion…

• MUHAMMAD on May 21, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Guys, I’ve been following both numbers from MAA & MOT. Seems like in MOT’s Official yearly report, sales in 2013 is lowest in 2 years since 2011. So, can anyone please explain to me why the difference?
    Example, MOT’s 2012 is 628,239 and MAA’s 552,189. 2013 MOT is 583,060 and MAA 576,657. So according to Ministry of Transport data, sales is lowest which is completely off from MAA’s explanation.