2014 Honda City launched in Thailand – two airbags and VSA standard, six airbags an option

2014-Honda-City-Thailand-0016

Following the 2014 Honda City‘s global market debut in India just over two weeks ago, the car has now made its ASEAN debut in Thailand, with six versions available, priced from 550,000 baht.

All are powered by a 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine, which can also run on E85 fuel. The mill produces 117 hp at 6,000 rpm and 146 Nm of torque at 4,700 rpm (in India, 117 hp at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm). Save for the baseline model, which has a five-speed manual gearbox, the new Honda City now comes with a seven-step CVT gearbox, replacing the outgoing model‘s five-speed automatic.

The six variants of the Thai-market Honda City are the S MT, which is priced at 550,000 baht (RM55,650), the S AT at 589,000 baht (RM59,600), the V at 649,000 baht (RM65,670), the V+ at 689,000 baht (RM69,720), the SV at 734,000 baht (RM74,270) and the SV+, which goes for 749,000 baht (RM75,790).

2014-Honda-City-Thailand-0015

Like the Indian-market City, the interior features a seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system, which supports a smartphone interface, and an automatic air-conditioning system with a touch-control panel for the SV and SV+ (the other variants get manual AC and a standard audio system). The triple gauges are illuminated by blue light rings and house a multi-information display on the V, V+, SV and SV+ versions – the baseline S has amber illumination.

Other features include keyless entry with push-start ignition and a multi-function steering wheel with paddle shifters, cruise control, audio control switches and a hands-free telephone switch for the SV and SV+.

Unlike the rather bare Indian-spec car, all the Thai models are equipped with good safety features as standard – ABS brakes, VSA stability control, Hill Start Assist and Emergency Stop Signal. Let’s hope the same goes for the Malaysian-spec car.

2014-Honda-City-Thailand-0005

The V+ and SV+ offer an upgrade to the standard safety specs, adding i-Side airbags and side curtain airbags to the mix and bringing the total airbag count to six. The ‘+’ in the model name also adds a multi-angle rearview camera, with three-level adjustment.

There are seven colour choices for the car – Modern Steel Grey (metallic), Carnelian Red (pearl), Crystal Black (pearl), Alabaster Silver (metallic), Taffeta White are joined by two new shades, these being Brilliant Sporty Blue (metallic) and Golden Brown (metallic).

Honda Automobile Thailand is targeting sales of 60,000 units of the new City per year. This should of course aid Honda’s cause in the 2014 passenger car sales race – Honda overtook Toyota in Thai passenger car sales for the first time ever in 2013.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kadajawi on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Hm, the exterior is not so nice, I prefer the outgoing model. But at least in the photos the interior is quite nice, and the specs are good too. At least all cars have stability control, and you can get more airbags. Not bad, not bad.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 9
    • And the rear aircond vent is missing too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
      • RM59,600 in Malaysia? on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:30 pm

The S Automatic is priced at RM59,600. Can we expect it to be sold in Malaysia for RM59,600 also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 12
        • ahmadjohnson97 on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Maybe, at year 2017..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 12
          • Wisdom on Jan 24, 2014 at 3:07 pm

The moment City priced @ RM59.6K, the fuel price will be in the range of RM3.8-RM4/liter..
            We can’t cheat our way to be comfortable..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 42
          • iqbal87 on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:55 pm

60000+2.5% interest is 73500 in Thailand. while 90000+2.5% interest is 110250 here in Malaysia. The price difference can get you 9187.5 liter of petrol if it is priced rm4 per liter. and that can get you around 184 full tank assuming a full tank is 50 liters. That’s enough for fuel supply of 3 and half years if you fill up one full tank every week.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
          • Tbreak on Jan 26, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Don’t forget, we are paying RM2.10/L for RON95, to cover back RM30K (fuel consumption 15 km/L) price different with Thailand, it takes min 200K km. My yearly mileage only up to 20K km, even RM59.6K with fuel price RM3.8-RM4/L sound a better deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
        • Still over price….RM56-75k? Suppose below RM50k…Camry 2.5L top of the range in the US onli around RM65k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 35
        • What happen thai!

