DRIVEN: Mitsubishi Mirage 1.2 GS tested in Malaysia

Mitsubishi-Mirage-Car-Review-3

Long has it been since the Japanese carmaker put out something significant for the masses, and I’m not talking about the i-MiEV. The ASX was the last fresh vehicle that rolled out of Aichi. Even then, the small car you see here isn’t even made anywhere near Japan.

Instead, the Mitsubishi Mirage is made in Thailand, then shipped to its markets around the world. And for that reason, strict quality standards are maintained. The resulting workmanship is respectable, the panels seem glued shut to the frame and the lines aren’t out of alignment.

Mitsubishi-Mirage-Car-Review-4

The Mirage’s formula is simple. Make a car that is light enough to have the small and frugal engine not feel underpowered while making the school run. It also needs to be cheap enough for first car buyers to afford.

Which is why I can understand that some panels, especially the door cards feel light and hollow. And the seats and steering wheel, well they could use a little more padding. Still, the goose-pimply dashboard never feels brittle or flimsy. It would seem that a good amount of stiffening has been poured into the material to at least make it feel solid and substantial. What’s good is that the places that you come into contact frequently with are soft and tactile for comfort.

Mitsubishi-Mirage-Car-Review-8

No jest, the cabin is a pleasant place to be in. You sit taller than you’d expect – the low belt line plays a part in this too – which gives you excellent all-around visibility. But persons of larger proportions might find accommodation tight and they could even encroach on the personal space of others. Yes, this is a rather small car and the interior space reflects that lack of extra elbow room. Surprisingly enough, this car has some legroom in the rear to spare. But only just.

Look behind the rear bench and you’ll find a tiny boot space; its depth is about the length of a shoebox, maybe a bit more. It will swallow groceries quite nicely and if you need more space, the rear seats can be folded down. And of course, you get the usual pockets that are handy for storing odds and ends.

Mitsubishi-Mirage-Car-Review-16

Under the lid, you’ll find a rather modest 1.2 litre three-cylinder engine. This bantam mill produces 77 hp and 100 Nm of torque that travel to the front-wheels via a CVT gearbox; a five-speed manual option is also available. Right about now, you really need to abandon all thoughts about the Mirage of old; this car isn’t built for driving exhilaration.

But it isn’t as bad as it sounds. The car is rather light, weighing in at a feathery 850kg. It would seem that Mitsubishi has adopted the light is right philosophy for its new baby. To a certain extent, it works. There is enough power for good initial acceleration and it does get to highway speeds with relative ease, albeit the cabin does get noisy at speeds.

Mitsubishi-Mirage-Car-Review-20

Lightness also brings a degree of agility, which is quite evident when you chuck it around the corners without fuss. However, the fun diminishes when you realise that there isn’t enough power to pull the car out of the corners quickly enough. With that said, its talents are much better employed in parking lots, where its ant-like turning radius can be put to very good use. Yes, it takes nearly zero effort to drive this car.

There’s one more thing that needs to be highlighted – fuel economy. Mitsubishi claims that the Mirage will only need one litre of petrol for every 2 1km travelled. It works out to about 4.76l/100 km, and the real world figures don’t stray too far.

Mitsubishi-Mirage-Car-Review-6

In some cases, like travelling interstate on the highway, it is said that the Mirage can achieve figures that’s better than the claimed 21 km/l, which will really stretch the range of the 35-litre fuel tank. And this puts it in direct contention with hybrid cars, especially those with a sub-RM100,000 price tag.

The Mirage is a decent offering from Mitsubishi. Aside from some concerns regarding its material quality, lack of boot space and power, there isn’t much to complain about. If you’re looking for a first car, or an upgrade from something smaller, you might want to add this hatchback to your list.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• downsys on Jan 26, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Nice review. Would love to know how it compares to the Attrage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Josh Ling on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:15 am

it felt more alive and agile and better performance, a lot more i must say, than attrage, although the dimension and all the figures don’t suggest a difference that huge. could have been due to the run-in issue also, as the attrage i tested was quite new by then. but still, if given a choice, i will take mirage without any hesitation at all, since i am still single. it’s my top favorite small car in 2013. attrage is only for those who really need some space, and find the price of a mirage is too steep.

word of advice: don’t judge a book by its cover. go test drive yourself if you want to know how it feels. i didn’t what to expect before my test drive, and only could use attrage and some of the things i read online as my reference, yet still was blown away by this small car. the way it could go all the way to 150km/h in one acceleration without some serious stretch simply made my day!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Aerro on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:05 am

This eco car Mirage and Attrage should be given tax rebates RM10K discounts.

