GALLERY: 2014 Mazda 3 CBU in Glenmarie showroom

mazda3-glenmarie-39

Yesterday, we saw it on a north-bound transporter, opening the question as to whether it would be also in the showrooms. Turns out it is – the 2014 Mazda 3 you see here is on display in Glenmarie, and offers the first comprehensive take of the Malaysian-spec CBU unit.

Nothing different than what was previously reported, when pricing and details emerged earlier in the month on the spec-level we’d be getting. Kit on the RM138,935 sedan includes auto air-conditioning, fabric seats, bi-xenons, a leather-wrapped steering, sunroof, reverse sensors and 18-inch alloys wrapped with 215/45 Dunlop SP Sport Maxx rubbers.

mazda3-glenmarie-20

There’s also keyless entry/push-start ignition, a MZD Connect infotainment TFT colour display with GPS, a six-speaker audio system, i-Stop auto start/stop, i-Eloop regenerative braking and an adaptive front-lighting system.

It’ll be a while longer before the car is officially launched, but the thing is, you can now get up and close with it if you’re keen on one. If you’re heading to Glenmarie to check it out, a point to note – the particular 3 in the showroom has GPS, but the map hasn’t been installed yet, we’re told.

We’ve driven the 2014 Mazda 3 – read our Australian test drive report on the Mazda 3.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• haha…finall here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 26, 2014 at 11:12 am

How come the headlights so sepet one…can see properly or not…later cannot see properly will complain this complain that…hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
      • are you trying to say that chinese are bad drivers because they’re sepet. this is so racist. it’s not their fault!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 47
        • AutoFrenz on Jan 27, 2014 at 12:04 am

Why r u so sensitive…nothing to do with ur own race….not everything in this world revolves around the chinese…grow up and stop whining…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
        • cannot blame them. Their vision is hindered because sepet. It is true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
    • KillBox1Alpha on Jan 26, 2014 at 8:17 pm

The Mazda3 logo look senget to me…

• policeman on Jan 26, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Why does the large top area of the dashboard at passenger side look uneven/lumpy?

• OMG…nice car with ugly pricing…

• mizuru on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:29 pm

138k?? id rather buy accord than this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 10
    • The answer on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:48 pm

True same price almost ,but one size up D segment vs C segment

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • philip on Jan 25, 2014 at 11:08 pm

wat u know about accord?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
    • mazda3 on Jan 26, 2014 at 2:01 am

The Mazda 3 has better handling and 41 more horses than the base spec Accord 2.0 yo. Weight your preferences, a bigger safety featured car or a smaller, cozier, better handling car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 40
      • dreaer on Jan 26, 2014 at 10:01 am

Coming Accordana is more powerful, turbocharged summore, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
      • Aaron on Jan 26, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Did you mean 4 more horses than Accord? Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • mazda 3 on Jan 27, 2014 at 12:30 am

Mazda 3 2.0 has 153hp, the 2.0 accord has only 114hp. Go and get your sources right, mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
          • Hondaman on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:05 am

It is 155hp laaa…. Check ur facts please. 114 is kw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Aaron on Jan 27, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Bro, you must be extremely ignorant to condemn me for getting my sources wrong. Go back to kindergarten please, which honda accord 2.0 on earth has only 114hp? It’s 114KW for god sake dumbo. Go and get your sources right for chris sake! Having little knowledge about automotive doesn’t make you sound stupid, but condemning others when you’re wrong make you sound stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • Stupid on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:50 pm

I had to login n comment you ….. STUPID haha

• Gentleman on Jan 26, 2014 at 11:15 am

Accord at RM140k range.

With heavy weight, same 2000cc, less powerfull compared to C-segment 2000cc..
      & Less Safety features too.

To get best out of D-segment.. it’s above RM170k.
      What u get is a bigger size and comfort.