In US, the prices below include 6 airbags, VSC, Tyre Pressure Monitoring etc etc.
          Mainstream car prices

Honda Accord 2.4 (CBU)
          US$21,480(RM64,440)

Honda CRV 2.4 (CBU)
          US$22,495 (RM67,485)

Honda Civic CBU
          US$15,955 (RM47,865)

Toyota Altis (CBU)
          US$16,130 (RM48,390)

Toyota Camry 2.5 CBU
          US$22,055 (RM66,165)

Kia Sorento CBU
          US$23,150 (RM69,450)

Hyundai Tucson
          US$19,245 (RM57,735)

Hyundai Sonata
          US$20,895 (RM62,685)

Hyundai Elantra 1.8
          US$16,695 (RM50,085)

source: guy from paultan said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
          • Jonathan Lee on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:38 pm

The US probably has lower taxes compared to Thailand. Also, the cars you’ve mentioned are all built in the US, not imported.

• Green on Jan 24, 2014 at 1:43 am

Maybe Yes
          S version City RM85k.
          RM85k – 25% = RM64k.

Then, I notice Engine Retuned.
          altough dropped 7hp.. but now the max hp is at 6k rpm, and 4.7k rpm for max torque. Paired with 7 speed.

checking with EEV requirement.
          Well, I expect this car get EEV tax reduction.

then, further rebate.
          RM64k –> RM59.6k.
          as u wish.

• shuhaimie on Jan 28, 2014 at 11:10 am

sell at RM50k ++ ?? how Proton wanna make profit then… lol

• frenzyaustin on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:12 pm

I find the exterior looks slightly better than outgoing model, the proportion looks more right than current. But design improvement is quite less, more like a facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • kangkung on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Waiting for proton basher to unleash their stupidity. Where got kangkung car in asean. Even 6 airbags b segmenter city is already 70k. Preve is a segment above city has 6 aorbags accross all variants. Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 40
      • kangkung on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Waiting for proton basher to unleash their stupidity. Where got kangkung car in asean. Even 6 airbags b segmenter city is already 70k. Preve is a segment above city has 6 aorbags accross all variants. Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 34
      • kangkung on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Waiting for proton basher to unleash their stupidity. Where got kangkung car in asean. Even 6 airbags b segmenter city is already 70k. Preve is a segment above city has 6 airbags accross all variants. Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 32
      • Chow 1 on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Honda malaysia please kill the Toyota models with your standard VSA! Don’t disappoint us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Funny isnt it even d previous dugong vios mnaged to outsell city 2 to 1 so now wth this ordinary looking city it will be 3 to 1…dugong has evolved to become a killer whale but city remains as ikan tamban…where got syiokkk like this….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 48
      • Halim on Jan 26, 2014 at 8:24 pm

The old-day’s trend has past bro. You look at the buyers nowadays, all thinking of their Dugong can “fly” and add wing and useless stuffs like that. On the other hand, City’s buyer attracted more mature personnel to buy.

Moreover, whose discount HIGHER is the WINNER la, hahaha

• Kid, if you are Honda City owner than you will know why vios outsells city.. The buyer have to wait 3-6 months to get the Honda City, compared to dugong book now, tomorrow you will get it! and the price, comparing 70k with 85k, which has better market?

• sutrak on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:01 pm

who cares about the car? it’s the lady in the video that makes me all excited. can’t help it but to beat my meat on her face. got to send my keyboard in for warranty after this, but it’s all worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • carguy2000 on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:43 am

wow plenty of boobies.. feeling safer now : )

• Gaban on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:14 am

Why there is no sunroof like in India….frustrated already :-(

• OMG… tui loh…buy the new vios liao…regret…should wait for this.

• kl fella on Feb 01, 2014 at 12:43 am

no worries OMG! Sam Loo will definitely not show you his hilux and will accept your new vios trade in at 110% of your original purchase price..

• carlies on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:38 pm

To be frank, less attractive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
  • I think, in term of design I like the previous Honda city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
  • CVT again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • frenzyaustin on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Good fuel consumption, light weight and cheaper than a DCT. Give your mom a DCT and a CVT she only know she no need change gear.

• gameboy on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:37 pm

nowadays CVT gearbox cheap la…. not like DSG = fall!

• city back using cvt…remind me of the dugog city’s CVT fiasco/problem, which prompt honda to change back to normal auto in prev model…have honda finally fixed its CVT??

