VIDEO: In-depth look at the CKD VW Polo Hatch 1.6

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kBsA6PNIgXg?rel=0

By now, regular paultan.org readers would be familiar with everything there is to know about the recently-launched Volkswagen Polo Hatchback 1.6. We’ve comprehensively covered the locally-assembled car’s arrival here, right from its preview at KLIMS13 last year to its official launch last week.

Last weekend, we even featured a full live gallery of the CKD VW Polo, pointing out every visible difference between it and the imported Polo 1.2 TSI. There’s a lot more to this new model than a simple price reduction, we can assure you of that. But, we’re not finished with it just yet.

You’ve read about it, seen some photos, and now here’s our man Jonathan James Tan in our new video walk-around feature, telling it as it is. Have a watch above, and tell us what you think in the comments section. There will be more video content coming your way, so do subscribe to our YouTube channel. Enjoy.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Hiroshi on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:21 pm

great job Jonathan, this worth nothing, since cut everything inside and out totally ripe off

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 6
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 150
      • Whitegoh on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:31 am

VW should not lower their car quality to compete with Japanese car. In fact, people are willing to pay more for a better quality car which VW should be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
        • DRB Toilet Quality on Jan 28, 2014 at 5:55 pm

If any of you guys here have read the VW Malaysia facebook page, you will definitely stay away from VW. Service Centres stink in service.

Anyway, this car is a disgrace. It is stripped out so bad, they might as well sell you the shell and sell it as a Kit car. You can then take home the Kit car and assemble it yourself.

Malaysians, don’t you have any shame? People throw dirt also, you go and pick up the dirt. Even dogs also got dignity. You throw an old rotting bone at a dog, he will smell it and just walk away.

Deny all you want, this car is made by DRB, it will use and share same platform as Proton. In other words, you are better off buying a Preve for RM58k. Why buy a car that in disguise is completely a Proton?

Though this is not a direct rebadge but trust me, every single DNA of this car is a Proton.

VW fanboys are getting excited with the VW logo. VW salesman also now losing sales, got lots of free time to lurk in PT to spead lies.

Last year VW sales dropped drastically. This year, it is going to drop even more. Infact this year, if they sell 5000 units also, it will be lottery luck

Why?

1) Everybody knows about the DSG scandals

2) Everybody knows that the CKD is really a Proton in disguise. Trust me DRB quality is toilet quality!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
        • DRB Toilet Quality on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Read Paul Tan’s article on VSC. See how important it is. Any car without VSC can be considered a super duper high risk. But a car that sells nearly RM90k without VSC, that is heights of stupidity of the rakyat of Malaysia to support it.

Go ahead, read about VSC and fear for your life if you don’t have it

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • DRB Toilet Quality on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:07 pm

According to MAA figures, VW Malaysia has the largest ever drop in sales. Yes, everyone now knows about the DSG scandal. So, this year, for VW to get even 5000 units also, manyak bagus.

Volkswagen sales:
          2012 = 13,000 units
          2013 = 9,500 units
          2014 = below 5000 units.

No other car manufacturer got this kind of drop in sales last year. This means, people of Malaysia are waking up to the hype of VW. They now know, VW is nothing but a problematic car with non stop breakdowns and very bad service centre.

Malaysians are also waking up to the fact that VW only offers 2 years warranty. The additional 3 years is Insurance. Insurance means discretion.

Thrird year your DSG breakdown, insurance tell you podah, be prepared to fork out RM40,000 to repair your DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • well my vw ain’t problematic
            it’s the best car Ive ever had
            agree vw should not reduce their spec
            especially on safety features

• DumbTee on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:43 am

Well, take away the German country of origin, it gets put into the same pool as a Vios and a City. Similar specs at similar price. No big advantage except the all usual German brand but made in malaysia. lol. Shiok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • VW salesman spotted! or purely blind fanboy. DUDE. CKD in the first place is meant to lower down imported cars price. plus it provides extra jobs for local to assemble the cars.

