MOSTI to issue special ‘1MCY’ number plates

mosti-1mcy

The Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI) will issue special ‘1MCY’ vehicle number plates to promote MOSTI Commercialisation Year (MCY) 2014, Bernama reports.

According to MOSTI minister Datuk Dr Ewon Ebin, 370 units of the number plate would be issued following Cabinet approval. “Once approved, vehicle owners can start buying the special number plates at the Road Transport Department (JPJ) at a stipulated price,” he said.

Apparently, the number plates make use of GPS technology – exactly how has not been revealed – and material that can reflect light. The number plates would only be issued this year and there are no plans to continue after MCY 2014, Ewon said.

Meanwhile, the MOSTI minister said a target has been set to commercialise at least 60 of its R&D products each year. He said the ministry was confident that over 360 innovative local products from various industries would be produced by 2020.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sorchai on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:02 am

Number plates that can reflect light? My father’s car used to have that in the late 80’s and it came with the car, standard (from Proton).

Only thing special is the GPS thing. So, they track how fast you speed? Which highway you use so can increase toll price on the popular highway?

Or which untolled roads you use, so that it is not resurfaced to force you to use tolled roads?

Sorry for being cynical! :) But that’s just me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • Penipu MOSTI on Jan 27, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Bunch of jokers in MOSTI. MOSTI should be pushing for VSC and more airbags to make cars and consumers safer. They should be pushing for cleaner diesel because most of the health issues in Malaysia are solely caused by fumes from Euro 2 diesel

But the clown in Mosti can come out with shiny number plates. You know why? It is because the contract to make this shiny number plates will be given to the kakak ipar, anak saudara, adik saudara, of the Menteri or Director General of the relevant department.

He will make one plate for RM10 but charge the government RM100 per plate.

That is how the government of Malaysia works.

Hello MOSTI, airbags and VSC save lives. We Malaysians are being cheated by the government and car companies giving us only 2 airbags when all over the world, the same model has 6 to 8 airbags for one third the price of the car sold in Malaysia.

We pay 3X the price of the car, yet, VSC and Airbags are taken away because our lives do not matter much to the government and MOSTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Out there have more things to improve in our auto industries rather than this number plate thingy, there are more important things to do than this hanky panky things that do not bring value

• Doggy on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:05 am

Good move! It would be lovely if they also come out with 1ROSMAH 1SYEDMOKHTAR and 1CRONY soon. I would definitely bid for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 32
  • But the plate can be easily removed. Don’t think it will work….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • But the plate can be easily removed. Don’t think it will work….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • kereta_lembu on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:26 am

Great! More reasons to dig more money from the public, especially the RICH. So, I guess this is a win-win situation. Gov comes up with more exotic number plates, RICH people pay over the odds for it then we can use the money to subsidize petrol. Hmm, doesn’t work that way, does it? I always wondered where the money made from all the number plates go?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • school, health care, road, petrol subsidy, certain food subsidies..etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
  • Beat the traffic on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:48 am

‘MCY’ !??! What is so great about the number ? Chinese friends most pantang about alphabet ‘C’. C means die in Hokkian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
  • Dr M and Cronies on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:51 am

Those idiots in the ministry really nothing better to do is it ?

At least go and do some friggin research la, publish some journals la, improve on mankind la … etc.

Instead of coming out with all this number plate bullcrap ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Black Dog on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:42 am

This is one of the easiest and fastest way to collect funds lah.

The cops will be more and more ‘pusing kepala’ with so many types of plates. And it’s not uncommon to recognise the wrong number by the victim in a hit-and-run accident. I’ve kena once before.

• Henry on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Anything to screw some money, anything.

• kamarulKL on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:55 am

1)In Malay, macai is “kesetiaan tak berbelah bahagi” ..loyalty beyond the boundaries of reason, and sometimes seeks to justify the acts of their leaders, although they are clearly wrong.
    2) Da Ma Cai :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • cinaKaya on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:03 am

i want 1antiLGE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
  • macam macai je bunyi nye ;p

• mustafa on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:21 am

sounds like 1MaCai to me….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • KillBox1Alpha on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:32 am

Another quick money making scheme

• Why do we need a car plate with GPS and light reflection?

• Actually, most that buy will be GLCs or GOCs. So WE pay for it. Silly lah these things.
    Also opportunities for people to buy tax free in Langkawi and drive in mainland without detection.

• Ministry of “science” should come up with better ideas in scientific matters rather than issuing a “special” license plate number. Please…don’t put ur ministry at the same level as the ministers in Malaysia

• plate ah beng suka complaint takde ke?

• pearjai on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Uiks ! U put gps sensor and u said where is it ! ?…

• KangKung Man on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Sounds in Hokkien is : Want “Aim Si Wa” = Want to Targeting Me !!!

• Malayu, Cina, Yindia?
    hahahahahahahahahahah
    (no intention to be racist)

• Archangel on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:26 pm

That’s rather weird the number plates make use of GPS technology.

• superbird #43 on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:41 pm

MOSTI suffers a catastrophic brain drain i think….

• Samad Jain on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:11 pm

just another way of scheming off money…..

• Cun Jaguh Bola Tampar on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:45 pm

thumbs down to MOSTI & Ewon Ebin..

• hadi75 on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Another get rich scheme???