2014 Volkswagen Polo facelift gets new technology

DIN A5_Datenhandbuch_Polo_GP_final_20-09-2013.indd

Volkswagen has given its B-segment Volkswagen Polo a mid-life facelift. Not content with just visual changes alone, the German carmaker has given the Polo updated engines and a revised equipment options list as well.

On the exterior, the front bumper has been revised as per the spyshots we saw earlier. The new design reminds us of the bumper used on the Volkswagen Passat. There are now optional LED headlamps, which Volkswagen says is the first in the B-segment class. The other two headlamp choices are K7 headlights which are standard, and H7 dual round headlights. The rear gets a new bumper as well, together with new taillamps. There are five new alloy wheel designs.

With the mid-life facelift, all Polos will be equipped as standard with an Automatic Post-Collision Braking System, which automatically brakes the vehicle after a collision to reduce kinetic energy significantly and thus minimise the chance or consequences of a second impact. Other safety options include a Driver Alert System and Front Assist with City Emergency Braking and Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC). These systems use a radar sensor at the front and in DSG-equipped cars, ACC can completely stop the car.

As we saw in our spyshots of the car prior to the debut today, there will be a new optional Sport Select suspension system, which gives the car electronically-controlled dampers. You’ll be able to switch between two different comfort and sport suspension settings if your Polo facelift is equipped with this option.

The infotainment system has also been updated to bring it up to date with the features found on the latest Golf Mk7. It now features a proximity sensor and a function that reacts to wiping movements by the fingers, similar to how we use our modern smartphones. It’s also able to link up to your smartphone apps using MirrorLink. Other changes in the interior include redesigned instruments, buttons, climate controls, and a new steering wheel. There’s also now an option for a reverse camera.

Under the hood, there’s a new range of Euro 6-compliant engines. Fuel consumption improvements have been made across the board. There are two new 1.0 litre MPI normally-aspirated engines, producing either 60 PS or 75 PS. Next up the ranks are the 1.2 litre TSI engine featuring turbocharging and direct-injection, with a choice of a 90 PS or 110 PS tune. There’s also the Polo BlueGT with a 1.4 TSI engine with cylinder deactivation, now making 150 PS, up 10 PS from before. The Polo GTI facelift will be revealed later, but we’re promised power upgrades for that as well. The Polo now uses an updated EPS steering system.

In the UK, the previous diesel-powered Polo Bluemotion TDI will be replaced with a petrol version called the Polo Bluemotion TSI. It uses a small 1.0 litre TSI three-cylinder engine that produces 90 PS and consumes just 4.1 litres per 100 km. The Polo Bluemotion TDI will continue outside of the UK of course, achieving a combined fuel consumption of just 3.2 litres per 100 km.

The other diesel options are two new 1.4 litre three-cylinder TDI engines producing either 75 PS or 90 PS, which replace the outgoing pre-facelift Polo’s 1.2 and 1.6 litre TDI engines.

The new Polo will be open for orders in April this year, with deliveries expected in June.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lonelyobserve on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:16 pm

VW really ditches old engines for new Euro 6 compliant engines.

• DSG Tow Truck on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:51 pm

This means the newly launched Polo is already an old car. This is Malaysia, we launch old cars with stripped out safety features because the government don’t care for its rakyat. But the kampung people and the uitm graduates as well as the Mara graduates all will support BN thinking BN has done so good for us.

Wake up lah Malaysians, we are all being cheated by our BN government.

The past 20 years, at least half of all road deaths could have been avoided if there were no crony practices in Malaysia giving us substandard or no safety cars. Even now, our cars come with 2 airbags and no VSC, like our famous VW that was recently launched. All because Government will bow down and agree to anything done by DRB or Syed Mokhtar.

So we will have another 20 more years of road deaths.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 35
      • dearlord on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:23 pm

dear god in every single post about cars there will be someone who wants to talk about politics.

shut. the. eff. up.

this is democracy. everybody can vote anybody they want. talk down on kampung people, as if you were some bloody royalty. but still come from bukit mana entah rolleyes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
      • uh-oh butthurt cina detected lolz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • armandd on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Enough with stupid politics!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Lee Kang Kung @ Mcm Dubuk Assemblyman on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Before u ask people to wake-up, u urself go wash ur face & see the mirror. Tgk lu punya mata sudah ada buka ka belum.

