Proton hybrid – now set to enter market end-2015

saga-ev

More developments on the planned Proton hybrid – it was earlier reported that the automaker was planning to introduce its first hybrid by the end of 2014, with an EV to follow by end-2015. Now, the timeline for the hybrid’s introduction is supposedly set for the end of 2015.

Proton executive chairman Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil mentioned this timeframe earlier in the week when speaking to reporters after the National Automotive Policy (NAP) announcement. As before, Khamil reiterated that the automaker was “on track and hopefully by the end of 2015 we will see some results for Proton,”

In September 2012, Parliament was told that Proton would begin selling electric vehicles by 2014. At that stage, the national car company was collaborating with UK-based Frazer-Nash Research to develop its own EV.

Back in 2010 and into 2011, prototypes of the Range Extender Electric Exora and UTM/Proton-developed Saga EV were heavily showcased – the duo were involved in the RAC Future Car Challenge 2011 from Brighton to London, and eight examples (five Exora REEV and three Saga EVs) were handed to the government for fleet testing trials, but things have quietened since then.

According to news reports, Khamil also said that since the NAP now opened manufacturing licenses for EEVs, the question of Proton being protected was no longer relevant. “I think Proton has come to a level where we are able to work hand in hand as well as compete with the various original equipment manufacturers,” he told reporters.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I'M 22BUT I LIKETHENEWCAMRY on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:42 pm

WEARETHESADDESTRAKYAT

Every single time i hear any news about PROTON, ohhhhh it just burns inside. Knowing that every single thing that Proton Do/Does definitely has the CHRONIES BEHIND IT TO GAIN MORE than the PEOPLE who suffers the most…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 23
    • Aerro on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Proton hybrids…Drive it to repair it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 12
    • carlies on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Proton no need to continue work on it. No need to launch anymore. Just keep it on Proton garage and all go sleep. More relax. Never grab the best market opportunities. Really market lengai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • Its a bot late to enter the market, 2015? by the time most of the Auto manufacturer will be focus selling full EV and MB Fuel Cell car segment should be start selling…

• Same Loor on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Nothing will happened in 2015 and then in 2016, Proton will announce their hybrids to be ready end of 2017.

This empty talk will repeat again and again. This how they keep on con tax payers money into their pockets.

A loser, is a loser. If they can’t even produce good petrol car after 30 years, don’t dream big big!!

Proton Hybrid, give me free also I no dare to drive. Half way on the road battery explode, car set on fire, Proton will only blame my foot has 5 toes which is not complied to their standard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 28
    • MycarMylife on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Ooh , talk only , few more years the only P1 Hybrid for me would probably be a Hearse model .
      Luckily i can enjoy my CRZ now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • why negative thinker on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:54 pm

where your from actually? sound like ur re not a MALAYSIAN……ARE U?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
      • Soundless on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:38 pm

What sound you heard? I turn on my speaker volumn to max and it is just silence.

• This is the culprit that caused the removal of tax exemption for hybrid cars. Sell for 50k also I won’t buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 10
    • Why? The tax rebate for hybrid ckd will end 31 dec 2015..n p1 will intro hybrid in the end 2015..the period between now to end of 2015 will no p1 for those type of car…why p1 kena?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
      • Vader on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Oh gosh.. Everyone know all CBU hybrid car no more tax exception, but u ignore it and keep emphasis CKD hybrid car that just refer to the only one model, Honda jazz..

• Why? The tax rebate for hybrid ckd will end 31 dec 2015..n p1 will intro hybrid in the end 2015..the period between now to end of 2015 will no p1 for those type of car…why p1 kena?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
    • Ibrahim on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Many others will be buying lor.

• We pray you to do it right for the first time.

• Need more Bomba in the future….more….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • We pray you close down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
  • Jayden on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Will it be a re-badge of Honda Jazz hybrid then? Proton like to re-badge anyway…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Proton, along with Lotus, made one hybrid prototype in 2007 and thats about all we hear about their hybrid programme. There are more success story with their EV programme, like the rotary-engine-generator Exora EV which I find pretty impressive. Personally, most of Proton’s plan up til now has been more of a heresay, the slated introduction of the joint-Detroit Electric Gen-2 EV was said to go into the market in 2011, of course 2011 has come and gone with the abscence of anything hybrid in the Proton’s camp.

The hybrid part also brings more question than answers, what kind of hybrid is it, parallel like Honda’s IMA where the ICE-part still do most of the work; series-parellel like Toyota’s HSD where the motivation is done 50:50 by the ICE and EV part; or like the REEV Exora, a straight up series hybrid where the engine does no part in the actual motivation of the car. And than we have the question on the betteries and the reliability of it, hybrid cars are extremely complex after all.

Basically, until Proton can be more transperent with their hybrid plan, and also provide a concept demonstrator instead of just say ‘we are going to make a hybrid by thiis year’, I am, like with all Proton news, going to take it with a pinch of salt, it’s a good move, but I’ll applaude when I see something more solid.

