SPYSHOTS: Volkswagen Jetta CKD fully uncovered

2014-vw-jetta-ckd-0008

Just confirmed by DRB-Hicom last week, the Volkswagen Jetta CKD has been spotted at JPJ Putrajaya by regular contributor Anol Alias. Unlike the last round of spyshots, the locally-assembled C-segment sedan is seen here completely uncovered, giving us a full view of both its exterior and interior.

First up, it looks identical to the fully-imported model from the outside. The 16-inch ‘Navarra’ wheels are the same as before, as are the badging and all-round light clusters. So no, the upcoming CKD model will not get Xenon headlamps and the accompanying LED daytime running lights that is available elsewhere.

Peeking through the windows reveals a new head unit. In place of the old model’s RCD 310 multimedia system is the newer RCD 320 unit – the same ones found in the CKD Polo Sedan and Hatchback models. Another change is the Golf Mk7-sourced three-knob aircon controls, which replace the older two-knob version used in the initial run of CBU units.

Also worth mentioning is the Hicom Automotive sticker on the windscreen, which confirms this car’s CKD origins. The cat is out of the bag, then. You’ll soon be able to buy this Volkswagen Jetta CKD in Malaysia. How soon and for how much? Your guess is as good as ours.

Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (CBU)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• amirad on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Mazda 3 skyactiv, new altis and ckd jetta. Let the battle begins.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
    • Obama on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:27 pm

I predict the price will be $135,999. But, any problem with the TSI engine so far?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Sodo Mee on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:37 pm

TSI engine is voted World’s best engine for 7 years in a row. It is the most reliable engine in the world and it is manufactured by Volkswagen, unlike the DSG by Borg Warner, who also manufactures for other companies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 16
        • Arexero on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:56 pm

New knowledge today. Before this i thought that DSG was a gearbox, tq for enlighten me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
        • Haha so the TSI coupled with the DSG??? failure lor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • tidak_tenang on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:02 pm

DSG which stands for Direct Shift Gearbox, is VW’s take on dual clutch transmission. TSI on the other hand, which stands for Turbo Stratified Injection is VW’s force inducted series of engines. Which is either turbocharged or twincharged. So a DSG is not an engine, its a gearbox. Reliability wise, DSG gearboxes specially the lower grade DQ200 models are infamous for mechatronic failures. There was a reported case in Australia which resulted in the death of the driver. There is still an ongoing investigation. DSGs are notoriously unreliable in tropical climates like Malaysia. Check out VW Malaysia’s FB page, and you will know why.

• My guess is RM138,888.00…

• Why so high? Put it at RM118,888. otherwise VW will make your dream come true. If it is really that price, it’s sayonara to T and H.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • 118k? in your dreams. go eat kangkung.
            138k is very likely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • You can put the price 118k with the terms use dual airbag and without esp and tc.

• frenzyaustin on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Probably a Mazda 3, Altis is ugly and Jetta is boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • Spongewai on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:07 pm

CKD or CBU you all guys up to you to buy…

for me is ok as long as I can drive more than 10 years without damage or anything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • BMW Fanboi on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:57 pm

D-D-D-D-DSG breakdown……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
      • how’s the squeaky 5 series transmission going? “characteristic of the car” is it?

lulz

• looks like all the specs retained including the 1.4tsi and dsg. next is the price. i’ll predict RM140k.

• E-Honda on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Nope, looks like a Saga to me!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 40
    • E-Saga on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:30 pm

You must be blind. The Honda City looks more like Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 15
    • sipaigong on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Hahahaha !!!! Honda will soon be a Proton !!!

• RedKnight AHA on Feb 06, 2014 at 3:33 pm

BUy THe PerdanaAccord…got to Brother, rebadge it with Honda Logo…walaaa…Hybrid haha

• bisakeris (Member) on Apr 27, 2014 at 9:25 am

hahaha vw polo sedan ~ proton saga!

