Hyundai Veloster Turbo – Malaysian-spec car spied

Hyundai Veloster Spy Msia-05

The Hyundai Veloster Turbo has been spotted on local roads again, one week after it was seen cruising around Putrajaya. This time, reader ‘Hachiko Kamileo’ caught up with the same registered white test unit, parked by the side of the road. Our pixman of the day even managed to poke his lens into the cabin.

If this is an indication of the Malaysian-spec Veloster Turbo, manual air-con is the order of the day, like the standard (non-Premium) M/T and A/T Veloster. Also familiar are the seven-inch TFT touchscreen audio system and smart key with push start button, located at the base of the V-shaped centre stack.

The leather-wrapped steering wheel has buttons for phones via Bluetooth, but not cruise control. This car also has front parking sensors and an ECO coach function. Also in sight are buttons for front seat ventilation, a feature not found in the regular Veloster. Expect a panoramic glass roof, too.

Hyundai Veloster Spy Msia-10

Previewed at KLIMS13, the Hyundai Veloster Turbo is powered by a 1.6 litre T-GDI engine with 184 PS and 265 Nm of torque, available from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. Compared to the standard Veloster’s 132 PS/158 Nm, this turbocharged coupe will have proper pace to match its striking looks. The unit seen here is a six-speed automatic. A six-speed manual is available in the UK, but not in Thailand.

The KLIMS13 spec sheet listed a 0-100 km/h time of 8.4 seconds for the 1,330 kg car, but Hyundai UK quotes the same time for their 6 M/T version, so the auto should be a tad slower than that. We’re expecting 18-inch alloys, VSC and six airbags from the Veloster Turbo, which has already been spotted at JPJ Putrajaya. Shouldn’t be long now.

Want the performance but don’t fancy the Veloster’s unique concept? Korean sister Kia Cerato Koup, which has a more traditional coupe shape, will also be launching this year with the T-GDI engine.

Hyundai Veloster Turbo at KLIMS13
Hyundai Veloster Turbo at JPJ Putrajaya

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Potong on Jan 27, 2014 at 12:55 pm

can smoke the useless junk Neo r3 kow kow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 49
    • HidupProton on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Pppuiiii…. how do u know? U already buy the car? In Malaysia, u need skill to smoke other car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 43
      • ProtonCannotSmokeAnything on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:45 pm

in 1 out 20,maybe yes. on highway,you dont need any skill.lulz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • plotongkoman on Jun 12, 2014 at 1:20 pm

NO MONEY GO BUY PLOTONG LAH.. NO TALKING TALKING HERE..just put cheap big rims n ride like katak.. Again, NO MONEY GO BUY PLOTONG LAH… Hehehe…

• not only Neo R3….. smoke Golf Mk7 too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 27
      • Waitwut? on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Are u being sarcastic?golf gti has more torque and horsepower right?

• heyyyy, Sam didnt mention Golf GTi ok…he only mention Golf MK7 which means Basic Golf.

• maybe he was referring to the 1.4 tsi version?

• PotongLu on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Hey lu Potong,r u afford to buy this one to smoke R3 neo? go trade ur kancil and topup money 1stla…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • kotong on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:47 pm

comparing turbo with NA? nice try……………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • If you think straight line speed is everything about a sport car, then you are wrong! Neo R3 is not about power, but the handling! Go drive one before you comment! It is proven by many enthusiasts that it has superb handling! I drove it and it is awesome! People nowadays only focus on specification on paper, numbers on paper only tell part of the story!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • DonkeyKong on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:53 am

Try driving a Neo that’s been transplanted with a Mitsubishi 1.8 GDI turbo lump.. you’ll wonder why the hell didn’t Proton come out with such a giant killer..

• plotongkoman on Jun 12, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Try driving s golf mk7 transplanted with a veyron engine then u will know..u’re really a donkey maaa…

• Comparing with NA Proton ah? LOL

To be fair, this should be compared to Neo CPS + OEM Proreka Sprintex supercharger (R3 supercharger that wasn’t officially sold). 170hp on stock CPS, 200hp with R3 Stage 2.

8.3secs 0-100 for a turbo? LOL a cheap Suprima in S-mode can do it in 8.6s (don’t tell me Proton official figures, they understated it to avoid legal action for overstating)

Very disappointing for a funky styled turbocharged car. If the NA Veloster already costs RM130k+… better get a Focus ST. Or a 208GTi if you’re on a budget. Or a supercharged Neo R3 if you’re really tight.

• hehe can’t wait to smoke this fast-looking veloster using my 125i

• MkTan on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:19 am

wonder why proton haven’t put in the petronas engine e-01.. what r they waiting for?? i dont get it! I long time d awaiting to see the outcome performance on the street.