It’s your choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • nabill on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Fabric seats? 18′ is an overkill….but looks nice…overpriced bt beter reason to wait for da ckd like da previous gen thn becomes more realistic price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
  • hot and spicy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • like tat on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Too expesive

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
  • SamLoo on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:34 pm

This is one great Japanese car. Definitely better than the not so great Corolla Altis. This Mazda 3 is finally on par with korean made car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 71
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 25, 2014 at 10:23 pm

No Avatar means imposter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Member sam loo on Jan 25, 2014 at 11:22 pm

You doesnt sound like real sam loo….

• Don't u know? on Jan 26, 2014 at 11:52 am

Don’t u know yet? Sam and hilux and maserati is same person. And he is solely alone in down thumbing all bad comments to umw with 100s of thumbs each time. I wonder why Paultan has not banned his ip range but instead make jokes of him in video.
        I guess every website needs a shameless joker..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • SamToyotaSalesMan on Jan 26, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Thats true. Is a same jery junior sales man who has no integrity and an all time liar. He used to be my colleague, he is arrogant, talk coxk all the time but still think that he is smart. I quit the job becuase the pay is really bad. SAM as a junior sales man is still driving old car. So u know how poor he is

• Sam Loo3 on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:59 am

But he talk like big boss all the time. I am wondering.

• Sam Loo on Jan 26, 2014 at 5:57 am

No Avatar means imposter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Wowyoumademelaugh on Jan 26, 2014 at 1:57 pm

On par with a korean car. Wow your standards are really low. Please don’t insult Mazda or Toyota.

• iqbal87 on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:34 pm

great car. but with that price tag together with the features being omitted, competition will be very close between the altis and civic. most probably the ckd jetta will also be priced around 139k myr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • shawal on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:35 pm

wait for CKD to come, better equipped
    no auto cruise…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loo on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Altis can bungkus already,kosong spec yet overpriced.
    Even Cerato 1.6 and sushi Civic 1.8 better than junk Altis that never have VSC as standard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 22
  • the multimedia interface looks like a cross between BMW’s iDrive, VW & Mercedes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Audi A3 on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:46 pm

The interior looks like a cheaper Audi A3…like 99% alike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • The designers have to be trained again so can produce fresh ideas, not copy others

• honest on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:46 pm

To expensive for a small car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Fabric seats and no cruise control at this price is unacceptable and there’s no front corner sensors too and they didn’t include electric seats either.

Hopefully the stuff mentioned above will be included at a reasonable price in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
  • I prefer leather seats over sunroof anytime of the day. Get your priorities right la Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
    • disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 25, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Malaysia weather is too hot for leather seats, after your pussy get burn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Agree that Mazda Malaysia couldn’t get their priorities right. I was really looking forward to the Mazda3 launch, until I see the middle meter is a speedometer instead of a rev counter. Turned me off. Different from the one displayed in 1U few months back. But knowing Mazda, few months later, they will launch the CKD. And then a year later, they will launch the CBU 2.5 (just like the CX-5). Bottomline, Mazda is a good car, but because it is run by Bermaz here, so you should abstain from buying this car. Because u will rugi bersih, because of Vincent Tan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Phoenix on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Too many specs have been omitted. Proper dual zone climate control system, HUD, leather seats, LDW, BSM, auto headlights, auto wiper, to name a few. The cheap climate control system offered here is pathetic. Relations are forced to pay premium prices for half baked specs. Disappointing!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
  • Phoenix on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Sorry typo error. I meant Malaysians are forced to pay premium prices for half baked specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • spongewai on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:08 pm

does anyone else can see this car display at the showroom near your house instead of Glenmarie showroom

• Steven woo on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:29 pm

So do we have hatch back too? Im interested that hatch back version.

• what’s the fuel consumption for the 2.0L model?

• Denaihati on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:38 pm

nice exterior, interior, good safety feature and great performance too. if have CKD might be less about RM20~30k and hope no changes/downgrade the specification.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Based on previous mazda cbu/ckd pricing, don’t expect to be that much different.. the most you can expect is lesser of about RM15K.. but if they add more specs to the CKD, that would be fine.

