VW Polo Hatchback CKD appears on oto.my – RM86k

Volkswagen_Polo_Hatchback_CKD_02

Slated to be launched very soon, the Volkswagen Polo Hatchback CKD has appeared on our sister classifieds site, oto.my. We’ve all seen this car before of course, as it was given a public preview at KLIMS13 last December. No official word yet on the price, but the ad by Wearnes VW Sg Besi lists the car at RM85,888 – the same as the locally-assembled Polo Sedan.

If it proves accurate, that will be a steep reduction from the CBU model’s RM114,888 pricetag (post the range-wide price revision last year). It’s not as simple as that however, as this CKD model trades in the 105 PS/175 Nm 1.2 litre turbocharged TSI engine and seven-speed dual-clutch DSG transmission for a simpler 105 PS/153 Nm 1.6 litre MPI motor and six-speed automatic gearbox combo.

As with most things, you gain some, you lose some. Zero to 100 km/h and top speed figures drop from 9.7 seconds and 190 km/h to 11.1 seconds and 184 km/h respectively. Fuel consumption suffers too, rising from 5.3 litres per 100 km to 6.3 l/100 km. The ups and downs continue inside. Upgraded RCD 320 radio and Climatronic automatic single-zone aircon are added in, but out go the 1.2 TSI’s combined curtain and side airbags (leaving just dual front airbags) and electronic stability control (ESP).

Nevertheless, the thought of a “premium” Volkswagen Polo Hatchback for less than RM90k will undoubtedly be relished by many. More details when the car is officially launched soon.

Volkswagen Polo Hatchback at KLIMS13

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Murahnya..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
    • Julius on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Beli je lah. Dah murah bayar cash ye.

• comrade on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:19 am

now many more can buy a polo!…

• As usual Malaysia are famous for auto industry to trash their outdated technology, so do UMW and now VW…

• SatriaFanboy on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:54 pm

If the car equipped with the TSi engine and DSG gearbox. then you complain the gearbox sucks, avoid VW. If VW give a more reliable gearbox you said it’s outdated. please choose which you want. Don’t complain outdated la. gearbox cepat kong la. it’s getting abit stale

• i second to that.
            Many readers bash for no basis.
            When it was RM 114k, they say overpriced la for this little baby, TSI+ DSG problematic la, jerking la …

Now VW come out a new variant with a very affordable price. Which is very ideal for those who wants a VW but do not wish to overspent on cars. Plus it is now using a simpler and much reliable engine and gearbox. Still alot basher come and give nonsense comment, which apparently 99% of them are not/cant afford even the ckd model…

• rifle on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:29 pm

very large price difference from the CBU model indeed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • kekeke on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:38 pm

diff engine..deswai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • No TSI, no DSG, no curtain airbag, no ESP, no 17″ Rim, no 0-100 under 10 second..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
      • frenzyaustin on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Now Vios has better value than Polo already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 40
      • Chris on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Najib: VW Polo, price reduction 25%. Janji dicapati. Praise me!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
        • Hiroshi on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:19 am

empty all safety feature & tech , to lower the price not wise, safety is compulsory nowday if u wish drive at malaysia rally and aggressive road

• Jayden Koo on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:31 pm

There the Polo (candy or car) saga starts…

• PHILIP LOH on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:32 am

@TSI

Y do u need those junk faulty items – TSI + DSG in this CKD polo?

This is a “much better” quality car, reliable and manageable. If anyone who wants to buy a problem free non-lemon non -defective VW this is the car to buy or the sedan version.

Good riddance DSG & TSI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • fatchicken on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:35 am

WELL SAID !!!
          No TSI – Less components to break down easily.

no DSG – No expensive dsg replacement to worry about..

no curtain airbag – small car like this curtain also useless if the compact is great enough to trigger the ‘curtain bag’..

no ESP – Electronic Sound Processor? for what..?

no 17″ Rim – Heavy rim bad for FC

no 0-100 under 10 second – so what sub 10s? Preve can smoke it easily anyway.