• Mr Feathers on Feb 02, 2014 at 2:15 pm

This is a democracy? 47% of the votes can win 60% of the seats? Election Commission a unit of the PM’s Department? Before elections flinging money at the rakyat, after elections moaning not enough money? All TV, radio and newspapers have nothing good to say about the opposition? Everything race, race, race? Don’t worry we’ll be a first world country (when everyone else has left for the stars).

• spongewai on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:19 pm

you see, Polo facelift just unveiled and more features

our Polo specs is….. well 50/50

• DonkeyKong on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:02 pm

That’s the whole idea.. let the previous-generation tech be a more affordable option for the mass market, while the newer tech comes only with the more expensive newer model. If car manufacturers give consumers what they want all the time without considering any sort of business model, they’ll go bust in no time at all because let’s face it, consumers truly do not know best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
      • So, are you saying kia going bust by fitting kia picanto with ESP, 4 discs brake, abs, 6 airbags ?

FYI, kia picanto is the entry model A-Segment car for kia and it’s priced at below rm60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi on Jan 29, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Well, the thing is this new stuff is probably going to cost quite a bit. For the Seat Leon the LED headlights are around 1200 Euro, the adaptive cruise control was IIRC around 600 Euro. RM 5400 and RM 2700. Which, given how nice and useful those features are is a reasonable price, but it would drive up prices. Maybe the features will be added to the facelifted Polo when it comes to Malaysia though, who knows.

• hmmmmmm on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:51 pm

meanwhile in Malaysia, our CKD Polo……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
    • Chris on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:43 am

Hmm… if only we have better diesel quality. I wouldn’t mind spending 88k on a CKD polo if they throw in that TDI engine.

Speaking of foreign B-segment hatch, Fiesta probably won the handling. 208 maybe the looks? Jazz is practical and Rio is bang for buck. Polo has the premium tag on it, but CKD Polo lost it.

It is now stuck with the likes of Chevy Sonic and Mazda 2 hatch, taking a backseat. Sure would be nice if we can say “Well, if you want a hatch for long distance driving, get that CKD Polo diesel”.

• rifle on Jan 28, 2014 at 8:57 pm

overall better from pre-facelift..nice..

• mangata on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:07 pm

hahaha funny to know that our Malaysian polo will hardly get any of the technologies !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • SohaiBabiNajib on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:10 pm

VW-DRB are obviously trying to insult the intelligence of Malaysians. Can’t they just wait and CKD the new model straight away instead of bringing in some leftover Indian parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi on Jan 29, 2014 at 4:39 pm

The CKD Polo is supposed to be an affordable car, these new features would make it anything but.

• now everyone can buy polo…

• JohnDi on Jan 28, 2014 at 9:20 pm

You don’t need the automatic braking system, trust me when the DGS kaput it will automatically stop. Please thumbs me up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 63
  • Okay this post is so ironic.

• TeacW7 on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Meanwhile in Malaysia…

• sudonano on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:43 pm

looks a bit like a baby Golf, especially the front foglight housing and bumper..

They should seriously consider a normal 6 speed auto + 1.2TSI combo.

• if newer model priced higher than previous model in accordance to more equipments and techs, then how cheaper car prices become feasible? I suggest in 30 yrs a golf gti will be offered at close rm1 mil.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2014 at 7:33 pm