Just a thought:
    On the subject of the NAP opened manufacturing licenses for EEV, I believe Proton can still be protected by ways of dumbing down the requirements, so basically most manufecturer has no haste to upgrade their tech to comply with the standards, and we continue a status quo market like we have now, playing by the fields led by Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • I dont remember Proton having any hybrid – maybe I’m old, electric yes.
    But then again, under DRB anything is possible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • If proton to make Saga EV, is it possible the price less than 50K? Or let say it is rm75K, are we confident enough to buy one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Semua tu hanya janji-janji ynag boleh diubahsuai bila-bila dan seusuka hati. Jikalau proton betul-betul mengeluarkan kereta hybrid atau electric, tak payahlah beli, bukan kerana tak cintakan negara, tetapi negara telah menderhaka kepada rakyat apabila rakyat dipaksa membelinya dengan taktik yang kotor serta menguntungkan crony-crony dan bukanya rakyat. When proton can’t even make a good normal car, how can its hybrid and electric car work? Don’t play play, exspecially with electric car, it will explode anytime if something is not right, it is not like normal car. Proton should only produce hybrids and electric cars when they are good enough in making normal car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
    • greatwa on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:42 pm

You see proton cars breaking down everyday kah?
      what normal car you want? ok, you want tin milo car right? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • kambinganas on Jan 23, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Belum rasa belum tau. How many cars currently on sale actually have a leaking passenger floor area or any leaks in their cabin for that matter? Proton absolutely has many cases. In case you were too young to remember, Malaysians were suffering from faulty power windows for donkey years until Badawi personally stepped in to do something about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • ss427 on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Proton can’t even produce a decent, and I mean DECENT car even after over 30 yrs in the biz… And now they wanna go hybrid??

Lots of hot air talk aside, even if somehow Proton manage to put a sellable Hybrid vehicle for sale in the showroom, no one will buy de.

What assurance does the customer will have that it won’t break down 10 mins after leaving the dealer parking lot?! Hybrids tech are still pretty high tech and complicated.. if Proton can’t even build a proper conventionally powered car these days, what makes them think they can build a great hybrid vehicle??

NVH reduction/elimination is an alien term for Proton even after 30 yrs in the biz. Many hybrid components can’t withstand severe vibration long term… the batt will be the 1st to go…LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • GO GREEN on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:53 pm

yES..GO AHEAD, USE MALAYSIANS AS YOUR TEST BED! HA HA..HA

• electric also expensive bro. what if driving half way at NS Highway n the car no more electric???

• hilarious on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:15 pm

aiyoh~ wat can i say? proton ahh.. u think EV or hybrid is play play ah? jux like hw “play play” u make those “good quality” normal cars(saga, exora blablabla)? saying this doesnt mean i dun support our country’s brand, i do support perodua (i hav two myvis in my house) cx at least perodua make better cars than proton. lol.. even if the proton hybrid or EV is sold at abt 40k? 50k? i dun dare buy oso.. eeyer.. jux becox of proton all CBU hybrids dun get their tax exempted.

• perodua on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:51 pm

as far as i know, p2 never produces it own cars.. they simply rebadged toyota/daihatsu..

• hilarious on Jan 23, 2014 at 9:15 pm

hahaha but at least p2 is not as arrogant as proton mah.. proton is so arrogant till they dun take any suggestions from consumers and still go on with their “super-duper best in class” tech mahh.. “best” quality cars ever produced. haiz.. they jux hvn wake up from their sweet dreams.

• So what, you want worst tech in class car you go and buy china made car lor. lol

• Lalengko on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Manufacturers are starting to break into Electric vehicles. Proton now only starts to look into hybrids….a little late into the game if you ask me

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Cool. They cant even settle the problem with campro, already want to move to hybrid drivetrain. PRO !!!! I LOVE MSIA ! I lOVE my country !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • yinyang on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:16 pm

what problem with campro? everyday persona and waja campro taxi are moving.

• Even simple electrical problem, the power window problem, also took so long to sort out, now they want to produce hybrid and electrical car? Come on la! Don’t just simply dump the nation money into some r&d that won’t even work. Get the attitude corrected and the brand accpeted first la!

• Denaihati on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:42 pm

extend to one more year, hope will be a good hybrid car and minimum design problem because of long time do the R & D. Also should be a affordable price too.

• NerdD!ck on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Another joke of the day from Proton. If it is so damn bloody good, abolish the damn idiot excise duty to let the cars in malaysia have a fair prices to let us to buy. Not forcing us to buy a junk shit again and again.

• kassim selamat on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:29 pm

why Malaysian too negative when about their country. r wee suffer too much then others… everyday, everywhere and everything are negative nowadays… feel tired already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • slimut on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:18 pm

Because they want to drive GTI with only 90k. In their dreams, LOL

• Sorry Proton………when I read in fb from the group owner of Preve, still your build quality and material is so fragile and like to breaks even the car is under 1 years old…. ….when you Proton will wake up and say what you promise?..you never learn…

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Eh, anthony , you never ask them whether they will continue or totally stop bring in those cbu hybrid model or not ??

• Archangel on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:43 pm

I said it before but I will say it again. Dear Proton, less talk and more action please.

• proton, what are you doing?? you cant even build a decent car and you want to go hybrid. embarrassing.

• The butthurt rate of proton is high here. Just let proton do it, if not later complain too, typical proton bashers, sigh.

• 팤증환 on Jan 23, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Why is Proton so late in entering the hybrid market?

• when the EV or hybrid is out, i can see fireworks on the road.

• deaftek on Jan 23, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Delay is norm for drb, because they know how to talk only. Mind you, they talk a lot and aloud. The armoured vehicle project is also having all sort of problems, now already more than one year delayed

• no wonder new NAP policy no more full duty exemption for hybrid….bcoz…of proton coming into EV…oh dear

• So what, if there is no proton or duty exemption the price is still expensive and far reached by people.

Example, crampy fugly prius C is nearly 100k. That’s insane. Can buy 2 sagas and still have money to beat that crap FC.

• diamjer on Jan 24, 2014 at 8:35 am

innovation – that was before DRB time.