DRIVEN: Ford Focus ST vs Renault Megane RS 265

focus-st-vs-megane-rs-37

While they didn’t quite invent the concept, French carmaker Renault do take their hot-hatches rather seriously, so much so that it operates a separate division – called RenaultSport – to build them. That’s where the RS initials come into play in the RS 265 badge, with the numbers representing the hiked horsepower figure for the 2012 Megane RS, a model that first came out in 2009 as the RS 250.

But at the same time, the above facts do not make the Ford Focus ST the newer, outside contender either. It isn’t a set of wheels without its own lineage as the Blue Oval have produced a number of memorable fast small cars since the 1980s. What the two have in common in the present is that they are both after a clientele of moneyed geeks who love motorsports tech in their daily driver, and also the ability to take that car of choice to a track day meet every now and then.

focus-st-vs-megane-rs-35

Lift the bonnet on the Focus ST or the Megane RS 265 Cup and you’ll be greeted by a common formula: front-wheel drive, a slick six-speed manual shifter and a 2.0-litre four-cylinder with a single turbocharger. As a result, the power outputs are not that dissimilar between the Focus and Megane, with the Renault topping the power and torque tables slightly by offering some 265 hp and 360 Nm compared with the Ford’s 246 hp and 340 Nm of urge.

To achieve this, Renault Sport have upped turbo pressure in the Megane to 2.5 bar, while the air intake design has been revised to take the higher pressure and higher running temperatures into account. Specific power is now at 132.5 hp/litre while goodies like the mechanical limited slip differential (LSD), Perfohub independent steering axis front suspension and RS Monitor (an onboard telemetry system that lets drivers track and adjust vehicle parameters) are carried over from the previous RS 250.

focus-st-vs-megane-rs-40

The Focus ST’s EcoBoost mill, meanwhile, delivers maximum power between 2,000 and 4,500 rpm – with a brief surge of 20 Nm coming on with kick down over-boost – while the Renault’s peak torque arrives at 3,000 rpm, although 80% of that is available from just 1,900 rpm! Both cars provide great tractability and immense mid-range driveability with no issue of turbo lag, making city driving absolutely effortless. Both contenders give you linear acceleration and bags of fun on clear highways, byways and occasionally, even speedways!

So it certainly looks like the Renault wins the battle of power and torque, at the expense of higher fuel consumption with official figures of 8.2l/100 km. But if you’re buying a hot hatch, fuel economy might not be your top priority, right? Sheer drivability should be your focus, but for reasons known only to Renault the “Sport” mode button is hidden on the side of the dash and not clearly marked! But once you find it though, you’ll unleash the full potency of a brilliantly flexible and responsive engine.

focus-st-vs-megane-rs-32

Give this Megane room to stretch its legs, and its talents shine through. Its turbo engine provides the thrust to showcase the chassis’ brilliance, and while the powerplant stages a strong performance in its own right, it ultimately plays a supporting role to the star that is the RS 265’s chassis. That is not to say the engine is somewhat mediocre or average; far from it. Scintillating in-gear acceleration is readily available from just past 2,500 rpm and the powerband remains strong, even past 5,500 rpm where peak power is produced.

The RenaultSport also does the 0-100 km/h about half-a-second quicker (6.0 seconds vs 6.5 seconds) than the ST. A sudden stab on the gas pedal in the Frenchie also guarantees a noticeable change in throttle response (making it perhaps a tad too touchy for close quarter city driving), the exhaust burbles on over-run, and the electronic stability control (ESC) threshold is instantly raised.

focus-st-vs-megane-rs-48

In-gear performance of both cars are particularly special, with the Focus feeling the strongest off idle, from 80-120 km/h and upwards. Seemingly out-gunned by the Renault, the Ford has certainly has more than enough grunt for a hot hatch. It also wins plenty of points because the car officially pegs a consumption figure of 7.4l/100 km. And a space at the top of the charts also belongs to the Focus ST which charges along with an addictive bassy growl that resonates rather nicely in the cabin, while provoking a lot of double takes street-side! Who needs the darn stereo when you have this ringing in your ears all morning, yeah?

