GALLERY: Showroom pics of the CKD VW Polo Hatch

CKD_VW_Polo_Hatchback_1.6_Malaysia_ 002

The press photos given to us alongside yesterday’s official launch of the locally-assembled Volkswagen Polo Hatch 1.6 had a few inconsistencies – different in-dash head units, centre armrest with/without rear aircon vents, and so on – so to clear the confusion, we went to Wearnes Automotive Sg Besi to get these live photos.

This new CKD VW Polo Hatch is priced at RM87,888 or, if you’re among the first 500 takers, RM85,888. That would make it the most affordable Volkswagen in Malaysia, alongside the similarly-priced CKD Polo Sedan 1.6. What you see here is what you can buy.

Exterior wise, it’s a standard Volkswagen Polo Hatch, save for a few minor distinctions. The double-bar chromed grille and silver-surround headlamps are ported over from the Polo Sedan CKD, and the rear lights now have slightly different graphics. Badging has been altered too, and the rear now spells out Volkswagen.

CKD_VW_Polo_Hatchback_1.6_Malaysia_ 006

The 15-inch ‘Riverside’ wheels (the same as those on the initial batch of Polo 1.2 TSIs, before it was upgraded to 17-inch ‘Boavista’ items), shod with Apollo tyres, are also similar to the Polo Sedan’s. Likewise, the turn indicators have been moved from the wing mirrors to the front fenders.

Less noticeable are the door pillars, which no longer have a glossy black finish. The differences don’t end there either: the rear brakes are now drums rather than discs, and even the aeroblade-type wiper blades have been replaced with traditional items.

Under the hood, this CKD variant trades in the imported model’s 105 PS/175 Nm 1.2 litre turbocharged TSI engine and seven-speed dual-clutch DSG transmission for a simpler 105 PS/153 Nm 1.6 litre MPI motor and six-speed automatic gearbox combo, which is shared with the Polo Sedan.

As with most things, you gain some, you lose some. Zero to 100 km/h and top speed figures drop from 9.7 seconds and 190 km/h to 11.1 seconds and 184 km/h respectively. Fuel consumption suffers too, rising from 5.3 litres per 100 km to 6.3 l/100 km – all these despite a big drop in kerb weight (1,020 kg vs the 1.2 TSI’s 1,126 kg).

Inside, in comes the Polo Sedan’s newer RCD 320 head unit, replacing the RCD 310 in the imported car. With this change, the USB and AUX sockets are moved to the dash face, and audio will play through four speakers in here, as the two A-pillar-mounted tweeters have been deleted. Also new are automatic aircon and cruise control.

Though not publicised, the locally-assembled car’s interior carries more changes. It may look the same, but the CBU car’s soft-touch dashboard top has been swapped out for a harder version. Even the previously-part-fabric door trims are now made of hard plastics.

CKD_VW_Polo_Hatchback_1.6_Malaysia_ 046Click to enlarge.

Among the items that have been removed altogether are the centre armrest, height-adjustable front seats belts, driver’s grab handle, under-seat drawers, vanity mirror lights, rear interior lights and adjustable boot floor. Also, the front interior lights now sport a different, simpler design than before.

What else? The rooflining is now made of a coarser material, the remaining three grab handles are no longer damped and the new front seats now feature a ratchet-type rake adjustment in place of the imported car’s infinitely-variable rotary-knob system. Last but not least, airbag count has been dropped from four to just two, and the all-important electronic stability programme (ESP) is now missing in action.

You can check out the official brochures of both the CBU Polo 1.2 TSI and the CKD Polo 1.6 above for more details. The near-RM30,000 price reduction compared to the fully-imported Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI (RM114,888) will surely make headlines, but as we’ve found out, there’s more to the story than just that.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• SohaiBabiNajib on Jan 25, 2014 at 4:27 pm

So this is the piece of crap that VW-DRB is selling to Malaysians for reducing RM30k? Come on it’s 2014, and yet still rear drum brakes!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 5
    • SohaiBarisanNasional on Jan 26, 2014 at 11:08 am

I love your name bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Should have a gallery of spoilt DSG boxes!. It would fill a few fields. Maybe 2 or 3 fields if we stack the spoilt dsg boxes on each other

• labix7 on Jan 26, 2014 at 1:20 pm

later our minister said ‘Harga kereta turun’ … but actually many features & accessories are missing

• What a ripped off! It has taken away all the reasons of getting a Polo in the first place! VW M’sia, this is definitely going to be a painful lesson for treating us like idiots!

