Mazda SkyActiv cars pre-qualified as EEV – reports

Mazda-SkyActiv 001

Research reports by AMMB and Maybank have revealed that Mazda cars have been pre-qualified for EEV duty exemptions under the new 2014 National Automotive Policy (NAP). The EEV duty exemptions are for its SkyActiv-powered models.

Current SkyActiv models sold by Mazda in Malaysia include the Mazda CX-5 SUV, the Mazda 6 D-segment sedan as well as the Mazda Biante MPV. This line-up will soon be joined by the Mazda 3, which was previewed at a roadshow in 1 Utama in November 2013.

Of the above, only the Mazda CX-5 is currently locally assembled in Malaysia, and there are plans to CKD the Mazda 6 soon. Sales agents on oto.my are already modifying their Mazda 6 listing sales pitches to state that they’re selling some of the final batches of CBU units now.

The EEV incentive program announced in the NAP 2014 earlier this week offers ‘customised incentives‘ to carmakers who are interested to participate in the program. These customised incentives include a mix of lower taxes, grants, and other incentives.

mazda3-sedan-australia

The reports say that Berjaya Auto is currently enjoying the mid-to-lowest level of EEV incentives and there are a lot of room for these incentives to be enhanced. BAuto is said to be applying for a second round of EEV incentives now, and are also working to increase localisation to qualify for higher excise duty rebates via the IAF (Industrial Adjustment Fund) system.

We also learned that the CBU Mazda 6 had a docket price reduction sometime last year, which improved margins. That’s the thing about Malaysia, although the government claims not to have any control over the price of cars, indirectly it is able to influence the price of cars by dictating ‘docket prices’, which is what price customs values the car you are bringing in and applying the appropriate excise duty onto it, instead of following the value stated on the invoice.

Another interesting fact revealed by the research reports is that there are plans to introduce the 1.5 litre SkyActiv variant of the Mazda 3 to compete in the high end B-segment price range, which will also be locally assembled together with the 2.0 litre model by mid 2014.

Read our review of the new Mazda 3 here: New Mazda 3 test drive report.

Sources – AMMB, AMMB, RHB, Maybank

Learn more: ,

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wkaka on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:40 pm

Just one question, with the EEV incentives, how much will the price be reduced? Will they pass the savings down to the consumer or just pocket the extra profit?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 1
    • glaze on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:57 pm

pass some and pocket some la, business ma…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
    • hantu on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:04 am

The only way to know the above answers will be when all the consumers delay or hold back the order for the next 5 months.

Then only can we see the true colours.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
      • Yeah! on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:23 am

Have to wait for the CKD versions to see. But hard to say which is the CKD incentives and which is the EEV incentives as the CKD prices will be reduced anyway. Doubt they will be transparent and itemise the incentives. :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Chris on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:38 am

I guess “Customized incentives” pretty much means it’s impossible for us consumers to actually count the price any more.

No more black and white. It will be like bargaining at the wet market without a fixed price tag?

• calcutta on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:12 am

whichever it is,malaysian car industry surely going through bumpy road and it will be impossible to know when the dust is coming down

my decision will be holding off any car buying urge for now,keep driving the same old car until everything stable down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • _xXx_ on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:24 am

gula2 sikit kasi adalaa….

• Archangel on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:04 am

Hope there is a price reduction for Mazda car under the EEV incentives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Mamat on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:24 am

Plan to get new mazda 6 2.5 soul red cbu unit….but out of stock, hope can get that colour ckd…already bought car plate no….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • was informed the outlet in taman tun dr ismail has mazda 6 2.5 red cbu. Try call them.

• Mamat on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:12 pm

That car is not sedan..grand touring…already go there…

• mamat on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:10 pm

final bought mazda 6…. silver colour 2.5… never regret buying CBU unit

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:47 am

This is honestly a good car for the price but of course if u want a bit more status then get Mercedes. But if u want to show ur stupidity then u must buy new BMW from BMW Malaysia. Its a no brainer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 53
    • Just respect other people taste shall we? not all people have same definition of status like you do.
      Glam and status is pretty much trick used in cigarette ads in those days. Unless you talk about safety features or other measurable parameters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:13 pm

No offense bro. I love Mazda lately. Their cars look gorgeous. BMW Malaysia is treating their customers like a fool thats why I am trying to warn people to boycott BMW Malaysia. Im talking based on recent experience. If dont believe please go buy a new BMW then tell me

• Besi Buruk on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:32 pm

You’re just one of the unsatisfied customer but that doesn’t mean that you can call the rest stupid. Respectlah!

• disgruntledBNWowner on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Just ONE?? Are u kidding bro? Have u bought new bmw to comment. Many owners around the world are smashing and burning their F series car including M5 recently.. Please check hw many people quickly disposing their new bmw in the span of 1 year… Too many bro

• Hey bro, what’s the issue with BMWs in malaysia? Just wondering cause iam thinking of getting one in the near future depending how work turns out.

• Besi Buruk on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Stupid people semua ada money. Clever people like you always trying to earn more money.

