2014 Mazda 3 sighted on transporter, heading north

mazda3 spy 01

Earlier in the month, details for the Malaysian-specification CBU 2014 Mazda 3 sedan were revealed, as was the estimated price for the car. The Mazda dealership that posted the pricelist mentioned then that some lucky customers who had made early bookings were set to get their cars delivered before the CNY holidays.

It looks like the first CBU examples are in town – reader Lee Sze Shin spotted the new 3 on a trailer at the Juru rest stop, north-bound. Could it be heading up to the Inokom plant, even as other examples are making their way to some customers?

mazda3 spy 02

The estimated price bandied for the CBU from Japan car is RM138,935, and items on the equipment list include six airbags, keyless entry and push-start ignition, i-Stop auto start/stop, i-Eloop regenerative braking and an adaptive front-lighting system.

The car was first shown here last November at a Mazda roadshow in PJ, but the example was a Australian-specification 2.5 litre automatic, which Bermaz brought in to tease the third-gen 3. We’ve driven the new Mazda3 – read our Australian test drive report here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Keith Tan on Jan 24, 2014 at 3:48 pm

It’s headed to Penang. Booked and reserved by a customer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • shame_Loo on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Buy this car, you shall fall in to Rich or Poor? Need to spec this in as a criteria….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Archangel on Jan 24, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Not long before the launch day.

• Now didnt Mazda just took it from Hyundai…specifically an Elantra….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
    • mizuru on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:47 pm

nope.the design cue originated from mercedes s class and cls.credit goes to MB designer.hyundai on the other hand is well known to rip off almost every design styling cue from MB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • mizuru on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:15 pm

if not for those ridiculously outrageously high EXCISE DUTIES, i would already have two of this in my garage.DAMN YOU EXCISE DUTIES! i blame the current SH*TTY GOVERNMENT for this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
  • nice ass…

• where’s the hatchback? :(

• noreasonwhy on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:25 pm

It’s sexy now. If the price is RM118,935, it will make this Sexy & Hot!

• Sam Loo on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:58 pm

K5 owners will wish they had bought the Maz 3, which a 1 segment down car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
    • Pakciksakit Kuat on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Pakcik mana tempat sakit ? Pergi jumpa doctor please, jangan cakap bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • dugong on Jan 25, 2014 at 1:28 am

Please tell me why is a CBU japan mazda cheaper than a thai CKD altis? why???

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 25, 2014 at 7:13 am

Because UMW is more greedier than Berjaya ‘s BERMAZ ?

• Acrix on Jan 25, 2014 at 11:17 am

Altis is CBU from Thailand if I’m not mistaken

• kkzoom on Jan 26, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Becoz UMW/TOYOTA always take you guys a sucker.
        Morever most malyasian are blinded by the H&T Fever.
        Adios

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:54 am

Kimchi owners start to sakit jiwa oledi

• Hihihi… Sam Loo getting nervous liao….. Dont blame you though. I can understand….with new Altis’s shitty specs. Mua hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:58 am

I am now enjoying the fruits of my labour holidaying in Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand. Don’t need to work until after CNY, thanks to the 2 shipment of Hyundais.

Thanks to all the sorhai tai lan ngong kimchi buyers that buys them new and sells them to me within 15 months at less than 50% of cost.

“Kamsah Hamidah”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • PoorSales Man on Jan 25, 2014 at 12:01 pm

UMW Junior Sales man pay and commission is really bad, you can only afford trip to 3rd world country. Work hard uncle.

• Dodge on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Just saw one white color parked outside a Mazda showroom near my house in Bandar Mahkota.

• Good, good, I hope the new Mazda3 takes a nice, big, juicy bite out of UMW Toyota’s market share.

• Cheung on Jan 25, 2014 at 2:33 am

Nice car but still I would prefer the Altis ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • tommylee on Jan 25, 2014 at 3:13 am

What’s that other Mazda on top?

• spotted a white unit like this parked outside mazda sungai besi