The new equipment will get cheaper over time, especially since VW is producing a ton of it. Many of their new cars now have the same features… Also, they are OPTIONAL. Car buying in Europe goes a little like this: You pick the equipment level, which is a package including a couple of things, and depending on the equipment level it unlocks extra features and engines. So the basic spec will only give you the bare minimum (think Polo CKD) with a 60 hp engine. Want more power and features, you’ll have to pick a higher trim, which will drive up cost significantly. The midrange trim will have most of the options unlocked (you have to pay for them of course), with a few things thrown in, like aircon. You’ll have access to several different engines (diesel being significantly more expensive). The top trim level will unlock the most potent engines, stock engine may be more powerful than on other trim levels. There’ll be a few more features (auto climate control perhaps), and you have access to most features. Also, features are usually packaged. If you want to have leather seats you may also have to get auto folding mirrors (not sure where the connection is there…). There’ll be maybe a business pack which will include the satnav, lane assist and a few more things. There’ll be a safety pack with 2 more airbags (8?) and auto city brake, there’ll be a comfort pack with nicer seats and adaptive cruise control and city brake, …

Now what VW Malaysia will do is they will spec a car the way they think will appeal to their customers in Malaysia, and of course they’ll have to keep prices in mind. That car will be ordered several times and brought into Malaysia.

• dsgproblem on Jan 28, 2014 at 10:50 pm

do we finally get an option for manual transmission???

• Lee Kang Kung a.k.a Mcm Habuk Assemblyman on Jan 28, 2014 at 11:48 pm

My next car. I’m now eating kangkung only.

• kangkong on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:28 am

great move by VW..all the left over unused old technologies parts just bring to malaysia and put on CKD..and we get 30% price reduction..win-win situation, no?

• shawal on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:29 am

The new POLO
    Money talks bebeh , money talks….

• amirad on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:21 am

Looks neat. Nice steering wheel. If you look at the row of buttons above the RCD, there are nine buttons altogether and they are all filled. Compare with the Polo CKD. Only 7 buttons and only two are filled. The difference in specs is like night and day. I guess if a German car costs as much as a Jap, then the features and quality would be similiar to the Jap. And if a German car costs as much as a Proton /Perodua, wonder what would be their quality like. Only in Bolehland. These polos easily qualify as EEVs. NAP mentioned about giving special tax incentives to EEVs and at the same time Government also state that they will not reduce the duties based on the current fiscal position. If everybody driving EEVs wouldn’t that reduce the country petrol consumption and G don’t need to spend so much on petrol subsidies. So many uncertainties.

• Nice move by VW Deutschland.. add up all safety feature to the new models to attract possible buyers..Meanwhile in Malaysia, DRB-HICOM strip-off almost all safety features (-4 airabgs, -2 rear disk brakes, -VSC) and expect people buying the car like hot cake…

Pfft.. Cannot imagine the reason behind all the move..

• 1.0 TSI is the way to go…
    very nice headlamp and rims..

but the double line front grille not as sporty as the current single line grille in polo sport..

• farizY on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:13 am

Goodies we obviously won’t get in Malaysia, since gomen wanted the companies to cut car prices (instead of them abolisihing ridiculous tax and remove AP); we get bare minimum specs.

• Jaybond on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:26 am

This is quite a significant improvement over the previous model.Certainly much worthy buy than the pitifully downgraded CKD version Malaysians will get (despite the low price tag of the CKD version).Shame..

• Datuk on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:59 am

just bring the manual tranny and everything will be fine for VW sales in malaysia

• meanwhile in malaysia………………….

• so there r actually no price reduction of CKD Polo. reduce spec for sure lah reduce price, what the rakyat wants is same spec n reduce price.. reduce tax.. now is like kita kena tipu.. tipah tertipu bang.. tipah tertipu.

• Jiesir on Jan 29, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Electronic Stability Control is what I care more than airbags, or after crash passive safety feature. VW, I would even trade off all airbags for it.

• kelso on Jan 29, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Golf? Is that you? You’ve lost a tremendous amount of… wait, hang on… you’re the lil’ sister. Now that was awkward :P

• Archangel on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:40 pm

The design looks more appealing than the pre-facelift.

• Nice facelift. No point talking about utopian policies. At least we don’t have erp not coe. Too many brochure n magazine reading analysts who haven’t really test driven or even visited the showroom. Let’s have some feedback from polo owners instead. It’s a great car to drive even with lower spec. Suspension n chassis should be similar. Of course turbo 1.2 better….then 2 lit turbo lagi bes but reliability …. less is better…hey … we r developing country rite…