Proton Satria Neo Standard 4AT launched – RM55k

proton-satria-neo-standard-4at 008

We’re reporting from the ongoing Proton sales carnival at Juru Auto City in Penang, where the national carmaker has launched the Proton Satria Neo Standard 4AT (it has also launched the Proton Inspira Super Premium variant).

The new model pairs the familiar 125 hp/150 Nm 1.6 litre Campro CPS engine with a four-speed auto gearbox. It gets 16-inch R3 alloys covered in 195/50 Continental MC5 tyres, front fog lamps, body-coloured side mouldings and an R3 bodykit comprising side skirts, a tailgate spoiler and extended wheel arches (no R3 front splitter, though).

Exterior-wise then, it’s closer to the circa-RM60k Satria Neo R3 than the RM51k Satria Neo Standard MT, which is shod with 15-inch steel rims/wheel covers and has no R3 bits nor front fog lamps. We can see unpainted wing mirrors, though.

proton-satria-neo-standard-4at 011

Inside, there’s a standard single-DIN radio with CD, MP3, USB and Bluetooth, plus fabric seats. Safety kit? Dual front airbags, ABS, EBD and disc brakes all round – status quo.

The Proton Satria Neo Standard 4AT is priced from RM54,514 (solid) and RM54,964 (metallic), OTR with insurance. Offered is a two-year or 50,000-km warranty. As for colours, GTi Silver, Tranquility Black, Solid White and Fire Red colours are available.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Satria Neo Super Value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
    • Close Down Proton! on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:39 pm

This car is too expensive at Rm55,000. How can this car cost so much? A proper high spec Toyota Corolla Altis (fully Japan Made) in the US with 8 airbags, VSC and all that cost only USD$15,000. That is RM45,000. This is a Malaysian car made for Malaysian people.

It is solely because of Proton our household debt is one of the highest in the world. It is because of Proton that all cars in Malaysia went up in prices since the 90s. In the 90s, you could even buy a brand new Japanese car for RM20,000.

Global prices of cars have not really gone up. Infact, because of economies of scale and technology, car prices globally has actually come down the past 25 years. That is why you can get a top spec Honda Accord 2.4 or Toyota Camry 2.5 for about USD$22,000 (RM65,000)in the US. Mind you, at that price also, the US government already collected taxes and the Honda and Toyota dealership in the US already made their profit and margins. So, in Malaysia for example, UMW and Honda Malaysia probably get their Accord and Camry for less than RM50,000 each. CKD somemore, it becomes even cheaper than that!

It is because to protect Proton that the government started jacking up the taxes and duties of ALL cars. They pretend to tax ALL cars which include Proton but we all know lah what really goes on. Proton gets special treatment. Even now, Proton in private hands also, they get hundreds of million free money from the government as grants every year, Our tax payers money.

Even every single car in Malaysia cannot sell below Proton price. All car manufacturers must go through MITI before they can sell the car and it is MITI that decides on the final price.

UMW and Honda want to sell their Altis and Civic for RM80,000 also, they are strictly told they cannot do so. “You must sell your car at RM110,000 and above,”. That is the reply they get or else, completely no approval to sell their car. If don’t comply, your whole licence will be taken away and completely no APs will be given to you. That is why Mercedes and BMW also so scared. They want to sell cheaper but are threatened that they will be given lesser APs to bring their CKD panels and engines in to form CKD cars.

And it is because of Proton that we have lost hundreds of thousands of jobs. Before Thailand became the Autocity of Asia, Malaysia was the King of CKD and we were on our way to become the Autocity of Asia and even the Autocity of the world. in the 80s and 90s, everybody was CKDing in Malaysia. But because of the nonsense by MITI and Proton, all the car companies decided to go to Thailand.

We lost not only hundreds of thousands of jobs, we also lost hundreds of billions of USD in investments in Malaysia. Maybe even trillions.

All because to protect Proton and the few AP cronies.