But once away from city traffic, in relatively dry conditions, it is again the Renault that feels and looks the quickest with its 18-inch wheels in matte black that sport curved spokes and an RS logo, an update from the diamond-badged star-spoke wheels of the previous RS 250. In its element, the Renault displays the type of slingshot acceleration out of corners that can leave the driver grabbing at both superlatives and expletives! Don’t forget, this is, after all the sister to fastest front-wheel drive car that has ever lapped the Nurburgring – the Renault RS 265 Trophy. Now, having something from the same family that is far from being a slouch with it’s very similar performance can’t be too bad, yes?

focus-st-vs-megane-rs-27

Head for the twisties, and not many cars hold up to a well-driven Renault of this sort. The fast and accurate steering is alive with feedback and inspires confidence for point-and-shoot shenanigans, while the punchy engine offers a broad spread of power that makes overtaking a breeze. A snappy gearshift also makes the most of the engine’s performance, while responsive Brembo brakes bring the Megane to a halt quickly and consistently every time. Suppose the downside of this stunning performance is the fact that the unrelentingly stiff ride can become extremely tiring – but then this isn’t a car that’s designed for pounding up and down the school or grocery run… sorry wife, or kids!

Meanwhile in the ST, the unfortunate reality of the front-wheel drive performance car is clearly felt. Rev it up and feel a delicious rush of thrust turn into a bit of torque steer and other assorted FWD misbehaviour but regardless, the ST’s steering is also quick enough and very accurate. And while this Ford that is shod in 18-inch alloys and specially-developed 235/40 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric rubbers foregoes a mechanical limited-slip differential, it has another trick up its sleeve – an electronic torque vectoring system that minimises understeer. So in the dry it gets its power down well enough and high-speed driving is mostly refined, with the odd reminder that you are, after all, driving a 250 hp front-drive screamer.

focus-st-vs-megane-rs-47

Fortunately, there are also plenty of driving aids present in the Ford as well. First there’ s a variable ratio Sport Steering System, which reduces steering sensitivity when driving in a straight line and increases sensitivity when cornering. The car’s electronic stability programme (ESP) features three distinct modes – drivers have the option of keeping ESP on with a tuned version of the system found throughout the Focus range. Next, a reduced or wide-slip mode disables traction control and activates ESP only when absolutely necessary. Finally, ESP can be switched off altogether, if you’re into that sort of fun.

Other items include Torque Vectoring Control (TVC), which applies brake torque to the inner wheel through a corner to reduce understeer and Cornering Under Steer Control (CUSC), which applies torque to create yaw torque based on the vehicle’s understeer behaviour prior to ESP, both in power-on and power-off conditions.

But jock tech aside, future owners of either car will be living with them on a day-to-day basis, and not just keep them as garaged, track-day specials!

focus-st-vs-megane-rs-46

In this regard, the RS 265 Cup looks very civilised and ready for a night out on the town with a smoked headlamp look and daylight running lights. Inside, it’s a similarly classy theme with gloss black trim (AC vent surrounds, steering spoke, door grips, centre console), carbon-effect finish for the door cards and a shiny top for the gear knob.

Also, the edges of the fabric Recaro bucket seats are now in leather, making it more resistant to wear. The audio head unit is a newer item that integrates USB and AUX-in. Top marks for everything inside… the complains only come when you, or your passenger, try to get in and out of the car’s very low set pair of doors more than three times a day! Of course, there’s front, side, rear airbags to boot, just in case…

focus-st-vs-megane-rs-43

Meanwhile, in the Ford, with your bottom firmly fit in the Recaro sports seats, you’ll find the ST to be a rather snug place to be; in a good way. The seats do extremely well to hold you in place when you’re going around corners, they absorb the bumps from breaking your back, and keep you very connected with the drive.

Apart from a few ‘ST’ badges here and there and a sunroof above your head, it’s a very familiar environment to the current run-of-the-mill Focus; with its ergonomically confused but pretty dash cluster, tiny display screens for all your music and drive data, and the same nifty compartments and storage areas. The Recaro seats and sports steering wheel with ST badges help illustrate the fact that you’re not driving a regular Focus, but feel awesome and contribute greatly to what’s to happen soon after you’ve pushed ‘Start’. Other kit includes six airbags and a cap-less refuelling system.

focus-st-vs-megane-rs-31

So at the end of it all, which car should the moneyed motor geek go for then?