• Lpost on Jan 26, 2014 at 1:26 pm

As the mazda hv been granted EEV, the new mazda 3 ckd should be sell lesser about rm23k-28k.

• Archangel on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Baby brother Mazda 6. Hehe.

• superbird #43 on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:39 pm

i bet it will reach the east msian shore faster than the suprima s. i’ve yet to see one of the suprima roaming otr here.
    even the face-lifted vios which was launched last Oct have started to be multiply and gain popularity over here, regardless of it being under-equipped or over-equipped.
    like it or not, we on the east have faith in the Japanese brands more than any other manufacturers.

Cheers…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • I don’t mind paying 139k for a ckd fully loaded 2.5 though. I mean since they are building the 2.5 cx5 locally anyway, why don’t they build a 2.5 mazda3 and market it as a sportier model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • think on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:50 pm

it’s a shame not to have leather seats…i think kia cerato is much more better,,in terms of design and spec..the specs must b upadated for the ckd unit…better than toyota and honda which r still in their arrogant thinking,,,that they will b always at no 1 n 2, position…think…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • 139k.. janji dicapati…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Nasi lemak on Jan 25, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Hmmmm…no dual zone air control huh? Too bad, ppl grab a proton accord rather tis chili paid.

• sudonano on Jan 25, 2014 at 10:47 pm

It looks awesome. MZD connect seems quite pleasant to use. I suspect the 6 facelift will get it too….

Still no auto lights/wipers and iActiveSense, which is a bit of an oversight sadly. But I think I can make an exception cause it is the best looking C segment sedan below 150k, that is also well made and has 3 years of maintenance.

Time to take it for a ride!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Why so expensive? Is it this baby gets eev inisiative recently released by our beloved gohmen? Why bermaz still rip our hard earn money….should be 120k only and it will diff story…

• Syafiq on Jan 26, 2014 at 12:36 am

If you want one, get one now. Do not compare. Once the CKD comes in, hey’ll throw things away, off goes the sunroof, i-eloop and so on as whats happening these days…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • kobealex on Jan 26, 2014 at 11:53 am

If that is the case, Mazda 3 should not be on anyone’s shopping list anymore. No matter how good the online review from other country is, if the price here in Malaysia is crazy without the full specs, then we might as well look at other alternatives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • 1Kamkong on Jan 27, 2014 at 3:48 pm

I hate people who like to say do not compare. If you would, please put it like ‘compare correctly’. Do not compare stand for those who are chicken enough to upgrade and stays under their tempurung forever.

• Kelvin Ng on Jan 26, 2014 at 12:41 am

this will only make Kia Cerato more worth to buy. ya , i know u going to say kimchi car no second hand value, high maintenance, high fuel consumption, lousy, sucks…. kimchi car is just….yucksss… but is still value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • SuperTiger on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:41 am

you are right…Kimchi car worth the value for money as they look forward on European side, building better quality car slowly, adapt design and tech from them rather than the Japanese. And its cheaper though.

• If provided spec just like shown at 1 u. I think would be a lot people to take it. Because im the one also order too. But now with this spec…..forged it already

• azman on Jan 26, 2014 at 1:07 am

this car is totally overprice..
    paying 139k and even dont have leather seat…
    better go to other option…cerato maybe…
    or add about 10k++ and get a d sgmen car like new accord….or if u are a bezmeZ lover..get the 2.0 m6…at least got leather seat n larger cabin…just my 2cent..

• Kevin chan on Jan 26, 2014 at 3:50 am

Overpriced ! With tat price I would rather get vw jetta rather than the overpriced mazda 3 anytime. TSI + DSG ! 5 years unlimited milagage warranty ! german tech ! Sweet !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • Sam Loo on Jan 26, 2014 at 6:16 am

Just gotta be careful on the fine prints on the 3 year warranty because the local dealer is Berjaya Group

• Sam Loo on Jan 26, 2014 at 5:13 pm

This car going to kill my Altis like shit. I better look for job a Kia. Rm1.8K pay per month is good enough for me…shit..better act fast..