• Hondaman on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Still no HID, LED & DRL light? Suddenly the vios look more worthy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 95
    • Caleb on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:00 pm

If you think that HID,LEDs & DRLs are far more important than safety features like extra airbags and VSA. Then yes, Vios TRD is worth the money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 4
    • Hope when the worthy Vios collides in accident, all your mentioned HiD, LED & DRL are still properly intact….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 1
  • no name on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Just wondering. Can malaysia spec get 6airbags, cruise control, hill assist control? Current high line model has vsa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • frenzyaustin on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Don’t think so, DRB-Hicom going to protect their own Proton as more value for money, safest in price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • my preference

exterior front – outgoing model

exterior rear – new model

interior – new model

and hope the suspension for the new model is not as hard as the outgoing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • spongewai on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:57 pm

waiting the right price in Malaysia

• Celicazz on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:02 pm

So, the cheapest variant still only have 2 airbags in Thai? Preve here got 6 as standard.

Rm56k for a manual basic comparable to our Preve.

I do hope Honda will bring the cheapest City to compete with. At least, they r better than Vioses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 22
    • i think the Honda City can last roughly 4.5x the lifetime of ‘YOUR’ Preve, not ‘Ours’. Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 32
      • No need to compare city and preve, they are in different league. Preve should be compared to pathetic SOHC engined civic or cheapo torsion beamed altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 22
        • Gently Speaking on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:59 pm

frankly telling u.

Altis does handling very well.
          Read Paultan’s Altis review.

Altough it’s a torsion beam. But Toyota do know how to innovate from there..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
          • Enthu on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Nvm him. Let him sit in his Jaguh Kampung for all eternity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
          • Review by taiwan on Jan 24, 2014 at 9:30 am

If you watched the Taiwan review for the new Altis, 99% of them says the Altis handling is not on par with it competitor.

• carlies on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:29 pm

This is only a City, not Lamborghini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Celicazz on Jan 24, 2014 at 8:11 am

Y so butthurt I compare this two cars? I compare the specs, and. The New city oredi got big enuf to compare. Specs wise and No other model can be compared with on local grounds.

If Honda can sell this new City ckd with lower kit list like ones in Thailand, we want something to compare. And wants to ask why cant it offer at least the same as what preve had at the same price.

I am not ask u to buy the Preve, I juz want a honest and true comparison, of price and Specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • bluebird on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:04 pm

I am going to trade in my old city and get new city and saddle myself with another 7 year loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • CW Wong on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:17 pm

This is a Vios killer. The 6-airbag variant is going to be a big selling point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • carlies on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:30 pm

6 air bags not come with standard. Need to pay more like Altis lah.

• Azri Johan on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Honda City FTW!

• So the car I come to live and love by, gets the transmission that i very personally despise amongst all automotive advancement in transmission and looses what I think is the winner in the Indian spec car, rear seat vents.

In the aesthetic part ,it looks more presentable than the Indian spec car with its bigger rims, but it loss some of the old car simple and clean lines that I love in the old, something Honda is began to loose in their new offerings. But interiors looks like a much better place to be in, more modern and elegent.

Now to the big news…..that spec list, this could potentially be the 2nd B-segment to have 6 airbags in Malaysia….potentially, I have not much faith with Honda Malaysia airbag offering given that the Thai accord has 6 on contrast to our 2-4. But VSA will be standard given that the entry level jazz CKD gets it. Overall from what I heard from my local 3s centers , Malaysian spec car are usually similar to Thais, so I expect our spec to mimics the mid and high spec…..which means standard auto air-cond and navigation.

Looking forward to the launch most probably in March…..but still, sign, that cvt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Second? There was the Fiesta LX with 7. The Jazz Hybrid CBU. The Prius C. 208. Rio. Polo. BMW Mini. Soon DS3. There are plenty of B segment cars with 6 airbags or more.

• I am comparing all the models on sale currently. the current Fiesta has 4, the Jazz Hybrid is now CKD, CBU is no longer offered and the Prius C’s future uncertain. However I do admit I’ve forgotten about the 208….sorry Pug fans.

• sudonano on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Agree. The spec list looks very nice. The rear reminds me of the F30 for some reason.

But 7 step CVT? Errr I heard the older one was not so reliable… I’d gladly take the older 5 speed auto, unless the CVT in this is good, and feels more like a normal auto.

• hehlol on Jan 24, 2014 at 2:06 am

the new cvt on this city does seem to have a better gear ratio than the normal 5 speed,
        more speed perhaps? still cvt are very noisy.. can’t wait to test out the new city :D

• CKD.. must be cheap… if expensive..dun buy laa

• policeman on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:34 pm

This City looks a lot like the old City (2003 – 2006)
    Side profile especially.

Back to CVT, unwise.

• Guilt79 on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Can’t they just remove the CVT? My 2008 Honda City VTEC already showing signs of GB problem. And it’s a CVT!!!

