Perodua to launch “new model” second half this year

perodua-ceo 028

Perodua is set to launch a “new model” during the second half of this year, company CEO and president Datuk Aminar Rashid has revealed. He said that the model is a completely new model, and does not replace any existing Perodua vehicle in the current line-up.

At a Chinese New Year lunch with members of the media today, Aminar said that the “new model” will be built at the new Perodua Global Manufacturing plant located next to the existing Sungai Choh, Rawang facility, while its gearbox would come from the E-AT plant at the Sendayan Industrial Park, Negeri Sembilan.

“The new plant (at Sungai Choh) that we are currently constructing is physically (building and structure) almost 90% ready,” Aminar said, adding that he hopes the plant will be ready by the middle of the year. “We are also building a new test track, which is an extension of our existing test track, at a cost of around RM65 million,” he said.

The exterior of this “new model” will be designed in-house by Perodua – the design of the upper body is being worked on at present, Aminar said, adding that the new plant is focusing on QCD (Quality, Cost and Delivery) and this also involves the entire supply chain, including vendors and dealers.

The P2 head also confirmed that Perodua’s first sedan model, previewed by the Buddyz concept car at KLIMS13, will not be coming out this year.

Aminar added that the recently-launched Perodua Alza facelift has garnered around 8,000 orders as of last week. What has surprised Perodua is that higher-spec variants are more in demand, and the company is tailoring its production schedules to meet this demand.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• sudonano on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Plot twist: it is the sedan that Theophilus Chin designed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • We need spyshot! ..kinda boring to see p1 spyshot every week..we need to see new tapes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • If price RM40K I’ll buy it…cheap, good FC and reliable.

at least no more Proton lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 44
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Yeah its true…ita a sedan…they r going to rebadge toyota crown and name it perodua mahkota and it comes with 2 airbags and 1 stering…expect price to b higher with the one with stickers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
      • sudonano on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:35 pm

And there will be the super-special-diamond-mega-ultra-limited-rare-sport-power-M-S-series too.

All it has is some plastic bits and a sticker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:00 am

I bet they’ve scrapped the Buddyz indefinitely. It’s the best way to ensure that Perodua doesn’t fail monumentally. They might as well re-appropriate the Toyota Etios platform and give it a new look + new interior (Perodua has moved in the right direction for the interiors of late) and pair it with the excellent 1.5-liter DVVT engine and a new CVT tranny. It might even put a dent in vios sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • takNakP1 on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:07 pm

“What has surprised Perodua is that higher-spec variants are more in demand”

I am not at all surprise because use the spec to spec price variant is not very huge what more to say after it is divided by 9 years x 12 months. So RM5000 difference becomes less than RM50 monthly repayment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • I heard that in this year Bank Negara will change car loans to a max of only 7 years with minimum down payment of 20% for new cars.

• takNakP1 on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Portong & P2 & many others dealer will scream their lung out

• lemme guess..Perodua Buddyz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • rifle on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:17 pm

The exterior of this “new model” will be designed in-house by Perodua – the design of the upper body is being worked on at present, Aminar said, adding that the new plant is focusing on QCD (Quality, Cost and Delivery) and this also involves the entire supply chain, including vendors and dealers. The P2 head also confirmed that Perodua’s first sedan model, previewed by the Buddyz concept car at KLIMS13, will not be coming out this year.

Didn’t read it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • "mark on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:58 am

of course not the buddy since PT said “new model”. see the (“) mark. this must be another facelift.

• The Knight on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:05 pm

He said that the model is a completely new model, and does not replace any existing Perodua vehicle in the current line-up.

• you believe that?

• driver on Jan 30, 2014 at 1:05 am

P2 has never produced anything new. They just know how to rebadge and price it extremely high.

• Oh god i hope not.

• Lam guan engg on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Peroduo always got good plan.the market share increase year by year.
    Good job..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 42
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:33 pm

See guan eng orso supports perodua but later he will smoothly backstab the company…oh well thats the norm in dap…sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 43
  • HeShowedMeTheAccordana on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:14 pm

ya right.

is probably myvi with a new bumper + spoiler or viva excluxclusive version

p1 will kick ur ass soon p2 with the launch of accordana

at least we extend the body of the car when we launch ‘new model’

remember persona? aka gen 2.5 :) *Wink Wink in girls generation style

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
    • Proton? hahah…. the high volume model also you all lose out. With your accordana how many can buy? Even people with money also don’t want to buy because of the Proton brand. Look at Inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 17
      • HeShowedMetheAccordana on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:04 pm

like it a not. we proton are here to stay :)

as long as BN are in power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
        • Gently Speaking on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Proton are hear to stay with Accord?