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:25 pm

nice…but BMW still the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
  • Ash Crimson on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Has the problem regarding DSG7 been rectified?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Jim Raynor on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:26 pm

yes.. DSG7 problematic for production between june 2010 – june 2011.. and already fix by VW malaysia for free. the problem due to mechatronic part.it happen all around the world. if u go to honda,toyota,mazda.. salesman will say.. VW problem with gearbox.. better dont buy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Ash Crimson on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:33 am

I see. Thanks for the information. So is it safe to assume that every DSG7-equipped VW doesn’t have the same problem now?

• Ash Crimson on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:04 am

Dude go home, you’re drunk. He’s not me and probably you are blind or illiterate, I don’t type shortforms. Oh and my grammar is better than his. Go home.

• philip loh is a disgrace to his race. he needs to be executed in no time.

• Ash Crimson on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:51 pm

I suggest we kill it with fire before it breeds!

• PHILIP LOH on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:00 pm

@farq

You want to buy back my rubbish VW, be my guest.

AND DON’T MAIN RACE CARD HERE UNLESS YOU ARE FROM PERKOSA.

Are u a rubbish VW owner, or just a kiddy keyboard warrior or an unscrupulous VW salesman without compassion and conscience?

What have u done lately? Save Malaysians from buying a financial disastrous rubbish VW TSI & DSG?

How do you sleep at night after cheating people in the daytime? Celaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:29 pm

This car is for people who enjoy the car to be kwai tai at the road side because of DSG failure . Buy Sushi from my boos Sam if you want to avoid this problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 57
  • Desmond Ang on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Hi, i am not a VW owner, but i took time off to investigate this issue. Actually in Malaysia, several cars did go back to the workshop to have their DSG software updated. However,as of yet, there are no instances of any VW car breaking down due to DSG. I not only checked with VW and their dealers but relevant car service companies. Actually I was told to do this as i work for an insurance company that wanted to investigate the truth behind this matter. So here’s my story about the DSG saga, from an Insurance company perspective and no bias.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 15
    • Dan low on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:46 pm

I beg to differ sir. My 2012 toureg suffered from dsg issue, spent 7 months at the workshop to fix it, but to no avail. They sent VW technicians from Germany here to fix and they couldn’t find the issue. Only two month ago did I manage to fix it. So don’t try to cover up the dsg issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 69
      • Low Dan on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:47 pm

What a load of crap. Touareg uses Aisin 8-speed torque converter automatic, not DSG.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 4
        • SoLowDown on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:53 pm

You are right Low Dan. Obviously the so called Dan Low is lying about his DSG problems. Another fake VW owner discovered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
        • Ash Crimson on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:54 pm

I concur. Some people love spouting lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
        • Really on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Aisin? Isn’t that manufactured by Toyota?

• Aisin Seiki Co. is 30% owned by the Toyota Group of companies.

• vw owner on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:54 pm

this is bluff, toureg using normal torque converter auto ler….not DSG…hahahaha, this is crap/lie!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • nak tipu tak pandai! on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:05 am

haha..got caught red-handed lying through his teeth..next time if you want to spread falsehood, do your homework first..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Ash Crimson on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:06 am

Once again dude, go home, you are drunk. We were talking about Touareg, not Golf. Go home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • why is philip loh not executed yet?

• PHILIP LOH on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:15 pm

@farq
          @Ash Crimson

Are u a rubbish VW owner, or just a kiddy keyboard warrior or an unscrupulous VW salesman without compassion and conscience?

What have u done lately? Save Malaysians from buying a financial disastrous rubbish VW TSI & DSG?

How do you sleep at night after cheating people in the daytime? Celaka

You want bad news and recalls on Touaregs, go find it yourself since you are so free as a VW salesman as Malaysians are no longer clamouring to buy VW with rubbish DSG & TSI.

@farq what an asshole you are. Someone should feed you to the dogs alive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • Ash Crimson on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Dude go home. You’re drunk.