But only pure blind fanboys will be fooled with the fact that so many stuffs got stripped out (2 Airbags vs 4 which already available on Polo sedan??) yet the price is advertised AS IF it just being CKD with similar/acceptable specs

After all, POLO is just a POLO, a small compact city car meant for sending kids to school, go pasar etc. NOthing to do with performance!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
      • Leong on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:15 am

I have to disagree with you, the 30k price reduction is due to reduction from a very high CBU price,omission of certain feature and usage of cheaper material,so where is the reduction in tax value being pass on to the customer?
        Secondly I have test driven their polo sedan which happen to have 4 airbag,performance of the engine and gearbox of this 1.6 and 6 speed autobox is a loser in comparison with its japanese counterpart…,the refinement is not there,so much for a INDIAN born GERMAN car…….but I do have to say the ride is better than the Japanese.Other than that its as KOSONG as any b segment japanese car on malaysian road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • Jap B segment can consider city. My old IDSI city bought in 2003. 7 speed CVT, FC now is about 480km for Ron 95 city drive from full tank till empty light on. Refill petrol to full is about rm70 to 74.00. Honda service all the time, no major break down but did change radio water tank and service gear once cost rm2k +. The rest according to SC schedules. Average few hundreds per 5k service for pass ten years. Now milleage has reached 220,000km+. Today cheapest city is rm85k+. Can consider this car for those looking for reliable, space and seldom break down model below rm90k. *Iam not Honda sales man. Just a user

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • Sorry. Typo error: …radiator water tank…

• lalalangla on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:51 am

My CVT got change before … It broke at 7 years. Be careful a bit of that

• Vincent on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:01 pm

My Jazz 1.4 CVT overhaul at 10 years old, costs like 4k. But now everything ok and can drive like normal.

• Unforgiven on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:33 am

That’s what the Gov wanted, the direction from Gov.
        Cheaper car from the manufacturer, in their own way, since there’s no reduction in excuse duty/tax/AP. Sad fact !

• Hi salesman,

While u so gungho about that 30k saving, I still insist wanting that missing VSC/ESP and the other 4 airbags.

Give substance that I need, not fancy things I don’t need.

Thank you very much!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Green on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:29 am

Polo 1.6MPI.
        12km/L @ pure city driving style @ 1 driver.

Polo 1.2TSI
        15km/L @ pure city driving style @ 1 driver.

• Chris on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:30 am

First, we are bashing with basis. Secondly, it’s 87,888, not 85,888. Other brand give better discount, even Honda offers me 3k discount for 2014’s car.

I agree with you that CKD alone won’t save 30k, comparing CBU/CKD tax structure, it’s likely saved 10-12k. But we were whining about how much we have to pay for very little.

The whole idea is that it has lost the premium image, and with that price, it doesn’t even stand out among the Japanese or Koreans. It’s still a valid choice, but value for money it is not.

I’ve not driven the car yet, but read what Leong wrote. It doesn’t blow anything out of the water. If you want something that handles better, you have the Fiesta for rm500 less; If you want a practical city car, you have the CKD Jazz for a whoppin 15.5k less.

Arguing about the 7Nm extra torque is as pointless as arguing about the driver side handle. Is it useful? Yes. Do you use it all the time, everyday? No! It’s nice to have but you don’t need it. I’ve travelled to crazy places with less than 60nm of torque, surrounded by pickup trucks and 4x4s, I can say there won’t be a big issue between 146 and 153nm of torque. As for fuel consumption, you are the one who should do your research.

To be fair, considering what Leong said about the ride, plus the cruise control it have, and the lack of VSA/ESP, I suppose what stands out would be that it is an okay B segment car to cruise long distance on a straight highway…

• Well I tend to agree on your statement, but for a light weight car like this, with 152 Nm at 3800 rpm, it does feel zippy as compared to other b segment car. Closing the door does bring u difference compared to japs..

What I am trying to say is, value for money is a subjective thing to different individual considering brand image and other factors. But it is still a valid choice for b segment car for this price. Currently selling 85,888.

But most readers here call in a trash that worth nothing. Doesn’t sound rational. Yea some parts are make of hard plastic, but how many b segment cars u can name out that have soft touch dashboard at 85 k? This video some how trigger a lot people to perceive this is a cheapo car without making valid comparison to its targeted rival now.