But those fuel thirsty cars like Proton must be punished with extra tax RM10K instead.

That’s how MITI promote good and bad FC cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
    • As usual we Msians get trash and not like the Mirage sold overseas. Why we Malaysians always kena tipu. Our lives not important ke to gomen??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
      • Please don use name ID…do u ever compare boleh spec n thai spec? u be amaze especially the lowest aka cheapest variant..

• What is the real FC from the test drive?

• Green on Jan 26, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Hi.

100% pure city driving, no highway.
      18km/L @ 1 driver.

for highway, u can hit above 25km/L at 110km/h, quite easily.

Similarly to Attrage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • Xplorer on Jan 28, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Wow! 25KM/L at 110km/h – Amazing!!! My City CVT around 15-16KM/L with 2 Adults + 2 Kids.

• Aerro on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:21 am

What is the real price if MITI not kacau it from Thailand price?

RM10K less? RM15K less?? Why?? MITI itself anti competitive price??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • e-Ber on Jan 26, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Does it have 5 star Australian NCAP?

• Green on Jan 26, 2014 at 11:06 pm

the 6 airbag, ESC version got 5 star ANCAP.

Altough this mirage doesnt come with full safey features. At least proven the body structure is well built to protect passenger.

In comparison, Accord with more safety features, only score 4 star ANCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • lithium on Jan 26, 2014 at 11:39 pm

you cannot make a comparison directly as the mirage and accord are diff class. accord is heavier and bigger with larger crumple zones where as the mirage is a super compact. a 4star d class is safer than a 5star compact. you can check out youtube videos on crash test pitting a bigger car and a smaller car like camry vs yaris etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • Aerro on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:06 am

I know, next thing you wanna bla bla bla is Preve 5 star ANCAP

Stupid macai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
        • iskhalifah on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:40 am

Dear Sir
          Please stop blind bashing & labelling those who backed Proton with the term ‘macai’. Only Trolls do that.

When a car scored a tough crash test assessment with full marks, it really deserved praises no matter its a Kia, Chery or Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • vincent on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:23 am

The EuroNCAP, ANCAP system doesn’t work that way, a 4 stars ANCAP Accord doesn’t mean the structure lose out to a 5 stars VW Polo. The stars system is only comparable within the similar weight group.

• iskhalifah on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:36 am

The 5 Star ANCAP & 4-star ASEAN NCAP rating is for the side & curtain airbag equipped model.

• Obviously on Jan 26, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Now this is a review that I didn’t expect to see, seeing as how the Mirage had already been test driven in Thailand so I thought that this would be a more thorough review.

It was a rather short review, though, and much of what is said can be gotten elsewhere if one has been following on the car. Personally, I feel as if more could be said about the car and the lack of real details like drive impression (aside from low power and agility, i.e. smoothness, NVH in comparison to other popular hatches, etc.) makes the review *seem* rather halfhearted. Maybe this is a form of “bring up my post” for Mitsubishi.

Will one for the Attrage come in the near future?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • policeman on Jan 26, 2014 at 8:26 pm

I just noticed the exterior door handles look a bit low down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • fareast on Jan 26, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Driven team can make a video to compare this mirage with suzuki alto, kia picanto or maybe the future proton compact.

• Hate to say this…but the kia picanto will pawn the A segment.

6 airbags, esp, good nvh and good ncap score.

• Heskey on Jan 26, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Why can’t you just say the fuel consumption figures as tested?

• Obviously on Jan 26, 2014 at 9:01 pm

To some of the those commented above, it does have a 5-star Australian NCAP rating:

http://www.ancap.com.au/crashtestrecord?Id=510

Locally, it has a 4-star ASEAN NCAP rating:

http://www.aseancap.org/mitsubishi-mirage/

• frogman on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Yes, it may score well in aussie but don’t forget the malaysia spec is without esp, no 6 airbags. Those features contribute to the safety score. If malaysia spec are to be tested, it might not even score 2 stars.

• Christard on Jan 26, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Bad review – totally pointless of copy from broucher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • Ash Crimson on Jan 26, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Judging from your comment, I wonder if you really understand the article.

