NAP 2014: Proton Edar Dealers Association response

peda-logoA number of automakers have issued official statements and responses in relation to the National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) that was announced by MITI on Monday – next, we have a press release issued by Proton Edar Dealers Association (PEDA) Malaysia in response to NAP 2014.

“PEDA regrets that NAP 2014 did not provide a clearer framework and a roadmap on the direction the government wants to drive the national car (Proton) in terms of producing its own design, chassis and engine,” PEDA president Armin Baniaz Pahamin said in the association’s statement. He added that the policy will encourage the rebadging of national cars instead of us building our own.

Here is the rest of the PEDA statement in full:

“In the past, the government drove Proton to invest in technology capable of building its own engine, its own car and to move away from rebadging. For years, the dealers had to sell these vehicles with a very thin margin, and the public had to pay more for Proton cars due to a higher cost of production.

Unlike the previous NAP, which was silent on Perodua as a national car, NAP 2014 stated Perodua as a national car, although Perodua is foreign-owned and only rebadging already established vehicles.

There is no clear guideline as to what constitutes a ‘national car’ and ‘non-national’ and without it, incentives can be abused. At the moment, the term ‘national car status’ is subjective, and is interpreted and understood differently by various parties, even by different authorities.

Incentives should only be given to a ‘national car’ to keep prices competitive for the public, while investments are made for fully-born Malaysia-made vehicles, if that is still the drive.

NAP 2 has failed to increase Bumiputera participation in the dealership network as well as preserving a specific segment for Proton market share, which was part of its objectives. There is also no report available on the achievements of NAP 2 in its entirety.

Incentives for Proton is not about protecting Proton, but should be given as a reward to acquire future technology for Proton to produce reasonable and competitively-priced Malaysia-made vehicles instead of rebadging.

We cannot compare Malaysia to Thailand and Indonesia, because our population is only one-third, if not less than Thailand as well as Indonesia’s car buying population. If we want our national car to succeed, the government must provide a more prominent policy.

Cheaper cars can be attained either with better economies of scale by preserving certain segment for certain car models that are researched, designed and built/produced in Malaysia, or through rebadging of cars without hefty R&D investment, like Perodua. The current policy is encouraging the Perodua business of rebadging.

PEDA welcomes all efforts and policies for cheaper cars, but incentives should be given to manufacturers that produce made-in-Malaysia vehicles from their own R&D. This is the essence of the ‘national car’ project.

PEDA lauds the establishment of the Malaysia Automotive Council (MAC), but appeals to the council to include all in the automotive eco-system – banks, association of used car dealers, vendors association and association of dealers representatives – to be part of the council. This is important to achieve NAP 2014’s objectives of promoting a competitive and sustainable domestic automotive industry.

PEDA is also disappointed that there was no directive for Malaysia automotive manufacturer/distributor/assembler(s) to conform to the New Car Assessment Program (NCAP) and elevate our motor vehicle safety standard.

Proton has conformed and complied with the NCAP, but most other manufacturers as per the list displayed on JPJ’s website have been given a waiver and exemption, and are profiteering from a cheaper cost of production at the cost of public safety.

PEDA disagrees with the voluntary inspection for vehicle proposal for vehicles older than five years. No one would want to volunteer and pay extra for an inspection in the light of the rising cost of living. If an inspection is necessary, it should be mandatory.

Perhaps insurance companies or banks can bear the cost of inspection when car buyers renew their annual insurance policies, as part of the insurer’s measure to safeguard its asset. The government can also reduce the insurance policy premium for cars that have passed the mandatory inspection.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kenny on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Enough is enough, please learn to stand on your own feet. The profit gotten from early 80s all went into someone deep sea instead reinvest into the company to be profitable. Increase shareholder of bumi? Stop spoil the market, we all are citizen, learn to stand and stop asking for favor. Kia and Hyundai was once said cheap car but today they are one of top world player. If you can’t manage the business, leave it to capable person or shut it down, we rather have cheap car by other manufacturer than a big mosquito that feeds on its citizen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 280 Thumb down 65
    • Kimci on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:38 pm

In the early nineties and earlier in Seoul, any imported cars parked by the road side will be scratched by their citizens. The Seoul citizens that used non korean cars had to make sure they parked at the proper garage or secured parking space.That was how they supported their cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 21
      • Kangkung Carmaker on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Japanese Car – Sushi
        Korean Car – Kimchi
        Malaysia Car – Kangkung ??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 15
        • Close Down Proton! on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:43 am

It is solely because of Proton our household debt is one of the highest in the world. It is because of Proton that all cars in Malaysia went up in prices since the 90s. In the 90s, you could even buy a brand new Japanese car for RM20,000.

Global prices of cars have not really gone up. Infact, because of economies of scale and technology, car prices globally has actually come down the past 25 years. That is why you can get a top spec Honda Accord 2.4 or Toyota Camry 2.5 for about USD$22,000 (RM65,000)in the US. Mind you, at that price also, the US government already collected taxes and the Honda and Toyota dealership in the US already made their profit and margins. So, in Malaysia for example, UMW and Honda Malaysia probably get their Accord and Camry for less than RM50,000 each. CKD somemore, it becomes even cheaper than that!

It is because to protect Proton that the government started jacking up the taxes and duties of ALL cars. They pretend to tax ALL cars which include Proton but we all know lah what really goes on. Proton gets special treatment. Even now, Proton in private hands also, they get hundreds of million free money from the government as grants every year, Our tax payers money.

Even every single car in Malaysia cannot sell below Proton price. All car manufacturers must go through MITI before they can sell the car and it is MITI that decides on the final price.

UMW and Honda want to sell their Altis and Civic for RM80,000 also, they are strictly told they cannot do so. “You must sell your car at RM110,000 and above,”. That is the reply they get or else, completely no approval to sell their car. If don’t comply, your whole licence will be taken away and completely no APs will be given to you. That is why Mercedes and BMW also so scared. They want to sell cheaper but are threatened that they will be given lesser APs to bring their CKD panels and engines in to form CKD cars.

And it is because of Proton that we have lost hundreds of thousands of jobs. Before Thailand became the Autocity of Asia, Malaysia was the King of CKD and we were on our way to become the Autocity of Asia and even the Autocity of the world. in the 80s and 90s, everybody was CKDing in Malaysia. But because of the nonsense by MITI and Proton, all the car companies decided to go to Thailand.

We lost not only hundreds of thousands of jobs, we also lost hundreds of billions of USD in investments in Malaysia. Maybe even trillions.

All because to protect Proton and the few AP cronies.

Which do you think is better? Save Proton and its crony vendors 30,000 jobs but lose hundreds of thousands of jobs and hundreds of billions in investment that could have gone to schools and hospitals, transport etc?

With all this sufferings all Malaysians have gone through and the ease to sell Proton cars, PEDA still want government help?????????????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 20
          • USDfan on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:39 am

Agreed..well said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
          • Vincent on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:05 am

Yes, this is from business, big pictures view. But there are still a group of cronies only interested in claiming their “Rights”, and put aside the others rights….

• rchoo on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Well Said, Agreed with you totally, wow, you really put in some effort to write this statement.

• curvy on Jan 24, 2014 at 8:45 am

“You must sell your car at RM110,000 and above,”

Source for this reply please?

• PEDA PEDA where are you?? on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Proton CEO, please make sure you sack Armin Baniaz Pahamin. He has used Proton’s name and brough disrepute to Proton. Everybody is laughing at Proton now because of this press release. Looks like Proton sanctioned this press release.

• Peda JEALOUS of Perodua? on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:44 am

Reading the press statement, it is very clear one thing. PEDA has lots of resentment and jealousy of and for Perodua. How can you be professional when you come out with a statement hitting out at Perodua at every other paragraph in your press statement.

Are you jealous of Perodua’s success? It is rather obvious PEDA is jealous. After all, Perodua is loved by many because of its superior quality to Proton.

So shameful an organisation that can speak on behalf of Proton is stooping so low as to bash and hit at Perodua. Whatever it is, Perodua is still a Malaysian car. After all Proton was rebadging Mitsubishi cars for 20 over years. Isn’t that rebadging also?

Don’t you feel ashamed that you all come out with a press statement bashing another Malaysian company trying hard to give people cheap good quality cars?

I had a Proton and after that I bought a Perodua. Do you know why Perodua is loved by many and is top seller? It is because their quality is so superior and virtually nothing fails.

So PEDA, improve on your quality first. You get crony vendors who provide low quality parts, and then you blame the government for not helping. Look at your vendors. This what happens when you give contracts to your kakak ipar, anak ipar, abang saudara and so so when they don’t really qualify for the contract. That is why Proton cars always got problems.

Really no shame PEDA has. Tak malu betul. You all are nothing but greedy. Infact you and PEKEMA are exactly the same. Ask government to help, ask for more benefits and all that but cheat the rakyat left right and centre. Look at PEKEMA, the Bumiputera AP receipient just sells his AP to the Chinaman when he gets it. So, there is ZERO Bumiputera particiaption and entrepreneurship in the imported car industry. Name sake only Bumi partner but go to every yard or import showroom, its all chinaman running the whole show. It defeats the whole purpose of the AP system which is to help the Bumiputera to penetrate the car market.

The same with PEDA. Is your conscience clear PEDA? Are you sure you deserve more Government help?

From what I see, if you can bash another fellow Malaysian (Perodua), it goes to show you are unethical and got no morals. It goes to show that it is mere jealousy driving this press statement. Tak malu ke?

Learn to stand up on your own feet. Already 30 million Malaysians and the past 30 years Proton banyak senang because the rakyat “terpaksa” buy Proton cars because it is cheaper. And we all know why it is cheaper. MITI has strict instructions to other brands to price it much higher than Proton. So, for 30 years, 30 million people gave you all non stop business.

Learn to be grateful. No other country in the world where a car brand is protected as much as Proton. Other brands have to fight hard to survive. you guys, durian runtuh. Actually, durian runtuh the past 30 years for Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 16
          • Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:57 am

PEDA complaint Perodua rebadge cars not worth as national car like Proton.

OK, maybe PEDA forgot those cars like Inspira, Accordana to name a few…HA HA HA

PEDA = Blind Hypocrites!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
          • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:41 am

It is clear he is lambasting frustation on Proton and MAI.

I believe he has the vision to elevate the Malaysian Automotive Industry through the next level and will not be bogged down by dreamers illusion and kangkung attitude.

I observed he is a vocal figure condemning Proton’s moves whenever Proton launch a new model, or start a new model project.