• cantik lampu belakang!

• Go go on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Now we know why honda screwing toyota left and right in different countries. Their offering are getting more genuine, while T is going way backwards.
    Time to give the finishing blow. Go honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Omg already honda malaysia.. pls launch either this or the freaking jazz already.. what is taking u ppl so long??? Bloody slow.. pls launch the god damn car already….

• finally~ i’ve been waiting for this car for a long time.. lolzzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Maserati on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Excellent car! This will definately destroy korean car sales!

Brilliant interior and extremely good looking!

Cant wait for it to be launched here! Awesome!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
  • lyngsat on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Why no iDTEC offered for Thai market? Thais still skeptical with diesel?

• Tree Hugger on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Oh no! Honda made a U-turn and went back to the 7-step CVT?? That would certainly save them money at the cost of transmission performance for the customer.

I have driven both current gen (torque converter) and previous gen (7-step CVT) and I must say the torque converter gives better driving experience than CVT.

The only time CVT is more responsive than torque converter is when taking off from standstill. It is sluggish at medium to high speed. So when cruising on highway you will hate it if a slow driver suddenly turns up on the fast lane that forces you to slow down because the CVT will take its own sweet time to get back to cruising speed, as compared to the torque converter.

On top of that the previous gen CVT needs CVTF change every 20,000km.

I hope they they throw in lots of other goodies to this new model to compensate the cheaper route they took for its transmission choice.

• Enthu on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:50 pm

That is not the CVT la…*facepalm*

The current 1.5 iVTEC is simply gutless at highway speeds. Even with the 5speed automatic, it will still struggle and crawl for speed during highway.

• I think capable of reaching speeds north of the speed limit does not make a car gutless.

When I was a novice and took the City back from Kuantan, simple cruising resulted 140kph @ 3000rpm. The real problem of the Torque converter is that Honda being Honda has no torque, and given the gearings are pretty long in the 5-speed, City cruising is pretty terrible.

• Tea break on Jan 26, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Current gen is 5 speed AT. Torque converter just a component in between engine and tranmission. Both AT & CVT mostly use torque converter, MT – clutch, DSG – double clutch…

• taknakHonda on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:49 pm

6 airbags in Honda ? Hahaha. LOL

• Cun Jaguh Bola Tampar on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:06 pm

exterior so boring n ugly (same as vios) but interior is nice!

• Earth dreams on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:08 pm

Where is the panorama roof?? Worst than Indian spec…sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Earth dreams on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:08 pm

Where is the panorama roof?? Worst than Indian spec…sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Denaihati on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:35 pm

i can’t read the brochure attached…heee.
    current model with 120hp@6,600 and have more power compare this new city, 117 hp at 6,000.
    CVT gearbox is so interesting and fun but i hope much reliable compare to model 2002–2008 which many complain heard.
    with 6 airbags, should be less complain on the safety…

• Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Wow, I can expect kimchi D & C Segment owners Q up at my yard again, very soooooon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • Jump ship on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:43 am

Haha. Ppl change tune already after toyo getting screwed left and right. Bcome honda supporter now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 24, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Sam only deals with used Hyundai

• yasas on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:38 pm

Front grill is ugly. Looks wise seems to be losing out on all new VIOS. Also why cabin road sound insulation always so inferior to VIOS?? Really its a significant driving comfort issue… noise pollution is a known health hazard, especially constant even if not damn high pitched.

• Steve on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:08 am

I wonder how they can design such a lousy center air con/multimedia panel. Look at the low spec interior with the el cheapo grey radio buttons with a large empty real estate on the right of it! OMG!!

• Steve on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:05 am

Come on, no one complained about this S spec interior? The high spec interior is nice but not this low spec one
      http://paultan.org/2014/01/23/2014-honda-city-launched-in-thailand/2014-honda-city-thai-s-spec/

• Archangel on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:46 am

The interior is very appealing but not the exterior. Hope there is a Modulo variant for this City to make the exterior more appealing.

• heybadigol on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:50 am

Looks good. Specs looks good too. 8 speakers for top of the line model – not bad for this segment. Not sure if all of the specs will reach here though. Wont be long before we find out. Im sure the launch will just be a few months away.

I wonder if the CVT is the same as the US Accord and the 2015 Civic (though they are actually sold in 2014). If it is, then its the latest specs CVT which comes without the rubber banding effect.

• roxas on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:57 am

tis is alot better looking thn the vios ! i find it looking handsome .

• HM … beat that price!