• sktan on Jan 26, 2014 at 9:31 pm

for the person can afford slightly better new car but cant afford petrol

• So can it make 30km/l in busy Kuala Lumpur?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • Low Budget on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Might as well buy a golf buggy to drive around Kuala Lumpur.

• Chris Ong on Jan 26, 2014 at 9:45 pm

I had a Mirage GS for my lady swapping from an old Gen.2 MT.

This car never come into my view as I was planning for a Prius C, until she brought back a brochure and show some interest.

I will go thru the list as far as I can recall.
    1. FC : Surprisingly, the FC is as good as my CR-Z MT (avg. 18~19km/L), despite she will have to gone thru the both morning and evening MRR2/LDP rush hours, compare to I travel only after 10am and before 4PM.
    2. Drivibility/Handling: Nothing much to shout about for me. She like it, despite the body rolling and long brake paddle distance. Perhaps the Gen.2 and occasional CR-Z driving experience still sticks. The Mirage is a relatively taller car, compere to both Gen.2 and CR-Z.
    For me, the turning radius is small, steering input is quite direct, just lack of road feel.
    On highway, 120km/h is the max I did, cross wind will affect the car, it’s not a highway speedder, follow the speed limit.

3. Transmission : Okay, I am not fan of CVT. But my usual gradual acceleration input do click well with the CVT, you can’t floor the paddle and expect the car to accelerate, it won’t work. All you you get is raise of RPM.. but speed still raise gradually. So no point. Put the power on nice and early like a F1 driver, you will see it accelerate.

4. Engine : 3 pot engine, no significant
    vibration compared to the P2 Kelisa and Kenari series (no offense, that’s the only 3 pot engine I driven before), not as smooth 4 potters I driven before (Campro, 4G18P in WAJA, and the LEA in CR-Z).
    But it’s fine for me, just the noise level is on the high side, probably due to lack of sound proof material.

5. Build quality/ Cabin Space : Well, I can appreciate the build quality of the car, having a declared port value at RM25K (if I not mistaken, this is a CBU car, it comes with a AP), can’t complain much. Proper finishing, no real visible gap, firm installation of cabin components.
    Cabin space. Well, probably my illusion, at it’s size, it’s as good as an Gen.2, period. :D
    Yeah.. boot space is a big loss, but I don’t care, and she don’t care, we never have to carry huge object.

My 2 cents, how that help for anyone who read this seriously..

One last thing, I seen the Attrage, I think the front grill is just too much.. the rear.. eh.. Not to my liking, I prefer hatch backs/wagons :D.
    But I do have a friend who share the same opinion as above.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 3
    • Dregen on Jan 27, 2014 at 12:39 am

Bro. Thank you. Rare kind of comment in PT lately.

• Obviously on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:26 am

Adding on some points, while flooring the pedal won’t net you the sudden increase in speed you expect, the gradual increase in speed does become faster. :P

*Experience as an Attrage owner.

• Aerro on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:13 am

6. Engine is timing chain just like Vios or Myvi. Cheaper servicing cost in long run.

7. Rear seat a bit cramped, just like Attrage but big enough for adults.

8. Interior plastics feels smooth like Myvi not tacky rough like Proton.

9. Front seat a bit flat, those used to sit in bucket seat will not like it.

10. Battery is quite big, bigger than those used in Myvi.

• motorhead on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:12 am

Thx for review. . Kinda like it.. but after read your review I ll stick to my Myvi.

• iafmcfe on Jan 26, 2014 at 10:20 pm

chasis look like savvy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • nabill on Jan 26, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Looks dated already….i mean see what design u get with da picanto n i10 n dis looks old n lame…..i honestly rather have any of the koreans…screw RV bcos at dis price range no one in his right mind wd think of rv….
    And u wil hate dat cvt trust me,u wd be longing for da 4speed auto in no time…how mitsubishi have fallen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • Aerro on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:14 am

You prefer 4 speed auto but later you bash Vios too. Funny macai

• nabill on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:29 am

Cmon ,show atleast 1% inteligence,i compare da 4 speed to dat aweful cvt….u knew wat i meant bt u had to show ur eternal luv for vios right? Pathetic

• whitegoh on Jan 26, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Paul Tan should do a comparison review between Mirage vs i10 vs picanto vs myvi/viva. I think lots of people who are considering A segment car need such review very badly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Aerro on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:17 am

Mirage surely the big winner on FC, 2nd place to Picanto for being full spec safety and worth your money.