Maybe should give him a try.

• Lazy bums on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:34 am

Do allow me to relate my experience with these absolutely lazy bums a couple of months back.
            When I went to their main showroom in Jalan Ampang to look at both the Exora and the Preeve models, non of their sales people bothered to render any assistance at all. There were at least six to seven staff sitting around chatting amongst themselves and there was only a few customer at the showroom. When I approach one of them to ask if any vehicles are available for test drive, he just mumble something and walk away. With these kind of poor service attitude they would have gone bankrupt a long time ago, if not for the protection they got from the government.

• scrrtd on Jan 24, 2014 at 10:54 am

you wrongly entered Toyota showroom i guess, lol

• calcutta on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:30 am

every single family i know of has owned at least one or more proton now or before

thats enough support in my book,people give enough chances.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • Lazy PEDA on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:17 pm

PEDA got the cheek to ask more. Hello, Proton got an easy ride and you dealers also got easy ride being protected by the government. Just shake legs. Do nothing. Banks also working hand in hand with the PEDA guys. Senang ahaja and yet you all are so lazy and cannot work harder. Still want government help. Learn to work hard and not sleep and look at girls in your workplace.

No other dealership in the world got the kind of protection by the government of their own country. You all got so much of protection and yet berani minta lebih. Malas betul. All Malaysians indirectly forced to buy Proton because MTI controls the price of other cars and undercuts Proton.

Berani betul minta lebih. Come one lah, don’t be lazy. Work harder.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 22
      • Pendek on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:42 pm

No country in the world give 9 years loan for cars. Amazing isn’t it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 5
        • calcutta on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:32 am

in Malaysia,car is still a luxury item u know…..
          tarak duit? jangan beli lar…pakai bus pakai Komuter sama bangla,lagi tak mau pakai basikal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • pffft on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:24 am

how sure are you? Singapore offer 9 years car loans too. get your knowledge right before trying to become a keyboard warrior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
          • zerek on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:00 am

car is really a luxury item in singapore though

but u don’t need car to go to work in singapore,the LRT there does not filled with bangla and the train there has full coverage

• Julius on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:44 am

Whatever la! 9 yrs loan made imported cars very affordable. But people still complain. Make it 4 yrs then and most of them can afford local only.

• Nonsense on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Singapore DOES NOT have 9 year car loan. Where did you hear about this? You’ll be lucky to get a 5 year loan there. Also, you need to come up with 40% of the deposit,a s loans are maximum 60% only effective 2013.

• Julius on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:16 pm

I am very sure Singapore does not have 9 yrs loan for cars. Some more ar max loan only 60% only.

• kangkong Spanich on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Pendek oh Pendek, gov offer 9 years loan is because so many people bankrupt due to car loan. Meaning that is because high car price does not tely with majority’s income.

The key point is, not all Singaporean need car. Their public transport system is excellent! What about in Malaysia???

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:58 am

PEDA forgets that Proton also rebadge Inspira and Accordana just like Perodua…facepalm.gif

• LOL all of you here discuss like you guys know everything.

Well the main problems is our Gov. because they impose an excise duty to Proton and Perodua as well!

Why would gov do that if they want rakyat to support Proton?

Stop blaming Proton. Blame the correct org!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • in ur brain on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:13 pm

stop blaming proton?? read below from NAP:

H. KENDERAAN NASIONAL

51. Kerajaan telah memperkenalkan projek kenderaan nasional iaitu PROTON, PERODUA dan MODENAS. Kerajaan juga telah menyediakan insentif bagi memastikan kejayaan projek nasional ini. Di samping itu, pihak PROTON, PERODUA dan MODENAS turut membuat pelaburan yang tinggi dan telah banyak menyumbang kepada pembangunan industri automotif tempatan. Lebih daripada 500 syarikat vendor bagi mengeluarkan komponen dan alat ganti telah dapat diwujudkan dan menawarkan peluang pekerjaan kepada 180,000 orang. Ini tidak termasuk peluang pekerjaan yang disediakan oleh PROTON, PERODUA dan MODENAS sebanyak lebih kurang 30,000 orang.

52. Kerajaan menerusi NAP 2014 akan meneruskan sokongan kepada syarikat-syarikat pengeluar kenderaan nasional sedia ada. Sokongan yang akan diberi termasuklah dalam aktiviti peluasan pasaran, peningkatan produktiviti serta kualiti, pengurangan kos dan pembangunan rantaian bekalan berdasarkan pelan transformasi syarikat masing-masing yang selari dengan objektif projek nasional.

thank you for reading

• This is the root of our problem. Finally they accepted that they need protection.

We don’t need malaysian made car. All we need is the fair treatment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 46
    • Pendek on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:31 pm

In that case, we also do not need petrol subsidy. Let’s pay the market price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 21
      • Why do we have to pay market price for oil if car price is reduced? – we are oil export country for god’s sake! Our country is so rich in natural resources that are envied by others. The rakyat are not able to enjoy the wealth of this land because of corruption and protectionism.

Sometimes i just cant understand my fellow Malaysians – why do you keep defending Proton when it is milking you dry and keeping you poor?

Let’s move forward for a better future. Without protectionism, the country is a better place for all ordinary Malaysians, whether Malay, Chinese, or Indian.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 17
        • tiadaid on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Oil exporting country my foot – in 2013 we had become a net IMPORTER of oil! Compared to all the other oil exporting countries our net oil production is pittance and yet we have one of the more generous fuel subsidies around.

Want cheaper cars, pay more for fuel – no compromise accepted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 32
          • wkaka on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:18 pm

I agree, I don’t mind paying full price for petrol if our cars are the same price or slightly higher (10%-20%) then the price of cars in the U.S.A.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
          • Frankly speaking, I personally support this. I’d rather pay more for petrol and drive a nicer car rather than have cheaper petrol and drive some badly produced vehicle

• Julius on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:49 am

When fuel price goes up ,everything goes up and cost of living goes up., Your pay need not necessary go up.

• in return you also save about 100k when you bough a 200k car, an extra 100k is worth saving for open fuel price and other goods rising cost. In the end all rakyat win…

• Pendek, I don’t mind to pay at international standard oil price if we are paying the standard car price as other country!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
        • Pendek on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Standard price? What about prices of cars in Singapore, HK and Holland?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 43
          • Do your Research on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:16 am

Check b4 you post. Cars are cheap in HK. it’s only fuel, parking and yearly inspection which are expensive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
          • TeacW7 on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:04 am

LMAO “Pendek” in Singapore you can opt not to drive, there are public transports all over the places you wish to go. There are reasons why the car prices are high, imagine if they were cheap Singapore will not have an inch of space to walk. Cars are filling everywhere….

• Panjang Punya on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Singapore has the highest number of US Dollar value millionaires in the world. What do we have? The largest number of ‘act rich’ buy European cars for 9 years full loan, people only.

• Paying market price for the petrol is acceptable if we are paying the market price for the car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
      • More than willing to pay for higher petrol (abolished subsidy) as long as car prices are reduce significantly (minimum duty). Savings from lower car prices can be use to pump petrol and it is definitely better than expensive car with petrol price that might go up anytime by you know who/what…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • whitegoh on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:14 pm

If remove custom duty and taxes on foreign car, I really don’t mind paying market price for petrol.

You want a better car or cheap petrol?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
        • market price petrol/diesel mean market price for all other things…do u think if petrol/diesel get market price price of food, transportation fare, electricity, water, house, school bus fare, cost doing business remain low?….petrol/diesel is mother of catalyst for other thing to go up..even 20 sen increase already pening kepala. heck even 5 sen many people went crazy..u ask market price?..some even want to overthrow gov because of high petrol n food price..if u get cheap car what happen to others?
          market price car = market price petrol/diesel =/= low to resonable price of all other things..thats fact u cannot denied…explain don just fxxxing thumb down!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 54
          • presna on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:06 pm

agree with your logic dude, but this gov is focused on subsidy rationalization, meaning the concept of subsidized oil for every tom,dick and harry is gone…

so asking for cheaper cars is pretty reasonable considering how much the gov saves in subsidies….

your comment on oil price increase being the catalyst for all other price increases, true, but then that’s the gov intention all along….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
        • Ibrahim on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Imported cars are being made affordable with the long installments plan. If installments were to shortened as before i.e not more than 4 years, not many can afford imported cars. See! lee ways are given but still never satisfied. You want better cars just pay for it. Those who want national cars ,let it be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
          • even cheaper saga sv now still people use 8-9 yrs loan not 5 yrs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Julius on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Do not dream of tax free cars. You think government pluck money from trees ah? Its the taxes that make the country runs. In some countries all imported goods are taxed including books , magazines and even medicines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
          • TeacW7 on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:14 am

Like many said there has to be a balance trade. The G can’t always have a Win Win situation. In this case, I would agree to float the petrol market let the consumers pump the fuel according to their consumption and at the same time lowering the tax for all cars.

• calcutta on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:26 am

buying a honda city or vios will cost you tax of around 20-30k

without car tax they can stop the fuel subsidy and i’ll be able to pay for petrol for n years

• zerek on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:02 am

the car tax is enough to pay for unsubsidized petrol for many years

• Pendek on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:54 am

When fuel goes up, everything goes up but not necessary your pay.

• Fair treatment ? What fair treatment ?

Look at Thailand. They are DOMINATED by Japanese car companies. Some of you may think that’s a good thing, but I think not. These Japanese companies make ‘second rate Japanese cars’ in Thailand for ASEAN (Vios and City), most of which are NOT exported back to Japan. These cars are based on old platforms/chassis and run on old engines which are not fuel efficient and green enough. These so-called Japanese cars are very unsafe, most don’t get 2 airbags and some don’t even get ABS. Worst of all, most of the profit goes back to Japan. The Thais gain very little. Until today, they only have their Thairung ‘national car’, which is Isuzu based. They don’t have much local talent at work, all of the Japanese car companies in Thailand are headed by Japanese officials from Japan. The local people get the less prominent jobs. Indonesia’s case is similar to Thailand, but a lot worse.

The Japanese are only interested in Thailand because of low labour costs and ease of entry/exit in doing business. One day, if anything happens, the Japanese will just leave and the Thais cannot do anything about it. Eventually, this will happen because of Thailand’s ageing population and rising labour costs. The Thais will be left with no car industry. The ‘Detroit of Asia’ will crash and burn just like the real Detroit did. The Japanese however, they will happily move on to other poorer countries like Myanmar and Vietnam and begin this one-sided cycle all over again.