Thumbs me UP now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 19
          • Sissy on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:35 pm

I hope what you said is the the truth.Any one else can support this comment.

• nobody but you on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:21 pm

aha…..I 2nd your comment. Very jam in KL or else where…..do you need TSI? This aspirated GB and engine can smoke lots of car and FC is damn good too.

• Passbyer on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Bro, is ESC(Electronic Stability Control), not “ESP – Electronic Sound Processor”

• afiqms on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:25 pm

“no ESP – Electronic Sound Processor? for what..?”

I’m not sure if you are just kidding or plain dumb. ESP is Electronic Stability Program which is in my opinion, very important.

• dino years on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Hi VW Vios. Looks like VW has to learn about safety like Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
  • azhar on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:32 pm

sama spec as sedan and same price too?..should be cheaper laaa coz its smaller

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Compare to 208 which is better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • kekeke on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:38 pm

if you’re talking about looks, I’ll go for the 208.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • If the ckd polo didnt drop the curtain and side airbags, it will be in my choice list but 6 airbags should be the minimum spec.

So, pug 208, kia rio will be better choice.

• comrade on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:17 am

208 is better but they should give 6 speed gear box… other accessories 208 is way better than polo..

• seancorr on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:38 am

208 looks way better on the inside and out and has more goodies in it too.

Also the face lift Polo will be launched later this year so effectively you will be buying an outdated Polo from the get go!

• kangkong on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:37 pm

more options for under 90k price range…kena puji kerajaan ke??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Tok Berlagak on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Welcome CKD made in Malaysia

Jazz CBU RM100k – 25% -> RM75k.
    VW Polo CBU RM115k – 25% -> RM86k.
    6.3L/100km.
    Kerb Weight is 1020kg,
    for EEV, this category should achive 6L/100km.
    Now, this car fail to get EEV tax reduction.

On the other side, VW did not cut price of 25% exactly.
    This RM86k Polo is a trimmed down version using cheaper old technology engine and gearbox.
    Slower engine, lower output too. & Less Airbag from 4 to 2.

Mitsu CKD RM140k – 18% -> RM115k.
    Maybe Mitsu has less Local content, cannot get higher tax reduction. But the spec is same, good job.

Overall:
    VW Polo
    + Price Drop
    – Less airbags, no more curtain airbags.
    – use slower and less power engine.
    – use older gearbox.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
    • You Mitsubishi lancer?

• like ur sarcasm…
      25% reduce, janji dicapati, tapi safety and performance kena strip down..

maybe the kangkung turun harga bcos its a small kangkung.. lolzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • armandd on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Why don’t you blame VW Malaysia instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • bcos of all this hefty tax imposed, manufacturers are resorted to trim down specs to make them affordable..

• glaze on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:25 am

at the end of the day, you will only see a chart like this:

VW Polo – 115k
      VW Polo – 86k
      Price reduction = 25%

Jandi dicapati! Nobody is going to mention TSI, DSG, Airbags or ESP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • sktan on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:49 pm

86k i expect to drive a new pick up truck.

rather than compact mini car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • that’s why i bought a new dmax for work+family although the ckd polo sedan is really tempting – NO DSG, got rear-seat air-con vent (this is like E-Class already)…

• Henry on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:56 pm

You want low price? We give you old tech. This is the trade-off. Luckily, at this price level there are still many choices.

• i dont see i am driving 86k compact car ,
    ever facing issue of carrying stock cannot fit in car?

u just buy a brand , nothing else

plus the maintenance charges are hidden , only selling price are exposed

• Julius on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Many are driving Merc A250 compact car. With the same price you can buy a big lorry to carry your stock. OK ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Even when it was over RM110k for such a small car, many people bought it. I bet people will still buy this small hatch despite the price.. because of the “Entry level German car” impression.