• Well I tend to agree on your statement, but for a light weight car like this, with 152 Nm at 3800 rpm, it does feel zippy as compared to other b segment car. Closing the door does bring u difference compared to japs..

What I am trying to say is, value for money is a subjective thing to different individual considering brand image and other factors. But it is still a valid choice for b segment car for this price. Currently selling 85,888.

But most readers here call it a trash that worth nothing. Doesn’t sound rational. Yea some parts are make of hard plastic, but how many b segment cars u can name out that have soft touch dashboard at 85 k? This video some how trigger a lot people to perceive this is a cheapo car without making valid comparison to its targeted rival now

• sudonano on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:37 am

I have one word for you.

Ford Fiesta.
        Kia Rio
        Peugeot 208.

Oops, sorry, that’s 6.

Goes to show what you can get for below 90k.

• policeman on Jan 28, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Lancer CKD aka Inspira saved me 30K!
        Specs are almost similar.

• Enthu on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:28 pm

there is nothing to shout about for the 6 speed. More ratios doesn’t necessarily better, just like Paultan Driven which claimed the 4 speeder Vios gearbox is much better than the Suprima’s CVT.

With such a small car and size, what do you expect? A fuel guzzler?

Torque? There’s hardly much, but with that small lightweight body it should be zippy enough in city, though highway it will still crawl.

• Turbo_Ridera on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:06 pm

with that price u can get ford fiesta s 1.5l with 6 speed dual clutch transmission,118hp and better torque.have microsoft sync sound system,auto headlamps and wipers.energy regenerating braking system

• TroublingTrend on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:22 pm

Well here’s your Volkswagen Saga, enjoy!

RM1xxxx reduction? I’ll take the CBU please. No such option?

Everyone is dumping down to compete with Proton. They don’t have to. I love them as they are. Please stop this madness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Its funny that many manufecturer are dumbing down to meet proton’s price range(Jazz & Polo CKD) while Proton is moving up to meet them(Suprima S & Super Premium variants). If I am not mistaken, there was someone saying that you still can buy the 1.2 as it is sold alongside thou I doubt that as the 1.2 has been pulled off from their webpage.

..Anyways, the Polo range(sedan and Hatch)are the most dissapointing thing since the Jazz Hybrid CKD as both ,like the Jazz-H, omitted the ESC and also the depletion in airbag counts from their CBU counterparts . The Polo sedan thou at RM 2k more at least gets rear seat vents and 2 more side airbags. As of now, I am leaning towards [-brace yourselfs-] the Vios over these as peronally, the Vios wins on interior ,spec and size….just a little.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • TroublingTrend on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:17 am

Sam Loo would be proud…

Yes add these to the burgeoning list that includes your Jazz Hybrid. Tell me again why CKD makes sense:
        1) CX-5 (heat-insulation removed, shoddy build quality)
        2) BMW X3 (adaptive damper removed)
        3) Mazda6 (who knows what would be removed).

I would really like to know if there’s a CBU->CKD transplant success story where we actually get better value for money…

• Cant Have it all on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:47 am

Typical features vs price argument….. Give features, complain price expensive….. Give competitive pricing, complain low spec…. maybe next time try working for a company which can tell you, “Eh! Lets reduce staff benefits and salary so that we can make our products full of features and at a cheap price!”

In the end, company needs to make profit… so either charge more, or less specs…. or take protection training wheels of proton (which will never happen).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
          • Leong on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:17 am

profiteering is a sin,have you heard of greed,its one of the 7 deadly ones too.

• LeongFun on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:07 am

Leong, next time company give you bonus or increment, please decline ya. Dont be greedy! Face the fact, working in a capitalist economy is nothing abut profits! If your parents didnt have that thinking, you prob would not have a computer and an internet line to type all this ignorant words….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • TroublingTrend on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:44 am

@Cant Have it all

You are missing the point. I do not want to have it all. I want a choice.