The Japanese are very smart, they will sell us toned-down versions of their cars, but they will never buy our cars. They won’t even buy German cars for that matter, they are THAT xenocentric and patriotic. The younger generation of Japanese are less xenocentric, but even they are far ahead of all other great nations, let alone their parents who lead the Japanese Golden Era of Prosperity from the late 1950s to the early 1990s.

So think about it. Do you believe that being dictated by some foreign companies is better than what we are facing now ? How different is it from actual colonisation like in World War 2 ? The Japanese have well and truly almost every ASEAN country ECONOMICALLY since the 50s and 60s. We are poor because we ASEAN people are lazy and unwilling to stand on our own feet. We prefer to just admit to our inferiority complex, and do not outwardly challenge the Japan and Europeans, instead, we just play nice and lick their buntuts, and worse, worship them like Gods.

So think, nothing is ever what it seems on the surface. There are always many more perspectives to each and every story.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 13
      • Correction, I meant ethnocentric, not xenocentric.

Was too worked up just now to proofread, sorry.

• very well said man, people are pretty blinded by hatred to the extent that they are willing to go scorched earth. people should start looking at the most elegant solution to a problem instead of the easiest way out, and yes, everything is deeper than it seems, as is the car industry is more than just duties and taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • Saynotoprotectionism on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:21 am

Your argument appeals to the emotions but absolutely cannot stand up to any logical scrutiny. In fact it contradicts itself. I don’t understand why you seem to think that it is a good idea to protect the automotive industry that Malaysia have no inherent competitive advantage in (size of market, technical know how, manufacturing capability etc).

As you said, there are many more perspectives to a story and you seem to only want to acknowledge the “colonisation” and “being taken advantage” part of it but ignoring the wider issue about nationalism/protectionism. Globally poverty has been falling due to open trades and reduction in protectionism. Look at China, they don’t tax foreign cars massively but they still have many local players in a thriving auto industry. Why should it be any different for Malaysia and Proton? I hope you know Malaysia is an export driven country. Can you imagine if all countries buy your argument, and start to protect its local industries? Who are we going to export our goods (electronics, palm oil, food products etc) to then?

Even if I do agree with you that we should not kowtow to the foreigners in the automotive industry, the fact is we have given Proton almost 3 decades to prove itself at the expense of all Malaysians car owners? And what happened? Do you see any benefit? Are they building good cars for us? Are you driving a Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
          • On your first paragraph;
            Have you ever wondered why almost each and every European country had national carmakers at one point ? (Specifically, but not limited to, after World War 2) From Spain to Poland, Sweden to Greece. And each and every one of these European countries developed ‘people cars’ on their own, sourced local talent and yes, even imposed tariffs and quotas on others to protect their interests in their car industries. In the end, only a few prevailed, the most successful of which is the German industry. Still, even some smaller countries like Sweden have held on for much longer than their peers. Most were bought over, like Spain’s SEAT and the Czech Republic’s Skoda.

The problem with Malaysia is that we started too late. By the 1980s, the world had already many leaders and pioneers in the car industry like Toyota, BMW and Ford. We had to start somewhere and catch up. Of course, some Malaysians didn’t really care, they just wanted a proper car and were unwilling to persevere in the beginning to build our own.

As for competitiveness, that I cannot deny. How can a developing country like Malaysia compete face to face with the developed ones like Germany and Japan ? Even South Korea, which achieved ‘developed status’ in the early 2000s still hasn’t matched the Germans. the Koreans started late too in the 1960s, but still much earlier than us.

On your second paragraph;
            True that, free trade is always good, but certain industries should still be protected for long term gain. Free trade almost always benefits the bigger countries, smaller ones like ours will not have the competitive advantage as you’ve mentioned. As for China, I have to disagree. just like in ASEAN, so-called ‘foreign cars’ are hardly foreign at all, they are old, outdated and incompetent models that are designed and built specifically for the Chinese market (especially the ‘people cars’). Only the badge is foreign. China’s local manufacturers are doing ‘ok’ because people from the poorer and less developed Western parts of China are buying them. Ask any wealthy Chinese who live in Shanghai, Guangzhou or Hong Kong, they will laugh at their own local cars. They hate them just like how most Malaysians hate Proton and Perodua.

On your third paragraph;
            Well, that is a hard point to counter, but I will anyway. Firstly, in the 80s, Proton was not doing too well, so they had a Japanese dude from Mitsubishi lead the company. The first half of the 1990s was the best ever for Proton, they did well in export markets and all. But then the 1997 Asian Financial Crisis struck, and everything in Malaysia got screwed up, including Proton. Then in 2000, Proton made the Waja, the so-called first in-house designed Proton, so naturally, to split from the tried and tested Mitsubishi formulas was no easy task. Proton had to, for the first time, use their brains, unlike before where they only had to change bumpers and grilles. Then things went downhill because Proton couldn’t decided whether they wanted a ‘serious car’ or a ‘sporty car’, but in the end, ‘serious’ was what Malaysians wanted. Also, Perodua started improving in the 2000s, with Toyota’s help. In 2006, Syed Zainal Abidin took over and he changed pretty much everything. Thanks to him, Proton didn’t die, and by 2012-13, you could say that Proton’s newest cars have shown a lot of encouraging growth and improvement. Still, sales are not growing because of Proton’s ruined reputation.

So Proton’s story in an unfortunate one, with great highs and depressing lows, but I can foresee good things in the coming pages and chapters. From the way Proton is doing now, I’d say it’s worth giving them the last chance they need. My only wish is that Proton would do more and do them quickly, because time is not on their side.

Oh, and yes, I do drive a Proton.

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:03 am

Blame Japan pseudo imperialism again.

Aren’t their cars are of proven quality, durable and reliable? Why blame them for producing good products?

Why don’t you blame some spoilt brat dude 30 years old still drink mama milk and bully others by hiding behind mama dress?

Stupid Proton Macai lah this Aero

• BeemerFreak on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Indeed. We only support a Malaysian car brand if they were funded privately. They use up all the tax payers money to produce cars just so that they can ask for protection from the gov for the tax payers to only buy their cars. This is rubbish, you are using my money to make cars that I don’t want and creating a situation whereby I can only afford it. I did not even give you the consent to use my money this way in the first place. Utter rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • Aci Aci on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:36 pm

In the first place, how to take your consent? Secondly, your consent was not needed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • Do you ever read p1 financial statement.there clearly stated that p1 do loan from bank to finance their project..in there oso show how much research grant that they get..research grant anybody or company who doing R&D can apply…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • bank finance? read carefully:

H. KENDERAAN NASIONAL

51. Kerajaan telah memperkenalkan projek kenderaan nasional iaitu PROTON, PERODUA dan MODENAS. Kerajaan juga telah menyediakan insentif bagi memastikan kejayaan projek nasional ini. Di samping itu, pihak PROTON, PERODUA dan MODENAS turut membuat pelaburan yang tinggi dan telah banyak menyumbang kepada pembangunan industri automotif tempatan. Lebih daripada 500 syarikat vendor bagi mengeluarkan komponen dan alat ganti telah dapat diwujudkan dan menawarkan peluang pekerjaan kepada 180,000 orang. Ini tidak termasuk peluang pekerjaan yang disediakan oleh PROTON, PERODUA dan MODENAS sebanyak lebih kurang 30,000 orang.

52. Kerajaan menerusi NAP 2014 akan meneruskan sokongan kepada syarikat-syarikat pengeluar kenderaan nasional sedia ada. Sokongan yang akan diberi termasuklah dalam aktiviti peluasan pasaran, peningkatan produktiviti serta kualiti, pengurangan kos dan pembangunan rantaian bekalan berdasarkan pelan transformasi syarikat masing-masing yang selari dengan objektif projek nasional.

thank you for reading

• 50. Dalam memastikan pembangunan industri automotif tempatan yang mampan, Kerajaan telah mengambil inisiatif dalam menyediakan pelbagai jenis bantuan dan sokongan merangkumi bantuan kewangan dan bukan kewangan kepada syarikat-syarikat automotif tempatan termasuk projek-projek kenderaan nasional. Antara bantuan-bantuan kewangan yang telah disalurkan oleh Kerajaan adalah Dana Pembangunan Automotif, Skim Pinjaman Mudah Pembangunan Automotif, Skim Pinjaman Mudah Automasi dan Modenisasi, Program Rangkaian Industri serta Program
            Tool, Die and Mould.
            Antara bantuan-bantuan bukan kewangan pula termasuklah program bina upaya industri seperti
            MAJAICO, Apprentice, Automotive Industrial Certification Engineering
            dan
            Lean Production System

• sedac on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:09 am

So what if gomen gives loans to proton? It’s not enough to make the whole thing running so bank loans are needed.

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:24 am

All we need also a fair complaint by PEDA against Proton for rebadging Accordana….

It is unfair for PEDA to complaint Perodua rebadge only, but close one eye on Proton Inspira Accordana…

• Le Dentist on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:24 pm

I don’t think your argument is fair either. Whats wrong with rebadging 2 car models in a line u? Perodua’s products are all rebagded cars.

• Protection on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Finally you have admitted that you need more protection. If Thailand and Indonesia can make it why can’t you as Proton that have been protected in a Closed Market for so many years still cannot compete? Year after year, NAP After another NAP, until when Proton will be able to stand at its own? Very disappointed with this kind of Statement, if you rebadge other brand car with competitive price, as malaysian i dont mind to pay? But if because of the pride because of being the status of Malaysia Local Brand Car or so called “National Car”, after so many year still cannot compete, to me its a total failure…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 45
    • they do not ask for protection but advantage of full local production not just mere assembling n get same level of incentive….if u la kan, if u do more u want get more right or u want same?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 24
      • Dont reply with a irrelevant question, ie. telling people you would do the same if you were in their shoes. We, 99.99% are not in their shoes and dont give a shit. We are not proton nor are we PEDA. WTF is with PEDA making statement as if they are proton the manufacturer.

NAP2 fail to increase bumiputra participation? In what? Dealership? How many damn dealers do they think one area can have selling proton? PEDA want to whack complete 100% bumiputra participation in the entire supply chain, direct and indirect industries as well? Damn dude…this is 2014! Globalisation is the thing…not government protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
        • im not asking u to be in their shoe but i ask what will u do if more n get same with other who do less…put aside ur sentiment..if u feel unfair then u know what they mean..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
      • Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:28 am

“not just mere assembling n get same level of incentive”

OK, tell Proton to stop rebadge Accordana first.