• autoexpert on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Yeah… Those are the stupid people with skewed mindset of understanding what it means – Value for money! Moreover, they are also ignorant of world history WW2- the mankind most despicable, Hitler who started this German VW brand & genocide killing including the WW! Go figure!

• yamseng on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:01 pm

i rather buy a saga flx 1.3 manual

or worst a flx se 1.6 cvt saga

with boot and bigger size , with leather seats.

i feel it is less than half the price (1.3 manual saga)

or almost half price (saga flx se 1.6)

is more worth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 29
    • Pendek on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Kereta nasional bagus kan.

• glaze on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:28 am

This is why Proton is still in the market now, thanks to you that feel proton is more worth. Else you might be driving the Vios or City with the Saga price.

• mmaker on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:54 am

The 1st batch saga blm was good. The flx is terrible, lots of part problem. Even my officemate got system failure on her new flx and got back the car after nearly 4 weeks. So far i dun see any issue on sv but i will take notice about it day by day

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Are you still dreaming? With the clash btw Production and Sales Dept. More than 50% of 1st Batch Proton of any model have a problem (at least 1 minor).

Sales dept wants to bodek Boss while Production struggling to fit-in most of unfit 1st batch parts while the QC have to close BOTH eyes… and whalla…. it’s launching time…..

There you got it. (Now i’m chasing them to repair/replace another warranty item..uhuh..)

• supra 1.5 on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:04 pm

atleast no problematic dsg gearbox..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • this car is already available in showroom, saw it in Seremban

• Now vw is like iphone…owning one wat ever spec make u look classy….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
    • autoexpert on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:40 pm

I say it clearly states STUPIDITY, IPhone… My ass! Don’t you dare link Steve Jobs to this German kapchai!

• TSI Is better

Whatever is 1.6 and No DSG is dead on this Polo

Batter Buy Peugeot 208

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
    • TSI is what define VW…. tak ada signature dish skrg..

• Former Peugeot Owner on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:43 pm

The problem with Peugeot cars are its Malaysian franchise holder. People stopped buying Peugeot cars because they are fed up with Naza’s empty promises and poor maintenance as well as rising cost of spares.

Not to mention you need to wait for spares to arrive from France, because they do not stock enough spares. Also, because the cars are generally unreliable at best, you will need to go to the service centre quite often. This is when all your problems start.

• Golf TSI & 5008 owner on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:20 pm

I do agree about the Peugeot Malaysia, but i think the same thing can be said about VW Malaysia as well.

• GolfGTI on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:10 pm

I owned both VW and Peugeot, I would say Peugeot after sales service is miles better than VW even it’s bad!

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:42 am

U think VW after sales service is bad ah. Wait till u buy a new BMW in Malaysia. Ur nose, eyes and ears will bleed non stop because their sales people and mechanics are sooooo stupid. Probably lack of nutrition from eating kangkung everyday coz no salary from their dying sales

• Julius on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Because of your comments everywhere, my wife force me to buy Mercedes instead of BMW. And BMW saleman repeatedly invite me for tea demonstration of their products. A lot of offer some more.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Hi Julius, u must be a lucky man to have a wife so wise. I am also happy to save even 1 person from severe headache by buying a new BMW. Please dont take my words for it, google or yahoo it up. Many F series BMW owners are smashing or burning their cars around the world due to frustration. In Malaysia many may have commited suicide or admitted to Tanjung rambutan hospital as cannot understand the excuses given by BMW Malaysia when their cars got so many problems that is impossible to be fixed. Many SA from BMW Malaysia also resign as customers shouting everyday. Btw congrats again Julius for having a great supportive and wise wife.

• motorhead on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:20 am

What I said before not fiction after all.. Welcome to financial trap folks.. Im enjoying my money now..Haha.. Some ppl bash me because Im driving a myvi.