• SyafiqK on Jan 26, 2014 at 8:57 am

Better wait for CKD laa…

• wakdayak on Jan 26, 2014 at 9:08 am

oh mak guard! aircond dial same like preve!!

• Balliq on Jan 26, 2014 at 10:28 am

Mazda3 SKYACTIV-HYBRID

FC: 30.8 km/liter (JC08 test)

• Tok Berlagak on Jan 26, 2014 at 11:15 am

but this is not a hybrid.

• Balliq on Jan 26, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Yup. For the time being, skyactiv-hybrid is available for their own rakyat (japanese).

Unlike proton whose give their best spec to other rakyat (Aussie) but no its own rakyat.

Thats the difference between japanese carmaker and malaysia carmaker.

• Go out from cave, preve and suprima now are already equipped with 6 airbags. Electric and hybrid are not yet launched.

• Balliq on Jan 26, 2014 at 8:17 pm

I still got internet even i live in the cave.

Proton put ESC in Exora and Saga for Australia matket, but doesnt bother to offer the same spec to malaysian. With a slight price increase, they should.

I really consider Exora but the lack of ESC pissed me off. I dont mind paying a little more for ESC, but it just doesnt exist here. Japanese offer the best for their own rakyat, but Proton?

I just wonder, that many people still doesnt realize the different spec between ours and Aussies market for Saga and Exora.

• Besides that.
            Preve @ Australia = 5 years free Service, since the launching.

Malaysia dont have.

• vinct on Jan 26, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Read more, Exora and Saga were launched before preve. It’s called improving. The upcoming GSC and exora replacement sure have those features.

• Bermaz has been success with CX5 and then Mazda6 and get their head big…

138k? for new car, i will get an Accord for sure, and for the same price, I will go get a 3 years old e90, which is still a nice BMW anyhow :)

Stay away from Bermaz share for sure…LOL, trading of car company you believe can last long?

• leather seats on Jan 26, 2014 at 11:40 am

no leather seats

• an an on Jan 26, 2014 at 2:10 pm

no cruise control, no leather seats…even ford focus launched more than a year ago has better specs than this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • lookie on Jan 26, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Got the chance to see in flesh. Muscular car. Letdown only by fabric seats and cramp rear seats. The rests are superb.

• noname on Jan 26, 2014 at 2:01 pm

no leather seats, no cruise control…even ford focus launched more than a yr ago has a better spec than this…

• nighttrain on Jan 26, 2014 at 2:14 pm

For RM138K Mazda3 I was hoping for full specs like other countries are getting. And to show Toyota and Honda what ripping off means and that Malaysians are not stupid and know what full spec means. But Bermaz is trying to get on the bandwagon also, hahaha. A**ho**s, the whole lot.

• onewan on Jan 26, 2014 at 2:26 pm

138k but no auto head lamp, no auto wiper, no auto window for other doors, no dual zone aircond, no paddle shift, but more expensive than ford focus mk3?? aiyoooo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • pojie on Jan 26, 2014 at 10:34 pm

No auto-dimming rear view mirror too…which is quite a basic item nowadays especially at this price range

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 26, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Cool.

• bluebird on Jan 26, 2014 at 6:30 pm

fabric seat better than Golf GTI kain pelikat seat

• heheho on Jan 26, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Had look at it, extremely underwhelmed for the price. Ended up being pretty interested with the Mazda6 tho lol, that 3 made the 6 look really good..

• mazkotda on Jan 26, 2014 at 7:46 pm

If put 110k or below for cbu than later for ckd and eev lagi less. How can the pencapatis get fulus for their pocket? Lagi mau tanya ka?