Siapa komplen dulu must stop rebadge, lead by example lah.

• hellhole on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:29 am

If we get paid RM900 per month like they do in Indonesia and Thailand to assemble cars, we will be like Thailand. We will never be like those countries anymore as they are paid peanuts

• For the ignorant Proton-bashers, please think before you speak.

Although I own several imports, but I’ll still support Proton as it is good for the economy and for Malaysia to be a fully-developed nation, we need to be able to manufacture our own vehicle, not just rebadging like Perodua or Inokom and the likes.

FYI, Malaysia is THE ONLY NATION is ASEAN which produce our own vehicle outright; Thailand, Indonesia all are but assembler; no R&D required – and R&D is the one the MOST EXPENSIVE part of any vehicle production.

Ever wonder why Mazda & Ford shares the same chassis, engine and gearbox for some of their models?

Ever wonder why Chevrolet & Isuzu share the development cost/R&D for their trucks?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 69
    • samloocankissmytoots. on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:36 pm

HAHA!

Do you ever wonder why Thailand and Indonesia attracts more FDI?

It is because we don’t have a stupid “national” automaker like Proton.

Because of Proton, we have exorbitant excise duties and inflated prices, all for the sake of protecting Mahatir’s pride and joy.

And because of this, automakers from other countries do not want to invest here in an UNFAIR playing field.

Look back at Malaysia auto market before Proton was started, it was still attractive and fresh. We had same spec cars with neighbouring countries.

Enough is enough, Proton needs to die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 57
      • salambangi on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:26 pm

We also have stupid guys like you who are blinded by racial prism and possess ongenenital hatred of anything the UMNO led govt does.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 48
      • Ibrahim on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:19 pm

You think only Malaysia has inflated car prices? What’s about Singapore, HK and Holland. Some more no petrol subsidy there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
        • Polo Saga on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Why dun u compared with US, UK or Australia? Stupid enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
          • Ibrahim on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Because I am talking about inflated car prices. Stupid enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
          • tiadaid on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Actually in the UK car prices are cheap simply because they have the option to add & remove items as they see fit – they don’t have the Government Approved Standard Accessories rule that adds costs like we do here.

For instance, take a look at the cheapest VW Polo in the UK, at GBP 11,515. The option you can have:

Alarm with remote central locking and interior protection: GBP 380
            Carpet mats: GBP 80
            Mudflaps: GBP 69 for either front or back
            And if you want air conditioning as standard, the base price of the car is an extra GBP 1000.

Whereas here in Malaysia, most car specs are fixed, which is why we can’t mix & match so that the costs would be reduced. It’s either Vios J or Vios G or Vios TRD – but you can’t have features from the TRD in the J or G and the like.

That’s why comparing on price alone is not an apple to apple comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • NerdD!ck on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Ibrahim, dont be a total ignorance. Please take a visit to Singapore HK Holland and then look back at our country. Their country is much wealthier than ours. And they don’t need to raise their car prices just to protect a PROTON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
          • hellhole on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:31 am

These countries are trading hubs of the region. We are not

• Ibrahim on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Of course I have been to all that places. And will be going again and again. Free some more!!

• FDI is not an indicator of a successful country, it’s good of course, but if a local company (ie. AirAsia) does well and provides jobs, why do you even need an investment from a foreign company in the first place? additionally, the local company contributes to the GNI in the form of taxes. so please, don’t just bash with a few big words and think you’re right.

• This guy, I like you man. *no homo*

We need more Malaysians like you, Malaysians who can see the full picture.

Sad to say that most Malaysians still think Proton = Mahathir = Barisan National = Evil and must die.

The concept of a national car can theoretically succeed, Malaysians can do it, we have the talent. However, the concept is being abused and is poorly executed (under BN). I’ve said it before, when PR wins, they still WON’T shut down Proton. Why ? Because they know too much has been invested, and more importantly, they will realize that the concept is worth pursuing, and hopefully, will lead to something bigger.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 18
      • kambinganas on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Masalahnya, kalo asyik memberi tongkat aje, sampai bila nak berjalan. Beli syarikat dan teknologi asing pun sampai sekarang tak yakin dan tak berani bersaing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
        • Errr, I beg to differ.

Ada perbezaan antara ‘memberi tongkat’ dan ‘memberi layanan istimewa’.

Kalau tengok negara yang ada ‘kereta nasional’ pun, tentu ada ‘layanan istimewa’. Kalau bukan cukai, rakyat sendiri yang memberi ‘layanan istimewa’. Maksudnya, rakyat masing-masing tahu betapa pentingnya industri kereta kepada negara mereka, dan mereka akan membeli kereta buatan nasional tak kira suka atau tidak.

Nak tahu apa akan jadi kalau dua-dua pun tak ada ? Tengoklah Luxgen Taiwan. Syarikat yang baru, keretanya sangat mewah dan berteknologi. Tapi rakyat Taiwan sendiri tak mahu beli dan sokong Luxgen, jualan mereka agak teruk, tak masuk Top 30 pun. Rakyat Taiwan suka sangat kereta Jepun, perasaan patriotik langsung tak ada.

So there, itulah kenapa saya percaya bahawa kena ada sesuatu ‘layanan istimewa’ untuk Proton, kerana majoriti rakyat Malaysia tidak menyokong Proton, tak kira kereta Proton bagus atau tidak. However, ‘layanan istimewa’ ini tidak patut menyusahkan pihak lain. We must find the correct balance, and that is the difficult part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
          • Amboi on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:33 am

Kereta nasional? Kalau kat Jepun, spec untuk rakyat tempatan lagi hebat dari spec untuk negara luar.

Tapi proton, spec oversea lagi bagus. Untuk rakyat sendiri, Saga dengan Exora pun tak dapat stability control, tapi untuk Australia dibaginya pula. Macamana nak support?

Tak payah risau pasal taiwan la. Depa ni ada HTC, Asus, Acer, Transcend dan macam2 lagi.

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:44 am

The correct balance is close down Proton and what a joy to 28 million rakyat. Not that difficult lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • annoy_namous on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Saya setuju dgn Aero, tapi JK komen x pakai hotak . main hentam jer & x berfikir.
            Joy to 28 million people kalo tutup proton, habis yg xde kerja tu, ko nak bayar ke sara diri diorang. Lepas tu ramai2 tumpang naik kereta import ko… Boleh??? Akai ada ka???

• farghmee on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:00 am

aku setuju ngn Aero.

kita xboleh depend pada FDI.
          diorg cabut, kita melopong.

oleh itu kita perlu ada industri sendiri.
          industri makanan & perkilangan.
          self-sufficient.

point lain, barang hasil titik peluh malaysia perlu dpt keistimewaan.
          kt luar negara xdpt keistimewaan, haruslah dalam negara sendiri dpt.

peda argue benda yg betul.

cuba bayangkan graduate engineering dlm negara, kalu xde industri, diorg nk keje ape?
          ye mgkn industri kete mesia ni kecik je, tp industri yg lain pn kecik juga kalu banding ngn negara luar.
          jadi perlu ke kita tutup industri lain juga sebab industri tu kecil?
          dlm ertikata lain, kita nk import sume benda ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • uncle jen on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:33 am

agreed. we need to be self sufficient. having more indigenous industries instead of relying on opportunistic and selfish foreign capitalists. and we need our people to support domestic growth and development.

tapi in the case of proton, supporting it for the sake of support saja pun tak guna. on their part pulak they have step up to game la.

they need to have the right mind frame and make the right (business) decisions, act and perform like a true car manufacturer instead of just an extension of the G.

klau tak reti nak design atau manage, then get someone who can lah. foreign pun lantaklah.we hire them pulak la, kita jadi boss.and ambik peluang squeeze every sigle ounce of creative juice we can get to pass on to our ppl.

kia punya designer matsaleh, CEO nissan matsaleh, Qoros from china hired engineers and designers from Europe as well. no shame la. why cant proton do that?

get the right talents, make the right business decisions ( screw politicians, cronies) replace incompetent staff( rank nfile and mgt) and suplliers. and start producing cars with real substance.

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:47 am

Kalau buat kereta pun hodoh, kualiti haprak bagus tutup saja. Banyak lagi industri lain yang boleh offer banyak kerja, contohnya kilang belacan atau kilang kerepek pisang.

• TeacW7 on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:33 am

Kalau G boleh terima cadangan, saya nak cadangkan agar excise tax ini diturunkan sepertimana harga kereta di Langkawi/Labuan dan jika G risau pasal takda orang nak beli kereta Proton/Perodua, kita pendekkan loan kereta import kepada 5 tahun dan loan kereta national 9 tahun. Macam nilah rakyat baru ada pilihan…

• farghmee on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:17 am

betul my frens,

kena step up. aku setuju. ni proton punya part.
            rakyat punya part, jgn senang2 nk blame itu ini xkena sume.

ye lah industri belacan, itu je ke?
            kalu belacan My xsedap, kita tutup kilang, bli belacan dr Indon?
            get my point?

& kalu kilang belacan je nk buat, xperlu la hantar student blaja tinggi2 smpi luar negara.
            balik nnt buat belacan juga.
            kita kena diversify dlm cari income.

• Critique on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:52 pm

“However, the concept is being abused and is poorly executed (under BN)”

I cannot agree more with this statement!
        If you’re gonna do something, do the very best! If not, why even bother?

If we’re gonna call it our national car, then doesn’t it deserve the very best of our efforts? Anything short of that is just plain ole disrespectful to the ctry and rakyat!

Cheers :)

• Agreed with your. Technology is not something cheap to acquire, just like making a PhD in engineering. Research is exspensive even for a small project.

If you like import car, buy it. Nobody bother if u dont like safety feature instead the design. Quality sometime is subjective and no product is perfect, we are not god.

Please think positive and rational, even PT agree that this NAP don’t have clear direction to lead our automotive. At least it push on safety and environment standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Paucharsiew on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:53 pm

good for the economy? or good for certain individuals? Pretty sure most of us do not receive any benefit in anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • armandd on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:09 pm

You’re right. In order to be a developed country, we must develop our own technology, expertise and business. Why did the Koreans came up with their own cars when they can just rebadge/buy Japanese, European or US made car?

• zzu, if this company shows their positive attitude like Hyundai, Kia to offer better product for the Malaysian instead of cheating Malaysian with lower spec and higher price. Who else want to bash Proton. Respect need to be earned!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Sell car with lower spec and higher price…I think that’s Japanese here in Malaysia. Not Proton.