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 25, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Joker of the year. Both TSI and DSG cost over 40k, 17inch rim 4k , ESP 3k , 2 air bag 2k , etc etc. So why this cost 88k ??? not 50k meh ???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
    • springan on Jan 25, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Then you won’t get the car body. Only those items..ok?hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • Petrolhead on Jan 25, 2014 at 5:15 pm

I’d rather get the bang for bucks Kia Rio 1.4SX at RM80k or the 5 door beauty Peugeot 208 at RM86k or I’ll just wait for the upcoming Honda Jazz.. This Polo is getting boring already , it comes with lesser kits and no TSI plus it has been around for almost 4 years though

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 2
    • Chris on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Sounds like they remove half the reason why people buy a Polo here, a small premium-feel car.

Now it’s just a small, probably practical car. Might as well get the Jazz CKD, and use the left over money for petrol. Even Vios sounds like a valid alternative.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
  • DonkeyKong on Jan 25, 2014 at 4:31 pm

VW is learning from UMW Toyota.. but while the new Vios received improved interiors, these CKD Volkswagen junk are receiving downgraded interiors that aim to compete with the cheapskate and trashy Vios dugong..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • wkaka on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:07 pm

They know most of the rakyat will still buy it cuz of the brand, so they purposely follow suit. Sad. Btw, contrary to popular belief in MY, VW is NOT a premium brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Sam Loo on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Upcoming City will totally bungkus the useless junk Vios.
        Even base line City have VSA as standard,and fullspec 6 airbags.
        What to Vios have???Send to junk yard also nobody wants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:35 pm

No Avatar means imposter

• Kuzumi on Jan 25, 2014 at 4:58 pm

no need for ckd this this after all, this downgrade is shame to Volkswagen company that take care of passenger safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano on Jan 25, 2014 at 5:15 pm

They should not call this a CKD.

Call it the Polo hatch shittified and cheapened version.

ESP 2k, 4 airbags gone (2 curtain+2 side) say 6.5k, then the alloys about 5k, door trims and soft touch dash, 3k, centre armrest, height-adjustable front seats belts, driver’s grab handle, under-seat drawers, vanity mirror lights, rear interior lights and adjustable boot floor all for say 5 k, shitty headliner, 1.5k. This itself is 20k gone. Transport cost, reduced tax another 10k.

So that itself is the 30k savings.

We have not even started with throwing out the TSI and DSG transmission, heavens know how much insulation and less protection from the body shell due to cheaper stuff under the skin! TSI engine is about 20k or so (based on what people said when they had to change the engine under warranty), DSG about 10k easily, so that is another 30k saved there.

Should be priced at no more than 60k. After all, the Jazz CKD has more features than this. (VSA, GCON body etc as standard). This is nearly like a Myvi/i10 just with a VW badge, an extra 2 gears and cruise control. Oh my Volkswagen…. Bad move.

On that note, say hello to the Toyota Vios wannabe. Should be sold with a Toyota logo and by Sam Loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
  • EnergyAnalyst on Jan 25, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Another proof to show case ‘janji ditepati’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • Me can aleady see the propaganda headlines in NST and The Fake Star…” car prices reduced by 30%, thanks to BN gomen”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • OMG.. Looks like a Proton Saga, but cost 80k.. What are they thinking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Wait till THEY rebadge this to Proton, then you will get a Proton price ..

• Polobun on Jan 26, 2014 at 12:45 am

Looks like proton saga aeroback with even shorter full length I suppose, hahaha, I think vw malaysia and UMW toyota are macam abang adik, both have a good blood sucking trait that sells barebone car to us Malaysian at premium prices.

• Henry on Jan 25, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Volkswagen sales:
    2012 = 13,000 units
    2013 = 9,500 units

This huge decline tells a story doesn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Jan 25, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Toyota sales:
      2012 = 105,151 units
      2013 = 91,185 units

This huge decline also tells a story doesn’t it?

Despite 2013 total industry volume increased from 627k in 2012 to 655k in 2013.

• Green on Jan 26, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Most people have been waiting for Vios and Altis.
        besides that.

few months before launching. Toyota already stop producing Vios and Altis.. Leaving Almost Zero sales to Vios and Altis. Only some units are available which is intended produced more before Production End.

Toyota – U order, They make.
        This is for 99% of the case, except when it’s right before of the end of production. Then, they have to produce more, to sustain a small sales for few months.

U order, They make.
        Just in Time Management, this is why Most of the time, official Toyota Sales has no ready stock for buyer. but, it’s meant to produced and reach customer in a fixed time.

• dugong on Jan 26, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Nonsense. I still see so many vios with new plates every month for entire 2013. No stock konon. Every week can see so many ads vios ready stock. Fact is ppl are smarter these days. Slowly but surely.

• Vader on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:43 am

The balance old version vios sold a lot with great discount!!! so your statement zero sales is not valid!!!

• Guilt79 on Jan 25, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Our G is making sure that if the people wants safety, go for Proton because they wanna make Proton is the only car manufacturer that cares the people.