Which do you think is better? Save Proton and its crony vendors 30,000 jobs but lose hundreds of thousands of jobs and hundreds of billions in investment that could have gone to schools and hospitals, transport etc?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 213 Thumb down 116
      • wrong! malaysian tax la bro.. thats the real problem.. proton cars also have to pay tax. so all blame goes to who? fikir la sendiri

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 33
        • Seriously on Jan 24, 2014 at 8:21 pm

And ironically the Gov owns Proton. So money out from right pocket go back into the left. Fikir la sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 57
          • gov own proton?
            bila last baca news ni?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 14
          • Seriously on Jan 24, 2014 at 8:40 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_(automobile)
            Oh right, it ‘was’ but not anymore on paper. The same way we should read and believe everything on the newspaper right? Come on, it was started and fully owned by the gov all these years. Do you REALLY think they don’t have strings attached anymore? Wow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 46
          • yalah2 specalute as much as u want ;) puaskan hati sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 15
          • brownkids on Jan 25, 2014 at 2:54 pm

So where do you get your info about proton owned by Gov?
            Mr.Google ??? PusatSumberFacebook?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
          • Bodo ke? You don’t know Proton and drb all GLC ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • doodadooda on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Proton is linked with the government.

Why are foreign cars taxed so heavily? To protect the national car industry. So that it can improve and become better. Did it do that? Obviously no. So, the protection from the govt is for nothing. P1 & P2 doesn’t look like they’re aiming for international greatness. They just rebadge and sell to the rakyat.

P1 P2 has been around for years and they’re still the laughing stock of the international automobile industry.

Laugh all you want to the Kimchi cars. They made their brand name big already. They got their own design.

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:10 pm

I suggest you go to US and live. Then you can buy alot cheap cars with your ringgit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 67
        • Seriously on Jan 24, 2014 at 8:28 pm

I alway cringe at comments like “Go live in another country!”. It is one of the moronic things someone with a human brain can say. The reason people are bothered about the issues that press this country is because there is a feeling of connection to this land, as Malaysians… more likely because ppl care. For the people who don’t, they would have left this land already and wouldn’t be bothered to comment on a lame issue like Proton anyway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 29
          • brownkids on Jan 25, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Damn you stupid…

Malaysia =/= USA
            malaysia dont have buying power like USA . . please dont compare this two… can compare for Sg/brunei/vietnam/etc2 i think..

But still do u know that yes the car is cheaper, but to own or drive that thing are very costy ??
            Have you live outside M’sia before? stop bullshyting me saying you go there for 1 week, that not living, you dont own car or house for that period of time~

Seem most M’sian seem all really knowledgeable from this Mr.google thingy and no experience

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 24
        • Obama on Jan 24, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Who are you to ask people to come and live in my country?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 13
          • Kim Jong Un on Jan 25, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Obama my best buddy! If you don’t want them.. We got lots of camps here for them..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • No I prefer Australia. Can you give me a PR over there. Other shut up and stop telling people to go live there.

Every time saying get out of Malaysia. You have no idea how many of us want to but cant.

• Wei, stop copy & pasting the same comment over and over again.

Closing down Proton won’t change anything if our government doesn’t change. For the government to change, the people must educate themselves, see the truth and full picture, and stop voting based on issues such as race and religion.

That’s all that need’s saying in a nutshell.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 4
      • jeremy on Jan 24, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Again, misinformation just to make your argument stronger. The basic all new 2014 Corolla cost around USD 19,000 in the US including delivery, processing, and handling fees, and state taxes (varies across states). Ok, NOT A HI-SPEC VERSION. A high-spec version (LE Premium – with all the nice bells and whistles) could cost you about USD 22,000. Yes, its still considerably cheaper when compared to Malaysia, but misinformation like this sickens me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • lalala on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Vote what? Vote for PKR one magic blackout BN win…so what’s voting going to do? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • Diss-illusion on Jan 25, 2014 at 12:45 am

Seriously? Yes prices were jacked up because of tax but now car makers can price anyhow they want – no need MITI. You think Toyota wants to price their Altis at RM80k if they can get away with RM140k? U reti business tak? Plus, that would destroy Altis resale value and obliterate Toyota’s dominance!

Check your facts man.. Household debt is mostly inflated by mortgages which makes up 45%.. Transport purchase is 18% and personal loan 17%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
        • U uitm graduate ah? Go and work with car company and you will know why all selling price must go thru miti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
          • Diss-illusion on Jan 25, 2014 at 2:42 pm

This is the problem when you just read Malaysia Chronicles and nothing else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • mr arrogant on Jan 26, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Uitm??? U stupid idiot just jealous coz cannot go through this institution. . Wtf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • r u belittling a uitm graduate, yet trying to sound smart and clever in the same comment? something seriously wrong there…go figure. whats your problem with uitm grads dude? another example of why our country is so messed up…

• Saloi on Sep 18, 2014 at 7:58 am

Sure. Mock uitm when ironically your english is rubbish. Hahaha

• ‘A proper high spec Toyota Corolla Altis (fully Japan Made) in the US ‘

There is no ‘fully Japan Made’ Corolla available in the US. The Corolla for the US is either made by Toyota Motor Manufacturing Mississippi ( Blue Springs, Mississippi) or Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada (Cambridge, Ontario and Woodstock, Ontario).

