Nissan Almera facelift launched in Thailand

2014_Nissan_Almera_facelift_01

The facelifted Nissan Almera, which we showed you last year through some leaked spyshots from China, has been launched in Thailand. The update brings about reshaped headlamps, a revised front grille with three bars (pre-facelift has four bars), a new front bumper and chrome around the fog lamps.

There’re also new-design 15-inch alloys (lower-grade variants get 14s), a subtly-reworked rear bumper and a rear spoiler with integrated third brake lamp. Inside, you’ll find a new steering wheel (also seen on the Grand Livina), a redesigned centre stack trimmed in piano black and a 2-DIN 6.1-inch DVD touch-screen (higher grades only).

Nothing’s changed underneath – the Thai-market Almera is still powered by the CVTC-equipped 1.2 litre HR12DE three-cylinder engine (granting it Eco Car status). Output numbers are 79 PS at 6,000 rpm and 106 Nm at 4,400 rpm. The Malaysian Almera gets its motivation from a 1.5 litre HR15DE four-cylinder engine, also with CVTC, that develops 102 PS at 6,000 rpm and 139 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

S MT, E MT, E CVT, EL CVT, V CVT and VL CVT variants are available, priced between 433k and 608k baht (RM44k-62k). Dual airbags are standard across the range. Optional extras include LED indicator wing mirrors, a tailpipe finisher, chrome side mouldings and door visors.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• still fugly

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 26
    • at least they give extra airbag for the lowest thai variant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • Aerro on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:03 am

Thailand price RM44K – RM62K….

Either Tan Chong forced to sell it higher price here by MITI or MITI just happy to keep Proton away from competition…any B-segment competitor must be at least RM20K more expensive…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • Ononimos on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:39 am

I am not sure either you are simply and ignorance person or plain stupid.
        People have explained thousands of time about the difference in tax system for every country.
        Pusing2 Proton jugak yg disebut amoi ni.
        Komen tu biar berakal sikit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
      • JeremyNg on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Erm……… are you new to Malaysia ?! LOL

• Since everybody complain Msia car tax is super high! but RM62k in Thailand you got this ugly car with only 1.2L CVT! In Msia.. u got Preve 1.6l! and plus 6 airbags with other safety features at only RM63k!

So now you guys tell me who is selling expensive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
  • kenot on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:21 pm

the current face is already ugly. this one is more ugly.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 21
    • Hahaha on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:39 am

LOL! At least the interior has improved.Kinda has a little premium look than the crappy cheap plastic interior parts in the current model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • uglam on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:27 pm

woah, I thought i saw this on discovery channel before, if not mistaken it was the episode about some deep sea marine creatures!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 14
    • senol on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:37 pm

that one got T logo on it’s nose

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • alldisc on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:40 am

you mean – the best selling non-national car for the past 8 years? beating honda city by 4 to 1?

• simon on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:47 am

WAS!

the Almera is now the best selling non-national b segment car.

Suck on that, Toyota fanboys!

• fisherman's friend on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Edaran Tan Chong would probably launching this 3 years later along with a seaside party, coz this Almera seems as so freshly caught from the sea, and makes fishermen go ga-ga shouting “My Catch My Catch” once seeing this design. Slogan- Freshly Fishy Ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • And running up to take the the baton from the ever dissapointing looking previous generation Vios, the Almera, now reigning ruler to the title ‘dugong’.

personally, the previous generation has a saving grace that the front look feminine, with a tad of motherly look that it shares with the pre-facelift Lavina….now its gone(along with the Lavina)into the main reactor 3 of the Fukushima Dai-ichi and emerging into fully grown mutant that previously only affected the rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Practical n just ok la …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • dugong family on Jan 28, 2014 at 6:49 pm

long headlight inspired by Proton P2-30a?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • Actually no one bother it’s ugly or not, as long as it’s practical and some people find it nice. What car in malaysia that’s good looking? Vios? Still dugong. City? Ugly interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
    • tokmoh on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:24 pm

fuel efficient, Quality, Comfort, Reliable.

Desing wise is quite charming to me, I like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 21
  • jolly_idiot on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Are we slow or the world is moving too fast?
    It seems like those new car just launched here has already got facelifted in other country.

Malaysia is now a 3rd world where we deserve outdated junk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:50 am

for a popular japanese model, its showroom life will lasts only for 4 years with a mid-life facelift somewhere in the middle. this is completely normal.

the same practise since early 80s. when its not so popular, the life span will increase to 5 or 6 years even and sometimes totally cut off from production as to what happened to Toyota Caldina. not as popular in japan unlike malaysia.