Perhaps the one who lives life to the fullest and appreciates no-holds-barred racing weekends will find the RM234,526.80 (OTR without insurance) price tag set by importers TC Euro Cars for the Renault RS 265 Cup a bargain still. And serious performance the Renault has, but trying to live with one may just prove to be a tad too hard on your wallet, not to mention your back! Perhaps one should think of it as that awfully hot trophy girlfriend you’d love to score, but probably shouldn’t for the sake of your continued well-being.

So, nevermind it comes in at a close second on the performance sweepstakes because certainly the Ford Focus ST’s versatile five-door layout, RM208,888 (OTR with insurance) price, a three-year/100,000 km warranty as well as Extended Service Plan (ESP) maintenance programme, good for three years or 60,000 km will be a difficult package to resist. After all, whoever’s heard of a weekend racer with access to corporate sponsorship money?

Ford Focus ST:

Engine: 2.0-litre turbocharged petrol
Transmission: 6-speed manual
Power: 250 hp @ 5500 rpm
Torque: 340 Nm @ 1,750 rpm
0-100 km/h: 6.5 seconds
Top speed: 248 km/h
Fuel economy: 7.6 l/100 km (combined)
CO2 Emissions: 172 g/km
Weight: 1,362 kg

Renault Megane RS 265 Cup

Engine: 2.0-litre turbocharged petrol
Transmission: 6-speed manual
Power: 265 hp @ 5,500 rpm
Torque: 360 Nm @ 3,000 rpm
0-100 km/h: 6.0 seconds
Top speed: 250 km/h
Fuel economy: 8.2l/100 km (combined)
CO2 Emissions: 190 g/km
Weight: 1,393 kg

Ellfian Rahim

Ellfian Rahim is just hopeless with directions, thus keenly follows GPS tech in his spare time. Loves big sedans and K-Cars equally well, and will easily demolish a meal for three in record time. He's been in publishing since 1992 and now writes for Malaysia's longest running English language men's lifestyle title, and does translation work for some extra beer money on the side.

• kerusipanjang on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Focus ST. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • to get a focus ST you need to have a period every month?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 38
      • suprimau on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:41 am

My suprimau S literally can smoke all car due to the bad engine that produce black smoke. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 216
    • blackbox on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Only left foot disable drive DSG. Boring…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 10
    • lonelyobserve on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:31 pm

For fair and square comparison, Golf GTi mk7 must be equipped with manual transmission (available outside Boleh Land) just like Ford Focus ST and Renault Megane RS265.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • if you wan to smoke these 2 with Golf, you need a Golf R, not GTI..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 1
    • Michael on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:32 pm

My A45 AMG can smoke your GTI in reverse gear…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 13
  • nordin on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:49 pm

my evo can smoke all three all the time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 17
  • Are hot hatches really in sports car class?

• Focus, Golf or Megane RS, all of of them has tiny boot. Not so versatile.

I drive my Ferrari when i want speed. I drive my Vellfire when go out with my family. I drive my Audi A6 Hybrid for work.

Oh my fantasy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 44
  • Mk7 gti cant even smoke a bmw 328…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • can smoke..
      0-110/120 the golf 7 gti may have the edge..
      but once 110/120 >> 250 then the f10 328 will have the edge (due to +HP and +gear ratios)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Enthu on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:35 pm

And how much does a 328 cost?

*facepalm*

• Ash Crimson on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Wowzers. Literally drooling over these hot hatches but the stick shifts turned me off. I suck at driving a manual tranny LOL. Performance aside, I’m rooting for the Megane but the Focus doesn’t look half bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • dodgeviper88 on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Am seriously considering a 2nd hand renault which is pretty cheap considered many of them are barely run in (10k km). However I’m also doubting the reliability of the renaults. Anyone who has one care to share?

• Megane on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Why not ? My Megane has reached 65k …the 10k service is about 600 while the 60k cost me 3.5k . Reliability – so far generally problem free . The driver’s feeling will leave you smiling everytime . Avoid the traffic jam and be gentle with the brakes haha they’re expensive

• hijau on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Wait till you ask for spare parts or get into accident. Your car will be literally stuck there for 6 months or more.

• Megane on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Hijaumg car was involved in an accident and Renault Pj took 6 weeks to repair . Talk about Vogue story lah u nie

• Megane on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Bogus…typo

• Salesman detected. Please lar. I got fren who drive renault megane who get into accident coz char kuay driver chasing me in ulu yam. That another story. His car was stuck for 4 months. So, am not surprised of the story of 6 months.