But then MITI forced Mirage price extra RM15K despite zero import tax from Thailand AFTA agreement.

MITI is against Competition Act 2010 for being car price fixer.

• Samad Jain on Jan 26, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Cutely weird. Not the best colour for this car though

• I agree with Chris but have worse interpretion though i actually like Mitsubishi brand, sadly Mitsu just can’t provide a killer product just yet…
    “Concern regarding material quality, lack of boot space and power” -> not desirable, not practical and lack of drivability (not just based on reading, I test drove it), the only good points left i can see is fuel consumption (indeed very good) and reliable build quality. Believe that buyers can still have other choices in that price range.

• Aerro on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:19 am

“Believe that buyers can still have other choices in that price range.”

If MITI not kacau the price from Thailand RM15K less, this car easily 2nd top sales after Myvi.

• Archangel on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:34 am

Nice review. Hope too hear review for other model such as Attrage and ASX (CKD) in the future.

• Battu on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:35 am

Nice review, but really Paultan need to add more review to its content, not just news, as PT is an automotive blog. And please review a car timely, really appreciate if u could review a car close after the launch. It will help people in decision making.

• Obviously on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:23 am

I’m sure they do try to review a car as close to the launch as possible but the circumstances don’t always allow it, you know? They’re really busy folks, judging from one of their end of 2013 posts.

Plus, I have the feeling (might be wrong) that people are not really interested in this car.

• Sorchai on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:13 am

I was looking at the car on a roadshow.

The engine bay was not painted. I am OK with that actually. The problem is that there is overspray from outside and some parts had a bit of paint and some parts don’t. I know they want to cut cost but at least do it more professionally. Even local spray paint shop do a better job. Some more this is at the factory.

• Margaret Chong on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:54 am

This is my 2nd car after my previous P2. I must say despite all the shortcomings, I am a proud owner of the MT version. I felt I had more control over the car and not driving a brick on the road. It’s light and hip on the road! It does it’s job right on the dot in terms of fuel economy (I have no complaint) when everyone else is complaining of their next fuel pump trip which is my major number 1 concern

• Denaihati on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:33 pm

21km/l is good fuel efficiency. if have CKD or proton do rebadge this model of course will reduce the price, bring it down to RM40k or less i think. it is a great choice.

• Thai cheapest variant oni 1 airbag without abs+ebd+ba, without radio+speaker, power windows oni front cost RM38k++..imposible if ckd can below RM40k

• nubians on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Nice review.. Can you make review for mistubishi Attrage as well… Interested more in sedan than hacthback, want to how it compared to mirage..

• You sure it can claim 21km/l. All this manufacturer claim in closed test room but in reality, probably 11-13km/l in kl city traffic.

Just like how nissan always like to do fuel test challenge and claim the crap car can hit 25km/l for livina. Please lar in reality, probably abt 10km/l in city traffic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • art248 on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:59 am

on highway, proper driving i guarantee you can reach at least if not more than 21 km/l.

kl city traffic, depends how you drive, 10-15 km/l on average. if really bad traffic (aka 2 hours din move) nothing to say la, short of using an electric car, the fc won’t be so good.

honestly, this car has taught me to be gentle with my right foot lol, changed my driving style and do it properly, you will like the cvt box alot, i think mitsu has done proper work on its response etc. and the cvt seems to work very well managing the ratios even when going up genting. power delivery seems good and i did not feel like the car was really struggling; granted you won’t be doing much overtaking but take it slow and steady and you will find it pretty rewarding with the feeling that it has more to give. i had a pleasant trip up and down genting with this car.

ride comfort is pretty good, more comfortable than myvi tho abit more road noise and according to my friend whom has sat in a fiesta, mirage is more comfortable than a fiesta

source: i have a mirage. almost one year ownership now, mostly city driving with the occasional highway and still loving it, tho road noise bugs me a little and some small things but nothing important that affects the driving and safety.

well to each his own, every car will hv something that bugs you in one way or another. but all in all a pretty good car, but for equipment wise the picanto wins hands down. just wish the mirage was a tad cheaper, its unfortunate for the tax thing.