• Samuel Tong on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:10 pm

I don’t think CRZ is able to match this car performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:27 pm

crz is a wannabe…how can u compare that with veloster…only crz drivers with big wings and low bumper will consider crz a s a kereta sukan…just like they consider that poor insight as kereta sukan too…just bcoz they add in a rear spoiler and change the rims to make it sporty…nice try though…nevertheless majulah kereta sukan untuk negara…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
      • Insighters on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Bro u sounded like u be been smoked by an insight before this, poor you LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • RedCRZ on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:54 pm

of course cannot la. u compare a puny hybrid engine with turbo. The CR-Z is direct competitor to the NA Veloster, not this turbocharged one. the CR-z is not really a performance car to begin with…

• Compare apple to apple please, CR-Z is a NA only added with the assistance of Electric MOtor. If CR-Z is fitted with turbocharger, I doubt veloster could match it’s performance though.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:24 pm

I dunno, the design just isn’t working for me. Too messy, with a hodge-podge of confused lines all over. It doesn’t look modern nor does it look sleek. That oversized “mouth” makes it look like you’re gonna use a good part of the 265Nm of torque to overcome drag.

• _xXx_ on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:30 pm

AT gear box, FWD. Please laa…

• Hasan on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Danny, by that u mean cerra koup is coming to our shore?

• TalkTalk4 on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:01 pm

suprima vs veloster

which will be the winner?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:58 pm

The only way stock suprima can beat this stock tiny beast is to upgrade the tuning to Stage 2 or higher. If not than just play play at Genting Road using manual shifter at high RPM. If cannot, just stop dreaming being a racer. Drive safely instead.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:55 am

The first step is to ditch the Punch VT3+ CVT that is still the major bottleneck that prevents the full torque output of the CFE engine from being unleashed..

• Hopefully our nasional car will catch up to the korean standard soon …. wake up proton !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • KangKung Man on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:38 pm

adam,

Can! Sure Proton can catch up .. after they fired those “existing lazy staff” and dun keep hoping for our Gov to “feed” them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • kotong on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:49 pm

they should fired you first?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
        • ProtonManager on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:20 pm

proton staff detected!

• mahchan on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:18 pm

minum teh 10 times a day, kacau factory gals every 5 mins, lunch 3 hrs, every monday sure mc, once a month sure duuno who passed away…emergency leave….

how to catch up???

• Low Budget on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Looking by global sales figures of both companies, we could say that Proton need perhaps another 30 years to catch up if not overtake the Koreans, may be by that time too, the “China Men Cars” becomes world top 5 selling cars, don’t forget we also have “Indian Men Cars” trying to burst out from India.

• khairulx19a on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:30 pm

rare car to see on our road

• farizY on Jan 27, 2014 at 3:05 pm

I saw one standard Volester in Jusco Mahkota Cheras, looks better in the metal.

• _xXx_ on Jan 27, 2014 at 3:03 pm

I think those who can’t write simple English should get fired first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:18 pm

really aaa…but then nobody will be commenting here except for english teachers from trinidad and tobago…and paul tan will become paul the sotong…auwwww…im so aflaid my engrish not so good i cannot komen wo…pipel will laugh at me…so how…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Low Budget on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Most visitors on this web site are Malaysians, so you can continue to write whatever Inggerish you like.

• ushit on Jun 12, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Donno write in BM better go to tibet lah…

• Interior Plastic Materials look kinda cheapskate.Sat inside the crz and this beautiful car.Crz’s interior is much better build than the veloster, seriously.But who cares, its up to the preference of the customers wants, needs and choice.

• Jayden Koo on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:00 pm

I believe current and future Sonata owners will be very happy if their cars are powered by this turbocharged engine.

• Archangel on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:12 pm

No cruise control? That’s a bummer.

• Smokie on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:14 pm

One word (Ugly)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Low Budget on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Beauty lies in the eyes of beholder, therefore there will be takers for this model.

• With the removal of tax exemptions for imported hybrids…. maybe can consider this over the cr-z now

Lets wait for the prices and see

• langdon on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:40 pm

In the 2nd photo, carpet mat on top of a floor mounted accelerator pedal. On a turbo charged car this is a recipe for disaster….

• that proves korean cars are ignorant and only meant for hair dresser not for enthusiast.

• Maserati on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Rubbish car with rubbish performance figures.

265nm torque but 0-100 in 8.4s? Thats disgraceful!

The interior is filled with cheapo disgusting looking plastics. Plus hyundai chassis is horrible.

Drive a elantra and u will know how bad it is on the highway. Now they put a turbo in a veloster? Hahahaha, expect it to take corners worst than a Vios!

Lastly the price is gonna be 150k which is darn pricey for a piece of junk from Korea. Avoid at all costs!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
    • David D on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Firstly, if you call the car rubbish, so are you. Anything Korean comes out, you’d bash it till kingdom come, but smack a Japanese badge onto this, and you’ll be all praises. Reeks of sheer hypocrisy, eh Maserati?

Secondly, automatic cars, with the exception of VW’s DSG-fitted cars are as expected, slower. This car works better with a manual ‘box, which is miles ahead of driving fun.

Thirdly, one look and you say its hot horrid plastics, and a horrid chassis? Well, what do you expect? ‘Top-grade, gold standard’ Vios materials? This is more of a left-field car, just like the CR-Z, but with more practicality and better ease of use.