• zamer on Jan 26, 2014 at 7:49 pm

it is just wrong with the spec and price…i dont find a reason why one should consider cx-5..
    cx-5 has more accessories, more space but ckd.

and at accord price, this made the mazda 3 out of place..too bad, its a nice car but wrong distributor..

this car must be well specced at only 130k at most..otherwise, accord and cx-5 is value for money

soory didnt mention toyota bcos its a bland point a-b car..

• anyway on Jan 26, 2014 at 8:55 pm

anyway, despite all of your comment,there will be people out there would purchase it.

bermaz=1 vs consumer=0

• Should give the distributor rights to Naza, put Inokom badge become Inokom 3 LangitAktif sell at Rm100k. Like goreng pisang

• Maserati on Jan 26, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Fantastic car in and out. Just look at that interior!! Oozes quality!!

Makes cerato n elantra look like junk!

Cant wait to see it on the road! Amazing car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Hilux! on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:37 am

You forgot to mention altis also, this makes Altis looks even more junk. :)

• RealTime on Jan 26, 2014 at 9:12 pm

I’m actually amazed and skeptical at the same time, at how Mazda have actually pushed the compression ratio further up since the introduction of SkyActive. The Biante has CR of 12:1, the CX-5 and Mazda6 has CR of 13:1. And now the new 3 has CR of 14:1! I’m not a Mazda owner but am wondering will this cause engine knocking on ron95 petrol? Perhaps mazda owners of the new models can share?

Also with such high CR, there is almost zero room for modding. And given the quality of m’sia petrol i can’t help feeling skeptical abt piston and engine related issues when mileage increases.

• With the same price or a little extra, can upgrade to an Accord.
    Or, save many thousands to stay in C Segment by getting a Ford Focus.
    I’ll do that with a 139K.

• tebabow! on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:01 am

the sporty styling is no doubt- superb! but the spec is pathetic! the price is dedicated to mazda fan or thick pocket-empty header human species.

• Anna Donna Mc Neal on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:39 am

I’m Going to wait for the hatch Back to become available..

• FoongKeong on Feb 25, 2014 at 12:21 am

1) BERMAZ, UMW, TCHONG, DRBHCOM, all are public listed company. They are answerable to major shareholders about profit (sometimes shareholders are same across these company), hence is a ‘controlled’ market, on surface it ‘looks like’ there are competition…. but with all these pricing strategies going up, I doubt it…
    2) According to Government, Proton is national pride. They need to be protected in order for them to grow slowly and baby sit them facing the real world competition, so Malaysian has to pay 100% patriotism tax for buying foreign car. Plus, the taxes can help Government fund many alibaba projects. Tax the rich and feed the poor??
    Malaysia consumer always lose out….
    This car in US, mid spec, is selling about US$19K (about RM60K++) and US Dealer still can make profit. With our patriotism tax, it should be priced at RM120K++, now it’s selling at RM139K, so profit margin is high for BERMAZ and Dealers, plus they take out some market standard spec like:
    1) Cruise Control (Altis & Civic have it)
    2) Leather seats (Altis & Civic have it)
    3) Reverse Camera (Altis & Civic have it)
    4) Auto Chromic Rearview Mirror (Altis has it)
    5) Engine bonnet sound insulation (even 10+ years proton has it)
    Just to name a few…if BERMAZ can put it back when they do the official launching in March, they will have good competition with others.
    There are other very high tech accessories in higher spec of US Mazda 3, probably they will put them in 2.5L model with even higher price that same as D Segment car…..
    It would be a BEST segment C car in 2014, easily out beat the rivals…..if, only if it price at RM120K ++ with all the 5 missing standard accessories restored. They can price it RM140K for another variant with the other high tech spec included. Dream…

• comment on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:07 pm

why all these photos so ‘jerebu’ ?? pakai camera phone ke kawan??

• when people talk about safety..how many of them are aware that the 6 or 7 air bags are helpless if the structure and design is bad?