• Amboi on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:45 am

Saga dan Exora, kita kat sini takde stability control la bai. Topup la RM4000, pasang ESC untuk rakyat. nampak la sikit dihargai. Ini takde langsung. Dipasangnya untuk Australian.

Buat apa nak kesah kat japanese. Depa bagi yang bagus utk rakyat depa. Tapi proton dok kroni tak habis-habis. Cuba lantik CEO dari negara luar, ada berani ka? Cuba tengok macamana Nissan overhaul balik company. Carlos Ghosn stop 20,000 pekerja dan tutup bebarapa plant. Sekejap je dapat bangun balik daripada situasi hampir bankrap.

Proton berani?

• Sabar la bro…preve now have the full safety features without cost increase. Hope that exora and saga also will be the same as what proton do to their preve fleet. The issue now what PEDA says is true. No mention about compulsory safety requirement in NAP that every car brand must comply to be able them to market their car here.

• youbodok on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Please read more next time. You pasang ESC kat exora pun bukan boleh dapat 5 star cam preve. Saga pulak is about to be replaced by GSC. Maybe Exora Sv will have all that but later don’t complain why it doesn’t have 5 star Australian safety rating pulak. Pegi la baca banyak sikit, if you bash blindly you only unleash your stupidity.

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:05 am

Ever wonder why don’t you sell all your imported cars and buy Proton.

Can you do it or not, hypocrite?

• Honestly, I agree wholeheartedly with PEDA’s comments. How is it fair that Perodua, who only rebadges Toyota cars, with just 1 or 2 airbags and no ESC or TCL be considered a ‘national car company’ on the same level as Proton ? That is total bull. Proton is the highest spender in ASEAN for R&D, and they are spreading themselves too thin.

Malaysians will say ”Then how come Proton cannot make a good, reliable and cheap car but Perodua can ?” Of course lah idiots, Perodua only has to change the badge, front and rear bumper and dashboard, voila, Perodua car. The engine, chassis, testing and whatever else than requires a brain is done by Toyota in Japan. Proton has to design the chassis and engine, then test for safety, then decide on the exterior design, then find vendors, then test for reliability and finally sell the car as a fit product. In that sense, Proton cannot excel in any one particular area because they have to consider others. If Proton just wants to rebadge Japanese cars, then they will do so much better than Perodua. Case in point, Proton Inspira, been claimed to be the ‘best Proton car’ to date, better even than the Suprima and Prevé.

I agree that after reading all the articles here, the NAP 2014 is not clear and doesn’t benefit all players. However, don’t get me wrong, I am against the tariffs and protectionism, but I believe that we must still protect our interests for long term gain. If not, Proton will become like Australia’s Holden and Ford. Or maybe the Czech Republic’s Skoda, meaning successful, but only because of someone else and not one’s own doing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 26
    • Beside that, those proton-blind-basher think gov will reduce car price if Proton closed… they dreaming too much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
    • Then at the first place take out those who are useless but sitting at the top position and let those who are capable to operate! For a company to success, the management must be color blind, religion blind!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Of course, no doubt about that.

Proton today is not a true ‘Malaysian effort’. I hope that when PR wins, they fully-privatise the company and open it to ‘all Malaysians’, regardless of race and religion. Let’s face it, 30 years of ‘training talent’, but not much has been achieved. If Proton is to remain sustainable, it should be just opened for all.

I do not wish to sound racist, but that is the painful reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
        • hellhole on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:35 am

Do you know that the designer of the Persona series is a Chinese?

• Yes, but the fact is that in the full picture, Proton is very much a Malay-run and dominated enterprise. I have nothing against that, but as a proud Malaysian, I personally wish Proton could just be run by all Malaysians with the drive and passion, regardless of race and religion. This way, Proton will be more competitive and relevant.

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:08 am

I do not wish to sound sarcastic, but the painful reality is a typical Proton macai like you also don’t buy Proton despite cakap besar Proton good this that. Hypocrite fool.

• dino years on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Totally agree, especially on the Inspira point. Perodua is nothing more than a assembly company, one that cares as much about its consumers safety as our dear UMW Toyota, and to give it status equivalent to Proton is nothing short of scandal. Perodua IS doing a good job in terms of affordability and reliability, but it is NOT a national car company like Proton.

Think of the enormous investment by Jap govt into the auto industry to develop their engine ranges. Mazda bled every single drop of its blood money including govt grants, share issues, and emergency loans into developing Sky-Activ. I’m not sure of the total Skyactiv R&D cost but I’m sure it is many many times the few hundred million RINGGIT given to Proton for Campro.

Can’t condemn the bashers too much though, because you have to sympathize. We (I myself included) pay less for Proton than other cars yes, but we (I) can’t deny Proton cars have a strong tendency to rattle, squeak, and fall sick before the wrappings are even taken off. Very underwhelming. Very difficult to justify.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Yes, it is only fair. Those who go the extra mile should be rewarded appropriately.

I can relate to you. I drive an old Saga, the Mitsubishi-based one, and it is utterly terrible, unsafe, inefficient and just plain rubbish, and yet, here I am lending my support to Proton. Why ? Because I can see the full picture. It’s not about me, it’s about us, it’s about Malaysia as a whole. Yes, I can be a selfish person, and only care about riches and material gain, but that doesn’t make me happy. When the Prevé got the 5-star ANCAP certification in early 2013, that became the happiest moment in my 19 years of life thus far. It was then that I realized that owning a BMW, Toyota or some foreign car won’t make me happy, but seeing Proton improve does.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
        • Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:11 am

“I drive an old Saga, the Mitsubishi-based one, and it is utterly terrible, unsafe, inefficient and just plain rubbish, and yet, here I am lending my support to Proton. Why ?”

Because you’re a blind fool hypocrite.

Yes keep on fooling yourself in believing Proton not a lost cause failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • In all of your comments, you only criticise and criticise in a non-constructive manner. Also, you seem to be really good at making of fun others and calling names.

Is this the best you can do ?

• busher on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:15 am

Proton bashers are all same. They only know to unleash their stupidity by calling others fools.

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:52 am

Blame Perodua for rebadging and spend less R&D than Proton?

What is Proton Accordana then?

Cakap besar tapi sendiri hipokrit. Piirahhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:09 am

Yes keep blaming Perodua rebadge but not Proton rebadge Accordana.

Hyprocite galore

• uncle jen on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:08 pm

alright then, name us, one model in perodua’s line up yg dia orang built up from scratch:- platform , powertrain, exterior n interior design, ergonomics, chassis tuning etc… semua in-house, takde ambik apa2 pun dari toyota/daihatsu punya parts bin.

• Mig29 on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Customar is loyal to quality, not company brand. Perodua vs Proton which one is good quality. Why customer choose Perodua instead of Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • hellhole on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:37 am

Of course it is a better quality their R&D dollars is spread over 1 million Toyota Boon , Daihatsu Sirions and the “rebadged Perodua MYVI. Proton can only spread it across 100,000 cars.

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:54 am

Not only our local customers rejecting Proton, every Proton export market also rejecting Proton cars. Look at Australia, Thailand, Singapore…some zero monthly sales Proton car…

• motorhead on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:43 pm

No comment. Just can’t wait next election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Carnovice on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Come on lah, does Malaysia really nid 2 hav their own automotive industry? Malaysia isnt even a developed nation! Can it produce world class cars or motorbikes w/o deriving d design or engine parts frm other established car companies? Most, if not all dat money used 4 Proton since Proton’s inception had been gone 2 waste, w/o producing something unique on their own. D huge amount of money could be further used to develope d nation, instead of some car manufacturing company dat nids protection!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
    • you are totally wrong man, doesn’t matter if it’s a developed country or not, it’s never wrong to put money into R&D, same goes for education, it’s never wrong to learn, even if it’s something which you won’t use. like one of the commenter Aero said, these foreign companies are only exploiting the geographical and cost advantages of a nation, if that nation loses its edge, there goes everything, including the foreign company.

• hellhole on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:40 am

What about about our housing industry it is protected too! and no one is complaining. Imagine if we let the American prefabricators to get licence to build cheap homes in Malaysia. We will not be paying 4 million for a stupid semi D in Mutiara Damansara. 1million USD can buy you a bungalow in Beverly Hills

• Malaysia don’t need national car, just free up our Automotive industry please. Every here is FORCE to get a car to cari makan because of poor infrastructure, so please make our car affordable. We don’t mind playing extras for car if I’ve choice not to get one and use public transport!

• beejay on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:50 pm

I think healthy competition works better than policy protection, after all, it is proton that did not live up to people’s expectation after 30 years in existence. We are very easy to please, we only need two criteria – Reliable and safe. Safety compartment has been improved, but reliability? long way to go.

If you agree with PEDA, you are writing off the ordinary rakyat’s hope to own a reliable car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • After so many years proton still needs protection? Then until when we have to protect this rotten car manufacturer??? Oh my goodness, RnD after RnD heck they didnt come out with the best product for malaysians!!! The question of their car’s quality become nightmare to their consumer. Thank god, i dont own proton

• Despite what many are slandering over Proton’s rebadging of cars as with the recent Acordana, I’d much prefer they do that than investing on half hearted R&D work to build a car from scratch. I find there’s nothing wrong with rebadging so long as its a quality car they’re rebadging. I just don’t trust Proton’s R&D capabilities despite what many thinks they should stand on their own two feet.

Ridicule me if you wish, but I just cannot trust the quality of the engineers behind Persona, Exora and Preve backed by their half sleeping management. I’ll welcome the Inspira anytime. I’ll accept the Proton badge on what really is a Mitsubishi Lancer. Have you guys ever noticed a Inspira without its badge? The owner intentionally pry it out? Would you pry it out if its a Mitsubishi badge? You won’t. So we all know you bought a Proton. Removing the Proton badge off the Inspira doesn’t hide us from the fact you’re driving a Proton, we can all see that. So folks, no need to pry out the badge. We know it’s a Proton.

Anyway, I’ll be happy to check out the Acordana when its available for sale, because it’s still not a local R&D effort. But I won’t actually buy it. I’d rather go to the 2nd hand dealer and buy a used Perdana/Mitsubishi Eterna because I’m not about to pay RM120k++ (whatever) only to have half of it siphon out by cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Black Dog on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Somehow, I agree with PEDA’s comment EXCEPT the part about Bumi participation.

It’s cronies like Naza/Perodua who manipulated and benefit from the not-so-clear policy.