• shawal on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Hot Hatch Shootout~!
    Awesome~!
    Both are equally desirable
    but only the focus can be your sole daily driver and track day weapon..
    Hot hatches are FWD , go faster bits , manual box, and a rowdy engine, zig zagging thru the corners

Sport cars are RWD , with tendencies to go oversteer

• lonelyobserve on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Like the British car casters say, hooligan friendly or going sideways.

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Renault all the way. Built in the same factory that build their formula F1 F2 F3 car, what can you ask more ?

• mmaker on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Make it in video la, we wanna see Paul Tan & Harvinder driving these hot cars. And then Sam Loo come out with his camry ~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • kangkong man on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:58 pm

both overpriced. quoted at US$23K at ford.com for an ST, malaysians are paying 3X the price. most of it going to the cronies and taxes. use the money for buying properties and in less than 10 yrs, the value will double but the car will be worthless then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • not just bolehland but all ASEAN country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Ignore them kzm, they can always (s)w/h/ine and bark. I don’t understand why people always compare with US (USD23K = RM76,900), in UK Focus ST starts at GBP21,995. That’s around RM122,000 after conversion, yeah cheaper than Malaysia but still more expensive than US. So the question, why US?

This trends not only found in PT but I’ve came across the same kinda comments in Australian auto sites as well. Perhaps the commentators are Malaysians, who knows hahaha.

On a side note, I love both cars’ dashboards, just as I love those in CR-Zs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • thats correct….when people cant afford to buy expensive car, their will blame the government…inflation affect all asia…proud to be malaysian….

• you sure kzm?
        is brunei a part of asean kzm?
        been to brunei kzm?

sure, mustn’t compare to brunei. must compare with zimbabwe, mogadishu, somalia. right kzm?
        riggggghhhhhtttttttttt……

• SpongeWai on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:00 pm

watch out my fav car is new gen Honda Civic Type R coming early next year

• Sam Son on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Both also no resale value. Renault only sell 40 cars in year 2013. Year 2014 1 car. Can close shop.

Ford slighly better resale value than renault. But also very cold car.

Better buy toyota Ae86. Got resale value, reliability and after all, it’s the world no. 1 brand. Recession time i can use my ae86 to sell tofu too. Your ford and renault can sell wat, probably have to fake burn or push into klang river to claim insurance money. No wonder insurance claim is so high with all this cold car. Nobody buy, burn or push into klang river and report stolen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
  • ahmadjohnson97 on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Two great fwd cars. Too bad, not many Malaysian notice it as compare to Golf GTI.

• yogan on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:02 pm

S4 recond is priced the same.. surely both would left behind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Gavin on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Lol be warned of sdac after sales service. My boss took 3 days off last week because Ford said they needed that much time to fix his Ford focus. After three days they returned the car and couldn’t solve the issue. He totally disappointed.

How old is the car you’re wondering ?

6 months old

• I’m an owner of a heavily abused ex-demonstrator 2003 Ford Lynx RS since 2008 (I know, it’s not a proper RS but what the hell it’s fun and quick), and it’s TOTALLY USELESS to go to SDAC if wanna service or fix my car. They don’t know shit abt their cars.

So Ford owners, if you really love and wanna run your Ford for many years, learn how to DIY and fix everything yourself. Find a specialist for more serious things. Don’t forget to find a reliable parts supplier/importer, and keep some stock in your own house. You might get some migraine too.

Cheers.

• spongewai on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Honda Civic Type R will match against Golf GTi, Focus ST, Megane RS265, 308 GTI and V40 Polestar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Archangel on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:25 pm

Both car have their own characteristics (pros and cons). For me, the Focus ST design is more appealing but the Megane RS 265 Cup is more power. Overall, nice review. Love it.

• Great write up.
    I think the ST comes with 5 yrs warranty, not 3 – at least thats what the Sales Advisor told mr

• Gooner on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:12 pm

megane rs is a lot more sexier compared to the focus st.love it!!

• So how’s the Toyota 86 going to fare out with this two hatches? I don’t know but if I have that money, guess I’d be better off with the Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Enthu on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:38 pm

the 86 does not have better performance. Handling is the department that it scores beautifully with the RWD fun.

