Ford sales up by 50% in Malaysia, best in two decades

Ranger 07

Ford has announced that 2013 sales in Malaysia jumped 50% from the previous year to 10,660 units, the company’s best performance in 20 years. It makes Ford one of the fastest growing car brands in the country. The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released full vehicle production and sales data for 2013 – click here to see more figures.

The big jump was driven by the continued popularity of the Ranger T6 (5,761 units) and third-gen Focus (1,605), as well as new additions Kuga SUV and Fiesta facelift.

This year will see Ford launch the Fiesta 1.0 Ecoboost in the first quarter, before the EcoSport SUV debuts later in the year. Both were previewed at KLIMS13. The Blue Oval will also start local assembly of the Transit van in the first quarter of 2014 – full details on that one here.

On the after-sales front, Ford will expand its dealer network to 50 locations nationwide, plus the launch of eight Quick Lane service centres to support the growing number of Ford owners in Malaysia.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• panda on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Thanks to the Fiesta hatchback and Focus sedan

• b sensible on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:17 pm

they’re like old kid on the block! if they keep on bringing in more ecoboost models, it can boost their sales to higher level. not mistaken ecoboost also consider hybrid right? might qualify for EEV duty exemptions!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • sudonano on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:31 pm

EcoBoost is not a hybrid, but it will fall under the Energy Efficient Vehicle. So yes, they might be able to get some exemptions.

I think they have done well, the Ranger T6 is well received, in fact, I think some people who never even considered a Ford have actually moved into the brand too. Good job, keep it up.

• Chris on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Erm, no. Ecoboost is just turbocharged engines.

Very excited to see the Ecoboost Fiesta coming though, the 1.5L doesn’t have that much power to match how well it handles. It’s probably the best front wheel drive car I’ve ever driven in my life, though not exactly the most comfortable…

Of course, I’ve never driven any expensive FF before, like Civic Type R or anything.. so…

• glaze on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:18 pm

try the Golf GTI, you will get poisoned by it!

• Chris on Jan 24, 2014 at 8:32 am

Maybe so, but I can’t afford a GTI hahaha. Maybe I should rephrase and say the Fiesta is the best FF that I can afford, live with, and drive thousands of KM in it.

• seanlimys on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:25 pm

they have the right recipe after so many years, same goes to mazda, hyundai and kia. the race has just begun.

• moolastrikes on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:27 pm

OK, now focus on after-sales services, expand your SC network and spare parts logistics.

anyway, congrats on being a comeback kid.

• seancorr on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:43 am

Went to their website and found that the amount of 3S centres are so few. Ford Malaysia needs to expend their service network ASAP!

• Kuga ecoboost high petrol consumption… not as per their brochure…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • anonymous on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Ok now when is the Mustang turn to be released in Malaysia.

• If i am not mistaken, the T6 Ranger is now the 4th best-selling pick-upm after Hilux, D-Max and Triton overtaking the Navara. Ford needs to put more attention to aftersales. Their latest models are generally good, but buyers are still being put off by the poor aftersales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Walter Ty on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:34 pm

So the Ranger is Ford’s volume seller in Malaysia as well. It’s the same story in New Zealand & the Philippines.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Danny…………..Pls ask Ford Malaysia re-introduce Ford Ranger WilTrak 3.2 (18inch) in M’sia again!!!!!!! Last time said waiting list 1yr so STOP taking new orders, now they say too exp for a truck so no point intro here “Low volume” so not wise.

• lonelyobserve on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Sales people in SDA are trained to answer such questions from customers. Really discouraging and pissed off (especially from the biggest 3S centre in the country).

• Rudie on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Bring Back the Wiltrak 3.2 in Malaysia. We all want it and cannot get it so we have to buy second best in the market. We know demand is more than you can produce so why not push production to the limit and make more.

• tired waiting for the ecosport.. the new altis looks sooo good.might change my mind soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • dodgeviper88 on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:05 pm

I supposed the total sales will be higher if not for the limited supplies for Ranger models. Wildtrak has a 1yr waiting list while the 2.2 top range has a 5mth waiting list. Heard the majority of Wildtraks are given to the Thai market.

• Guess it isn’t a ‘Lone’ Ranger for Ford ;)

• Archangel on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Congratulations to Ford but I doubt the Fiesta facelift could sell well because less safety specs from the previous pre facelift.

• moolastrikes on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Agreed, I’m kinda glad that i’m driving a pre-facelift…

facelift spec and price is rather disappointing.

• avidfordfan on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:28 pm

I paid a booking fee for a wildtrak way back in April 2012, now its been almost two years and still no sign of my truck. The last call I made to the SA he told me im number 20 on the list and that was 6 months ago. Wtf. I think ford losing many potential customers because of this. Many would shift their booking for the all new Vigo due next year

• same goes to me..booked on august 2012..until now, still waiting..they need to plan better next time.

• peterwyh on Jan 23, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Good things is always worth to wait…I have been waited mine 2.2 auto for more than 6 months. Now I m enjoying every moment of driving!

• I would have go for the next best thing, the 3.2XLT manual. Lost some useful features, but still good enough for me :D

• No point waiting, my SA called saying that its ‘discontinued’ in Msia and I will not get my truck.

I contracted Ford Msia and they basically say they will not honour the booking so I can just burn my 10 months wait.

• Let’s Wait Focus 2015 Ecoboost 1.0L Engine.
    Maybe The Japananese Will Rethink Their Engine Design.