• chan80 on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:19 pm

wtf?CKD car supposed to be cheaper but same spec as CBU..now they trimmed down all the good spec.the gov should reduce import and excise taxes in order for car price to drop.now,cheaper because not good spec

• kulaibidu on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:24 pm

better buy used cbu polo.same price but with tsi

• WVFan on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Good price reduction! The best and promised by the government. For the next cheaper version, we will omit power windows as well, then power steering, omit radio, just MP3 player will do. You can even trade normal cushion fillings for sabut kelapa.

• ESP/VSC/ESC/VSA on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:34 pm

no VSC/ESP/ESC/VSA lah zzz rather wait for the new Honda City zzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Jaybond on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:38 pm

RM86k is still too high for a compact car .RM 70K++ is much more attractive bargain..

• I’ve seen the actual unit. Differences are as follows:

Side indicator LED repeaters in the side mirrors removed
    Lamps for both sun visors removed
    Interior roof grab handle for driver removed
    Remaining 3 roof grab handles are not damped
    Glovebox lid is not damped
    Centre armrest and rear cup holder removed(car is now as per 1st batch specs)
    Door trim fabrics replaced with hard plastic
    Power window buttons now operate with a plasticky feel
    Adjustable boot floor removed
    Aeroblade wipers replaced with normal wipers
    Rear interior roof lamps removed
    Different front interior roof lamps used (not as classy as CBU specs)
    Rear seat belt buckles are no longer fixed rigidly. They now flop around like those in a Japanese car

Welding in the spare wheel well is typical Malaysian standard. I compared the welding between the CKD Polo hatch, CBU Polo Sedan and CBU Polo hatch and the differences are like night and day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • BLUR SOTONG on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Yes . The workmanship of Ckd really sucks big time !! Even for BMW models . Especially the 1 series . The wheel arch conceal is bad the welding is even worst . COME on Sime Darby Ma. Please do a good job . Don’t tarnished the food name of a premium contiTental

• DonkeyKong on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Welding is not a part of CKD. If welding sucked, that means the original car also sucked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • AssemblyWorker on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:56 pm

Who says welding is not part of CKD? Have you worked in a car assembly before? It is part of assembly, CKD or CBU.

• mmaker on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:03 am

Thats why some people called this car VW Pekan not VW Polo. If CKD VW Polo is should gives almost same specs as CBU

• gameboy on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:40 pm

TSi & DSG sux la. old gearbox and engine better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Paucharsiew on Jan 22, 2014 at 6:56 pm

6 speed gearbox but on paper it looks worse than a 4 speeder

• Aliib on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Just buy 1 series/a-class/v40 lah

• spongewai on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:07 pm

dun screw off the 1.2 TSI spec for hatchback

• CKD means lower specs.

• When the engine and gearbox change to lower grade, I don’t see this as CKD… It’s more towards downgrading the car to be sold cheaper..

• mamamia on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:05 pm

buy it to show off its VW logo,

buy it to burn a hole in pocket ,

it has nothing ,

the speed 0-100 and top is like nothing ,

even a proton saga or myvi 1.3 can do this .

it cant carry huge things ….

what la , car so small size with 1.6 also so jialat , what the point la ,

rm86k what the point la for this car , if i buy for my son also , buy a vios can get amoi ,

this can do what ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • samhailatloo on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Can burn hole in pocket as you said

• motorhead on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Motorhead like your thinking.. Same channel.. But motorhead enjoy reading all the owners suffering.. So I would like to recommend to all buylah VW.. Go ahead but.. I support 105% in the name of motoring.. You can set appointment 1-2 month ahead before service your cars.. I enjoy to see you all wait… Btw.. I went dy to Glenmarie service centre.. biggest in Malaysia.. You may enjoy the scenery.. A scenery you won’t even see at Perodua service centre near by.. Hehe…

• DonkeyKong on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:27 pm

If not suitable for you, then don’t buy it. There will be people out there who can burn money for fun, and they won’t mind buying it despite its poor value for the sake of its logo. After all, that’s the similar crowd that Toyota’s been selling to.