So all foreign cars will strip heavily after CKD. If like, buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • VW - Very Worst on Jan 25, 2014 at 5:29 pm

VW car sales from 13,000units in 2012 drop to 9,500units in 2013.

Guess this year they going to drop another 3,500units to just 6,000units.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • If this year sales still sucks, I am not surprised the recent change in vw top management get the boot too.

• choiiii on Jan 25, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Shame on you vw. Or is it gov?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Nazibahasa on Jan 25, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Courser? You mean coarser?

• Jayden Koo on Jan 25, 2014 at 5:36 pm

I don’t see any benefits for this CKD. The current VWM is no other than UMW Toyota. I would rather get a RIO or 208, than this empty car. Sooner or later our glamorous kangkung ministers will announce that “Seperti yang dijanjikan dalam manifesto, kami Kerajaan Barang Naik dah berjaya menurunkan harga Gula Polo sebanyak 30%, sila berterima kasih kepada kami atas jasa-jasa yang kita hulurkan.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
  • Annihilated on Jan 25, 2014 at 5:38 pm

while the previous post is all about Volkswagen Polo facelift goes upmarket, our CKD Polo goes ‘downmarket’. May I ask if a lower price of CKD cars is achieved by going for cheaper materials & stripped down features? Where is the saving from the lower tax rate car manufacturers enjoy from CKD exercise goes? Does the saving is used to cover back their CKD facility investment or they just double the profit? I appreciate if anyone can enlighten me. Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • pojie7 on Jan 26, 2014 at 1:09 am

Totally agree with you. It’s obvious that any advantages gained from CKD are not passed to consumers. Instead, the cheaper price is achieved by stripping the car almost bare in terms of both equipment and material quality. Bravo VWM!

• you’re the enlightened one :-)

• looking at the specs alone, this b-segment should cost around 55~70k….

but wtf it is almost 90k… vw are joking with us or they don’t care about the sales figure now?

• I really don’t know what to say. Even the new Vios looks like a better deal considering that it is bigger(as there is one Polo next to new Vios conveniently for me), has an option for navigation and also HID lamps. There is no advantages in safety and honestly you really need to write down an essay to show most consumer the advantage of a six-speed over a four.

All in all there are much better choice out there and I believe the Vios may just cut in front of it personally as the little Toyota looks better in my eyes….espacially the interior, no offence VW guys but the interior looks very dated even against a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Useless junk shitbox car.Not safe on the road.Hell fiesta and current ckd jazz petrol and hybrid also much better than this shitbox car. Stupid DRB bastards who ckd this polo.Pure Shitheads.This new CKD VW Polo Hatch is priced at RM87,888 or, if you’re among the first 500 takers, RM85,888.Who the hell wants it? Junk Myvi Extreme 1.5(Lagi Power, Lagi Mampus)also better than this.LOL!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • Don’t be angry. You will get RM12k discount in Dec. But it is still very very expensive !!!

• droll on Jan 25, 2014 at 6:36 pm

getting closer to the moniker of “the people’s car” :)

• Bawakereta on Jan 25, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Reduced price or reduced specifications? Kena tipu kaw2 punyer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • VGM.. you better not selling this car to cheapen yourself..

why not follow the model sold in Taiwan, 1.4NA which comes with ESP but you choose to follow the one sold in India..

• Syafiq on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:22 pm

I applaud paultan.org for pin pointing the differences between the CBU and CKD models. The price cut down may be deemed as “effort” of reducing car price by the UMNOBN gov. The fact that we get less car to begin with (engine change? poorer fuel efficiency, wth??). I seriously do not agree with the standards. If they are serious enough, cut the tax, not the spec!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • U guys are just bashing for no basis or either u guys haven’t been attending math. Pls do your calculation… Polo sedan is now cut to RM 89,888, which is 10 k cheaper than cbu, with same spec.

This polo hatchback if under ckd but same spec, will most likely priced at RM 104,888 (10k saved from duty/tax). So how does the extra 20k being saved? Of course cheaper interior material and engine.

Thus there goes cheaper price of close to 30 k. And many readers with either can’t read or can’t do their maths say it’s bloody hell not worth it and complaining ckd with different spec. Pls la, ckd itself can save 30k for car price of 114k? It’s 30k, the material changed cost u more than 20 k? And driver without rooftop holder is a.big problem? How many of u hold on to it while driving? Roof material is made of cheaper material… (as if u will touch the roof all day long).

So guys what I am trying to say that Pls do your calculation or thinking before bashing… Ckd itself is not gonna save u 30 k!!! That’s why some downgraded material.. Still value for money if u compare and ride and handling to B segment jap cars… Not to.mention the 6 speed, fuel consumption and torque as compared to B segment japs….

