Citroen DS3 now in Malaysia, spied in Glenmarie

ds3-2

We showed you the Hyundai Veloster Turbo and some CKD Volkswagens yesterday; now here’s another new model that’s launching soon – the Citroen DS3. Conceived as a rival to BMW’s MINI, the smallest Different Spirit model has been snapped at Citroen’s Glenmarie showroom, wearing various colour combos.

The Citroen DS3 was previewed at KLIMS13, and it was said then that the three-door hatch will be launched in January 2014, with an estimated price of RM125,000.

The DS3 that Malaysia will be getting is a 1.6 VTi, which means a 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder with 120 hp and 160 Nm of torque, paired to a four-speed automatic. 0-100 km/h is done in 10.9 seconds while top speed is 190 km/h. No turbo, no manual, for now at least.

The DS3 1.6 VTi will come very well equipped. 17-inch ‘Bellone Black Diamond’ wheels, cruise control, active headlamps, auto wipers/lights, electric folding heated wing mirrors, leather, LED daytime running lights, auto air con, front/side/curtain airbags and ESP are all standard.

Like the idea of a funky French hatch? The DS3 will face some in-house competition in the form of the Peugeot 208 1.6 VTi (same engine, RM95,888) and Peugeot 208 GTi (200 hp, RM139,888), both available from Nasim in three-door hatchback guise. Spoilt for choice, you are.

Citroen DS3 at KLIMS13

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wilson on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:29 am

Seriously, 4 speed Auto??? put in the manual for god sake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • sepul on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:39 pm

While I agree with you on this, I asked Nasim thru their facebook about Peugeot 208 manual, they said due to sales margin for automatics is higher, they cannot simply bring a manual in because the low sales volume does not justify, even if it is a build to order basis, since they need to endorse it with the authorities for local use, and the low sales volume will not justify the endorsement cost, if any – is what they said.

• Wilson on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Sepul, i do understand there are certain limits where company need to sustain and need to consider demands and supplies all sorts of stuff and all other government related checking through jpj and etc etc, but still doesn’t deemed fit right?

• lonelyobserve on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Because of their errogant mentality, once the car is introduced to rural areas and the people there give Nasim pressure about providing manual transmission, then Nasim starts to provide manual transmission (with unwilling hearts).

• glaze on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:14 pm

1.6VTi and 4 speeder for 125k? That is even more expensive than a Polo TSI with turbo and dsg. No wonder Citroen failed badly here.

• mmaker on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:14 pm

That 17 rim look alike subaru xv rim

• hondaman on Jan 23, 2014 at 12:21 pm

electric folding heated wing mirrors? must be in preparation for the cold weather at the east coast.

• Few months before the KLIMS 13, the DS3 was the first modern car that define everything I like about the French automotive, weird, funky and unique. It still is I mean look at that little shark fin on the B-pillar and the little repetitive DS on the dash design and those wheels.

But there were major disappointment when I saw it in metal. The interior quality wasn’t impressive by all means, it feels (this is gonna hurt)cheap, I mean there is a little hole next to the air cond vents that goes into nothing. The dials were small and than the ever dissapointment on the powertrain choice. In all, I don’t see it worth RM100k above when there’s the 208, the Suzuki swift sport and Polo which I believe are a much better car, certainly the 208.

I love Citroën more than any other French cars, they define everything viva la Franc. but unless the pick up the performance for this, I just don’t see it over the newer more modern 208 VTI…..and the 208 has a five door option which appeal more to most Malaysian, we need the C3 here.

• c3 interior is not any better than ds3.look nice in photos but in real world it looks/feels cheap

But its fun to drive.if anyone ask me i would say its like a pretty proton gen2 with slightly comfortable suspension.build quality,nvh mostly the same

• I havn’t had the luxury to sit in a C5 or any of the C-series cars. But somehow I find the DS3 to be severely lacking in the quality department, it is definitely not up to the European standars. However its bigger sibling, the un-Citröen and more volkSWAGen DS4 and the utterly exceptionnel and French DS5, does quite well in quality control. For now, the DS5 reigns supreme as my favorite French automobile.

• not worth the money..no reason at all to buy this car..stupid french.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • just because it doesn’t suit your personal preference, you call all the frenchmen stupid? how intelligent is that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • I hear Sebastien Loeb, I buy!

• Blaze on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Guys, Citroen position this car as a contender against Mini, Fiat 500 and the Beetle. The C3 is up against the 208, Clio, Polo etc…

• Denaihati on Jan 23, 2014 at 1:36 pm

very like the vertical DRL led at side bumper. price is cheaper than BMW’s MINI but BMW’s MINI looks better appearance for me, it might be to the classic element…heee

• Although it’s a very nice car, I think it’s simply too expensive.

The Peugeot 208 1.6VTi is basically the same car (PSA PF1 platform) and cost RM30,000(!) less…

• blackbox on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:04 pm

I’ll take the 208GTi anytime, this car is just too weak.

• Jaybond on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:07 pm

It’ll be a big mistake for Citroen/Naza if they going to put the N.A engined DS3 model at above RM120K price bracket (unless it is the turbocharged version). They should position it slightly higher than the Pug 208 VTi.

• races on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Peugeot 208 GTi RM139,888!!!
    Too cheap! Malaysia should increase to RM170,000

More Tax please!

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Wow Citroen really stepping up their game. Designs are getting better since 2013. Good job. BMW on the other hand have been stepping on their customer’s head since 2012

• beh song on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:02 pm

too small and too pricey…

• Archangel on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Estimated price RM125k with 1.6 VTi paired to a four-speed automatic? That is a bad pricing strategy.

• Tony Lew on Jan 28, 2014 at 11:03 am

‘4 speed’ is a big turn-off, no fun to drive lah. Selling at RM120k, think of the maintenance cost. Not worth the price.

Saw it in KLIMS 2013, interior design is outdated already.

To sell this car, reduce to RM95k, 6 speed transmission plus a touch screen panel, then can consider.

• William Chong on Feb 27, 2014 at 2:44 pm

I would say this is more of a chick car. After all this car is all about appearance ONLY. Maybe they are more focus on the female market. Is more about looks than performance.