• When the Almera first launched, the Prevé’s sales went down very badly (because both cars are priced similarly). It will be interesting to see how Malaysians react to this Almera facelift when it launches; whether Malaysians will still buy the 2014 Almera over the much improved 2014 Proton Prevé, which is superior in EVERY aspect bar its reliability/QC, brand image and resale value.

Indeed it will be interesting to see whether anything has changed in the last 2 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
    • Gently Speaking on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Main Loosing Point for Almera:
      – Safety Features

Main Loosing Point for Preve:
      – Quality Engine
      – Reliability
      – Fuel Consumption

Negligible point for most user:
      – where one may be better then others, but one is still negligible factor.
      1. Ride and Handling,
      2. Space
      3. Warranty (Almera Max = 6, Preve = 5)

While people buying car at RM65k range, are not rich people.

Almera is a more well rounded choice, for a bigger group of people. This is why Almera is having such great sales.

Preve sales also not too bad.
      i think, considering it’s a C-segment.
      comparing to Civic, Altis, Cerato, Elantra.
      – COMPARABLE SALES among C-segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • jolly_idiot on Jan 28, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Shame to Proton lo. Always use C-Segment car to beat B-Segment. If they’re capable, they should compete head to head.

Sadly, Malaysia Boleh and we always boleh. Accordana rocks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
        • Shame to you #1. You want to eat kangkung everyday because of price hike? Ok, maybe you are T supporter, want overpriced oevrrated car.

Shame to you #2. Koreans also uses same way. Sell more value for money car than Japs.

Shame to you #3. You name indicates your comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
          • alldisc on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:19 am

it seems that you not knowing how things work here. why vios not same price as persona.

why gen2 in arab saudi a whole lot cheaper than the equivalent spec in msia. who really sets car prices in our country – is it dealer itself or some magic hands.

pleae read more.

• Josh Ling on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:34 am

don’t think tan chong will launch the facelifted model anytime soon, coz nothing different save for the front look and slightly redesigned center stack and the new DVD touch-screen which can be fitted anytime tc decided to do so. so i don’t think tc will go into so much trouble by introducing the facelifted model here.

• ben yap on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Nissan designers got go to design school or not? If they did, they must have designed this car when they are drunk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
  • tawil on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Thai should offered diesel K9K engine same as India market..

• shawal on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:31 pm

chipped then flooded headlight…
    ……..RM 738 …..

• Bendspear on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Listen up nissan,

Round shape in design philosophy for your interior doesn’t look good at any angle.

Perioddd

Where the hell designer got the idea? nightmare?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • alldisc on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:21 am

downsizing the teana, perhaps?

such formula may work with BMW and Mercedez but erm not so with Nissan or any other japanese makes.

• victortan on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:41 pm

That piano black stereo HU is not gonna happen in Malaysia, isn’t it?

• Y is it still so ugly?
    I would have consider it if it looks better..
    Sigh… fire the designer and hire new team…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • kickass on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Why not u do some designing? Sounds funny to fire a team of designers that manage to design a car that doing quite well in the industry. Why not u build up a brand and see what’s your level of good design.

• Hehehe on Jan 28, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Still the witch mouth and the square rear.. Hmm.. Xtronic CVT is nice btw :D

• spongewai on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:05 pm

my friend drove this Almera never complaining all the time and well handling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • rilek la on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:18 pm

this car is surprisingly spacious for interior and boot space. even much more spacious tjen most C and D segment car. practicality this car win in its class. design wise for me the front is ok but the back is really ugly. same goes to new vios. if u are looking for practicality and family sedan this is just nice. but if u want to get some chick then better off and buy the cr-z

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • NISSpengAN on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:26 pm

The most spacious B-Segment car !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • lol ugly. ok car just become ugly.
    suddenly proton car look so international

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • motorhead on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:30 pm

I tested this.. As a sedan.. its brilliant. . Impressive… I like the engine…good gear.. handling. When I was inside driving, I really didn’t care how it look.. Unfortunately… sedan is not my target. But if I need an agile car for work.. this must be it.. but I ve no place to park cars dy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • RedCRZ on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Give this car 1000x facelift & it still the most hideous of the lot. no hope in the make-up department at all. ah beng kedai oso give up trying to do a decent plastic surgery to this abomination. hold on to your ‘economy & practicality’ tag almera…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Krasher on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:28 pm