• AbsolutKev86 on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:24 pm

had the 86 last year and sold it to get the ford for more space.

tbh, the 86 is more of a DRIVER s car. not much luxury, not much practicality but loads of fun. yes, power is less but why want more? it s not a car for straight lines but for winding roads. sitting position is painful to get in as i am 6’2″ but once in, i ve never sat so low before, perfection to me. the short shifter is really short, the steering is small and precise. i cant ask for more. if i can afford again, i will but it again.

i got the ST cos i bought a house and needed to let go of both my car, 86 and another (no need to mention). to compromise carrying family and still have fun i got the ST. its not the best family car due to its size, its not the best performance hatch, it s not the best handling, it had bad driving position (set the seat height to lowest and still it feels a lil high)but it s the perfect compromise. heck, it even oversteers of course not power oversteer but lift off pedal oversteer.

performance wise, ST will smoke the 86, u can really feel the difference. handling, due to it s sticky tyres, ST goes faster around the corners. so it s up to u really.

all cars are good if it is good for u. to some 86 is slow, to some it s fun.

• ragnarock on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:07 am

Hey Kev, hows the ST going after 2 years? i’m in a similar predicament as well. Am weighing between an ST and the FD2R, but comments on SDAC’s service record is not really good. however, FD2R’s maintenance support seems to be more easily available with many experts around….albeit with a high selling price!

• Denaihati on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:58 pm

this is millionaire car for weekend use only…hee. Renault Megane RS 265 Cup looks more sportier. but max torque Ford Focus ST: 340Nm at 1,750 rpm, i think this will hiked your adrenaline to the maximum.

• Iguana Egg on Jan 28, 2014 at 12:09 am

A veloster turbo will give focus st and megane rs a very hard time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 36
  • redbull_F1 on Jan 28, 2014 at 12:27 am

PARIS — Renault (IW 1000/80) said on Tuesday that its sales rose by 3.1% in 2013 to 2.63 million vehicles thanks to accelerating performance by its low-cost Dacia brand.

• Steve Kok on Jan 28, 2014 at 12:38 am

Renault I’m not sure but Ford service center very bad service. I reckon they will not stock parts for the ST. Anything major will have to wait 3 to 4 months for parts.

• farizY on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:43 am

Spec wise, both evenly matched, but price wise, almost RM30k difference. I love how the Megane looks, but the Focus would be much more practical.

• Focus ST vs 2015 Subaru WRX

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCVA7_6uzZ0?w=300

• fatchicken on Jan 28, 2014 at 4:33 pm

The NEW WRX is the KING of mountain road !!

• _xXx_ on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Focus ST…..30k USD. You can’t even buy a particular krappy national make here with 30k USD.

• GT-Rider on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:24 am

Thanks for the review for the kiddie rides..the kids would luv both, but just dun block the road ok. Keep to left lane if not overtaking.

• Gracke on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:40 am

Both are definitely all about practical, handling, performance and only for drivers!!!! Good machines!

• johnjjj on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:47 am

Ellfian Rahim …and does translation work for some extra beer money on the side. <– eh? u drink beer?

• paucharsiew on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:51 pm

wish one day malaysia is capable of doing a shootout between this, and the subaru, maybe some mitsu evo, seat leon cupra, octavia vrs, opel astra opc etc etc

• amirad on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:00 am

These are the cars I would love to drive but don’t have the guts to own. 6 speed manual, 250 bhp and sweet handling. The heart goes for the driving joy but the mind wants ownership experience. In the end, the mind overwhelms the heart.

• Ellfian Rahim on Feb 18, 2014 at 1:07 am

Well johnjjj, it’s kinda hard to snort it… kan? Better off drinking beer from a chilled glass I’d say.

• My 991 t s would easily smoke this. bloody meganes cucuk me and think they god, would kena my smoke anyway. same goes to those bloody gtr ah beng owners, cucuk but no balls to actually rev it up

• wellendowed on Mar 12, 2014 at 12:40 am

No one bother with your ride whether it smoke or being smokes.But I shocked that the host are so open minded and admit that he himself drink beer.

• focusing22 on Mar 31, 2014 at 9:34 pm

I gonna choose ford focus st because,if u drive it full trottle, the speed can reach 260 km/h (peak force)and its not that bad. :)