• heybadigol on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:16 am

Seriously, Skyactiv can be considered EEV?? In the recent Driven comparo, yes the Mazda6 was most efficient, but only getting 13.1 km/l which was only slightly better than the Accord 2.4 with 12.2km/l (which doesnt really have any special fuel efficiency tricks, except for the econ mode). You’d expect an EEV to have way better FC than a non EEV car.

With that in mind, can BMW’s Efficient Dynamics be considered as EEV too??? :) Then we can see some reduced prices in German premium cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
    • Mystery fuel thief on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:22 am

Ageed that the 13.1km/l doesn’t sound like much dies it? I read a separate report where a journalist experimented driving the Mazda6 with I-Eloop switched on and then switched off. What he found was that with I-Eloop switched off actually saved more fuel. He reasoned that the generator that charged the battery during driving caused the hike in fuel consumption. Ironic considering the purpose of I-Eloop was to charge the battery allowing electronics to rely less on energy from the engine and hence lower fuel consumption.

So maybe during the recent Driving comparison the guys had I-eloop switched on? It will be an interesting experiment for you guys to report on in the future eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • Nonsense on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:16 am

That is just stupid. The generator is basically just your alternator. There’s no special generator. The alternator runs only on coasting and other situations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Moores on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:03 pm

You sure you know what you are talking about? I m currently driving a Mazda 6. Firstly you can’t turn on or off the i-eloop. Secondly, i-eloop only came into action when you decelerate and therefore it doesn’t affect the engine at all. So you are saying now that Mazda purposely put in something in order to increase fuel consumption???

• Mystery fuel thief on Jan 24, 2014 at 8:01 am

Moores, no I guess I don’t know what I’m talking about. I’m just going according to a journalist report. Maybe ask him. Can’t switch I-Eloop off? Awesome. That’s good to know.

• Yeah! on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:20 am

Well, just the numbers may not be so much but on a long run like 5 years (which is about usual lifecycle for a car ownership) it will add up. Maybe the accord can also be considered EEV. lol.

Yeah, lets hope that the german cars qualify and have some price reductions for the CKD ones.

• Pontiac on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:48 am

Jangan jeles bang. The 2.0 can achieved 18- 20km/L. Stakat accord gune engine lama ada hati nak dapat eev. Bmw memang dapat eev incentive bang. Dari mana ko nih? Da lama x duduk malaysia??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • Agree with Pontiac.
        BMW already on their way to get the EEV status. just dig a bit deeper you will find.

• Chris on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:51 am

This seems to be the ugly side of reality vs on-paper situation.

Just grabbed from Mazda Malaysia’s website:
      Mazda6 2.0: 1393kg (C Segment?!) – 5.7L/100km
      Mazda6 2.5: 1444kg (D Segment?) – 6.4L/100km

Those are tested in JC8 cycle. I don’t know the difference between it and the ECE standard, but they need 6.5/7L/100km to pass respectively.

• squall_shinoda on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:21 am

The problem here is that no uniform standard taken to measure the fuel consumption. MITI and DOE should implement a uniform standard to define the fuel consumption for every vehicle, under city, highway and combined driving cycles. Test those vehicles during the full-blast of the air-cond.

• Something wrong with the EEV regulations from the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Hybrid on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:38 am

If Skyactiv considered as EEV then what about hybrid then? If Prius can achieve 3.8L/100KM what category would it be in?

• C segment based on kerb weight..6.5L/100km is limit..the lower the better..to achieve this status C segment based on kerb weight must be 6.5L/100km and lower..

• TroublingTrend on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:41 am

This is a troubling trend. I’m not sure why going CKD is a good thing.

For around RM1xxxx savings, you either get less options or shoddy build quality.

Look at the CX-5. Look at how the A pillar mated with the chassis at the front. Compare the CKD to the CBU. I would rather pay that little bit extra to get a higher quality CBU. But with Malaysian consumer clamouring for cheaper price, there’s no such CBU option available. Which is ashamed for people like me who had preferred a choice.

And because Malaysia consumerism is really timid at best (either that or we just did not realised that we had a lesser vehicle compared to the CBU), there’s no pressure to get the the manufacturer to improve on quality.

I want choice darnit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
  • Heskey on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:45 am

Janji ditepati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • Yeah! on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:12 am

Yea!! Hopefully the incentives can be passed to the consumer without much loss in quality and accessories. One up for Mazda’s SkyActiv energy efficient initiatives!

• i’m just a layman..so how much will the new price will be?

• Low Budget on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:43 pm

It depends on ‘customized incentive’, this means for the Big Taikoh of Berjaya to negotiate with the Gomen about the taxes and the final price the cunsument will pay.

Nothing is straight forward in this country, everything is negotiable, no need to follow ‘standard’

• tishaban on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:42 am

Some cars go up in price, others go down in price. Strange economics of the Malaysian auto industry.

I wouldn’t mind if Mazda pricing went down though, I’d prefer to support a company that at least provides a decent level of safety features compared to the rest (UMW, Tan Chong, Honda Malaysia).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • wah ..like that all diesel beemer will qualifief as eev, can easily beat these petrol m6/accord fc….320d/520d can easily do 20km/l….