• brian on Jan 24, 2014 at 8:53 am

this new honda city will qualify for eev status since its kerb weight is less than 1200 kg and fc is only 5.55l/100km which is less 6l/100km.

• Honda Malaysia, please do not decrease the airbag count or omit stability control. We don’t want another bare car like your bro has offered here in Malaysia.

• 7 step CVT gearbox is this same as 7 speed CVT gearbox for Honda city 2003~2008?
    Honda 7speedCVT = DSG = Failure!

• bravestarr on Jan 24, 2014 at 9:11 am

after bring to malaysia, no more automatic aircond and must be gearbox still same. Every new honda coming in all spec kena cut somemore

• kaukau on Jan 24, 2014 at 10:24 am

u are right, cos this is boleh land, smua boleh punya, boleh naik angkasa lepas balik bikin anak khawin, matahari pun boleh naik punya.

• Mosquitos on Jan 24, 2014 at 9:53 am

6 airbags optional or not, all i know is in 6 months time we definitely have the aftermarket rear lamp ala BMW style.

• beh song on Jan 24, 2014 at 9:58 am

outgoing model is nicer…but this model interior looks better..100% won’t be this price in kangkong country

• Child on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:04 am

Can I buy in Thai and use in msia?? in msia we won’t get this price…

• Jason on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:21 am

Our City is CKD or CBU from Tomyam country?

• thedarkside on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:08 pm

correct me if im wrong…but if we are importing a complete car…its CBU. regardless of the country it was manufactured

• bliz7 on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:42 am

Hope HONDA will bring the rear aircond vent + USB port. My family will really appreciate this.

Anyway thank you HONDA for bringing good package of technology and safety features rather than only a pretty face.

• Joker on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:13 pm

The look is just so so but with VSA as standard, this City is gonna pawn the current new Vios.. The interior is way better than the Toyota’s too..
    If the same spec applies to Malaysia, bye bye Vios…
    I wonder if there’s any Modulo, Mugen version…

• totti on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:20 pm

The rear air-con vent is missing.

Just too bad.

• kangkung bercampur proton accord on Jan 24, 2014 at 1:33 pm

The design,engine,space,spec is much far better than my eyesight only of current new vios. if this is city arriving price below 100k, vios will sayorana forever in cold fridge. The ad spec with full spec is impressive. 6 airbag is feel safe, interior space make me carry more ppl. 117hp can let me smoke Vios, and the design is not much diff with old city,that some dispointment.

• Kangkung beli di Putrajaya sedap dan murah on Jan 24, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Overall seem good seliing point, except damn unfix problem with CVT. Wonder new altis also CVT, y altis much less problem than Honda CVT.

• walaweh on Jan 24, 2014 at 2:41 pm

its kinda expected malaysian version will only get the cvt version as usual,no manual.
    but looking at the price compare to vios, the sv would be at vios trd territory, @ 90k -.

but if it comes with standard airbags,then its really a value to buy. but if at same price as vios g grade,most welcome.

6 airbags,esp, 88k -, vios gonna suffer. but its depend whether hnda really have a ball to do that.

yup,prtn own preve n suprima sales will be affected too. yeah,malaysian like to compare cars to its price,rather than segment per se,thats why paultan also do the same comparo,2 b segment versus 1 c segment.

nevertheless,if its true on fully equip city is below 90k,its a good thing. i second the move. this will put the pressure to our local boys to be even more competitive.

this is what i like, the better competitive on safety aspect,the cnsumer will benefit of it. the others will have to fight to increase its offering without jackup the price.

however,not putting too much expectation cuz the newly launch accord has fewer airbags,even on the highest offering.

so honda,please prove me wrong,im begging u.

• Steve Preve on Jan 24, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Preve still my pride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • ramli86 on Jan 24, 2014 at 10:48 pm

yes of course. Buying Proton Preve comes with attractive package:

1. Sudddenly engine cannot start
      2. Gear knob handle easily broken
      3. Sound insulation very poor.
      4. noisy gearbox
      5. Very low resale valu

Alot more been offered Proton for its buyers, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
      • do u own a preve??
        if yes then only u can easily insult this car…a few frens of me own preve and they are happy with it..better than vios and 09 city…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • hermin5 on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Yes I owned one and already experienced the
        2. Gear knob handle easily broken
        3. Sound insulation very poor.
        5. Very low resale value

• Kangkung Kegemaran Saya on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:42 pm

No sunroof? Is it for indian market?

• omg dat blue! please have it here. also please bring in all those spec options as well!