Fourthly, if an Elantra handles like crap, the Vios is worse. And don’t get me started on the Saga, which even in base SV form easily licks the Vios clean. So what, if they put a turbo into the Veloster? If it was a CR-Z, you’ll be heaping praises instead of biased hate. Obviously, you drive these cars with biased minds, hence the rubbish you say.

Lastly, 150k? Well, i will put my reservations on that as they havent even declared the official pricing. And people should avoid you, Maserati instead of the car.

Need i say more, Maserati? I rarely comment these days, no thanks to people like you, Sam Loo and the lot of trolls and bashers who make this place a stressful one to be in now. But, your lame, baseless bashing today has tested the limits so far.

Remember, one finger pointed out, ten comes pointing back at you. Grow up, you pathetic adult!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 13
      • Maserati on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Eh david d, pls lah. From the pictures can obviously see its cheapo quality plastics. U blind?

Plus korean manufacturers like to bullshit about their car specs. And of cuz CRZ deserves heaps of praises. It might be less powerful than the veloster turbo, but who cares when it is just so fun to drive.

It makes u smile everytime u get into the car! And just one look at the CRZ dash, and u will feel its just a joy to look at.

Compared to this crappy veloster, this veloster is an embarassment, an insult and a disgrace to car lovers all around the world.

Pls david, i invite u to go test drive the CRZ first then the Veloster and see how many years in terms of technology the Koreans are behind the Japs in terms of building cars.

Lastly, learn how to accept that Korean cars are ultimately bullcrap at this moment in time. They sell based on specs and looks.

But real car lovers know how to see beyond the surface. Heck, didnt u Know Korea is the best place for plastic surgery? Go figure lah pathetic kiddo Hyundai salesman!

Gluck selling pieces of junk !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
      • alonso on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Haha david, just ignore this maserati guy..maybe he owned a korean car before from the previous era. Heartburn until today..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:25 pm

One just wonders if he really driven those car that he condemn kau-kau or just, “bal,bla,bla.. Korea au-tah”.
        At least we do know and understand why some people bash Proton, this is bcos of their past experience with owning a Proton.

• Bob_B78 on Jan 28, 2014 at 11:18 am

Did a little checking on Veloster Turbo performance.
      The one coming to malaysia is the lowest spec turbo version. 8.4s for manual and 9.0s auto was rated for this spec. Based on this, the auto version is dissapointing. The rest of the C-segment cars is faster than this car(auto). Bring in the top spec Veloster turbo (200bhp, 0-100 under 7s) and performance is something to drool about

• gavin on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Well won’t be cheap for sure, expecting 170-180?

• Driven it in Germany and I must say it’s very stylish. 3 door asymmetric layout is certainly not my taste though. Weird.

About the performance… it’s quick but not what you expect for a 1.6 high performance turbo. No match to a Pug 208GTi. I would say it’s “cukup makan”.

Handling and dynamics is quite good but a little skippy when trashed around corners. Suspension is ok but the chassis doesn’t feel rigid. On a normal drive it feels like the tyres are welded on the body and unbearable (to me) for some occasions. It seems like Hyundai tampered with the suspension settings and did nothing for chassis rigidity.

Steering input is ok, but I wish if it’s hydraulically assisted than using EPS. Feels numb on some occasions.

I say, it’s a nice car but not meant to be trashed hard in autocross event. Quite a shame because a “hot hatch” should do it very well.

P/S: I hate the shifter. Can’t get into first gear fast enough without some jiggling, most of the time it goes into third or locked halfway. Gotta push slowly and gently. I thought it was the car’s fault, but the same story happens on the other 2 test drive cars..

• tombyron on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:39 pm

no cruise control??
    no buy lah..

• Johny on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:43 pm

agree can smoke the useless junk Neo r3,, even Suprima S also haha,, Hyundai good Job

• Berann on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Dashboard a lot buttons but look messy and cheap. Unlike CRZ a lot buttons yet looks classy and better quality. High power but only 8.4 sec? vs Crz 9 Sec.. hmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • in bolehland, Normal Veloster is priced at veloster turbo’s. i dont want to thk how much veloster turbo gonna cost

• This one is not a sports car right?

• superbird #43 on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:33 pm

i bet it will smoke my ’70 250ci Firebird pretty much like wira mivec, saga vr4, corolla 4age and honda vtec did.

• Samad Jain on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:09 pm

looks kinda cacat. Something isn’t right, but can’t tell exactly

• RS265 on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:13 pm

WOW!!Fuel type only Ron97 supported

• adilzz on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:06 pm

kereta ni ada 3 pintu ke….2 kiri 1 kanan…mcm cacat jer….

• AlbertLee on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:33 pm

The front of the car resembles a big PIRANHA’s mouth, how could you car specialists out there miss this?

• spied?? more like the driving himself took the picture!!

• seems unjustifiable but merely an online posted pic.

but the interior does look, unveiled after its outrageous styling, a bit cheap. Performance numbers seems decent, looking forward to a proper test drive to see how the package offers.

The most outrageous bit is that of the arse. looks like a character from ben10’s

• Nelson on Aug 10, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Is the kia cerato koup really launching this year? i have waited until now..but no further news about it..can anyone tell me? thxxx