• Last week I have booked an Attrage 1.2 GS and going to sell my old 135,000km Vios J. Previously, Vios is a good economical car and suit my Eco style with average 15-17km/l. I hope this Attrage can give me more economical and safety than Vios J.

• Finally I upgraded my horse 2009 Vios J to 2013 Attrage. Below are my personal views after driving for 500km and still 1st tank of fuel:

1. Paintwork is not fully cover the body piece inside the engine compartment especially the engine hood. Paintwork generally look great from the outside view but you got “2 tones” for the hidden spot.

2. Many colleagues of mine have bad perception for a 3 cylinder engine. During idling, the 3A92 is really “shaky” but thanks to the engine mounting to dampen the vibration. Now the question is how much is the cost for engine mounting and also it’s life span as for the excessive movement.

3. After a week of driving, my best fuel consumption that I achieved was 15-17km/l for town driving. Tried a short stint of 20km highway drive, the computer trip showed average of 20.3km/l. I set the air cond to 26° Celsius, engine rpm below 3000. Most important, your foot must be gentle on the throttle pedal.

4. This is my 1st time to drive a CVT transmission car. The so called rubber band effect does exist in this car but only experience when the speed from 20-40km/h. However, if you press the throttle pedal right e.g after paying the toll and accelerate and you won’t feel the effect. From my experiment, keep the rpm at least 2500 and I don’t get the effect. The pickup is adequate for single driver without passengers. Since my engine is still in break in period but I have a feel that the car can be very fast and strong after rpm hit 3000 and above.

5. I can’t comment the handling of the car now as I need time to adapt after switching from Vios J. Initial, the body roll is beyond my expectation. I change the seat position for a few times as the design have limited lumbar support. I lowered the tire pressure as I got the car with very high tire pressure from the sales centre. Then I changed the height of the steering wheel so that I can have optimum comfortable seat position and I feel confident to make sharp turns. No matter how, the body roll is bad if compare to my old Vios and agreed by my passengers. This car needs driver skills to drive in aggressive mode. Surprisingly, I feel Attrage is more comfortable to drive than my old Vios after the third day. I did missed my old car after a day and two :)

6. The car undercarriage sound proof is poorer than my old Vios. I just don’t like the sound of the suspension when the car hit certain potholes. It will sound like a “gong”. Speed bumps, uneven road, etc are fine for me. Overall cabin insulation is good when I switch on the Kenwood HU to elimate the CVT, engine and outside noise.

7. Attrage seems more premium than my old Vios in term of digital stuffs. The HU, keyless operation system, digital aircond, EBD brake system, auto-fold side mirrors (my colleagues wow for this and pray that it won’t spoil easily) and the most significant are leather wrapped steering wheel and gear shift :) It lacks of coin compartment, arm rest console (ask SA to order for me) and luggage boot tray (ask SA to order too).

I just hope the car is problem free and less maintainance cost for years. I’ll give two thumbs up if the resale value is high in future.

• nazif on Jun 30, 2015 at 9:43 am

not a friendly car, tyre got pierce through and took me to travel around kl to find that unique tyre size 165/65/14. end up changing the size.

• berat on Dec 05, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Aq rasa kalau aq bawak keta ni mmg kuat mkn minyak sbb keta ni berat la..77hp? Aq kalau keta lambat pikap mmg aq stress..jdi secara automatiknya aq akan tekan pedal jauh ke dlm utk dpt pikap yg aq inginkan..jdi aq rasa, disebabkan aq terlalu tekan pedal ke dlam, kereta pun berteriak, akhirnya minyak pun berjalan lancar

• cikgu lancer on Dec 20, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Salah. Keter ni guna gearbox jenis cvt. Tu pasal org x biasa pkai, rasa cekik minyak. Contoh, seseorang nak overtake dan follow blkg keter org lain dgn jarak yg sgguh dekat tapi suddenly heavy footed, so minyak pun cekik la. Minyak laju je mmbzair, tapi acceleration sgguh lmbat. Sila study maksud rubber band effect in CVT gearbox. X faham gak? Bawak motor scooter V100, dan buat mcm tadi. Cara nk laju bawak CVT ni, dari jauh dh amik step nk overtake. Sblum terlupa, CVT ni belting getah, cvt keter lak jenis lain iaitu jenis belting getah yg dlmnya ada rantai besi. X boleh wheelspin ye tuan