• i concur. this guy has issues, probably forgotten his meds, or happy hospital escapee.

• I own a vw car. As fas as i know the problematic gearbox is the dry clutch 7speed gearbox in all the TSI models. The mechatronics is the usual culprit and it is an integral (robotic)part that makes up the dsg gearbox. They usually changed the mechatronics and the clutchpack combo if the gearbox fails. So technically speaking, vw dsg gearboxes do fail frequently!! I had mine changed once, including THE ENGINE!! Please dont talk nonsense. You r not from vw co are you? Sounds to me you are one of them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
    • PHILIP LOH on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:50 am

http://www.autoblog.com/2013/12/12/wards-automotive-ten-best-engines-2014/

Did you know that Audi and Volkswagen engines fail more then any motor in the UK and they are very unreliable ,when this panel vote on these so called best engines do they do any research on them . I think it’s all show and no go, so to all of us car lovers and shoppers out there do you own research and I stopped listening to these so called (Auto Experts) long time ago.

I’ll take a timing belt over Audi’s bass ackwards designs. They mount their several timing chains and the myriad of plastic chain guides at the rear of the engine, at the firewall. If the chains stretch or the tensioners/guides need to be replaced, step 1 of the repair process is basically “Remove Engine”. Next step is probably “Replace Engine” because the valves have already smacked the pistons

• PHILIP LOH on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:13 am

@Desmind Ang, right,

U say only several VW cars did go back, abs that only have the DSG software updated?

U talk to VW & dealers & workshops and you are an insurance agent?

1. Who is the insurer for VW in the “2+3” lying warranty?
      2. How many VW were recalled in 2013, first time software, secon time mechantronics, third time change to mineral oil?

WTF, don’t b a penipu, HOW DO YOU SLEEP AT NIGHT, CELAKA!

Volkswagen recalls 2.6 million vehicles on engine

FRANKFURT (Bloomberg) — Volkswagen Group is recalling at least 1.68 million vehicles worldwide, including its biggest such move in China, to fix electronic and drive-system flaws.

About 800,000 Tiguan compact SUVs worldwide may have lighting defects and 239,000 Amarok pickups could experience fuel leaks, the manufacturer said today in two statements.

Another 640,309 cars must be fixed in China, according to a government regulator, as part of a global move to change the type of oil used in seven-speed dual-clutch gearboxes to prevent electric malfunctions.

VW, Europe’s biggest carmaker, recalled 384,181 vehicles in China in March after state television featured complaints about vibrations, loss of power and sudden acceleration in Golfs and other cars. That repair program, and dual-clutch gearbox flaws, prompted a public apology by Jochem Heizmann, chief of the carmaker’s Chinese business, at the Shanghai auto show in April.

China, the world’s largest auto market, is critical to VW’s strategy to become the world’s largest automaker by 2018.

The gearbox-lubricant fault particularly affects vehicles driving in hot and humid weather in urban areas with a lot of stop-and-go traffic, Volkswagen said today. The problem can be fixed by using mineral oil in place of synthetic oil, it said.

BERLIN (Reuters) – Volkswagen (VOWG_p.DE) is beset with a large global vehicle recall as Europe’s biggest carmaker steps up efforts to surpass Toyota (7203.T) and General Motors (GM.N) in the quest for the top sales spot.

Wolfsburg, Germany-based VW is recalling almost 1.7 million cars, sport-utility vehicles and pick-up trucks worldwide, about half of which are in China, the carmaker’s biggest market.

The recall comes a day after China’s quality watchdog announced that 207,778 Tiguan compact SUVs, one of VW’s three best-selling models globally this year, will be pulled off the world’s biggest car market.

China’s quality watchdog said the recalls will include VW’s imported cars, such as Scirocco, Golf Variant, Golf Cabriolet and the Beetle, as well as those made at its two Chinese joint ventures with FAW (000800.SZ) and SAIC Motor Corp (600104.SS).