Want cheap knockoff just for the nametag? Here’s your Volkswagen Saga.
            You have lots of money burning a whole in your pocket and would like to pay for safety + feature? Here’s your Volkswagen Saga Premium FLX Supreme Plus.

I’m not asking them to magically merged.

Well to be fair, VW 1st option could have been done better as one of the commenter has pointed out, the XC60 sounds like a sweet deal when transplanted. I suspect VW early assembly setup cost has been factored into the price of the CKD Polo.

• I think the fact of the matter is not on the subject of the depletion in features but more on What feature is depleted. even at RM20odd-k depleted, I don’t see why they have to take out the airbags and stability control, I don’t see why they now have to make hard plastic and not continue with soft touch(something I prized in Volkswagen). Basially the advantage of locally assemble and the manufecturing of a much simpler drivetrain should cut the cost down signifivantly to allow at least those safety specs and interior quality to be retained. I don’t know, I am no engineer and am basing this off common sense, so do correct me if I am wrong.

On to Leong. I do understand greed is a deadly sin, but the definition of sin means: in excess. greed is define as a sin of excess as one can not STOP wanting more, thats a sin. profit on the other hand, when controled is not. This is a buisness they are running and they have to make something to continue to do buisness. Greed comes when the company is selling at price that lost all reasoning….Thats greed.

• sorry typo….
            The definition of sin is :wanting in excess
            Thats not the definition of sin.

• Demmit….Typo AGIAN
            The Definition of GREED is wanting in excess
            Demmit, I really need to practice typing more.

• sonyman on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:50 am

got ,volvo XC 60. smaller engine, but better specs, more competitive price.

• lanLCLY on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:52 am

it’s not other car manufacturers fault its the stupid gov we had right now that wants PROTON to stay alive. PROTON is one of their side income MA!!!! others side dont have to mention la…

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:18 am

TQ DRB Hicom for all the above. … Or not

• Gently Speaking on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:30 pm

If they had CKD VW beetle 1.6 MP1 for RM88 to RM100k, that would be another story..

Any worth for this car?
    low maintance?
    space?
    fuel consumption?
    safety?
    reliability?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Cun Jaguh Bola Tampar on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:41 pm

thumbs down to VW & DRB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano on Jan 27, 2014 at 10:47 pm

I think there is a little error. The CBU actually has 6 airbags, not 4.

“Combined curtain and side airbags at the front”
    http://tinyurl.com/kb5fac3

under standard features>safety>3rd point.

Good video nonetheless. Such a pity they cheapened the Polo too much.

• Mangosteen on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Wrong. That’s four. It’s just a larger front airbag.

• Leafable on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:33 am

What are you? Chinese from mainland China. Can’t read or don’t really understand English? Lets start counting shaw we 1.Driver steering Airbag + 2.Front Passanger Airbag + 3.Driver seat side Airbag + 4.Front Passanger seat side Airbag + 5.Roof side drop down Curtain Airbag (right side) + 6.Roof side drop down Curtain Airbag (left side) = 6 airbags. Have you got 10 fingers to count?

• Gooner on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:09 pm

why they changed the engine? such a bad move right??

• Boy Racer on Jan 27, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Good review there Mr. Jonathan. Wish they haven’t cut down too many goodies on the car though, but I think this Polo will be great for those who are looking for a stylish and quick hatchback below a RM100K budget.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
  • Total Waste of Hard Earned Money.Thanks paultan.org for sharing.Thank u Mr.Jonathan James Tan for the review of this garbage car. Nuff Said. Peace:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • Too many equipments stripped and way overpriced!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Might as well get a Kia Rio…feature packed..and a lot more stylish. Not to mention…6 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • tanah merah on Jan 28, 2014 at 12:01 am

Is that Paul Tan in the background?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Johnny on Jan 28, 2014 at 12:09 am

What the flying starfish is this waste?!??!

• Archangel on Jan 28, 2014 at 12:10 am

Oh my, totally not worth it this Polo hatchback. Thanks for the review video.

• this CKD Polo is great for people with budget but wanna show-off at the same time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Vincz on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:33 am

Can’t show anymore, everyone knows this is shit with a shitty price tag, no longer premium.

