Next Toyota Camry to get a “more emotional design”

Toyota_Camry_XV50_ 002

The current Toyota Camry isn’t exactly the best looking car in its class, not least next to its newer, fresher rivals. But that’s always the issue when you’re targeting mass-market success: something’s go to give somewhere and for Toyota, excitement is always the first to go.

That’s about to change by the time the next-generation Camry comes around, however. Kevin Hunter, head of Toyota’s US design studio recently told Bloomberg that the next model will have a “more emotional, more impactful design.” Now that is something to look forward to.

“Camry’s taken some hits on styling, but it’s still selling well. But we need to create better design for Camry in the future,” admitted Hunter. Toyota USA’s head of sales, Kazuo Ohara added, “I would not go so far as saying we could be adventurous, but at least more aggressive.” Of the current model, he accepted that “we were probably a little bit too conservative.”

Other than styling, the emphasis on the next car is to improve the interior packaging and materials. Recent Camry models have followed strict five-year life cycles, so expect the next-generation version to make its international debut in two year’s time, before arriving here some time in 2017.

Read our full review of the current model here: Toyota Camry 2.5V Test Drive Report.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Chris on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:56 am

“more emotional, more impactful design.”?

Plot twist:
    Bored is an emotion. (source: wikipedia)
    Negative impact is possible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 12
    • BMW Fanboi on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:15 am

Double Plot Twist :
      Chris is a Kimchi salesman

Inb4 triple plot twist : BMW Fanboi is a Toyota salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • Chris on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Lol. Sadly I’m just an average cubicle dweller.

I like all exciting cars that brightens up my day before and after I go to work. My ex-boss had a Camry, it’s neither exciting nor luxury, not exactly plush either. It’s just plain and big.

I like real kimchis, the food type, not the cars.

• Pendek on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Nothing is wrong with that. Ministers in Holland ride bicycles to work.

• Chris on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:42 pm

My current boss ride superbike. Should learn from boss maybe :)

• Not Your Uncle on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:20 am

Uncle car will always be uncle car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
      • Ibrahim on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:38 am

Also for young man that look like uncle i.e big tummy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • People/Uncle buys a Toyota because it’s reliable not because of it’s design. It’s a well known fact. Those who want/chooses to be different goes for like Honda/Mazda. After all, no one design can satisfy everyone. It’s interesting to see what Toyota does with its design language. PS: Screw you people who talk about the drive. If you truly want a drivers car you’ll buy a sports car. Not a freaking Mazda 6/Accord and certainly no Camry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
      • bigman on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:19 pm

i wonder the new design of camry will same concept as new vios n altis or not? i hope not…because i think new vios n altis’s design are just same…lol

• camry more emotional & impactful? my backside lah. boredom is in your dna already. toyota only cares about how to be more efficient in production (which they tremendously are). that’s why they are the top in making profits among car manufacturers. making the design more emotional and impactful is difficult to measure by the toyota jap engineers, so they are not going to do it.

at the end of the day, my backside is still more emotional and impactful than the super boring toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
      • Sissy on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:25 pm

I think nobody want your backside. So, don’t repeat it.

• sissy is a pussy on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:23 pm

hey sissy, take care of your own pussy. don’t comment on people’s backside.

• leong on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:59 am

Looks like the current camry will have a very short life….n to those looking at brand new camry. .. Better keep your money in your pocket for the new one. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Yeah design it to make me orgasm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:07 am

A bit? More like very.

Still think the best Camry to date was the XV40. It genuinely looked rather nice, and when you compared it to the Accord and Mazda 6 at that time, the Camry looked like it was worth the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Yukes! on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:08 am

Get this hideous beast off the page!

• kadajawi on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:32 am

Who said the current Camry isn’t emotional? It does wake emotions. Just not positive ones…

• benzs on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:26 am

Toyota camry popular with conservative design. Those new gen on the road feels like cheap sake. Should design more aggresive like latest vios n altis as camry sibling are better looks no matter how many years driven.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • the vios and altis much better looking? which rabbit hole do you sleep in? are you in bed with alice?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Emotional Design + Camry = Emo Uncle..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • neutral on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:32 am

the best look of non-european D-segment car is still K5, this camry is lame and boring and moving backward

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • frenzyaustin on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:52 pm

I think it’s Mazda 6, K5 is European design. Mazda 6 is Asian design.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:34 am

Boring, Uncle, Old Tech whatever negative critics by small boy troll here.
    Camry outsell Sonata/K5 every where around the world..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Current Design has an emotive appeal what..!!!
    Everytime i look at its i said “Yuck!!!!!!”
    even more when other models were introduced ie 508, 6, Accord….

• Hahahah … “we were probably a little bit too conservative.” from Toyota Head of Sales himself….

No wonder UMW giving discount left right centre and No wonder the RV for this camry is that bad.

• Somehow for msia, it doesn’t matter really. I heard people told me this camry sooo sui la, must buy. haha. Yup, its doesn’t matter how it looks, how dated the engine or how lame the interior, how skeleton the features, Toyota “lovers” will blindly buy it.