• motorhead on Jan 22, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Agree with u.. Many people ve lot’s of money & time to burn.. There’s a market.. A few people ve lot’s of patient too.. Que & make appointment month ahead before service the car.. Me? I like to service my car anytime & anywhere.. Im a busy man.. Need to handle a few amoi.. Hahaha..

• Ibrahim on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Your son must be too ugly that he needs a car to get amoi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • sipaigong on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Ask Gov’t to Cut Import Duty and then baru you can compare Myvi/Saga against VW Polo.

• as it the logo at the rear is not big enough.. need to spell out VOLKSWAGEN..

• RoKie on Jan 22, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Just plain bollocks, in terms of safety features.

• Whatever..time for replacement of my kancil and wira with this sexy red vw thong.

• I don’t see a point of buying a volkswagen if the TSi Turbocharged Engine and the DSG gearbox is removed. It seems this polo is no different than the kosong spec Vios except that it has ESC.

• I don’t see a point of buying a volkswagen if the TSi Turbocharged Engineis removed. It seems this polo is no different than the kosong spec Vios.

• get suprima s super. same price but better spec n build.

• Personally think that it’s better to opt for the CKD Jazz which only goes for 74k, despite having a new gen coming up. Here’s how the two fair out.

Jazz over Polo:
    Cheaper, ESP, more space, better fuel economy, great handling, more service centres around Malaysia.

Polo over Jazz:
    The VW badge (don’t get me wrong, this is and will be its strongest selling point), better interior refinement…. And no more I guess?

Anyway, there are things like the 208 or even larger stuff like the Vios that we love to hate at that price range, though they’re not exactly from the same segment. So, good luck VW!

• tiadaid on Jan 22, 2014 at 10:55 pm

VW use 6-speed slush box bising old tech. VW use DSG bising not reliable. Apa lagi korang mau?

PS: They raised the price to 88,888 – so ong one!

• leong on Jan 22, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Go and test drives. Apparently the normal vw minus the tsi n dsg are not that refined as some Japanese as per my own experience test driving. “Premium” ckd polo…I really beg to differ badge wise or car wise.

• glaze on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:32 am

at this price and spec, the polo hatch or sedan still drives better than some legendary 4 speeder with 10 year old engine

• Steve Jobs on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:26 am

which means….Preve is also better than than some “legendary” 4 speeder with 10 year old engine

• autoexpert on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Another driving idiot on the road! A kapchai will always be a kapchai, even if it is a stupid VW! (There are still people who did not get this)

• Archangel on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:10 am

The price is some sort a good deal especially with VW emblem on the car. Hehe.

• autoexpert on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:17 pm

I support all VW fans! Stick the VW logo on your car if you don’t have one to make you sleep better at night. Go for it, suckers…

• Vincz on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:39 am

They cut the price by a lot and cut the specs even more.

Taking away DSG is ok, they are problematic in Malaysia, but TSI engine.. this represents the VW group man.

• mosama21812 on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:40 am

Now crystal clear what Be End promise before pru13 to reduce car price. It is good but the damn bad thing is the spec reduce too. What for?. Like petrol. Before pru they said the price not going to increase. Sound good but the damn bad thing they spin the promise and reduce the petrol subsidy. They are very smart and we are at the loser side.

• I don’t know what’s the fuss about VW batch….in here. It is suppose to be the same class as the T and H in Europe…

• Maserati on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:01 am

Alot of you dont understand why people buy VW. Ppl buy VW Polo is all because of the fantastic dsg + tsi combo.

It just feels so effortless in reaching speeds of 180kmh. And just to remind u, its a 1.2L engine. Its such a joy to drive !

Yes DSG has its problems, like my wife polo tsi had a clutch problem. Claim warranty and everything is ok now.

Once u drive a Tsi engined VW, its very hard to switch to other cars already. Well its ok, i know many of you here have never driven a VW before. Oh wait, maybe you guys here cant even afford the 1.2 tsi polo so this 86k polo is like heaven for u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • SamTowTruck on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:36 am

Hello my good frens,

To all, this maserati is my VVVVIP customer. Almost every week, he sit in my tow truck coz his VW break down.

