Volkswagen Polo Hatchback – CKD launched, RM88k

ckd polo 01

The locally-assembled Volkswagen Polo Hatchback has been officially launched in Malaysia – the car, which was previewed at KLIMS13 back in November, becomes the third CKD model from the brand after the Passat and Polo Sedan.

Like the sedan, the Polo Hatchback is equipped with a normally-aspirated 1.6 litre MPI engine offering 105 PS at 5,250 rpm and 152 Nm at 3,800 rpm and six-speed automatic gearbox, a change from the CBU Polo Hatch‘s 105 PS and 175 Nm 1.2 litre turbocharged TSI engine and seven-speed dual-clutch DSG transmission.

Performance numbers include a 0-100 km/h time of 11.1 seconds and a 184 km/h top speed, with claimed combined fuel consumption being listed as 6.3 litres per 100 km.

ckd polo 12

There are quite a number of visual and textural changes from the CBU car – some are noticeable, some are minor; we’ll be taking a closer look at what those differences are in a later post. Some visible ones are the twin-bar front grille in place of the single-bar design on the CBU car, headlamp housing accents in chrome (in black, previously) and a new tail light design that replaces the TSI’s distinctive L-shaped tail lamp elements.

As previously mentioned, interior equipment on the local car includes a RCD 320 radio (USB, SD Card, iPod, AUX-in, Bluetooth, four speakers), Climatronic automatic single-zone air-con, cruise control, ‘Livon’ fabric upholstery and a leather-wrapped steering/gear knob/handbrake lever.

The cabin is also dressed up with a chrome package, in this case found on the surrounds for the radio/light switches and AC panel/vents and also on the steering wheel. The car sits on 15-inch Riverside design alloys, wrapped with 185/60 profile rubbers.

ckd polo 02

Safety kit comprises dual-airbags, ABS with brake assist, ISOFIX child seat anchors and four-point rear parking sensors – there’s also an Intelligent Crash Response System (ICRS), which automatically unlocks your doors and turns on the hazard lights in the event of an accident.

Five colours are available for the CKD Polo Hatchback – Candy White, Flash Red, Pepper Grey, Reflex Silver and Deep Black. The Polo Hatchback is priced at RM87,888, but VGM is offering the first 500 customers for the car a special launch price of RM85,888.

Volkswagen Polo Hatchback at KLIMS13

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• vincent on Jan 24, 2014 at 10:44 am

Love the car, but skimping on safety feature like Toyota is unacceptable, come on VW, you can do it better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
    • Korrect on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:49 am

6.3 litres per 100 km…how true is it?

if way higher in real driving, can VW give compensation to the buyers?

• qwerty on Jan 24, 2014 at 1:05 pm

nope, but if the government cares about its people, it can always take legal actions against them. The Taiwanese government, for one, sued around 10 manufacturers in 2013 for quoting unrealistic FC figures.

• DSG Proven Faulty on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:19 pm

With this move by VW, it is clear that EVERY rumour about the faulty DSG is 100% true.

All the VW salesman and ALL the VW fanboys come here to dispel the rumours saying it is jealous people of VW success.

Well VW in Germany already admitted in black and white few months ago that ALL the DSG boxes whether its 2013 or earlier is defective and cannot handle Asian weather or Asian traffic jams.

Now with this move by VW Malaysia, all the more it is true, the DSG is really defective. VW Malaysia is too scared to bring it in this hot hatch.

VW fanbois, please don’t lie to the world that the VW Malaysia facebook page is full of lies and the complaints are false. It is not. Each person complaining has about 200 over friends in their facebook account and this shows, that the complaints are real and true.

To all prospective VW buyers, beware. Beware also that the warranty is only 2 years. The remaining 3 years is by Insurance. Half the time Insurance say No to your claims, according to the Service staff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
          • ‘and cannot handle Asian weather or Asian traffic jams.’

China is not in Asia? VW sold 1.56 million cars there in 2013, most with DSG?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • ‘if way higher in real driving, can VW give compensation to the buyers?’

