W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class S 500 spotted in PJ

s500 spy sh

The W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class, or rather its V222 long-wheelbase form, is set to make its market debut in Malaysia this year – no word yet on when the official launch is to happen, but interestingly enough reader Sean Hoh sighted this S 500 in SS2, Petaling Jaya earlier in the month.

The S 500 variant was one of the four available at point of the W222’s global introduction last May, the others being the S 400 Hybrid, S 350 BlueTEC and BlueTEC Hybrid. The S 500 – second in line to the range-topping V12-equipped S 600 flagship – is powered by a 4.6 litre V8, which has 455 hp at 5,250 rpm and 700 Nm at 1,800-3,500 rpm for output numbers. Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 4.8 seconds and a 250 km/h top speed.

Is the registered example a Mercedes-Benz Malaysia vehicle or a grey import? Looks like this year is shaping up to be a busy one for MBM – aside from the S-Class, there’s the CLA-Class, which we’ve already sighted the first official mule of, in the form of the CLA 200 seen in the Aloft carpark last week.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ash Crimson on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:33 pm

That’s a cute lil’ S2000.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
    • hianboy on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:10 pm

same though when saw this pic, any idea where you guys bought it?

• One of my favorite Honda scale model in a Honda I drive regularly.
        This guy shares a lot in common with me.

• carnoisseur on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:54 pm

you can get a model from Tomica or Fastlane from toys r us . I reckon this is a fastlane brand at around rm6.50

• Ash Crimson on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Just go to any toy or hobby shops. Most of them sell scale models.

• rifle on Jan 22, 2014 at 5:26 pm

wow..the tiny S2000 overshadowed the huge S 500..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • aqil@fiq on Jan 22, 2014 at 3:55 pm

nice design but i still wait for s400 hybrid.overall its awesome:)

• Freddie on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:18 pm

i spotted a nice S2000 !

• dharmes on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:20 pm

wait for the S63 :D btw this is the S-class which can drive itself am i right?

• Is that little yellow thing on the dash going to be the next bumble bee..?

• Merc has a lot of nice models comming up. Can’t wait for the new C class to be introduced in M’sia – hopefully early 2015 since it will only comeout in Europe/US in the Fall.

Hopefully they will bring in the C200 Blue efficency with the small pointy star on the top version.

• I saw this car same colour in Hartamas twice. it does not have the presence like the older model and looks like a pumped up CLA. the interior was fantastic and the ip clusters are great as I managed to see the inside when driver aloowed me to see it. it belonged to a Dato who is apprently wsthe first to own it. the exterior is not that great this car looks better in photo than reality. I still prefer the older one or the Bentlet Glying Spur if one looks for the presence.

• Paucharsiew on Jan 22, 2014 at 7:03 pm

like the s2k more than the sklasse

• Bongcs on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Cute S2000 spotted in PJ

• pergh on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:22 pm

lol u guys talked abt s2000 or s 500? hahaha

• Wow.. i saw one was speeding at kesas highway the other day. I should say, it is indeed, elegant. A8, 750Li, Lexus LS can say bye bye soon.