This car did grab my attention away from Alza when it launched (Sorry, just an average joe with 4 mouth to feed here)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • the ugliest car i ever seen in this CENTURY? Current almeera boot lid
    emind me of trojan. Fugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • laluan sehala on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:58 pm

ugly or not, it is the best selling in its class. can’t argue with fact. fact is, people who buy it don’t care how it looks. reliability, space and affordable maintenance are key considerations for those buying the almera. not looks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • nissano on Aug 23, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Totally agree.
      Those who buy Almera have all those points in mind:
      Overall is VALUE for MONEY:
      1. proven nissan Japanese international reliabity, fuel economy, low maintenance cost, well established service and parts network

2. Simple design = lower cost, MORE reliable, less parts to maintain, less parts to malfunction.

3. Cost saving on non essential features enable value to be channeled into key areas such as engine DURABILITY and reliability, fuel economy technology.

4. Almera ( Versa in US) is in worldwide market, over 500,000 on the road since launching.
      500,000 worldwide owners can’t be wrong!

• To me the most ugly car is still Preve and Supima, really cannot tahan looking at their ridiculous non coherent backside, the Supima marketed at sporting hatchbck but looks like a 1970 stationwagon…biased local car reviews call it ” beatiful design tat will stand the test of time”. I want to vomit T that paper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • sgetry on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:42 am

Ok ok you are the dugong , catfish and other ugly animals die hard fan. I understand that.

Bwhahahahahahahaha

• Allan on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:30 am

Damn, the front lamps reminds me of the 370z ~!

• kangkong on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:47 am

and this dugong gets a bigger eye..but some people buy car not of its look per se, the practicallity counts as well..

• Commentor on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:35 am

I’ve been travel many countries in Europe and never seen this ugly Nissan design. European get better design Nissan

• the look quite cute la.. like a seal..

• Nicholas Liew on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:40 am

i like the tail spoiler. ^_^

• Malsam on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:24 am

Honestly, this is really ugly car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • niaulong on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:27 am

Not ugly for this upcoming Almera.

Exterior i gave 7/10
    Interior i gave 6/10
    Performance i gave 7/10
    Reliable and fuel efficiency i gave 8/10
    Space for a B-segment i gave 9/10

Overall is Average ABOVE for a Family with 3 kids and earn RM4k per month.

• totti on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:21 am

Another facelift by Nissan.

The facelift will not able to beat the new T. Vios and latest Honda City.

The designer need to re-work on the low rear (backside)for better uplift to enhance the overall
    sportiness.

You need to upgrade the engine to dual CVTC with dual injector like the new sylphy to maintain the no:2 spot.

• Denaihati on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:57 am

best value for money passenger car 2012. exterior : by adding small spoiler, much better and looks balanced. no problem with the front i think. interior looks spacious and so comfortable as family car.

• martin on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:48 pm

the pre facelift is vetter ….
    however almera is a good option for mid size family since its offer the spacious cabin in its segment compared to others…the price is also reasonable …
    bot to those who really care bout the appearance, this car is not for u bcoz it is too outdated..

• kusochon on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:49 pm

hahaha that headlamp is fking hideous!

• Archangel on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Wow, big front headlamps. I like the red color, look sexy though.

• hi, i’m new in the car’s world.
    do anybody knows when this almera version will come to malaysia? any tips?

• when this new almera will come to the malaysia? or won’t come to malaysia?

• looks/design is subjective, its depend on ones own eyes, ugly for you but beautiful for me and vice versa, but the fact it is nissan , engineering wise ,one of the best worlwide,this haters depends their “ugly” comments are based on what they see on pictures and hearsay,some are fanatics of what they have owned defending their choice of cars,wtf, all of them are good quality cars, if you want “looks” then buy lambo, porsche,and other luxury cars, and i bet , almera for being a nissan, owners like me will never regrets of owning this one,do you hear almera owners complained, nah, but 2nd gen vios have complaints, like overheating concerns, heres comes the new vios , fuel consumption concerns, even though new vios have launched, desoite of its looks, arguably cool design, i chooses almera, nissan engineering makes my choice, peace

• Ronald^Chen on May 19, 2014 at 11:42 am

i own a nissan almera

• Eason Chan on Oct 04, 2014 at 11:03 am

I actually think the facelift is very nice and pretty, the interior looked so premium, the exterior looked more sporty too