Why should they? As every manufacturer who is selling cars in Malaysia, VW have to follow test procedures required by Malaysian industry standard. Do you think that every manufacturer can use it’s own test procedures in Malaysia?

• Green on Jan 24, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Pure City driving Style: minimum highway.

VW 1.2 TSI = 15km/L @ 1 driver no passenger.
        more powerful, more fuel efficient, less reliable.

VW 1.6 MPI = 12km/L City driving @ 1 driver no passenger.
        less powerful engine, less fuel efficient, more reliable then previous.

• anand on Jan 24, 2014 at 4:05 pm

then you hire a lawyer and sue them for misrepresentation lah, say here, for what?

• Because he hasn’t but it yet, thus no contract formed and no stand to sue.
          He simply hasn’t buy it.

• DrOblivion on Jan 24, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Hmm… now without the TSI and DSG, this car is as interesting as the saga

• dugong on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:29 pm

They should keep the 1.2Tsi engine and only replace the DSG gearbox and this will be a success.

• All said and done by everyone here, this car will still sell like hot cakes, just like the Vios.

• sudonano on Jan 24, 2014 at 10:55 am

VW should have used this opportunity to take a shot at the Fiesta. 6 airbags and ESP, after all the Fiesta pre facelift had it. I think many would not mind actually if it had those features. Cause at 88k, with this list, seems a bit empty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • CBU polo ftw , pay a little more and you get a better smoother gearbox , better looking and more torque from lower RPM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • sonic31s on Jan 24, 2014 at 10:59 am

Selling price is not as good as I expected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • i think they still want to maintain the status of luxury car in malaysia and only for the rich. not for the the middle income people. haihh

• Germanylaa on Jan 24, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Well, volkswagen in deutsch means ‘people’ s car’ and in Germany it’s still a brand that’s affordable by the people. Volkswagen was never meant to be a premium brand. But anyhow, thanks to bolehland’s tax, we are paying few times more than what people in most of the countries paying. Well yea, it’s ckd an so it’s cheaper. But remember, it’s not cheap enough. I’m a malaysian studying in Germany. And I can tell you how unfortunate we malaysians are. Audi a4 for instance, here costs only about rm114k if were to convert to ringgit. And the kind of specs they giving is marvellous. Yet, they want us return to malaysia. I love my country, hate the bloody government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
        • oh jesus not this argument again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
          • frenzyaustin on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Not argument but it’s a fact. Even A-Class or 3-series are bread and butter car in Germany. Silly Malaysian treat a VW Polo like a budget S-Class because both from Germany.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
          • Jesus on Jan 24, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Why bring your god to this page?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • veedbaliu on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:00 am

Haih…disappointed.

• hmmm

• Maserati on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:04 am

This car is nothing without Tsi + DSG combo.

Such a boring car now. Totally not worth it! Vios or the new honda city are much better buys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
    • SamTowTruck on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:21 am

Hey Maserati,

I will tow your car later in 30 mins time from Mutiara Damansara traffic light.

I know your DSG died. Don’t worry, i give you brader discount. Tow 5 times free 1 towing. But for you, i give you tow 3 times free 1 tow within 2 weeks.

I will throw in lunch at Mc D for you later ok. I am on the way already. Hang on there brader.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
    • Maserati plz f*k off

Your every post on every car is nothing but idiotic and emotional stirring among readers.

Those who wants to get tsi + dsg can always get the cbu unit. Those who find more value in the 30k saved is,definitely gonna appreciate this.

So Why are pure dumb ass people like u keep bashing for no basis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • This is the exact example NAP is gonna use: “polo 1.2 tsi 110k, now polo 1.6 88k. Percentage dropped 20%. Well within the promised 20-30% price drop. Janji ditepati”

And how did they manage to reduce it? Through cost cutting and at the expense of rakyat’s safety (less airbags)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 6
  • shud me more reliable, no dsg & using normal torque converter gearbox…but lose a lot of safety features (no side/curtain airbags & EPS)…

• Chris on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:09 am

Waiting for Najib to use this as example of car price drop 25%.