Proton Inspira – Proven Failure.
          Isn’t?

How to u guarantee Proton Accordana – successful.

I expect Proton Accordana, at least RM110k.

with this price, I dun think people would choose a Proton Badge.

in the end, Low sales, again.

Proton Should use Honda Engine, for Saga, GSC, Preve, Exora.

then, Got chance to see Proton grow. Not only locally, but internationally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
          • HeShowedMetheAccordana on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:17 am

basher will always be basher

what else can i say

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • Low Budget on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:27 am

Not so much on the engine. Proton should concentrate on quality control on assembly lines and also the quality of accessories parts.

• pirlo on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:37 am

i support proton. but i hate BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • ShowMeYourProcord on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Do whateva you wanna do. Protons’sales are way down in the drain if compare to Perodua. At least their Myvi is still number 1 selling since 2005. Look at you Proton Inspira “Super Premium” . Add on R3 bodykit, sportier rim and ah beng sticker stripe on the body, need to add another 10k = RM102k. are u out of ur mind? u go to sunway area , u can get better looking car with way cheaper price than what u are offering. crazy price positioning. Even the new Alza reduce their price. Proton supported by BN. thats why. Perodua standing alone behind Daihatsu. BN will always makan duit selagi boleh !

• bekas perutdua on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:04 pm

perodua standing behind umw as well. go through the profile of the chairman, tan sri asmat. see which company he is holding the position in.

• Potong on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:32 pm

My guess is lagi best Perodua Viva

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:29 am

Fuel consumption much better than most other makes and comfort level much better than “kap chai”

• Hopefully something good… something that’s better than Myvi… A new Daihatsu??? A completely new Sedan??

• Low Budget on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:31 am

They should phase out MyVi, way too many on the roads with same shape but different grills and bumpers, eye getting sore already.

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 27, 2014 at 5:55 pm

So, use japanese engine again. Good choice for lazy company with lazy R&D team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 24
    • Benjapon on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Producing an engine seems very easy for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • Hahaha on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Nt lazy. They dun create their own engine cx ltr ppl complain here and there jux like wat proton is facing now =3=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • dereks on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:08 am

I know Campro CFE VT3+ is better than TSI DSG. Since VW Saga Aeroback is ‘cheaper’ than Proton Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Happy Giler on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Bad news for Proton!!! Yahooooo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 33
  • Hope they rebadge vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Low Budget on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:33 am

UMW won’t allow it to happen lah. It is better to sell VIOS as is for it is the main revenue stream for UMW.

• nabill on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:07 pm

‘Designed in house by perodua ‘ hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • _xXx_ on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:08 pm

jgn2 tambah skirting tukar rim besar new model plak tu….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • ynnad on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:11 pm

JEng Jeng Jeng.. REturn of the RUSA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
  • I hope perodua will launch new model sedan car. Perodua is really make a good Quality. I just want to see sedan car happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
  • Thompson on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Finally an in-house designed. But hopefully safety 1st

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Hah hah. The last line “will not be coming out this year” but in my head I read it as “will not be coming out forever” damn you satan!

• Samad Jain on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:07 pm

new model as rebadging model?

• Bring in alza x-over to kill overpriced Peugeot 2008…..

• Azrai on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Since perodua is not a public listed company, I keep wondering why they are eager to tell everyone all their plans and progress? For what actually?

• Kamikaze on Jan 27, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Perodua’s plans and performance concerns two public listed companies – MBM and UMW.

• Kembara replacement, is that you?

• bekas perutdua on Jan 27, 2014 at 9:17 pm

this will be viva replacement. based on daihatsu agya in indonesia. same practice like myvi from daihatsu sirion, alza from boon luminas. can imagine what it will look like.

• downsys on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:04 pm

If it’s still in the phase of ‘designing the upper body’ at present, how can they launch it by second half of THIS year? I shiver to think of the end product if it’s gonna be rushed.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:05 am

Since when did Perodua designed cars? They just take Daihatsu cars and change the bumpers + dashboard. I guess they can easily launch a new model in even 6 months because the changes that they make are often so minor.