• wkaka on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:28 pm

I agree, unfortunately for most of us, the rural folk have no idea that most of the “Bumi” participation has been monopolized by a select few Bumis’ with connections (BeeNd)

How do I know? I’m a Bumi and my friends that only read mainstream media think that way :(

• Pendek on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:04 pm

I bet you are a millionaire Bumi . If not, you are just like the rural folk Bumi. Still complain about expensive imported car some more.

• Archangel on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Frankly speaking, most of PEDA comments is true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Take all the crony out of picture then Proton can grow normal. With these cronies in the game, Proton will never success!

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:30 am

Except that they forgot to complaint that Proton also rebadge Accordana so must not get R&D grants easy money.

• sudonano on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:55 pm

The thing is this. We do support Proton, and we do want to see them succeed.

But the method we have now, all the protection and grants for them alone is not sustainable.

You see, they still want the big G to give out handouts for them to survive. Proton is owned by DRB now which is technically a private company. So what are they doing asking for more protection and incentives, which is what they say in the line “incentives should be given to manufacturers that produce made-in-Malaysia vehicles from their own R&D.” which essentially is only Proton.

Why can’t we compare ourselves to Thailand. Or Indonesia. Just look at the Thai auto industry. And then look at ours. Sorry to say, I have had experience from Thai CBU cars and Malaysian CKD cars, from non Proton makes, from a certain Japanese car company I shall not name. (Hint it is SL’s favourite).

And I do notice, the CKD car tends to have lower quality compared to the Thai CBU. The Thai CBUs are good, compared to ours as they seem to have a better QC system. Why can’t we compare ourselves to them, so we have a benchmark to improve on.

If we cannot compare to Thai and Indon, who are we going to use as a benchmark. Don’t say Germany cause it is like trying to run before we can walk. Our industry is much younger than the German one.

In other words, not comparing to our peers is like saying to our kids, its ok, you got 50 for your Math test, no need to compare with your peers who got 80s and learn to improve, 50 is enough….

If we continue that mentality, Proton will remain a “jaguh kampung” and always “syok sendiri”. That is a fact.

Though the paragraphs 11 – 13 do hold some water. The rest feels like a crybaby child.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • CKD not as good as CBU?
      did u know Mercedes & BMW also has many CKD models sold here?
      i own a CBU BMW, and my uncle own a CKD BWM and if you bring someone who is clueless about where the car came from, that person wont be able to tell whether it’s ckd or cbu; because i personally can’t tell the difference (with respect to quality section).
      anyway there is some truth also with regards to QC/QA, as i also own a CKD CR-V (2000) and it’s still going strong until today BUT there ARE some problems with some of the components; the power window (YES, the POWER WINDOW) and the windscreen water squirter (i don’t know what it’s called) got some problems and was replaced circa 2007 – yes, after 7 years only it gives problem, compared to my 1986 Toyota CBU which have NO problem at all for the 14 years we had it (okay, it has a manual window) but everything else was in mint condition when we traded it.

• sudonano on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Of course I know that BMW and Mercedes have a lot of CKD models. Heck, a large part of the MB line is CKD. And yes, I have the CKD BMW and I can tell you where they have cut corners after sitting in the CBU ones (of the EXACT SAME MODEL) in Germany. Some of the plastic bits on ours are not so well fitted. Even the seat quality, if you sit in the middle rear seat, the backrest is as hard as an EasyJet seat, but not on the German one. The seats themselves are somehow not as nice, in my CKD, when I sat in the CBU 4 series.

But I think the CKD/CBU divide is not so apparent in the German marques, as they have a fairly good QC compared to the Asian marques. Take the Inokom i10 and compare it to the CBU ones from India (which are supplied worldwide), panel gaps are atrocious on the local models. Even the electrics which are sourced here also are not that resilient as the Korean ones.

You are lucky your CKD CRV 2000MY is still not too bad, cause the newer CKD ones are worse. How about I tell you a dealer test drive CRV 2.0 (latest one) had a broken glovebox that keeps dropping on the front passenger knee when the car was barely 3 months old. One of the reasons I walked away.

• GrenPa on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:13 am

You know Why?
          Honda is CKD by DRB-Hicom.

DRB quality control??
          they do have, but not high standard enough.
          Honda should be more stringent on DRB-Hicom for assembling Honda Cars!

• pedam on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:29 pm

it should be named PEDAM! not PEDA.. lolz..

“Pedam-kan Proton”

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Memalukan diri sendiri. No wonder proton so lousy.

• Pendek on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Aiya Proton is malaysian. You are also Malaysian ma. Same same?

• Guest what, I met a person who did a study about the employee in Proton related to the work quality. Guess what? foreign worker tent to produce better work quality then local worker! What is the problem? Seems like is the attitude?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Agree with PEDA, NCAP should be make it compulsory coz each day how many accident occur on our roads!!!!

• ali mumcu on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:58 pm

I call proton a national car. Because there is no international sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • ali mumcu on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:58 pm

I call proton a national car. Because there is no international sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • dzulx on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:58 pm

taking aside the public sentiment, I do think their statement makes sense.

From another perspective, you can say this half baked NAP does not benefit anybody including Proton..

Now I wonder what is the point of NAP??

• Sorchai on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Some points written are true and I do agree. Some are just complaints.

But what I find most interesting about our culture is that we like to be jack of all trades but master of none.

Want to make car, then manufacture motorcycle, start producing ‘national brand’ white goods. Later on, say focus on IT, then back track and must improve agriculture. Our education system flip flops on policies. Biotech was hot now its not? Now our NAP is unclear.

Please just think about it. Nothing we ever do is clear, focused and is visionary. So look at where we stand today. Look at others whom has a clear vision and mission to where they want to be. They are there now.

• Don’t forget we have astronaut now. NAP 2014 is the preparation for Malaysia brand Spaceship.

• Sparcov on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Is a very subjective debate.

Without Proton, we won’t have a “spin-off” effect in the Nation economy. Proton is there not just as a car maker but also generating economy and creating more job for the locals in which contribute to the Nation GDP and GNI.

The only problem with Proton is, they lack of innovation, limited technology and of course unable to maintain their quality. Proton should not give 5 years warranty and expect their client to visit the service center to claim for warranty. They should in fact make sure every proton problem free before rolls out and hand over to their client. This is the failed part of Proton strategy. No point 5 years warranty if I need to visit the service center to claim warranty. Not to say bad customer service and lacked of knowledge and not trained service advisor. Worse case, I need to several times to get it fix. e.g. 1) check and order, 2) appointment to fix it.

In fact I experience 1 whole day to get my car for regular service in Mutiara Damansara 3s platinum. I send my car at 9am since i make appointment at 9am. Until 6pm only i can get my car back. What for I make appointment then?

Compare to perodua, When i make appointment at 9pm, they straight away drive in and get it service. straight away i can get my car back after 1 1/2 hours. Just to compare the company Standard of procedures. (SOP)

What I’m trying to say is, it is a healthy Auto industry that has been ruined for some particular interest.

Inorder for the people to support the Car maker, The car maker have to do something to improve and not just waiting. 30 years of Auto industry experience is more than enough for Proton to step further. With state of the art Proton City, government support, huge supporting industry. I don’t see any reason why Proton can failed. Unless they failed to change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • They do have many technology. They do have innovation. They have everything a big car manufacturer should have (even one of the world most modern and largest car factory!)

The problem is, their top management don’t have the nerve to make their leap of faith. They don’t wanna risk their money to try something new, like what Kia and Hyundai did. They are not confident. Because most of their management staffs are businessman who probably have no clue abt car manufacturing, or the joy of driving.

Their engineers however, are really passionate abt cars. I know because their cars have very nice safety, features, performance and dynamics despite very cheaply made. Because of the management (who don’t understand the industry), most of these talented engineers has gone away seeking other company to fullfill their passion and had to let go their dream of making a good Malaysian car. Many Proton engineers has fled to Qoros, JLR, Caterham, became engineering consultants, set up tuning shops, have their own racing teams, blablabla.

If only these money spinners step out from Proton, maybe all these talented engineers will come back. If only Gen-2 had Petronas E01, good interiors back then (like it was supposed to), maybe Proton can overtake Toyota long time ago….

• Guess how good quality is the service center. My Persona went in to SC for 4 times for the same problem of noise from front bonet near sterling…problem can’t solve and I have to live with it! Less then 20k millage, sterling vibrate when press brake. Went in to SC to complaint and tell them it may due to brake disc uneven. I ended been forced to change RM300++ brake disc or warranty void! The worst was the problem still never solved. Eventually I spent RM50 to trim the brake disc and problem solved!

How you expect we support PROTON with such low quality car and low quality service center and technician? I bet PROTON will never success if the whole management team not been revised for better working attitude and mentally!

The quality of the low level staff can easily reflecting how much quality are their superior to manage them!

• I am worrying how Proton can comply with the EEV

• Enough la Proton.

Still need Protection, Because of you.
    We cannot afford even Kangkung!

U also benefiting fron this NAP2014, and still cry like a baby??

go produce fuel efficient car.
    easiest way is buy Honda engine.

Immediate fuel efficient, and gain quality.
    people like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • tokmoh on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Why Proton still need protection??

ady National No.2 best seller.
    still need protection?

ady 50% cheaper then opponent.
    Persona vs Vios and city.
    Preve vs Cerato to Altis.

still need protection?

Proton should get Honda engine from JV.

What u do at JV? Isnt it’s technology sharing?

• Proton you trying to stop Price Reduction??

NAP2014, please feed Proton with lesser tax.

better still if Ask Proton use Honda Engine.

• Cun Jaguh Bola Tampar on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:35 pm

i think it is not the G fault but more on Proton’s fault.. so slow in producing a good car, 2 or 3 years ago Proton said they r doing RnD to produce electric car lah, eev car lah.. where is it??? n now nak RnD to produce hybrid car?

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:18 pm

I dont think audi , bmw, volkswagen ,mercs get their R&D fund from government. Why proton want the fund from government ?? And wrote it out so obviously . Why dont just conclude the report with ” PLEASE GIVE US FUND, PLEASE SUPPORT US , WE NEED GOVERNMENT BACKUP”

• tommy yeoh on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Strongly suggest that you dealers change or move to other makes as soon as possible before Proton disappear from the market. You can see clearly the company results is getting worse by the day. The only car they can sell right now is Proton saga cause it is the cheapest car or the best dollar per metal car.

• Albert lee on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Proton has changed hands,how many times?And what is the outcome?It is still bleeding badly,especially after buying ailing Lotus.
    Watch this self fulfilling prophecy:-There will come a day even Peda will abandon Proton,looking for greener dealerships elsewhere.
    You need a new engine for all Proton models.The Campro is outdated,noisy,shaking violently too much.

