Hyundai Grand i10 sedan to debut in India next week

hyundai-grand-i10-india-01

The Hyundai Grand i10 sedan will be officially unveiled next week in India, just ahead of the Delhi Auto Expo 2014. The car, spied in testing late last year, will join the Grand i10 hatchback (seen above) in the lineup – the latter made its debut last August at the same time as the European second-gen i10.

The sub-four metre offering is set to take on the likes of the Honda Brio Amaze and Maruti Swift Dzire in India, and like the hatch, should be available in two engine variants for that market, these being the new 1.1 litre U2 three-cylinder diesel and a 1.2 litre Kappa four-cylinder petrol, paired with a manual box or four-speed auto transmission.

Equipment specification shouldn’t veer very far from its trunkless sibling – the Grand i10 hatch features dual airbags, rear air-conditioning vents, parking sensors and a two-DIN audio head unit with 1GB of internal memory as well as a cooled glove box in its highest spec trim. More on the car when it debuts next week.

In early 2013, it was reported that the Korean automaker was planning a small sedan based on the i10, and that the car was part of the company’s production plans for its Turkish assmebly operations. Its Izmit factory builds the i10 for Europe, so there should be plans for an European version of the i10 sedan.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• niterunner99 on Jan 28, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Seems like many manufactuers are going to India with small cars…isn’t it tough to fight with TATA’s cheapest car? Doubt they can out sell TATA.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jan 28, 2014 at 3:24 pm

India biggest seller is Maruti not Tata.

• AutoFrenz on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Fuiyoo it looks like jazz but sharper can sell like mooncake lor…watch out honda…u think u can fool us with that 120k jazz issit…konon premium issit…maybe last time yes but not now…now half price orso difficult to see on d road…why aaa why…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • wolfsburg on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:49 pm

The fact is Hyundai easily outsell Tata in India… Nano is not selling well in India…

• Gently Speaking on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:19 pm

current i10
    – launched globally in 2007.
    – launched in Malaysia in 2008.

already more then 6 years.

Finally a replacement.

• laluan sehala on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:57 pm

the spy shots look interesting. wonder how the final product will look like. this sort of car would be fighting for sales against the mitsubishi attrage as well. wonder if hyundai will consider this model for malaysia.

• Low Budget on Jan 28, 2014 at 3:29 pm

It depends on Naza-Sime Darby. Naza being a big shot’s company should go negotiating with the Gomen for ‘Negotiated Incentive’ for this model, but I doubt the Gomen will give in much.

• Never Against Protong NAP on Jan 28, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Yes MITI will force Sime Darby to price it RM65K to make Saga SV appear cheapest car best money can buy.

• Kia picanto can below RM60k come with full safety package sumore

• Mah Cai on Jan 28, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Above RM60K lah full spec. Jangan tipu org kampung OK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • whitegoh on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:16 pm

http://www.nazakia.com.my/models/picanto/

Have a look at this website before making yourself a laughing stock.

• I am eagerly waiting for GRAND i10 COMPACT SEDAN.
    sleepless nights for MARUTI & HONDA.

• AutoFrenz on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Got grand some more aaa…with stickers issit…at the bottom corner…guan eng sure admire one…

• philip on Jan 28, 2014 at 11:32 pm

HOPE HYUNDAI WILL COME OUT WITH AN AUTOMATIC MODEL WITH ABS AND AIRBAGS….MANY PPL WANT IT>>>especially the NRIs…It s A Shame they GIVE ABS AND AIRBAGS only to the MANUAL GEAR MODELS.

• philip on Jan 28, 2014 at 11:33 pm

HOPE HYUNDAI WILL COME OUT WITH AN AUTOMATIC MODEL WITH ABS AND AIRBAGS….MANY PPL WANT .

• Vincz on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:50 am

Can’t wait to see the facelift in Malaysia, apparently the facelifted i10 was awarded as the car of the year 2014.

• elan tar on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:46 am

Teoph Theoph where art thou?

• YC Low on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:01 am

Cute little car but if Sime Darby Hundyai after sales service
    does not improve then it is not going to attract car buyers – this is not the only small cute car in the market.

• Archangel on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Faster bring it to Malaysia.

• joekhoo on Apr 07, 2014 at 1:56 pm

look better than miva