• car2siast on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:47 am

It is a well deserved classification. Once Mazda get the tax exemption, the Biante should be selling cheaper dan Serena S-Hybrid.

Serena S-Hybrid is not a hybrid at all.

• squall_shinoda on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:17 am

That’s true… Serena S-Hybrid cannot even be considered as a hybrid at all but rather a conventional petrol MPV with idling stop feature, that’s all.

• Denaihati on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:50 am

hope many more manufacturer qualified for EEV, because of the good incentive, but still unknown how much % reduction.

• skyjuice on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:59 am

Paultan, you should run a campaign to force the car maker/dealer to show the actual price of the car, before tax, after tax for the consumers to make the decision on buying the product. Consumer power is one of the key to bring down the car price, boycott those who profit more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • When is euro 4 or 5 diesel coming?? If it ever comes the eev will be a joke due to the fact the new diesel power trains are so darn economical.

• yup agreed, a polo/golf bluemotion diesels, Kia Rio diesels…etc..etc.. can easily do more than 30km/l…guess once we have euro4, diesels will gain a lot of customers …aka India/europe..even SG have seen the raise of diesel since the road tax are based on CO2 emission

• Ash Crimson on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:00 am

My father is planning to get a Mazda6 2.5. Any 6 owners here that can provide feedback in terms of FC, maintenance and is there any particular problems?

• *CANCELS CAMRY< ORDER MAZDA 6 ^ on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:04 am

Thats it…. MAZDA BETTER pass the savings down to consumer.

If thats so, im sooo canceling my camry order and heading straight to a zoom zoom dealer for a mazda 6.

Pleaseeee pass it down to us mofos.

• if really want save on fuel, drive prius..u cakap nak save fuel tapi mau pakai kereta, wont make u rich la saving fuel money esp if the difference is 2-3 km extra. Yes if got extra money can buy something else , but if plan to buy car worth more than 100k n talk bout saving fuel…i found it very amusing, funny. Guna kereta mesti guna minyak punya. I think ppl shud plan their journey rather than thinking too much about fuel used. Use ur car wisely, plan ur journey, tekan minyak bawak laju sure fuel cepat habis regardless kereta apa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Lambat-dah! on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:07 am

Sorry, Prius price increase as its imported. Hence will be probably back to its original 160K price. With the additional 30K in price means that you save fuel but pay higher prices…. lol

• squall_shinoda on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:15 am

Well said bro… there are so many fellas out there talking cock about fuel economy, yada, yada, yada… but at the same time they drive in their cars alone and never carpool, floor down the throttle pedal most of the time, letting the cars idling for way too long, etc. How should they deserve to talk about fuel economy if their driving behaviour itself is not economic at all…? Even the most fuel economic cars may be unable to save much if they are at the hands of those who only talk cock about fuel consumption but never really walk the talk.

• farizY on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Now now, you are just making assumptions. I don’t see anything wrong with somebody buying a rather expensive car talking about fuel economy. Correct me if I’m wrong,but supercar companies are also looking at making their cars green to a certain extend. No need to be such a dick about it.

• Lambat-dah! on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Well, at this point in time, its pointless to talk about supercars and fuel economy. When they floor the car the FC still will go down. Besides, supercar owners rarely talk about FC. Reason exotic car manufacturers are building hybrids is because they are trying to fit into the social norm. Wait till the environment norm is a hot topic then you will see that the batteries used in hybrids are really bad for the environment and then, they will jump to other fuel alternatives.

• Because of P1 and P2, price will still be high..fuuuuu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • longjaafar on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:06 am

..the article says that last year Bermaz obtained some kind of perk, and it “improved margins’. Whose margin? Surely not the buyers.
    So, in other words, all these incentives might be translated into more profits for the auto companies, and we all continue getting screwed…
    Now don’t tell me the govt does not now about this racket…

• To qualify as EEV, it should be based on tailpipe emission and fuel consumption. But first the authority need to set a minimum standard first i.e. tailpipe emission < xx and fuel consumption < yy. So, whoever produce vehicles within this standard will qualify as EEV. Not just based on what type of technology used.. Then, only fair to automakers and users.. :-)

• What kind incentive?how many percentage?

• ah chai on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:37 pm

For a start, I would stick to my current 3 years old Polo 1.2. I’ll not change car until the promise of 30% reduction in car price is materialized.
    My wife will be holding on to her 7 years old Cevaluation till the similar date.
    My two sisters will do the same.
    Out family has seven drivers seven cars, we will start
    Silent protest by not buying new cars until janji turun
    harga kereta ditepati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Abdullah on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:56 pm

‘customized incentive’ means more avenue for corruption.
    Whoever pay more gets more ‘customized incentive’.

• anuaro on Jun 26, 2014 at 3:37 pm

fyi…battery for mazda 6 (skyactive model) price is more expensive ..the price RM 1350 just for durability for one to two years….so you can save fuel cost but at the same time payback for expensive battery price…