• tiadaid on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:33 am

“And it is because of Proton that we have lost hundreds of thousands of jobs. Before Thailand became the Autocity of Asia, Malaysia was the King of CKD and we were on our way to become the Autocity of Asia and even the Autocity of the world. in the 80s and 90s, everybody was CKDing in Malaysia. But because of the nonsense by MITI and Proton, all the car companies decided to go to Thailand.”

Here’s an article you might be interested in by Danny Tan – “Thailand unrest forcing Toyota to rethink investments”

What makes you think carmakers won’t just leave us to dust when it becomes too bloody expensive to assemble cars in Malaysia? Surely the staff working the assembly line wants higher salary & the suppliers want to raise prices in line with inflation because price rise is inevitable. Just look at the tech industry and how all the tech companies leaving Malaysia for China & other low cost countries.

Besides, Malaysians don’t deserve cheap cars – can’t even drive properly, always jump the red light, always jump queue, always hog the fast lane etc etc etc. Malaysian drivers are crap and the bigger & more expensive the car is, the crappier the driver!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
        • ARIFFIN on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:48 am

BEST STATEMENT EVER
          Besides, Malaysians don’t deserve cheap cars – can’t even drive properly, always jump the red light, always jump queue, always hog the fast lane etc etc etc. Malaysian drivers are crap and the bigger & more expensive the car is, the crappier the driver!

• Off course they will move when it becomes more expensive. It also means that Malaysians by then will be more richer and will move to another industry.

But now we are definitely all poorer with less jobs available.

• Le Dentist on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Copy and paste. I’ve read this comment on other PaulTan.org post before…

• pragmatic on Jan 26, 2014 at 5:36 pm

I believe u need a lesson of economics before shooting your voice like a fool. Look if you cut proton the multiplier effect will be tremendous, jobs loss will be more than 150,000 u do not depend on foreign investments but u need to create our own domestic investments. Just look at holden, the US GM decides to go, almost 200k jobs will be loss in 24hs foreign investments is cut and go but your domestic investments stays… gundoo

• i dun like to say this…but this car resale value like shit, as well demand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • sam69 on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:53 pm

ugly piece of shit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 109
  • matkota on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:56 pm

and the reduce car price is?..err..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • difference? on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:57 pm

so what are the differences compare it to the regular neo CPS?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Chris on Jan 24, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Where’s Satria Turbo? Just stick the 1.6 Turbo inside and I’m sure they will make a few people happy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
  • klseng on Jan 24, 2014 at 5:08 pm

50k for manual SV cps

• Archangel on Jan 24, 2014 at 5:16 pm

With that kind of price, at least paint the wing mirrors as well. It looks kind of cheap with the unpainted wing mirrors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • nzain on Jan 24, 2014 at 5:21 pm

whoaa…nice red color…always admire to neo

• Carfox on Jan 24, 2014 at 5:28 pm

I didn’t know they still made this model. :/ Literally never seen any new examples on roads or in showrooms for the past couple of years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • So now there are:

RM50k Neo Standard MT (CPS stock with steel rims, normal seats, no foglamps, 1DIN HU)

RM54k Neo Standard 4AT (CPS stock with R3 styling, normal interior, 1DIN HU)

RM60-63k Neo R3 (CPS stock with R3 full bodykit with splitters, seats, 2DIN HU)

RM79k Neo R3 – discontinued Neo CPS with 145hp R3 Stage 1 (or 2?) package. No longer available but just ask R3 to add the package with the above Neo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • I wish Proton reintroduce the Satria GTi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • AKoNGz on Jan 24, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Still don’t understand why they don’t put their CFE on a Neo…

• Fredo on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:16 pm

it will be expensive to develop and almost imposible to get return with such low sales volume…thats why..
      dun understand why expensive to develop?
      crash testing is part of it. put new engine into existing car= new car, must do standard testing procedure bla..bla..bla…bla…it will take millions to complete the process

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • celicazz on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:42 pm

in addition, the homologation need to be redo… brakes, suspension etc need to be revised… plus, with such a light body, and also small engine bay, maybe need to be restructured etc…

some ppl wont understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • if really so difficult better let other do the better job….waste resource waste time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
        • jason on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:50 pm

if satria at 1.2ton is light. vios and city is almost paper weight.