Joke aside, no doubt the RM70-90k market is heating up, and we have ourself yet another choice. This car doesn’t have VCS/ESP right?

I have a colleague getting all excited already, I’m not too sure about this. Looking forward to the future CBU vs CKD article Anthony :)

• SamiVelu on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:10 am

is this a poor man’s car or rich man’s car ? does it qualify for RON95 ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • azhar on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:10 am

more expensive than polo sedan despite the same spec with smaller body..it makes polo sedan looks like a good buy..seems odd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • nabill on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:35 am

Ofcourse its more xpensive….all cars that are hatchbacks r priced higher than their sedan siblings….volume is gona b less thus higher price to compensate the margin…
      I stil think da sedan is beter, it hides its smal size more effectivly..dis jus looks tiny…

• kadajawi on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Actually the Polo sedan CKD has 4 airbags, rather than 2. So it is better speced too!

• I haven’t seen the polo hatchback ckd yet but already test drove polo sedan ckd, which evokes a mixed feeling.
    1. Engine 1.6 NA may be more reliable than dsg
    2. Spacious cabin and boot space for a B segment car
    3. Rear aircon vent
    4. Center armrest

Dislikes:
    1. Engine is not special anymore without tsi and dsg, no kick in acceleration
    2. FC is just so so
    3. Quite sad to admit this, but there’s more features and toys in new vios at the same price range. And vios engine although older, feels more zippy than this 1.6 NA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • frenzyaustin on Jan 24, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Vios from worst to second worse. Polo CKD only good ifyou can brag about your speed vs 4 speed of vios and brag about you drive a German car and you are king of the road.

• Enthu on Jan 24, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Vios is more zippy than a lot competitors, not just the Polo Sedan. Even the City falls short.

• jflee169 on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:29 am

VGM should give optional pricing which exclude the extended 3 year warranty from the insurance company at RM 58,888. Huat ar!
    To VGM, no one is interest on your 2 + 3 warranty. And if even you provide a 5 year manufacturer warranty, the customers are also not impressed due to your current after sales service.
    Last but not least, VGM should seriously look into their business model and supply chain in Malaysia market. Sales volume increase is good, but 10 years down the road, VW car scrap metal also increase respectively.

• kassim on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:40 am

do not buy it. in other word let it be or leave it alone. sometimes we must teach them how to culculate profit rationally

• kassim on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:41 am

do not buy it. in other word let it be or leave it alone. sometimes we must teach them how to culculate profit rationally

• this car is really being stripped to the bare mininum … then again, naive malaysian public will buy the badge instead of looking at the specs. Again this shows the manufacturers are laughing their money in cuz they know our people are not that “smart” when it comes to evaluating car specs and hence they can do any way they one as long as the price looks “reasonable”.

only one day when people stop buying and boycot kosong specs car then only hope we can get better cars at better prices.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:51 am

Wow 88K !!

This make Vios & City become much better value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • qwerty on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:53 am

For that price, I’d buy the Suprima S, even though it might not be as reliable and problem-free.

More airbags, more power, more advanced gearbox, better equipped, bigger interior space and most importabtly, ESP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • qwerty on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:54 am

Oh wait, I won’t buy any of these cars, because I cannot use RON95 anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • kadajawi on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:59 am

So… the 208 has 6 airbags, the Rio, the Prius C had, bigger, cheaper Protons have 6, even the City is going to have 6 (probably…), yet VW decides to go with 2? Why is it that once cars get CKDd there is a good chance of them losing airbags?

Anyway, totally not worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • frenzyaustin on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Worth it. German brand alone cost 87K already and 1K extra bundle you with engine, gearbox and 2 plastic bags. I mean airbags.