• nothing to show off… we know its cheap strip down VW..

• dereks on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:58 am

Can show the cheap rear drum brake.

• amirad on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:59 am

Can still show off ma. Change to polo gti front grill, change headlamps with drl, paint the roof black, change to detroit sportrim and voila… Polo Gti lookalike. And dont forget to remove the volkswagon and polo emblem at the back. Now the car looks more upmarket. ·

• Garfield on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:25 am

I honestly not sure to thumb you up or down. Yes you can do all that but the original accessories from VW are not cheap in the first place, which may make the Polo TSi look better value in the first place (it was priced 108,888 without the 17″). Then most people WILL know that car you drive is a pretender.

The hearsay that it was coming at 78K probably made everyone disappointed. I would support that even if it has to come with just the normally aspirated 1.4 litre. They my not want to downgrade the VW name….. but VW never spelled luxury in the first place. It’s a People’s Car!!!

• Lol “show off”. In a VW? Here in Malaysia? Go die please.

Eventhough this thing and Polo Sedan has 6-speed conventional auto, my mom still thinks “LOL stupid guy buy VW DSG cepat rosak!”

Even my German lecturer is happy enough rolling around here with her Neo R3. She said many Germans themselves are sick with VW because a “People’s car” company should make something affordable like a Kia, Toyota or Proton, not some unreliable premium wannabe crap.

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 28, 2014 at 12:31 am

Just curious , how much VW paid you guys for doing this ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 38
    • Areyouserious? on Jan 28, 2014 at 12:44 am

Are you serious?

If I was VW and I paid for this video, I’d want my money back.

This is real journalism. Calling a spade a spade.

Good job Jonathan. Thanks paultan.org team. Keep ’em coming!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • u kidding me?

they had highlighted the cheapness of this car and bringing consumer awareness before the public get suck in by VGM..

For those who are familar with the previous Polo definitely know the difference

But for those who dont know, they might thought they are the same and they got the discount of their life with 30k less..

• dereks on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:00 am

Are you serious? This is what we need to know, continental price with Proton quality. Vios or City is even better than this VW Saga Aeroback.

• Kuinosan on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:12 am

If VW is thinking of using Malaysia as their next dumping ground for their obsolete hardwares, I seriously think they are making a huge mistake. Just look at the VW Polo Sedan and it’s dismal sales figures. Nowadays, Malaysian are more informed about the automobile industry and it’s latest offerings and will not be con by unscrupulous car producers who wants to make a fast buck. We Malaysians deserve better spec cars and the Koreans have shown that they always offer the fairest deals hence the increase numbers of Korean cars on our roads. And recently a few Japanese brands are trying their best to match these offerings besides Toyota of course. And with these practices, consumers are offered better and safer cars. So if VW still don’t catch on with the times, then say sayonara to your sales!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • I give you more “like” …

Striping down specs to reduce pricing doesnt sound sincere to me..

VGM uninterested in providing the best spec for the market..

• Malaysians should be educated more abt reading car specs and prioritize safety above anything else, if we really wanna force these companies to come up with better, more appropriate and affordable offerings.

If most Malaysians still stick with their “hey it’s branded, looks good, must be a good car” mentality… these companies will continue to cekik our darah

• west end boys on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:39 am

80k for a saga quality stuffs not worth it.

• loooooooo on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:11 am

I laugh when see those comment

First y always go to compare Japanese car is like compare apple n orange ….

And say this are crap car for below 90k what u expected to have …. if crap than get tsi version than say expensive if no money don’t buy just get a proton saga as u all say like new saga

• Leong on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:22 am

if VW dont compare to TOYOTA,NISSAN,HONDA,HYUNDAI,KIA,RENAULT,CITROEN AND CHEVROLET…you want to compare with who?Are you for real?