• Satria on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Proton established since 1983. In these 21 year Proton still not capable to produce own chassis, engine, own technology, what Proton learn from this automotive business? Learned on how to make R&D funds automatic gone?

• Green Mark on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Proton Edar Dealers Association (PEDA)

Who are them??
    They are BN cronnies..

you think Proton got brave to say like that??

BN cronnies are Stopping Malaysia as Global Hub for Mass Production! with BN cronnies, our government move backward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Bangali on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:25 pm

“the policy will encourage the rebadging of national cars instead of us building our own”
    Good! awaiting Proton Civic… lol

• Momocar on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:33 pm

There is only a way to safe Proton, it should work together by capable Malaysian…

• rally_fan on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:01 pm

i think most people here jumping the gun here.. after reading the statement, i actually feel they have a couple of good points there if people actually bothered to read it properly.

• Contender on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:10 pm

WTF ! Proton is no longer a national car per se …. now owned by individual or private entity DRB HICOM …. stop asking for handout will you, have no shame just like the beggars on the street who does not work and want easy money from public ….. exactly like this Proton Edar or Proton ….. run by greedy retards asking for more from all Malaysians to spoon fed them for their incompetencies

• sudonano on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:43 pm

PEDA, why u angry?

NAP2014, is to turn MAlaysia into International Car producing Hub..not just produce Proton Cars.

but, produce cars and export.
    This is a bigger money to Malaysia, more Job oppurtunity at the same time.

PEDA aka proton association – Selfish!
    We Malays dont want to feed just because of 0.01% PEDA people…

Narrow minded PEDA – backward development.

• farghmee on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:11 am

care to elaborate on how NAP2014 will turn MY into Int. CAr Producing Hub?

i only saw some simple tables with mistakes.

• GrenMa on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:02 am

u see..
        EEV have a non-strict rule, very easy to follow to produce fuel efficient car compared to indonesia and Thailand.

If the foreign company find the calculation is right. Then they will choose Malaysia instead of others, NAP2014 also promised further tax reduction in future while the rule is more stringent can be followed.

• farghmee on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:21 am

“very easy”?
          it’s not clear.

what cycle should be implementing for FC, Japan JC08 or Europe ECE-15?

• farghmee..

They did mention follow NEDC, New European Driving Cycle.

ECE-15?? that’s is very old test..

Why not u spend some time on reading NAP2014. it’s clear enough already.

• All those tests are crap. When the car got tested in real KL traffic jam routes it shows its real FC. Vios only gets 11km/l. That sucks big time despite the hoohaa telling it’s fuel saver car.

• farghmee on Jan 24, 2014 at 9:38 am

ok my fren, my bad.
            i apologize.

• farghmee on Jan 24, 2014 at 9:44 am

wait..

http://paultan.org/2014/01/20/nap-2014-full-text/

page 8, pt. 21 xde ckp pn dia nk guna cara mana?

kindly please give a link that support NAP2014 FC follow NEDC.

• walaweh on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:49 am

read with open mind la kawan. peda not ask for diff tax structures between national or non national cars,instead they support on gov intention to reduce tax. they just ask for diff incentives such as rnd grants,depend on how much or values of rnd activities done by the manufacturers.

instead of giving the same amount of incentives as perodua n proton,its unfair coz level of rnd activities also at diff level. for prtn,they will use it to cover a portion of rnd cost,which will reduce the cost of the car,n will finally will translate to the final price.
    while perodua will enjoying it,n maybe the incentive will be their profit coz minimum cost of nearly unexisted rnd cost,but if u look at current perodua price,they r charging at premium price. so,double profit. at the same time,not comforming to international homogolation standard, they also manage to fork out some profit from that also due to cheaper cost making the car interm of bill of materials.

international safety standard homogolation,not just the numbers of airbags counted,its beyond it. its the basic foundation of safety development of the car start from the chasis developnment until bumpers crashworthiness design n materials. while prtn cars currently conforming with the standards,perodua n some other manufacturers just enjoying extra profit while producing it with lower bill of material.

if the other manufacturers enjoying that,they dont reduce the car prices,but enjoying the fat margin. like what been said earlier in paultan,even docket price of mazda being reduce,meaning that less tax they need to pay compare previously,but we still dont enjoying lower price due to that.

same as vios for example,even tax structures has been changed from 2005 n 2009,i still see toyota charge them at the same price,eventhough the tax is comparatively being reduce to large margin,from nearly 200% to 85% for it.

now u know why the reduce here n there,but charging at premium price with fat profit margin,coz people will cntinue blaming prtn on the price of vios,while offering the minimum safety aspect which translate the lower cost of production per car,n people still think the badge will save them.

i agree on reducing car tax n prices,but not no tax for cars,but we malaysian get a non subsidised petrol.
    this will give a chain reaction to all prices of goods n services cuz of the domino effect,n its irreversable.

while enjoying the tax free car, we have to pay more,not just fuel,but others. remember,majority of car buyers r loan-based car buyers. so,the cost of cars is in a fraction amount. not the whole some. instead paying rm500 permonth,maybe u just pay rm300 for the same car due to price reduction. so,ur fuel bill before 300 permonth,now 400 permonth. wah,save money 100.
    but u forgot bout maintaining a car isnt just about pouring the fuel,n due to the effect of fuel price increase,the cost of maintenance the car also increase. not all that,ur life aint just about cars,food n etc cost also increase.
    so,instead of saving 200permonth due to cheaper car,ur cost of living increase ten folds. the worst is, previously, u just want to buy saga se for 50k. due to reduce tax, saga se is 35k. u think generally,u save money coz now saga se is cheaper. nope,instead u opt to buy vios j at 50k. in the end,the cost back to square one, n still u have to pay for non subsidised fuel. i dunno why many here think life is simple as that. willing to have low car price n trade it off with unsubsidised fuel.

so,better no tax for car,at the same time enjoying the same subsidised fuel. than we can enjoying our life better.

i dunno while i spend my time explaining this to those who always has short term plan of life.

• GrenPa on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:33 am

I think if RM50k Vios/City/Almera, can last me 10 years.

Saga FLX? with quite some minor problem + I only trust campro engine for 5 years.

Vios/city/almera also more fuel saving then Saga FLX. Having lower maintance cost, or same maitanance cost for the 1st 3 years.

overall ownership cost for each car Saga FLX is very high when u compared to Vios/city/almera @ RM50k.

this is why people rather buy vios/city/almera rather then Preve. Preve – not reliable and not durable with that Campro Engine.

• farghmee on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:23 am

show me realistic ownership expenditure comparison for specified models pls.

• Preve vs Almera.

obvious Almera is having low ownership cost.

low FC, and low maitanance cost.
          it’s less then RM200 for normal service. But proton need RM200 to service PRoton Preve.

and Almera engine is more long lasting with less problem too.

proven -> almera = low ownership cost compared to Preve.

peace of mind.

• joker on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Preve vs almera?
            Almera is a joke compared to preve. Almera’s puny 1.5l engine, no auto headlamp, wiper, ugly dasboard, no traction control, only 2 airbags.

Please compare it to saga lor

• farghmee on Jan 24, 2014 at 9:37 am

ownership expenditure.

not 1-shot statement.

• If Proton really want people to badge them as safety concern manufacturer. Come out a solid statement and challenge Volvo! Don’t just talk you care on safety by just comply to NCAP. All cars now a day must be comply and get high safety rating in order to survive.
      Please Proton, not you care. Just you have no choice but follow!

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:19 am

Walaweh PEDA better tell Proton to stop rebadge Accordana if they think Perodua rebadge not worth given R&D grants to get national car status.

Stevie Wonder also can see just how hypocrite PEDA really is lah.

• Josh Ling on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:05 am

Perodua is as qualified as a national car company as Proton. period. and i don’t think by saying Perodua only do rebadging is doing Perodua any justice also. At the very least, they know how to produce cars of much higher quality than Proton, and actually gain technology transfer from Japan and implement it here. What has Proton learnt or gained from all those days of working together with Mitsubishi? Even up to today, there are still faults and mistakes in assembly in some areas, and when every time there’s a new car coming out, Proton people will be so full of proud claiming this and that, and when the car started to sell well, they will begin to show you some attitude like why you want to test drive so many cars and not buying them (i was testing the car to write my test drive review on a local newspaper, mind you), don’t even have time to bother about what you need bla bla bla. and keep saying their cars are the best in terms of this and that. come on, how can a car manufacturer who claims to be so proud of their products, can even mess up a simple thing like a boot gate handle ah?? ya, believe or not, i spotted a boot gate handle assembly problem (not assembled at the intended spot) on a brand new, yet to be sold Proton Suprima S when it was just launched at where I live. and now they try to bash Perodua for having the same advantages as them? this is a coward move for me lah. man up, get your quality improved and come up with even better car even without all the “protections” and “incentives” that you think you deserve and let every Malaysian believe wholeheartedly you are really serious about making good cars for every Malaysian to drive, and win over them with your own effort!

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:21 am

True! Perodua and Proton just as qualified as national car.

One rebadge Daihatsu, the other one rebadge Accordana.

Only PEDA pretend not to see it both sides lah….