• Joker on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:05 pm

The most important omission would be Traction Control or VSC or whatever it’s called. 2 airbags??? I certainly think the minimum requirement would be 6 airbags… and no touchscreen interface?? at 88k the Peugeot 208 would be a much better buy since both is using NA engine and torque converter gearbox… Tsi and DSG is basically the selling point for VW.. omit it and you’re gone…

• heybadigol on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:24 pm

The pre-facelift Thai made Ford Fiesta is faster than this, not to mention looks better and handles better too. Tough competition indeed for the CKD Polo.

• [gonna be bash for this]
    Honestly with the exception of the rear seat vents and 6-speeder, I now struggle to see the significants of the Polo to even the Vios. The Vios personally now looks more exciting, inside and out, than this. It also has an edge in specs like navigation and the ever popular projector lamp.

But I guess I am only saying this because I didn’t spot VSC/ESP on the safety list. But honestly VWM, what is this? even the Polo sedan gets 4 airbags and shokingly, I found out that even the CKD Polo sedan has no VSC/ESM.

• vios looks exciting? bleh.

• frenzyaustin on Jan 24, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Exciting? Yes. Good looking? Nah.

• more exciting, certainly compared to this. Thou I can say that the opinions do differ with the exterior, I struggle to understand those who likes the interior of this compared to the Vios….personally it looks so 90s

• holofanboi on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Sup AVH, been keeping track on some of your posts and I must say, you’re posts are refreshingly mature for your age…in comparison to the number of crazies here -_-;;;

In anycase, this particular Polo is BOUND to steal a good chunk of the Vios market share simply from the badge alone. It obviously won’t topple it, but i’m pretty sure UMW won’t let VW have a chance at selling this car without some form of handicap.

That and the sheer amount of college students having this is going to skyrocket thanks to their parents.

Frankly, I think this will sell well only because its NA :P Dem Neo fanboys finally have an alternative NA platform to play around with even if its an auto.

• Why thanks for your compliments

I generally still sit down and chat with some fellow college students, most of them now actually likes the Vios for its look and unsuprisingly stylish cars like the Picanto and the 208 also high in their like list. Honda are usually preffered for only its interior. But VW was never in the recomended list in fact, they do not like the Polo and this bores doen to the dull-as-el’ interior.

Mind you this is only a small group as I do not have the time and liberty (and the know-how) to take a large scale survey and this small group are mostly like me, majoring in arts. College studenst I know of usually look at cars for its toys, ie: navigation, bluetooth and USB player.. Thats why alot of them like the cars I mention and given that the new Vios and even the ever popular Myvi can be had with this, I struggle to see anyone my age will want one.

I said before and I will say it again, I never understand the appeal of the Polo and the Jetta, personally they are overprice for their spec and looks even duller than most Toyota today (I’am so going to be devoted for this) and you are only mostly paying for the idea of owning a Deutsch Automobile.

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Nice. Now every car manufacturer can do this. Cut cost. Not even need to change the excise duty level ,so pandai. Price comfirm reduce 30%. Next time door handle use a ribbon instead of plastic / chrome , more cut cost !!!

• SpongeWai on Jan 24, 2014 at 1:09 pm

ohh that mean the CBU Polo 1.2 TSI have been discontinued to import lol

• helmi on Jan 24, 2014 at 1:21 pm

My boss 6 month old Jetta broke down recently due to cracks on the piston. Heard so many complains about their engines as well as the gear box system. Lost my confidence on VW despite the car is good to drive.

• Nelson on Jan 24, 2014 at 1:25 pm

It’s great to have more CKD car models in Malaysia, it benefits all of us. But one question, will the CBU models continue on sale? I still prefer the CBU models, as their engine,design,gearbox has changed.

• My Pre-reg Polo Sport cost only 10k more but comes with TSI engine, DSG, 4 Airbags, ESP, 17″ Rim, 0-100 in less than 10s, nicer head lamp and front grille, and it is CBU.. still comes with 5 year warranty ..

VGM, at least, at least put in the ESP

• Henry on Jan 24, 2014 at 2:07 pm

With the price hikes most people will have to make adjustments. If you do not want to buy P1 or P2 the best deals are still from CBU or CKD Asean. There are choices.

