PIAM – RM4.1 billion paid out in road accident claims

crash-piam

Net claims paid out for bodily injury and property damage due to road accidents in the first nine months of 2013 have risen to RM4.1 billion, compared to RM3.68 billion in the same period in 2012, Persatuan Insurans Am Malaysia (PIAM) has revealed.

“Road accidents can result in great financial losses and untold suffering to the victims and their families,” said PIAM chairman Chua Seck Guan. “It is impossible to put a figure on such losses.”

PIAM and the Malaysian Takaful Association (MTA) set up the Accident Assist helpline (1-300-22-11-88) in October 2013. Operated 24/7, the service offers road accident victims timely roadside assistance, including help in obtaining towing services to approved workshops, and objective guidance on making a motor insurance or takaful claim.

piam-accident-claims-2

Statistics have shown that the rate of road accidents rise during festive holidays, due to the increased number of vehicles on the roads. With Chinese New Year around the corner, PIAM and MTA advise road users to take the following measures in the event of an accident:

• Obtain names and addresses of other drivers involved.
  • Note their vehicle registration numbers and make of vehicle.
  • If possible, take pictures of the damaged vehicles and accident scene.
  • Ask for the name of their insurers and their policy or certificate number.
  • Note names and addresses of independent witnesses and make a rough diagram of the accident.
  • It is your duty to produce your Certificate of Insurance when required to do so by the police. If this information is not available at the scene of the accident, you will be required to produce it to the police within five days.

piam-accident-claims-1

• If there is injury to any person or damage to another vehicle, or other property, give the name and address of the owner of the vehicle you are driving and its registration number to anyone who has reasonable grounds of wanting them.
  • Do not discuss whose fault it was as this may create difficulties for your insurers in their handling of your claim.
  • Inform your insurers as soon as possible even if you do not intend to make a claim. This is a condition of your policy.
  • Fill in the insurer’s accident report form completely and include any additional relevant information not mentioned in the direct questions.

PIAM and MTA are reminding road users to drive safely, stay alert and adhere to traffic rules during the festive season.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• mohd fuad on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:49 am

how about unclaimed portion…

• BNM Malaysia Pls Read! on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:57 pm

This is all bullshit. To all the insurance companies, pls don’t pretend to be innocent. you all know damn well that every adjuster of yours is working hand in hand with the police, investigation officer and the car workshop to get kickbacks. I myself had many accidents. Infact the last accident I had I sent to my workshop, he said he will repair everything for RM1000. I thought, nevermind, I will send for insurance claim. After repairs and all that, I simply called the insurance company up to find out how much was the bill, it was shockingly RM8000. Yes, 8x the actual amount if I had the car repaired.

We all know what happens. The IO (Investigating Officer), the Adjuster, as well as the bengkel and the ulat ulat will get their kickback. Biggest kickback would be the adjuster. At least he makan few thousand for his personal pocket.

The Insurance companies know about all this. Hundreds of cases happen everday. But the close an eye. They pass the problem and burden to the consumer with higher premiums.

Bank Negara, please read the above. You also know about all this. But BNM just keeps quiet. You all just close an eye because the problem now goes back to the consumer with higher premiums.

With all this shit going on, last year, the Insurance industry dare to increase the car premiums for the motor industry.

That is Malaysia for you. The rakyat suffer the most because there is no proper enforcement.

Everybody suffers when everybody along the line gets kickbacks from the police office, the police cameraman, the adjuster, the bengkel and the runner boys (ulat ulat)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
      • Penipu Adjusters! on Jan 27, 2014 at 3:06 pm

The biggest thieves are the adjusters. Every single Malaysian adjuster is dirty to the core. MACC, go and investigate the adjusters, each one of them sure got several million ringgit cash!

PIAM clean up your industry and personnel lah. Kotor gila!

• Doctor's Advice to PT readers. on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Don’t trust insurance companies. I am a doctor. When patient’s really want their insurance company to pay for an operation, the insurance company will find all sorts of loopholes to escape payment. 7 out of 10 patient’s face this.

Half the time they will say it is Act of God or your disease was inherently there when you signed the insurance disclosure in the first place!

So, don’t get excited about medical cards or anything to do with insurance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Concerned consumer on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:47 pm

A lot of people are not well informed about how insurance works and some insurance agent only sell without knowledge.
        For example, vehicle from age 1 to 7 is mandatory given new parts when met with an accident (this applied to all insurance company). If the workshop gives secondhand parts, insured can report this to the insurance company and PIAM to get their license suspended.
        Some insurance company also provide additional coverage for agreed value for vehicle up to 7 years. If you have purhcased the additional coverage, your vehicle will be paid in full when the car met a total loss accident or stolen.
        These are some of the examples and most people don’t understand or don’t know about it. I can say almost 75% of the insured only buy their insurance without knowing what they bought. They only want to get their roadtax done and when accident occured, then they panic.
        Insurance claim also depends on the completion of documents given. Police report, final keputusan, phtographs, insurance policy with certificate of insurance, photocopy of IC and driving license, photocopy of vehicle registration card with updated roadtax renewal printed at the back, claim for supplied by workshop (duly signed by insured) are the docs required.
        When anyone met an accident, call your insurance company’s helpline to get their panel workshop to tow your vehicle, not to those tout luring around your car. You have all the rights to ask them leave you alone.
        Understanding the policy is madatory so there won’t be any dispute and get yourself covered well.