• walaweh on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:23 am

read with open mind la kawan. peda not ask for diff tax structures between national or non national cars,instead they support on gov intention to reduce tax. they just ask for diff incentives such as rnd grants,depend on how much or values of rnd activities done by the manufacturers.

instead of giving the same amount of incentives as perodua n proton,its unfair coz level of rnd activities also at diff level. for prtn,they will use it to cover a portion of rnd cost,which will reduce the cost of the car,n will finally will translate to the final price.
    while perodua will enjoying it,n maybe the incentive will be their profit coz minimum cost of nearly unexisted rnd cost,but if u look at current perodua price,they r charging at premium price. so,double profit. at the same time,not comforming to international homogolation standard, they also manage to fork out some profit from that also due to cheaper cost making the car interm of bill of materials.

international safety standard homogolation,not just the numbers of airbags counted,its beyond it. its the basic foundation of safety development of the car start from the chasis developnment until bumpers crashworthiness design n materials. while prtn cars currently conforming with the standards,perodua n some other manufacturers just enjoying extra profit while producing it with lower bill of material.

if the other manufacturers enjoying that,they dont reduce the car prices,but enjoying the fat margin. like what been said earlier in paultan,even docket price of mazda being reduce,meaning that less tax they need to pay compare previously,but we still dont enjoying lower price due to that.

same as vios for example,even tax structures has been changed from 2005 n 2009,i still see toyota charge them at the same price,eventhough the tax is comparatively being reduce to large margin,from nearly 200% to 85% for it.

now u know why the reduce here n there,but charging at premium price with fat profit margin,coz people will cntinue blaming prtn on the price of vios,while offering the minimum safety aspect which translate the lower cost of production per car,n people still think the badge will save them.

i agree on reducing car tax n prices,but not no tax for cars,but we malaysian get a non subsidised petrol.
    this will give a chain reaction to all prices of goods n services cuz of the domino effect,n its irreversable.

while enjoying the tax free car, we have to pay more,not just fuel,but others. remember,majority of car buyers r loan-based car buyers. so,the cost of cars is in a fraction amount. not the whole some. instead paying rm500 permonth,maybe u just pay rm300 for the same car due to price reduction. so,ur fuel bill before 300 permonth,now 400 permonth. wah,save money 100.
    but u forgot bout maintaining a car isnt just about pouring the fuel,n due to the effect of fuel price increase,the cost of maintenance the car also increase. not all that,ur life aint just about cars,food n etc cost also increase.
    so,instead of saving 200permonth due to cheaper car,ur cost of living increase ten folds. the worst is, previously, u just want to buy saga se for 50k. due to reduce tax, saga se is 35k. u think generally,u save money coz now saga se is cheaper. nope,instead u opt to buy vios j at 50k. in the end,the cost back to square one, n still u have to pay for non subsidised fuel. i dunno why many here think life is simple as that. willing to have low car price n trade it off with unsubsidised fuel.

so,better no tax for car,at the same time enjoying the same subsidised fuel. than we can enjoying our life better.

i dunno while i spend my time explaining this to those who always has short term plan of life.

• farizY on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:34 am

“We cannot compare Malaysia to Thailand and Indonesia, because our population is only one-third, if not less than Thailand as well as Indonesia’s car buying population. If we want our national car to succeed, the government must provide a more prominent policy.”

Which is why we do not need a so called national car in the first place.

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:16 am

That’s why Thailand, Indonesia do not need national car. They know it is simply costly, stupid and futile to begins with.

• Read somewhere that the economists had advise Mahathir not to proceed because of this. Really wonder what is going on in his head.

• Proton, hire non-malaysian CEO first, then we talk. Dont’t cry like a baby.

• skyjuice on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:04 am

why do you need government to drive you? you are paid for your job, just think with your head. what is really wrong with this guy, resign if cant lead, cant innovate. let the others do.

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:13 am

Perodua rebadge = PEDA marah

Proton Accordana = PEDA ermmm tak marah pun

• Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:32 am

OK let us complaint about PEDA.

How about PEDA improves it car service quality and stop telling Proton buyers “biasalah kualiti Proton” whenever they cannot solve quality issues.

• LOL all of you here discuss like you guys know everything.

Well the main problems is our Gov. because they impose an excise duty to Proton and Perodua as well!

Why would gov do that if they want rakyat to support Proton?

Stop blaming Proton. Blame the correct org!

• What blame the correct org? Proton, BN, Kronies are all the same group related lah. Lol

• so you are that guy that I’m talking about.

That Knows everything. :p

• jay8393 on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:03 am

Don’t be a cry-baby, PEDA. If you don’t want the government to recognize a “rebadging company” to be a “national company”, stop rebadging cars as well.

• Proton even with SV models still losing market share compared with Perodua

It proves that rakyat never trust Proton no more

Better buy Perodua jimat minyak, servis murah, kurang rosak tak macam Proton

• breeze on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:33 pm

The solution is sell Potong to Honda, everybody still get the jobs. Win win solution. Or Potong can produce 5 star wheelchair to their future potential buyer, may be as a gift. Buy one free one.

• walaweh on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:44 pm

mr green pa
    i think u dont understand what im writing about. i disagree on opinion that its ok if we get tax free cars n trade off with unsubsidised fuel. i said better if we get tax free cars n with subsidised fuel.

im not comparing maintenance cost of flx with vios. im saying about the impact of tax free cars with unsubsidised fuel with our living cost(not car maintenance cost),just include flx n vios into equation as example.

haishhh,eventhough being a jap car fan,dont be to emotional when one used vios n flx as example. its not necessarily comparing both cars.

n those who said international homogolation of standard is the same across the whole world,means cars sold in malaysia the same as rest of the world,then u r wrong. previously many cars in malaysia n in asean dont comply with unece standard on frontal n side impact crash worthiness of the car,even equip with dual airbags. its more than meets the eyes.

just download on unece r94 n r95,do ur own reading. its related to internal impact design,crash worthiness n materials in term of thickness,sizes n types. u cant see that unless u dismantle the outer shell/skin.

openup myvi n see for ur self the diff of front n side impact beam design,compare to passo/sirion europe version design,then u will know how easy being cheated by the outer look of the car.

• Public Choice on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:47 pm

The fallacy with that argument is that it begs the real question. Why should there be laws that in effect prevent you and me from buying in the cheapest market?

When anyone complains about unfair competition, consumers beware. That is really a cry for special privilege, always at the expense of the consumer. What we needed in this country is free competition. As consumers buying in an international market, the more unfair the competition the better. That means lower prices and better quality for us. If foreign governments want to use their taxpayers’ money to sell people in the United States goods below cost, why should we complain? Their own taxpayers will complain soon enough, and it will not last for very long.

History provides lots of evidence on what happens when government-protected industries compete with industries who have to operate in an open and free market. It’s almost always the government-protected industries that come out second best. – Milton Friedman

• Public Choice on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:18 pm

They, in effect, is deciding what they think is good for us. They are taking away our freedom to choose.

Consumers don’t have to be hemmed in by rules and regulations. They’re protected by the market itself. They want the best possible products at the lowest price. And the self-interest of the producer leaves him to provide those products in order to keep customers satisfied. After all, if they bring goods of low quality here you’re not going to keep coming back to buy. If they bring goods that don’t serve your needs you’re not going to buy them. And therefore they search out all over the world the products that might meet your needs and might appeal to you. And they stand in back of them because if they don’t they’re going to go out of business.

You see the difference between the market and the political action, the governmental agency. Here nobody forces you, you’re free, you do what you want to. There’s no policemen to take money out of your pocket or to make sure that you do what you’re told to. Over a quarter of a century ago I bought, second-hand, a desk calculator for which I paid $300. One of these little calculators today, which I can buy for $10 or so, will do everything that did and more besides. What produced this tremendous improvement in technology? It was self-interest or, if your prefer, greed. The greed of producers who wanted it to produce something that they can make a dollar on. The greed of consumers who wanted to buy things as cheaply as they could. Did government play a role in this? Very little. Only by keeping the road clear for human greed and self-interest to promote the welfare of the consumer.

When governments do intervene in business, innovation is stifled. – Milton Friedman

• naasuarez on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:00 pm

if you want proton to produce cheaper and quality car please change the Government

• Jebonr on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:12 pm

2 thumbs up for You PEDA. This is one good statement for the government to consider. The question is, will they (government) even read this?

• to all my friends, fellow malaysian and those drive in malaysia,

no point argue here.
    you have to admit that driving in a proton is such humiliating.
    pity for those still driving proton with 9years of loan.
    you are spending you precious 1/8 of your life in this brand that doesnt deserve.
    congrate to those that drive a nonproton, you are so so proud of yourself, even you are in j spec vios.
    you can drive your car proud, coz you are capable to make your choice; even the circumstances is not favourable for choice, considering the car price and the salary as current economy really bad.

for those succumb to proton, please dont give up;have your dream, release yourself from this curse, the curse has be here for 30 years and more.
    strive hard to break this curse; get away from proton.you will finally own something that you deserve,please let it be not proton.

i have a dream, wish all of us who drive get free from proton curse.
    then we are then a truly a developed nation.

• Well said! I was nearly touched! Yet, shouldn’t these words be said 20 years ago? When you are saying these words at the competitive years of 21s century, you can forget about it. Nobody will want to foot your bill!

• COMEDY on Jan 24, 2014 at 5:43 pm

I find it really funny reading most comments left by readers at this blog. While this blog is undoubtedly a prominent automotive blog but its readers seemed very ignorant, naive and is probably the same people with different names attacking PROTON. I thought the readership would be more intelligent and educated.

If you read PEDA’s statement and its messages, PEDA is not even asking for protection but a direction from the Government on how PROTON should be? Should PROTON follow PERODUA business model of rebadging? or continue to build its own cars?

Naturally, PEDA being dealers association is also suffering from thin margin and less competitive cars (selling new PROTON cars without any track record and esp once, with quality problem). Everytime PROTON build its own car (worst if the quality deteriorate) pricing and margin became an issue because PROTON have to invest & spend in BIG HUGE R&D and build up cost!! ..probably telling PROTON to stop producing its own car but rebadge VW or other car model to compete similar to Perodua business model (if the government allows).

There are just too many players sharing a small shrinking cake in Malaysia. If PROTON need to continue to produce its own cars, PROTON will never be competitive without volume sale.

Yes, next question is why dont PROTON export to get better volume!! Well the fact is… every other country imposed a very strict requirement for PROTON to enter but every other foreign car maker can enter Malaysia and compete then share this shrinking market share WITHOUT much restriction (they are even given waiver & exemption by Ministry of Transport & JPJ).

It is also worth noting, that foreign cars that entered Malaysia had already attained a good return of investment (ROI) for their cars prior to enter Malaysia. So the R&D cost to amortised is almost non existence. With the waiver & Exemption given in term of safety requirement, the cost to produce these foreign cars is even cheaper.

PROTON, have to incur more cost to export to comply to the restrictions and have to amortised the expensive R&D cost in every car.

But for PERODUA who is only rebadging without any R&D cost, they are also given incentives and govt grant being called a national car.

PEDA is also probably telling the government to revoke all waiver given to foreign car maker and to revoke any incentives for perodua having only does rebadging or allow Proton to also rebadge and receive the same incentives. Remember, every time PROTON launched a rebadged, they are always being boo’ed at. YB Bung Mokhtar even condemn in Parliament. Inspira and Accordana as a rebadge are just less than 10% of Proton total production versus Perodua 100% rebadge. Good for Perodua to get govt incentives and grant the same way PROTON gets?

That is my understanding from the statement made by PEDA. Is there any intellect around that can further elaborate?

Last but not least, I give Armin and PEDA a two thumbs up. Keep being vocal. The industry needs it.