• sudonano on Jan 24, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Isn’t this model quite old already? I thought they have actually discontinued it. Looks like it still lives.

• celicazz on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:44 pm

low volume model like this, some manufacturers also like to expands its life… look at audi R8 and TT… plus, niche market model like supra and celica by toyota once lived long 10 years and beyond

• Why not 6-speed manual ? Aiyo what lah Proton…. the Satria Neo is supposed to be a driver’s car lah ! Which idiot wants some 1990s 4-speed auto ?

Eh… at least it’s cheap so we can’t complain too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Turbo_Ridera on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:00 pm

they should redesign the exterior at least put facelift bumper but the interior….needs fully redesign

• not recommended, too thirsty

• thebugbud on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Change a little bit, now it’s call new model. Another new model added in the proton new model KPI. Macam instant noodle.

• Launch? Re-launch?

• Denaihati on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:25 pm

Proton Satria Neo R3 looks better appearance. i think this version purposely for user who like to do customization outside.

• kangkung naik on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:27 pm

why Proton cannot add the campro turbo into it? Please lar ….. this car has the potential to challenge many other cars.

Just make it more powerful and a sport system. something similar to Neo S2000 lar ….

Proton marketing people really …

You can increase the campro turbo production, selling more neo to finish your stock. why campro kosong?

Proton really no idea about the market trend and no idea what the people really want. If I am the proton CEO, i will fire the people who buy material, QC team and designer together with marketing people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Muhammad Arshad Bin Abdul Gaffoor on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:15 pm

I bet it would be sickening noisy sound from the gearbox due delivering 125bhp with 4 Speeds. Proton, you should step forward in delivering the best quality of your product and the nations proud, and be bold enough to beat other competitors like Polo VW. You are currently stepping backwards. Please be conservative enough to enhance the interior and the car should be worth for money. I’m definitely not going to invest on this vehicle due to short gearbox due to my current car equipped with 6 Speed which is very common in a passenger car these days.

• shakoshoumei on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:41 am

im driving 152HP with 4speed gearbox toyota.no loud noise from gearbox

• dino years on Jan 31, 2014 at 8:28 am

what car is that?? do you always drive it in town? I have not come across any toyota that doesn’t scream on the highway, bearing in mind i owned two before.

• Tony Teoh on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Proton’s technology after 30 years of establishment…BRAVO!!!
    Proud of Proton!!! 30 years old but still need protection from the government. Truly the best automotive company ever known to mankind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
  • jason on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:52 pm

as a neo owner, i will not buy proton anymore. inside car noise isolation same as 1950’s mini, and build quality worst than 1950’s mini. just 2 year giving me all kinds of plastic falling off and creek sound

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
  • decent looking car.. -accepted

• another rubbish from cheap plotong… plotong is supposed to be targetted to poor people but poor people also wont buy this rubbish car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • Satria neo is always one of my most favorite cars in terms of design and looks but bad engine and poor quality kills it. Why don’t drb idiots put the turbo engine and a proper CVT or DCT or just use a 6MT on it to give it the true sporty hatch looks and feel. You will see it will sell fast. I’m not a car planner but I believe I know more that idiots from alam flora who run the proton now!!! Sorry I’m very upset with them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • really proton? seriously? as the original R3 neo owner, i feel cheated. they said it’ll be limited edition. not only they keep producing the same car, albeit exterior only ( the one with r3 bodykit), now this? in that same color? im disappointed. we’ve paid good money for that exclusivity. this is going to hurt the resale value…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • kobealex on Jan 25, 2014 at 2:53 am

I cannot agree more with you that the original R3 has been killed by DRB. Everyone now has the R3 rims, the same R3 colour, the same bodykit… Driving the Fire Red R3 on the roads will never be the same again…

• Fire red r3? So what is so special about it? Cheap plotong with 145bhp? My vios already beat this syok sendiri 145bhp many times

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
        • Dregen on Jan 25, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Haha … . Wong wongggggg

Seriously, vios beat neo hahaha

Thanks dude, u really make my day

• apparently u talk like neo is very fast.. just accept the fact neo is just a rubbish car.. no torque at all.. u want to rev until 6k rpm all the time to fully get the power?