• I'm 22 BUT I LIKE THE CAMRY LOL on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Actually the more i look at the Camry, the more i am ‘open’ to it. Honestly, camry is still arguably the most comfortable car in its segment.

I’m 22 years old but i kinda like the camry..

Boleh lah.

But the price and the safety TAK BOLEH lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • victortan on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:14 pm

We’ll see about that soon.
    Wonder why they emphasize on Camry only? Not all range?

• ladylike on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Like lady very emotional creatures…

• I find lately with the new Corolla and Vios and foreign market Toyotas espacially JDM;the new Mark X and (inappropriately name)Sai, Toyota has manage to capure the impactful design and certainly agressive(more so than the predescessor)design part. This can be seen clearly with its Lexus line up. As far as Toyota is heading, they just have to capture the ’emotionally’ part, something the Koreans with their German designeres are doing ave after wave.

Currently, bar the gorgeous 2000GT of th 60s, I can’t find a single toyota that are actually good lookin, be it beautiful and flowing like the italians nor Handsome and steadfast of the Germans. Toyota have always pesonally, never been good looking nor ugly, and therefore evoke the as much eotion as a Vanilla or white Rice. Where they appeal is for the fact there is no better A to B appliance out in the marke. Jack of all trades, master of none.

So I have quite some doubts on weather they can pull this off, and unless they hire soem Europeans…the beauty part remains cloudy.

PS: Wonder how those uncles will react to a agressive Toyota….but given they took the overly agressive monstrosity that is the veilfire probably means well.

• Garfield on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Asa a stop-gap measure, in my honest opinion they could graft the Toyota Camry SE US model face before the next facelift or new model. Or else just stop buying please, so this model will be killed faster!!!!!

• KitKat on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:39 pm

I already love the current generation Toyota Camry design.

More emotional? I do welcome it and trade in mine.

• Chow 1 on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:52 pm

The current Camry exterior design is a total disaster. Even the old version looks better. Pity the current owners.

• Fahmi on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Toyotas are not beautiful, nor ugly.. Toyotas are super-reliable appliances for moving from point A to point B with little emotional value.. If you want exhilirating looks and drive, look elsewhere, except for Toyota 86…

On the other hand, one thing that surprises me, why “Sam Loo” drives a manual 328i? I thought he drives a Camry or a Hilux… (If you know what I mean, hehehe)

• Now u guys are realizing how shitty Toyota has become. I have been stating this fact ever since the Dugong era… The models they come up with is looking like shit over the years. And yes, i agree with Chow1. I’d rather buy the previous model Camry.

• Shitty on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Shitty toyota + blood sucking umw with increased price and reduced safety spec = a marriage made in heaven.. .. For disaster

• Rubbish design all the time

• Denaihati on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:31 pm

no attraction exterior and interior, it may due to the old designer with no fresh idea, Not sure toyota camry target buyer but it is rare saw camry drive and own by young guy(20~30yrs old).

• BroBill on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Hey, I’m a big tummy uncle, but sorry, I will never buy Camry… I don’t want to look 20 years older….

• Jaybond on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:39 pm

More aggresive or more impactful design doesn’t mean that the design is getting better. It’s how the body lines are drawn and combine together and with a bit of soul, that’s going to make the car design well received.

• fatchicken on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:49 pm

can they make the camry drives like a lexus but using less expensive material?

• Fuel Cell Phone on Jan 22, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Imho, the next camry exterior design would not far off from current family face found in new vios and altis.

• Sam LoL on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Kevin Hunter, head of Toyota’s US design studio recently told Bloomberg that the next model will have a “more emotional, more impactful design.” Now that is something to look forward to.

“Camry’s taken some hits on styling, but it’s still selling well. But we need to create better design for Camry in the future,” admitted Hunter. Toyota USA’s head of sales, Kazuo Ohara added, “I would not go so far as saying we could be adventurous, but at least more aggressive.” Of the current model, he accepted that “we were probably a little bit too conservative.”
    ——————————————–
    See.. Even Toyota management also saying that Camry is boring.. Only Sam Loo talking about RV..

• Zapruder on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Emotional design? No need la.. The current one already makes me emotional with their fuct up specs and ridiculous price UMW slapped on it..

• downsys on Jan 22, 2014 at 2:34 pm

This design is already emotional what. It makes me want to cry every time I see it.

• D.I.Y on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Meaning Toyota silently agree that this gen Camry is failure piece?

• That’s the result of the first to launch the model. Models after Camry have much better design.

• Archangel on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Toyota should take into consideration on the design look before launch. Now it’s already launched so there is no turning back. Hopefully the design of the new Camry is more appealing than the current one.

• Design has not always been Toyota’s strong hand but yea, they’re trying to improve lately (though some did end up being flops) with the Corolla, Auris and Avalon. They are of course not really all that great and still, something is missing from their styling, it’s either too radical (oh Lord please save our ASEAN models)or too conservative. Perhaps Toyota might wanna consider getting a German designer from another company… Hmm…