• Josh Ling on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:47 pm

they should’ve sold this alongside to the CBU Polo Hatch and retain all the features of the CBU Polo and make it some sort of Premium version of Polo Hatch. but i guess the market isn’t big enough for two Polos to exist together. sad.

• No.. they still continue with Polo TSI sport.. 2 version of Polo hatch selling..

• Previously, 1 packet of powder milk is rm22.50. Now still rm22.50. No price increase. Previously 900 grams per packet, but now 700 grams. No increase in price. Peoples are so happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Archangel on Jan 25, 2014 at 8:51 pm

With that kind of price and specs, better opt for Rio, 208, City and others that fall nearly in those price range.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 25, 2014 at 9:42 pm

At least VW has better RV than HYundai/KIA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 37
  • Shitty spec.. better buy saga or myvi

• Price of CKD , is that Malaysian will always get sub standard , good job go men

• Joshi on Jan 26, 2014 at 9:49 am

Basically it is an Indian spec Polo and it’s selling at 8 lakh in india (+Rm42000).

• mmaker on Jan 26, 2014 at 10:09 pm

If 3rd world country can sell this car at rm42k meaning that we are at 4th world country territory

• First of all must give a big thumb up for Hafriz for such a detailed report!! Spot out all those major and minor differences for our hard earned money on car buying decision! Hope this kind of report can be made whenever there is any car turn from CBU to CKD in future (i’m waiting for mazda3 report hehe).
    Back to this Polo, it seems that the specs is even lousier than the Polo Sedan, apple to apple, for small hatchback, there are lot of other better choices such as Rio and Jazz, anyway the Polo Sedan still sounds sensible choice for me.

• qwerty on Jan 26, 2014 at 12:42 pm

See,who say BN is Barang Naik.

• truely malaysian on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Ahmmm qwerty,

You must be still in kindergarten, after VW minus so many stuff you still refuse to accept the fact. Price reduction by turning CKD means everything else offered before are still there. Now this is call “cutting corners”. Anyways, I don’t think you are the type of people can be “wake up” one…

• cabin on Jan 26, 2014 at 12:43 pm

This car will not sell well. Price should be 10k less. For those who think vw is the same as T or H….most likely haven’t test drive it be. Have been using a ckd polo sedan for over a month. ..it can out corner most of the popular Japanese cars…high stability. ..u have to try for yourself…but the power delivery without the turbo is sedate but once at higher speed….It gives u a confidence hard to find in most of the popular non national cars : )

• German Proton…

• fique D on Jan 26, 2014 at 4:03 pm

good spec for rally soon to be cars…
    Why dont just sell us just driveworthy chassis.. Hmm

• farizY on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:33 am

So, my fears have actually came true, when gov said they wanted the companies to reduce car prices, this is what we get, bare minimum cars.

• Hilux! on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:48 am

rather get 208… Polo is A or B segment?

• Hilux! on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:54 am

VW should give 6 airbags and VSC anyhow, else just cant justify why buying this which is without DSG and TSI. Nothing to compromise!

• Hilux! on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:57 am

if 208/Rio comes with 6 speed(probably face-lift), it beats this hands down. In fact, most of its rivals. For now 208/Rio safety is still superb in B-seg with 6 balloons and anti skid control.

• truely malaysian on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Aiyo VW, how much cost is a small little tweeter…tak lepas juga

• Wolluap on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:50 pm

There are so many haters and rage out there, and I can understand all these rage are due to the M’sia lopsided national car policies. But a car is just a car, can’t afford it? Don’t buy it. Not value for money? Why bother commenting. A piece of junk? Well, it’s business after all, profit maximisation is the name of the game.

I thought VW Malaysia is very smart doing a Vios strategy, business wise. Yes they may not be able to con any or all of PaulTan reader to buy this CKD Polo, but then again, you guys are not the target market.

As for me? For 20 years that I have been driving, I never buy any new car, regardless of brand. And never pay more than RM20k for a car, but then again, that’s just me. Therefore, to me, all this CKD is really really good value for money, 10 years down the road that is. Just like Peugeot 208, 120k first launch, when Bestari came out second hand value dropped to below 20k for a less than 10 Years old car. And that is what I call value for money. Citroen Picasso, anyone? All the latest tech (10years ago) for around 10k, and still got airbags, ESP, ABS… Etc. CKD? Yeah bring it on :-)

• kancil power on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:46 pm

haiyaaa buy kancil n drive la….

• lazyzhaic on Feb 18, 2014 at 3:02 pm

I’ve checked with VW salesman in EM, the RM88,888 offer (CKD Polo Hatch & Polo Sedan) is only valid for those cars registered under year 2013. So, is it sales clearance?