• well wong, congratulations on ur vios. sounds very powerful. u should compete in professional level rather than beat people “syok sendiri”-ly.

whats so special? yeah. thats kinda the point. its not special anymore. bumme :(

• gOOsh on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:01 pm

maybe you’ve beat a stalled neo…
          congrat bro…

• exclusivity? Seriously? What are u thinking? R3 neo is still cheap plotong. People dont see it as exclusive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • yes, exclusive. it WAS limited to 150 units after all. at least for a few years, i felt proud. rarely do i see another r3 owner and when i do that feeling was amazing. “whoa, my brother!!!”. u probably cant understand this.

well, if u think 80k proton is cheap, who am i to argue. u sir, must be very successful.

• sstanleynasa on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Proton pls dont use the same design without changing it…the design same as 10 yrs ago… toyota vios change their design for every new generations

• Whatever it is…. BRING BACK THE GOD DAMN GTi!!!!!!!

• AbsolutKev86 on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:41 pm

sorry, engineer only know how to steal technology or use old technology.

on paper this car looks bad, i cant imagine driving it

• Samad Jain on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:44 pm

Proton…..biasa lah…

• transformer on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:59 pm

that CAMPRO its a mistakes in the first place, causing this sporty unit sales low… should have use 1st batch Waja engine(Mitsu sourced) matched with MT… Just change ultralight weight flywheel, 18 incher, Quad-pipes, Braces and its ready to ROLLS……

• norman on Jan 25, 2014 at 12:12 am

Yeah this car is shit thats why i see many people race at track,time attack,touge,rally and drag events.Open ur eyes big2 and pls come to the events as well.Japan Cusco also buy Neo for their Junior Rally races.Then google Artiga for more knowledge..Ha 1 more thing this car also shit thats why get podium places in Sepang Endurance races..Using original Campro engines..yes super shit Campro..timings also not far from Vtec and VVTI…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • normandy on Jan 25, 2014 at 12:42 am

ya ya… everyday drive like in sepang..

• That why you see all those rempits upgrade from kapcai to satria.

Proton reminds me of mahindra. Kept on flogging junk car but at least mahindra is cheaper.

• Its ok, just talk to your local taxi driver and ask about the new plotong with the campro engine. Please just ask your local taxi drivers and you will know. They are using it every day with NGV.

NGV taxes the engine as its dry fuel, and campro breaks while other cabs even the old Mitsubishi saga can take a beating with NGV.

• Akromzaki on Jan 25, 2014 at 1:06 am

Cfe plz..

• AbsolutKev86 on Jan 25, 2014 at 1:52 am

Norman, give the japanese a lousy car and they can make it good also.

BTW neo has quite a nice body shape if done up correctly. only inside is a lil weak.

performance wise, if it can go up to 150bhp will be ideal. any higher most probly its gonna have torque steer as i dont think the engineers can counter that. CAI also can.

give it a lowering spring, 17″ light wheels, good sticky tyres like the eagle f1 215/45/17, 5 speed manual gearbox (six speed is ideal but proton will screw up the ratio) and no need ask lotus to tune the handling alr.oh ya bucket seats by sscus also can.
    also, all that extra for the same price then justified.

im such a dreamer….

• kobealex on Jan 25, 2014 at 2:57 am

Please DRB, please don’t do this to your R3 brand!!! R3 rims?! R3 spoiler?! It’s supposed to be premium!!!

• lembutusimba on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:25 am

Day in – day out, month in – month out, year in – year out, we always talk, discuss, analysis about what should the government do, what should MITI do, what should MAI do and what should bank do to reduce the car price….

Its always about what others should do, to make sure the car price drop to a more reasonable level (don’t need 9 years loan, more suitable around 5 years loan and the less the better)… but 20 – 30 years of time should be enough to tell us that they wont do anything to our benefit, its always about what manufactures get, what AP king get, what OEM supplier get, so what about us, the biggest stakeholder, the customer …

It is us that send the wrong message to gov, car manufacturers, AP kings… when the price increase every facelift, we are the ones that queue to book the car and some do book the car for 9 years long even before the launch of the car…

Let talk about, as customer, what should we do? regardless what policy maker, gov agency and companies want to say. Personally, I will maintain my current ride (which is second hand) and refuse to buy any new cars, I repeat any new car, not just proton and perodua. I will also convince my children, my friends, my family, my boss, my office mates so that they they will not be buying either… and justify it by ridiculous price or cars in Malaysia. They (gov, AP king, PerKema, manufactures) can say a lot of thing, but if we are not buying, what the are saying is irrelevant.