• johnny on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:11 am

Couldn’t agree more…
      114k for such a tiny car ppl complain and expensive and does not worth the money.. Dsg failure etc… (when they launch cbu )
      Now cut off 30 k, people say so damn not worth it… Either u guys are too rich or don’t know 30k is a massive money u can saved from a car price of 114k.. (close to 30%)
      And those people out of 99% are not going to buy either the ckd or cbu.. Just bash for fun…

Cbu better spec, u got money u go ahead..
      Ckd 30k cheaper, still value buy. This loses 2 air bags to polo sedan, but pick up and cornering is better and u can feel it. (11.1 sec vs polo sedan 12.3 sec)

If budget not allow for 85k, then stick with your saga but don’t try to make your self happy that diving a saga is the same as polo.. (too huge difference if u could be honest to your self)

vios and city with similar price gives 2 air bags and full of plastic… So why are u guys keep complaining? Anyone?

• Tok Berlagak on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:33 am

It’s the phenomenon.

Ppl here complain ALL cars are expensive.

Ultimately blame Government for not reducing tax yet. Hopefully more international company will make good use of EEV. And do hope that its flexible enough to encourage them to build factory here.

create lower price. but, when it’s a Global Hub. dont underestimate the great amount of exportation for Government to earn tax from.
        so much more job oppurtunity at the mean while too.

• why not same? because of badge?
        pls explain

• motorhead on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:33 am

I can’t blame you, but it’s a pity you ve this kind of mind set.. its like your mat salleh brand like a god.. can’t compare & like their products are perfect?.. puiihh.. tahi busuk jg.. well good because this superior feeling also that lead to the death of European & US brands.. no need to mention so many good japs model outside there. But just type car index.. or manufacturer index & see yourself who on top.. & look where your brand position before you open your mouth. Puuih. Btw.. please tell me which Jap brand tapau in this 21st century? All the brand even since WW1, still survive today… Mitsubishi. . Kawasaki.. look all the dead western brand.. you want me to name them? Im too lazy to type.

• Joseph on Jan 28, 2014 at 4:26 am

If l don,t mistake this model is same from china. Once ckd model available they will be not more cbu anymore.

• teelim on Jan 28, 2014 at 4:27 am

Looks like the price reduction is more to do with reducing equipment/using cheaper materials than to do with being CKD.

I wonder how much a CKD version of the CBU speced car would cost. I think that would be the one ppl actually want (provided the price is right)

• Darksun on Jan 28, 2014 at 5:50 am

50k for VW badge the rest for the car I think.

• mmaker on Jan 28, 2014 at 5:54 am

This is VW Pekan or VW Polo SV?

• motorhead on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:36 am

My office very near with the showroom. . Next time you folks should visit the service center nearby as well… ask about the service yourself. I don’t like talk craps.

• Good move VW! everyone complain about DSG and overpriced. Now VW wishing you a Happy Chinese New Year!

• Never heard of Apolo tyres before…is it local? I also notice that the rear seats cannot fold completely flat and the extra boot floor to hide valuable things is missing. I was so keen to buy one but it has lost all that premium feel and quality.

• Cheap Tyres from India!!!! on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Apolo tyres are from India. It is made for badly potholed Indian roads. So, your ride qulaity will be the same as the famous Ambassador car in India. Hardy but shit ride quality. It is even more comfortable to ride a bullock cart with a lembu pulling you than ride any car or tyre from India.

Anyway, DRB got no shame is it? Don’t know how to use barang Buatan Malaysia is it? CKD the car but instead of using our Continental Tyres and support Barang Buatan Malaysia, you all source some cheap tyre from India just to cut cost even more and give Malaysians the wrost of the worst.

• Apollo is Indian.

• skatax on Jan 28, 2014 at 11:06 am

thumbs up good review by jonathan. clean script, clear description and brief. paultan site should have more video walkthrough review like this in future. bloggers/forumers might not realize this, but i trust this will save time for ‘actual’ car shoppers from spending too much time visiting showrooms and getting distracted from SA mentioning specs that are irrelevant.

many auto sites in US have similar walkthrough reviews (tons of them in youtube) but they don’t necessarily reflect the spec we get here in malaysia. seriously, good job and keep it up!

• jflee169 on Jan 28, 2014 at 11:18 am

It will be getting more interesting when the Jetta is to be CKD soon. Price drop to 120k, and take a good guess what will be excluded.