FAW will recall the Bora, Golf, Sagitar and Magotan and Shanghai Volkswagen will recall the Touran, Lavida, Superb, Octavia, Passat and Polo.

• philip loh, why talk so much here? do u own a vw or not? if u do, go sell ur car lah and buy a toyota. if u don’t own vw, pls save ur saliva and talk to ur wife at home.
        all talk no action what for?

• PHILIP LOH on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:56 pm

@farq

How do you people sleep at night? Celaka

• WhyBMW on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:36 pm

This guy was just like telling the story he read online and pretended he got one. Until now, he haven’t gives his contact and price he would like to sell his “junk” yet. We all would be happy if his “worthless” VW is free :-)

• he is just copying and pasting his comments everywhere. seems like a scam to me. he claimed to be a hero trying to convince and educate everyone on how crappy VW is, but the way he’s doing that makes him look like a loser.

• Hellhole on Jan 25, 2014 at 1:49 am

He is probably an accord or accordana salesman in disguise

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:34 pm

sorry for my previous remark against BMW , in fact BMW is one of the best car in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • gameboy on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:47 pm

BMW gearbox also brake down la….. only only DSG.

• GrenPa on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:03 am

BMW?
      out of Top 10 reliability..

BMW = rich man toy.
      I duno how u judge good car with low reliability.

just like a toy, problematic.
      but, if u rich, maybe u can afford for repair and still got another car for back up use.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:38 pm

please please buy Toyota from me , please …my sales is really bad ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • CKDCKD on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:39 pm

I strongly sense that could be 1.6 MPI????

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Desmond , are u sure u are from insurance , pls prove it …I tot u r a vw salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
    • SamLooTiuNaMa on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Sam, it is you who is a Toyota salesman, tow truck driver, lain shark, DVD seller and pork seller all in one. So you should reveal your true identity!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Fake Fella

• Is this 100% CKD or on SKD?

• Jaybond on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Apa la takde LED lights..patut letak la, baru la nampak premium sket..harga dh la antara termahal dalam C Segment..

• hello~ can anyone tell me tat the problem arouse by DSG still exist or nt?

• jettaowner2012 on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:20 pm

I just prove my cbu jetta can sprint 0-100 kmh in 8.34 secs …and top speed 227 kmh …excellent performances and consumption from a 1.4 engine…luv..luv..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Jim Raynor on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:29 pm

plz comment on your DSG7.. we love to hear that

• beh song on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:53 am

bought an ah pek car still so proud..

• poor ignorant beh song on Jan 24, 2014 at 10:05 pm

don’t simply comment people’s car if u can’ t afford to own one..it’s ..their money…and their needs..what car do you own..?.or if you want better looking.car .then buy ‘toys…’useless brain..

• races on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:53 pm

what a Bad car!!! This is FWD!

I prefer RWD = Powerful and can drift!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Paucharsiew on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:58 pm

all this DSG nonsense….just drive a manual

• sudonano on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Looks like the Jetta makes it through the CKD machine in tact.

Can see the DSG logo on top of the gear knob is there, engine has got to be a TSi. Seat airbag is there, as noted by the tag, so that’s check. Now the price.

maybe 130000-135888? The CBU is about 150k now.

The Passat CBU was 185888, CKD was 171k. So about 8% off. At that discount, then the Jetta would be expected to be 138k?

• iqbal87 on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Perhaps rcd320 is not an upgrade as it doesn’t support visual integration of the parking sensor. But luckily front parking sensor is not being omitted..

• VW fan on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Mr. Tan.. i hope you did the closed comparison between CKD and CBU unit. since THE GOV cant be trust anymore ( so many case, lower the price and lower the spec) so then i put my trust in u.. was it this CKD worth than CBU.

• zulhimi on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Sorry sir, is the any chance that the VW Jetta Hybrid will be manufactured in Malaysia as a CKD? I m looking for a good hybrid at an affordable price for my family. Does the Pekan plant have the capacity to manufacture it?