• Garfield on Jan 28, 2014 at 5:23 pm

No problem ma… it’s not like they are going for 5-star ANCAP. Only for local market. It’s not like Malaysians lives are important to the makers of tin Milo cars….

• Archangel on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Looking forward to it. Hope the new model have good safety specs than the current existing models.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:06 am

Fat chance. A crumpled A-pillar is a Perodua hallmark. If it doesn’t have crumpled A-pillars, a compromised passenger cell and a dislodged front lower-arm, it’s definitely not a Perodua.

• AlbertLee on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:27 pm

At least this rebadging specialist could take something from Toyota/daihatsu to offer Malaysians.What about Proton?Take from ailing Lotus?Campro SV,Super Premium,Super Duper Turbo?Even Mitsubishi has bolted long ago.No big car manufacturer will ever come near to Proton,with all the politics around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • pok mang on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:39 pm

could be based on toyota etios? ayla n agya didn’t have sedan form isn’t?

• At least if perodua would still want to make a small-medium car,make a hatchback with the size between Myvi and Alza.

Bigger than myvi,smaller than Alza. To small like a Myvi,you sacrifice space and boot space. To big like an Alza,you sacrifice performance and style.

Make it the right size,you have a car with style and adequate performance,without sacrificing space.

Very cool

• Green on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Alza 5 seater crossover version can play the job.

• tagline on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:10 am

between myvi and alza? then if alza tagline is ‘kereta juga MPV’, how to tagline this one? ‘kereta myvi juga kereta alza’?

• ” design upper body by in house team” ? To me its all BS, 1st, all the stupid secrecy, than P2 only capable of designing new bumpers, headlamps, and tat oso they NeED to follow the platform structure of the model it is planning to be based on…means the mould shape is set in stone, they can only mess around wit the colors and slight difference in shapes for the bumper etc

• Denaihati on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:21 pm

1st sedan model is the interesting model but unluckily not be coming out this year and does not replace any existing model, it mean perodua will have new segment….that is great interesting and surprising i think. can’t wait for paultan team member spyhot and spy-shots.

• inderaloka on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:39 am

Perodua Bezza.

• Vincz on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:37 am

I like the way they wrote “new model”, you know what I mean here.

• honest on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:59 am

I expect this coming model will be very good for export quality to compete with other brands.this will be the strategy for perodua to penetrate global market.this strategy is inevitable for perodua to survive in the current economic climate.
    I will be proud if this come true.
    Perodua is the champion in the malaysia compact segment now ready to step forward to global market
    Big applause

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • farizY on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:44 am

New powertrain, maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Pulut on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:30 am

Harap Perodua buat kereta yg selamat utk pelanggannya. Viva adalah kereta yg paling tak selamat… body mcm tin coke! Jangan fikir untung…

• bongeks on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:03 am

What the heck 40K! Sell la 20K should it replaced Viva. Berapa banyak bonus lagi korang mau?

• JeremyNg on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:03 am

A company that dono how to make an engine , make their own car ?! 0.o

• mika for VW on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:47 am

i think it gonna b toyota agya rebadged as viva for d a segmet

• Cakap Je on Jan 28, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Hope they dont come out with Myvi 1.5 Super premium like what Proton has done on Suprima and Inspira. oh god they suck.

• Vincz on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:48 am

Got, Myvi 1.5 SE EXTREME…
      It just doesn’t sound as stupid as Super Premium, same shit different hole.

• Veneno on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:37 pm

don’t call it as a “new model”.. uses “rebadged model” instead.. lame..

• When P2 says it is ” designing the upper body” it is a secret code, they really meant ” designing the headlamp, grille” technically it is ” upper body” hahaha…where got such thing as designing ” upper body”, if u creating from scratch, u design the ENTiRE BOdY, the entire platform is in one piece, where got separate into two pieces eg upper n lower, tis is not thosebig express buses which the upper n lower body really separate!

• Car enthusiast on Feb 06, 2014 at 5:57 pm

My guess: 2014-2H rebadge 1.0L hatchback Toyota Agya or Daihatsu Ayla which are already selling in Indonesia.

2015 rebadge 1.5L sedan Toyota Etios now on Indian roads.

This is the best way to achieve economies of scale in a reliable manner. Any time better than coming out with unreliable original design like Proton with no economies of scale!

• The most expensive jerry-built car wanna launch at Malaysia soon. Predicted price start from RM 70k, who want to buy?

• There’s no way to downgrade to this brand…

• No way to dowgrade to this…#longliveviva