• Enthu on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Another good job from Paultan’s journalist, this time its Jonathan. This is exactly what potential owners need to know to make a sound decision.

Manufacturers always try to create loopholes to shortchange the buyers, and with more videos like this, we are standing more on equal ground.

• Lemer on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:59 pm

I cant believe my eyes after reading the specs, VW Malaysia would lower themselves like japanese, car without full safety package (esc, traction control).

• Good review but Jonathan forgot to talk about the boot area and what’s missing there compared to the CBU model.

At RM85k, the only thing going for the Polo hatch CKD is the German engineering that goes into German cars. You need to drive one long-term to appreciate how the Germans build their cars.

For me, the Polo is out of the question because of the Fiesta, the 208, the Rio and, stretching it a bit, the Jazz.

If I wanted something cheaper and more spacious – Jazz.
    If I wanted something full spec and cheaper – Rio.
    If I wanted a good drive with better specs – Fiesta.
    If I wanted better specs and a European brand – 208.

• Maserati on Jan 28, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Gotta agree that this “polo” is basically a Proton car with a VW shell.

Utter piece of crap. The new Vios or the New City are so much better!

If u must get a Polo, pls get the 1.2 TSI model.
    A VW without TSI is not a VW!!

• niaulong on Jan 28, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Its Hard to believe VGM done to this POLO Hatch.

pay 88k and u get this :-
    HARD PLASTIC
    DRUM BRAKE
    NO ARM REST

Is it we still live in 1990s?

• paucharsiew on Jan 28, 2014 at 5:42 pm

seriously? apollo tyres? are they even safe to use? not that im against the brand or anything but living in UK there are many China etc cheap tyre brands which arent exactly the safest….

• what do you guys expect for 85k, toyota vios, honda city you guys dont bash also… this vw polo got so many more features compared to other car in this price range.. dont just look at hard plastics look at the feature auto ac, auto cruise, 6 speed gear tiptronic, and many more

• I feel Proton suprima much better than Polo hatch 1.6

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/en/Models/Suprima/Model%20Pricing%20and%20Specification%20Page.aspx#PRICING & SPECS

• motorhead on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:40 pm

At the end it’s your money… go buy what you want.. go buy for your pride to VW or BMW or whatsoever… me? I enjoy read your misery & see you all fall into financial traps.. & then wreck your family or relationship… so I can take over your gf or woman.. hehe.. money can buy anything… even love. . Hahaha..

• So have you bought your GF and wife?

• motorhead on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:36 pm

You think they are free eh? Try get them with your saliva.. You think amoi nowadays want ah?

• Id say the biggest let down would be the airbags n the esc. If they were to left that in includin the rear disc brakes, id say its still a reasonably gud buy.

• tiadaid on Jan 28, 2014 at 11:22 pm

As long as Malaysians continue to put brand preference ahead of value & safety & as long as shitboxes such as the Vios remains the best selling non national car, we will never get to enjoy great value from our purchases as carmakers continue to gouge buyers.

They can easily mask their unbridled greed behind taxation issues because we’re dumb enough to think that’s the only thing that’s wrong with the Malaysian car market!

• Anonymous Coward on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:55 am

Looking at the changes, you know… it’s pretty disappointing. For that sort of money, if you’re not a brand snob, a Kia Rio would be far better in terms of interior and safety features.

• Mohammad Nizam on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:23 am

I went to VW Sg Besi to test drive the unit, having high expectation arising from 1 VW purchased 2 years ago. The feeling of cost cutting interior is very obvious that may even put off impulse buyer, not to mention the missing safety technology which pretty common to entry level cars, air bags, VSC etc that surprisingly get an approval from German principal. The engine bay is another let down, with obviously bare parts and wires connections that naked without so much thought to properly fasten or covered. The paint quality and workmanship observed in the engine bay is surprisingly of substandard as compared to external body.
    Yesterday the salesperson called asking my decision, and my decision is rationalized by not buying it.

• To Be Honest on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Do not have 7 Speed DSG = Is not always a bad thing.
    I can’t agree with this no more! :D