• ianfang on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:17 pm

IMO the best vehicle in C-segment class,maybe just me?
    Well,let me explain, yes,the interior is a little boring to look at after a certain time,the look is average only,but I’m still a young adult,and I love to have some POWER & HANDLING. Very good power delivery and steering feedback is great,very minimal body roll.
    But of course,all this comes with a cost. With great power, comes great responsibilities,and I’m referring to some maintenance.
    Come on man, you’re driving a normal family sedan vehicle, why slam down on the accelerator pedal everytime you drive?? Be gentle a little, and treat the DSG-transmission like a normal production vehicle. Once in a while, take your car to race a little, play with the DSG using the paddle shifters and smoke some T&H.
    I’m pretty sure DSG transmission will last long with some advice and some maintenance. I had my Jetta back in 2012,and so far,no problem with my DSG and TSI engine,just a little juddering, couldn’t be bother about it. Still, I never had any breakdown,or need any tow truck, plus, I never seen any VW breakdown before on highway/city road.

• beh song on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:16 pm

boring expensive car …some more 1.4 only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • VWvroom on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Exterior defined a boring, flat design & DSG issue existed. Interior defined, a more than fine to be expressed. However Conclusively said, it’s a quality car and 1.4TSi enough throw altis, civic, even 2.0 camry five tenth sec behind for 100km/h. 5years warranty enough to cover the DSG issue and I am impressed n driven these car which quality is after BMW n Merz. The price is reasonable would give it a go n bye2 T & H..SuprimaS no way in the list.

• Sam Loo on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:00 pm

If its a sushi, it will have great RV
    As long as its not a kimchi, it will have some RV
    If its a KIA, consider the total loss option

• Archangel on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:14 am

Price and specs wise, will definitely sell well.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:34 am

Gosh.. My eyes hurting. Should have left this car covered up. Btw notice some fakes trying to clean BMW malaysia’s name. Please dont buy BMW malaysia. Their after sales service is worst than BeEnd. Make our kangkung man looks good. Before buying they promise u the world. When go back for multiple repairs u will go back with more problems and peoblem 1 will not be resolved until u die. Their best mechanics cant even repair a bicycle. Trust me

• paying 130-140K for an obsolete model is something only Malaysians can do.

120K for base 130K for full spec should be the pricing range.

• CBU 152k (w/out Insurance)
    -CKD Saving 15k
    -Year end sale 12k.
    Net 125k, Bagus ka???

• Wincent Chong on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:40 am

I had a Jetta 2012. Until today there has not been a major issue except the sensor (reverse). I have 3 friends who owned Golf 1.4 TSI also do not have engine/gearbox problem. However I did hear from friend who said his friend’s Golf had engine problem. whether it is true or not is up to you. Friendly speaking, if you compare a Civic/Altis/Mazda 3 with a Jetta, Jetta provide better driving pleasure, road handling performance and stability, low fuel consumption yet powerful that you can’t feel in the Japanese cars. Of course if you are just a normal driver who prefer long reliability and do not appreciate driving pleasure then Japanese car is a better choice for you. My wife used to drive a Toyota Harrier 3.0, and now she loves and enjoys driving Jetta. Japanese and European car are of 2 different world.

• skyjuice on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:09 am

sat in jetta, and the seat is really hard, like sitting on the wood, and that’s for >100K car. Look at the lamp at the back, i guess it’s halogen lamp, but cleverly designed to look good but cheap.

• Gracke on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:49 am

Malaysia never has cheap price car even in CKD, just reduce RM8k to RM10k from the price now. That’s it :-(

• Wilson on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:45 pm

VW 1.4 Engine DSG Have problem…. dont buy!!!

• sutheshkumar on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:48 pm

So looks like you get some, you lose some. Spot that there is missing paddle shifters on the steering wheel.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Sorry for my previous remark . In fact u won’t feel regret for buying BMW .

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Sorry for my previous remark . In fact u won’t feel regret for buying BMW .