Just my two cents of advice.

• 2nd Hand Parts for Repair on Jan 27, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Malaysia is the ONLY country in the world where if your car meets an accident, if your car is more than one year old (if 366 days old), the Insurance company insist that ALL parts used to repair your car must be 2nd hand reconditioned and NOT brand new parts.

This is the ONLY country in the world where this happens. I repeat, the ONLY country in the world.

And yet, our premiums are super high and not in proportionate to the cost of living and pay packet in Malaysia.

Imagine, you susah susah pay your premiums every year, one day accident, your beloved car kena 2nd hand parts to repair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • pontiac on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:05 pm

total cars in malaysia = 21.25MILLION
      Average Insurance per car per year = RM1000

equavalent to RM 212500 Million or RM 212BILLION.

THATS is 2% of income they have taken.

BULLSHIT

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:56 am

Why dont want tell us how much you earn over the last year ? 21 mil units of vehicle out there, every year renew insurance, average insurance payment RM 500, so i guess , around 11 billion !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • nabill on Jan 27, 2014 at 12:00 pm

No sympathy for insurance companies..thy probably stil make billions…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • teamsleepnine on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:06 pm

mesti la dei…you think insurance company buat charity ke?mesti la profitable.

• Roger on Jan 27, 2014 at 12:08 pm

The organization said itself, PIAM!

• RBA fanboy on Jan 27, 2014 at 12:10 pm

percaya piam ini adalah tempat macai2 MCA duk makan gaji buta..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • _xXx_ on Jan 27, 2014 at 12:27 pm

apa? insuran naik ke ape?

• abuya123 on Jan 27, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Insuran every year naik. Kereta lebih 4 tahun kena loading. kereta lebih 20 tahun tak nak amik. Pastu tunjuk statistik kena bayar claim banyak.

4 letter word for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • teamsleepnine on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:06 pm

i bet its only around 1bil+,workshop over quote when buat insurance claim…jack up gila gila the price.

• kesian insurans on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:18 pm

this amount for bodily injury and property damage only as per article mentioned. there is still damage to own car, total loss and theft claim etc… kesian insurance company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • Anonymous on Nov 14, 2014 at 1:08 am

Lu kena accident baru lu taw… Workshop guna 2nd hand parts…. Buta2 lu kena tipu by workshop & adjuster… Insurance company agent charge u high premium..,

• labix7 on Jan 27, 2014 at 1:35 pm

1st they make some story & situation … then later they will ask govt to approve insurance premium increase !!!!

• iskhalifah on Jan 27, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Accidents (bumper-to-bumper, skid, turn turtle etc) tend to occur more frequently on wet roads & bad weather. If only cars were to be mandatorily equipped with ABS, EBD and ESC/VSC, then hopefully less risk of accidents. But still you can find so many reckless AhBengs with their modified cars; perasan they are driving a Ferrari or Lambo.

• Archangel on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:04 pm

This all just drama. RM4.1 billion paid out but paid in definitely higher than paid out.

• What? on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:39 am

Yes, for sure something is wrong. The last time I had an auto accifent ,the workshop people were so eager to help out.
    I cannot believe it if there is nothing funny going on.
    In fact, straight away he said not to worry, they will take care of all the cost without even inspecting the car!

• keluangman on Jan 28, 2014 at 12:17 pm

my 2008 myvi SE last time was stolen and recovered. Interior all gone including the dashboard, seat and door cards. Exterior and engine all ok no need repair. Amount approved by adjuster to refit back interior is RM10k. Took 6 months to repair, and all used second hand parts. Even the key to the ignition and door was different(must use 2 set of keys.) Fak me right? Sold the car immediately.

• sohaibabiguaneng on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:17 am

insurance industry: money suckers. their motto; suck dry while at it while you can

• insurance agent on Feb 01, 2014 at 11:41 pm

Pengguna jalan raya malaysia bawak keta pakai lutut. Susah nak consider pengguna lain especially penunggang motosikal. Bile kena loading jadi keyboard warrior. Bile dapat steering pandu kereta macam sial. Bile beli insurance yg nak paling murah.Mana bole bayar kereta harga proton, tp expect keta macam bmw