• Talk3Talk4 on Jan 24, 2014 at 2:12 pm

so the conclusion is…

CKD unit – cheap, but 2 AirBags + low performance engine.
    CBU – expensive, but engine also problematic…

Yay or nay??

With this price range (below 90K) what are the other option we can go for?

• Confuse on Jan 24, 2014 at 2:30 pm

So what the different compare VIOS and City, Most of my friend are drive these type of two cars, Polo is the first time I hear with competitive price.

So is that worth for it if I working in KL??

• looloo on Jan 24, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Have you read the various issues in the internet with regards to after sales service and warranty claims? There are all true, I own a VW. Stick to Toyota or Honda. I know I have owned both brands and there is no comparison. Be warned…

• Not a good buy..no dsg/tsi,minus 2 airbag,no tca/esp,speaker down to 4..soft touch material replace with hard plastic..price minus 30k..worth it?u decide..in my opinion there are other better choice..plus point maybe better reliability and cruise control ..

• das auto on Jan 24, 2014 at 10:51 pm

I am not sure what you guys want. VW give you DSG you say daily GB breakdown. Now they give you more reliable 6-speed auto and you guys say its same as vios/saga and not worth it. Since when dugong or saga got 6-speeder?

Now you have options, if you like DSG then get the CBU, else get the CKD.

• No one was complaining about them removing the DSG, but if they didn’t strip off most of the features especially features that concerns safety, I’m sure many of us here wouldn’t mind. One more thing, they could have still remain the TSi engine but mated with the 6 speed Auto,

• Add just a bit more and you get Swift Sport that practically win this crap car in every areas.

So Polo Hatch become MyVi with 2x the price.

• labix7 on Jan 24, 2014 at 3:31 pm

VW again … hmmmm, who cares..!!!

• Archangel on Jan 24, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Less safety specs with that kind of price, seems not worth to buy it.

• honest on Jan 25, 2014 at 10:35 am

Reasonable price to the quality
    good choice for city driving
    but the concern is after the warranty ends
    VW sparepart & maintenance is very exprnsive
    plus some of the spare parts stock are not available in malaysia
    hence have to wait either fr singapore or german between 2 weeks to months
    Hassle

• glaze on Jan 25, 2014 at 11:08 am

Hi Anthony, may I know if the Polo Hatchback CKD has the rear aircond vents or not?

In Image ID – 224100, there is rear aircond vents but in Image ID – 209585 there is none.

• Total rip off price, What they are doing is just like Toyota, stripping off the safety features. I only see this CKD Polo now as a kosong spec car like the Vios . People buying this is merely just for the VW branding

• fakhrulzakry on Jan 25, 2014 at 7:25 pm

hurm. totally make me dilemma to buy this polo. too many -ve feedbacks.

• i like the looks on this polo..should i buy it or not??suggestion??in term of performance wise,is it lembap like myvi 1.5 or neo r3 1.6 is better than this polo??

• WahLauYeah on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:28 pm

funny comment … those who bashing arround.

ok those who say this Polo expensive let make a compare.. with Toyota Dugung aka Vios as many ppl like it.

As this Polo is a basic model than compare Vios J

Polo : RM 88k ++
      Vios : RM 77k ++

Just Different RM 10k … its expensive for a continental car. Now go for specs:

POLO : 6speed A/T
      Vios : 4Speed A/T

Polo : 105bhp/153nm
      Vios : 107bhp/143nm

POLO : 1.6 MPI (Golf MK4 Engine)
      Vios : 1.5 ehhhhh from the 1st Vios

POLO : Handling Superb (I test drive by myself)
      Vios : Ok lah better than Proton abit.

Polo : 2 Air Bag
      Vios : 2 Air Bag

As u see this both comparison not much different except for the space of car both also plastic feel
      both also 2 air bag … haizzz

• SATRIA NEO RULESSS YO!!!!

• vw owner on Mar 14, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Yang bising2 tu x mampu beli. So x payah bising2.

Duit br1m korg pun dtg dr cukai aku gak