If u still need a car, buy a second hand car, since the taxes have been paid by the previous customer. I know it might be difficult to get a good second hand car, but we need to show a strong message that we are the boss, the biggest stakeholder. And this is also the benefit for our children and grand-children.

If we do this and play our part, we will gain mass and trust me they will be oversupply and surely price will drop…
    So come on guy, play our part and don’t hope others to do this, we need to do this ourselves…

If we work together, we can win this…
    When the buying stop, the killing can too…

• Fuel Cell Phone on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:35 am

Looks like DRB surprised with the sheer numbers of unsold satria neos hence came up with this

Possibly the same will happen with suprima s

• bornbiul on Jan 25, 2014 at 2:38 pm

With same engine and desinge and high price better buy 2nd hand japs or korean cars because with new car we bought in its already there the price of proton cars althought we never buy proton actualy the umno bn government never looose a cents we the rakyat 1m are the lousy loooser. Mau untung rakyat 1m must vote PR seriously.

• BLT Club on Jan 25, 2014 at 3:22 pm

R3 is like M division and AMG. Why then is the name associated with a bread and butter car? Where’s the performance exhaust, stiffened suspension etc? Nothing wrong with selling an entry level car, but please don’t disgrace the R3 name. Damn memalukan.

• shawal on Jan 25, 2014 at 4:30 pm

poor ergonomics , poor fit & finish
    poor economy and even worse RV

proton should kill it and start over

• presna on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Nice, though a lil more discount would’ve been good…

anyhow suggestion to proton, next, bring out Neo SP, give turbo engine (or get from honda, think they have one, or anyone) and with all the works…. that would be nice….

• owned one before, endless problem earth wire not screwed to engine causing flat battery, rear speaker not affixed, noise here and there, accident
    prone skidding on wet road. one word JUNK

• nabill on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:16 pm

This car is really nice to drive….but it has too many shortcoming…interior is way too small,makes da old satria feel like a football pitch….i think da designer is 140 cm only n thinks everyone in da world is his size,interior quality is nt acceptable,fit n finish is way off
    But i guess if ur looking for a 2door personal car thn thrs no othr alternative in dis price range…if i really want to buy a satria neo,i wil buy da basic spec,stil hv abs n dual airbag n dat cps engine,n its around 48k only..

• Albert lee on Jan 25, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Proton keep on putting extra lipstick,false eyelashes,botox injected eyelids,enlarged buttocks and still people rush to place their bookings.
    You have SV,Super premium,and extras….lotus power.
    Why are people so naive and get cheated so easily and get hooked to 9 to 10 years hire purchase loans?
    They become financial slaves without realising they are enriching the banks.

• Still the same old Campro? Booo~ring!! Should have pumped in the cfe engine.

• beh song on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:27 am

cut throat car…

• Joe Radzif on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:11 am

Turbo plis…

• Hang Tuah on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:17 pm

“The new Satria Replacement Model (SRM), known as Proton Satria Neo was launched on 16 June 2006.” Over 8 years model still selling as like a brand new car. Why should we going to buy this crap? Does anybody can share to me how many units has sold in this land over 8years?

• When is Proton going to fit in the Petronas engine, EO1?

• I really hope to own this car someday…proton please dont stop to produce this car…really my dream car, ever

• Fraz006 on Feb 11, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Satu mende aku prasan, tp mungkin generalization.

Melayu = kemahiran /teknikal mantap, tapi malas.

Siyes bro. Proton ni cuntuh produk melayu la. Corner hebat, enjin hebat, tp malas siapkan jadi perfect. Menang race bagai, tapi tgklah kereta yg drg jual = qaqc tak buat bebetul, bukti kemalasan melayu .

Ko tgk kat oil n gas pun cmtu. Welder, fitter melayu ramai hebat, tapi malas. Tgk kat bola pun cmtu. Tgk kat business pun cmtu. Tgk kat mana2 pun mmg camtu lah trendnye.

• oit.. nk kondem ke nk maki ke p berambus la.. xnk beli proton, xyh beli. bodoh! org masuk search sbb nk beli.. bodoh bodoh bodoh la oit!