First look at 2014’s odd-nosed Formula 1 contenders – Ferrari, McLaren, Lotus, Williams, Sauber, Force India

01_2014_Ferrari_F14-T

Here’s a first look at the 2014 Formula 1 cars, as Ferrari, McLaren, Lotus, Williams, Sauber and Force India have all revealed their latest contenders. They’re not pretty, to say the least, with all the new regulations imposed this year. Welcome, F1 fans, to the silly season of 2014.

First up, Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen’s ride for this upcoming season – the Ferrari F14-T. No, the name doesn’t spell out FIAT, but is an abbreviation of F1 2014 – Turbo. But really, who cares what it’s called anymore? Look at that nose!

09_2014_McLaren_MP4-29

It makes the McLaren MP4-29 looks rather decent in comparison. Sleek it is, but pretty would be pushing it, even for die-hard fans. With Ron Dennis back in charge, it’s no surprise that the car is painted in 50 shades of grey. Jenson Button and newcomer Kevin Magnussen’s main objective will be to do better than last year’s disastrous campaign.

The Lotus E22 takes a two-pronged attack on the 2014 season. Like literally. Your eyes are not deceiving you there – the two ‘tusks’ are of different lengths. The longer one forms the main nose tip and crash structure, while the other is an aerodynamic device.

16_2014_Lotus_E22

Next up, the Williams FW34. The drooping nose, already dubbed the ‘anteater’ is similar in concept to McLaren’s solution, though less classy in execution. Both the British teams decided to launch their cars without their full race liveries, as they’re still trying to work out sponsorship deals to replace the ones they’ve lost (Vodafone, PDVSA).

Also revealed so far are the Sauber C33 and Force India JVM07, with the latter featuring new colours. The 2014 Formula 1 season starts in less than 50 days, in March 13 to 16. Hopefully we can all get used to the new cars by then.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Mclaren cars: hmmmmmm……

• McLaren’s 2014 car. Literally
      https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bevp9PZCMAAzS_S.jpg

• F1Noses on Jan 27, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Haha..Mclaren car’s nose looks like giving you the middle finger !

• hither on Jan 27, 2014 at 3:37 pm

the nose like a steam duck.. if u guys know what im saying

• AutoFrenz on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:03 pm

I love all the noses…esp the one with the clits…ooopsss…its a middle finger actelly…sorry guys…try again…

• heybadigol on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Usually, every January/Feb, i will download all the pictures of the new F1 cars for my wallpaper. This year, I think I’ll be putting up pictures of 60s F1 cars. Cos 2014 is a bad year for F1 design, aesthetically.

You have penis nose for some. Lotus has a vagina nose. Im sure there’ll be people wishing for a McLaren to nose up into the Lotus hole and give Grosjean & Maldonado a piece of their mind. And Ferrari has a beluga whale nose. The Force India looks good, but mind you its only a side profile. Not sure how it will look like from the front.

And we havent even heard the sound yet, which is bound to be weak as well :(

I hope the FIA does something about this. Maybe force the teams to come up with more pleasing nose, or else a 10 secs penalty will be added to every pit stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Hondaman on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Got turbo maa… Sure can make woosh..woosh sound..hahaha

• Say Who? on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:34 pm

the sound…

Renault Engine – Caterham
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cY2E3ZZr00

• fairsyah on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:12 pm

turbo car must have weird nose to inhale weird air to win weird title in weird race.

• farizY on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:17 pm

There will be a “nose” measuring contest come Melbourne opening race..LOL…

• Archangel on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:27 pm

F1 2014 definitely will be a silly season with that silly nose design.

• andromidas on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:28 pm

ferrari-airbus beluga LOL

• SpongeWai on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:36 pm

McLaren “anteater” nose

• Looks like something fell on the ferrari and now its nose is bent! or the material sagged.

• Ash Crimson on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Welcome back turbocharged F1. Senna must be crying in heaven right now.

• 8sg9ft on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:14 pm

All the noses are so damn weird, especially if viewed from the front of the car. At least Force India’s colours look more striking this time.

• If last year have platypus nose this year will be the kiwi nose…..

• Chris on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:23 pm

And I thought 2013 cars were ugly. 2014 season win outright.

• fenzo on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Like tapir nose look pun ada

• FormulaNose on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Those noses will be forgotten when they win GPs.

• superbird #43 on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:10 am

i wonder how does the v6 engine in these cars will sound like.
    no more v8 and v10 for all of us who enjoy this motorsport event.

• Dr Tony Moffett on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:50 am

Over the last years more comments have been made about the shapes of the noses of F1 cars. The wind tunnels essentially make the decisions over the shape. They are not there for cosmetic appeal, rather aerodynamic efficiency. That is the bottom line.

• All look awesome.