Thanks to his business, i am on the way to buy a private jet for my mistress to go HK for shopping.

Btw, maserati, i will come later to pick u up from Kota damansara. yeah your vw sui kwan again.

• fatchicken on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:41 am

You are Absolutely correct Sir Maserati ! DSG + TSI combo = fantastic!! workshop favourite combo!

• you are the one that sound like a plain dumb moron.
      What’s with the “oh wait, u guys here cant even afford the 1.2tsi” ??
      Just because your wife own a 1.2 tsi polo which was the cheapest VW model in malaysia that is offered back then when u bought it and u are deceiving other paultan readers?

Back to the topic, yes it lack of the tsi + DSG but it is much cheaper and less problematic. Yet it offers more choices for those budget 90k. FYI the tsi model is still available for those who opt for higher spec. So whats your point barking here as if owning a polo 1.2 tsi gives u the right to do so..

• Jesse James on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:28 am

Can enter (import) Japan or not?

• Denaihati on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:37 am

now the price, safety aspect looks close to it competitor. i think it is good for VW fan, affordable price range but can’t compare to CBU model because so much different. MAA statement in yesterday tv news(if i’m not mistaken), car price can be reduce by lower the specs, less accessory and so on by the manufacturer.

• kekeke on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:19 am

Most people don’t understand why are they bringing in the 1.6 polo over here.

In your shallow point of view, this looks like a strip off, removing this and that bla bla bla, old engine, old gearbox, lots of problems but if you see it in a bigger view, VW is entering our market, trying to dominate the auto market here. I would say its a very good thing.

Market being competitive and they know that not everyone can afford a VW with a price tag of above 100k, they brought in the polo sedan with a 1.6 engine and 6 speeds transmission gearbox. IT does good and numbers are growing.

Funny how many people that tokok about the unreliability of the dsg, they bring in this engine and you guys still tokok. Grow up kids.

In a business perspective, they can compete with the Japanese, the Koreans and with this price tag, hey! As consumers, we have more choice.

Say mr.mamamia decided to get a car for his son to get amoi, Honda, Toyota, Kia, Hyundai & VW, girls will definitely look at the VW cuz of its brand itself.

If you have a group of friends that owns a Toyota, Honda and yourself driving a VW, all eyes on the VW because its continental. And now with this price range, it targets a certain market to be able to purchase VW less expensive than before.

Now, will you spend 88k on a PROTON suprima S? OR would you rather spend 87k on a VW polo sedan/hatchback?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • autoexpert on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Another stupid reader trying to give advice to the others. Frankly speaking, I would not choose Proton or this VW kapchai, my choice would be Peugeot 208! It has legendary 206 WRC DNA, 5* safety Euro NCAP, upper class interior/dashboard, ESP, EBD, & reliability better than Polos.

• Couldnt agree more. Many readers who are not buying/cant afford tend to give alot of shallow comments.. Now it is targetted to compete with Sushi and Kimchi. Those who like sushi and thinks that vios can help his talentless son kao lui can go ahead. those who wish to get a continental car at a good price will get their chance. no point giving idiotic comment and compare it with saga/myvi… if u have a minimum respect to you and other readers

• Xenone on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Are they phasing off 1.2 TSI CBU once the 1.6 MPI CKD launched?

• johnjjj on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:18 pm

i miss those time when Polo were just a candy

• beh song on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:27 pm

ugly small car….

• mahchan on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:43 pm

No resale value. Better buy proton suprima s.

• anthony on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Cruise Control ??
    Sure this car come with Cruise Control ??

• omanjedi on Jan 24, 2014 at 10:41 am

Kia rio anytime over this car

• buy saga la.. after 5 years, change to a new one. affordable. buy expensive car, you are stuck with the car for longer years. your expensive car will later become old car.. old fart on the road.