• Fries on Jan 24, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Toyota Vios kantoi lagi…

• Fahmi on Jan 24, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Hope that it will be nicely specced with full safety features, active and passive.. Exterior looks ordinary from the rear, the front looks okay, nonetheless the interior looks nice with a modern touch, while not excessively curvy…. Honda Malaysia, don’t take too long to bring this car here….

• elantra on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:40 am

kenapa thailand dan india launch dulu? kenapa malaysia x launch sekali? malaysia kan ada DRB??

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 25, 2014 at 11:26 am

In terms of cars, Malaysia is indeed a 3rd world country

• azman on Jan 25, 2014 at 10:07 am

this car is thousands times greater than the old junk vios….umw better take immediate action…another facelift vios again perhaps????..hahahha

• ronaldkhim on Jan 25, 2014 at 11:45 am

Ugly, and CVT? City fans expect to change car for the next 3 years again. However VSA standard and 6 bags (Optional serious?) deserve compliments.

• This is a I-VTEC with CVT, so I don’t think it is the same as 2003-2008 version,as they have clearly stated it is a Earth Dream Technology,City 2003-2008 is not part of Earth Dreams Technology,if there is a failure,it means Honda world wide car (New Jazz,Vezel) will all fail…
    see the link: http://world.honda.com/EarthDreamsTechnology/

• Carl Wong on Jan 26, 2014 at 3:06 am

So much cheaper over there……
    Nice futuristic design and aggressive rims as usual, no hybrid version yet…??

• Carl Wong on Jan 26, 2014 at 3:06 am

So much cheaper over there……
    Nice futuristic design and aggressive rims as usual, no hybrid version yet…??

• Carl Wong on Jan 26, 2014 at 3:10 am

SORRY for double post, didn’t know what happened there….

• hahaha well i guess when it comes to our country the price of the top spec will be like 95k? (since the vios TRD is 93k) cx if the top spec city(with every safety features VSA blablabla) is cheaper than vios then there’ll be nobody buying vios teehee =3=

• Commoner on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:18 am

For air bags and safety features, in Malaysia I believe it will follow the new Accord. Two air bags for low spec and 4 air bags for high spec. VSA is standard for Honda cars.

• Heard that Honda Malaysia Price it from 70+K to 90+K. 4 specs available. Comments are good from them and hopefully to see it on March 2014.

• Thank you for share.I like design by Honda City car.

• roxas on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:47 pm

wahh, rm59k thre can buy a city ! here …let me think… myvi 1.5 extreme with some few thousand left for pocket use.

• edcauto on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:51 pm

I hate to see the price….

• Shaun on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Ugly back, looks like an old car. boring exterior. Interior is ok.

• Leading Edge on Feb 01, 2014 at 6:39 am

I love the push button start, it is so great to not have to worry about keys when you are getting into your vehicle.

• Honda Fan on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:02 am

Great car. Honda Malaysia please maintain all features in Thailand’s City. Definitely a worth buy over other brand within the same price range.

• nicejobs on Feb 07, 2014 at 7:23 pm

I love the push button start, in Malaysia I believe it will follow the new Accord. Two air bags for low spec and 4 air bags for high spec. VSA is standard for Honda cars.

• ong chin aun on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Y Y Y ???, Malaysia not sales Honda with manual transmission ??. Toyota Vios already has Manual Transmission. What is wrong ??. R M’sia not good drivers ?? just don’t understand. Many other countries, like Indonesia esp. Jakarta; China esp. Peking, more Manual Transmission. Price wise, beside save petrol cheaper and less maintenance.
    so, Please Honda bring in MT.as an option.

• Acrix on Feb 15, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Honda Malaysia just posted a sneak peek of the new City in their website. Looks like there will be rear aircon vents, 6 airbags, cruise control, push start button, 16″ alloys and 7″ display unit which are most likely only for the most premium unit. If VSA is standard across the range and prices similar to Vios, this will definitely be a contender for the B segment

• few years later may become P.Saga replacement model… pity to honda owner.

• James on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Any difference of previous CVT and 2014 CVT.
    AS i know the previous CVT very bad.
    Hope that a difference with previos model CVT

• miss rain on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:16 am

Every car got pros n cons.. just ur luck to hv it still looks good n solid after 5years…imho I love this new city..looks awesome.. every car comes with quality n that makes the price… thats what happen to some cheap car no matter how many accessories n safety they offer..so I go for branded car if I can afford not just about the brand only