DRIVEN: Jaguar XF 2.0 Ti – pouncing on all four pots

Driven_Jaguar_XF_2.0_Ti_review_ 003

If this were a normal test of a Jaguar model, I’d be talking earnestly about its suave British style, impeccable refinement and comfort, while grumbling about the absolute quality of the drive. Well, sorry to disappoint you, but this XF 2.0 Ti is no ordinary cat.

Ironically, refinement is one of its less impressive features, while there’s every reason to be enthusiastic about the way it handles. That’s not to say that the latest XF is anything other than fashionable, or that its ride is anything less than sophisticated. It’s just that for once, such things don’t define the Jaguar experience.

It makes a refreshing change to be able to say that the real pleasure of driving this Coventry motor comes not from worthy (but ultimately not particularly outstanding) attributes, but rather from the experience behind the wheel.

Driven_Jaguar_XF_2.0_Ti_review_ 002

As a driver’s car, the Jaguar XF 2.0 Ti ranks right up there in the executive sedan pantheon with the F10 BMW 5 Series and W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class. In some ways, the Jag is a more complete package than its German rivals. Its steering feels more natural, for a start.

No matter how underrated or forgotten the ageing XF may be, the RM388,888 2.0 Ti (considerably cheaper than the comparable 528i and E 250) is a competitive rival for the likes of the usual suspects. If you like being a little bit different (don’t anyone mention the word hipster now), the Jaguar is a completely reasonable choice, if not exactly the best around.

At its heart is the same Ford-sourced 2.0 litre EcoBoost engine as the one in the XJ L 2.0 Ti that Paul tested. But while a downsized 2.0 litre engine is new to the large luxury sedan class, it’s par for the course in this one.

Driven_Jaguar_XF_2.0_Ti_review_ 030

In fact, here, Jaguar is rather late to game, having held on to its (relatively) underpowered and thirsty naturally-aspirated 3.0 litre V6 motor for far too long. It’s perhaps the very reason why the XF has never really caught on with buyers here. Until now, Jaguar hopes.

The new turbocharged direct-injection engine makes as much as 240 hp and 340 Nm of torque, which is very much comparable to BMW’s similarly sized turbo four in the 528i. Zero to 100 km/h takes just under eight seconds, 0.4 seconds slower than the much larger but lighter aluminium-bodied XJ L.

It’s far from the quickest in its class – the 245 hp and 350 Nm BMW does the century sprint in 6.3 seconds – but it’s still a healthy gain from the old 235 hp/293 Nm 3.0 V6’s 8.3 seconds. Fuel efficiency is up from just 9.5 to 11.2 km/l, though again, that’s a far cry from the 528i’s claimed 14.7 km/l. It’s a step in the right direction, at least.

Despite being a modern turbocharged engine, in Jaguar’s bespoke state of tune, it has to be revved hard to maximise its performance potential, but it’s certainly not averse to a bit of that.

The rewards come in the form of ‘touch-me-and-watch-me-jump’ throttle response and fabulous induction howl with the turbo running at full capacity, providing a real incentive for the driver to use the full breadth of the engine’s 6,500 rpm rev range.

That’s all well and good when you’re in the mood for a thrash-about. The problem is that, half the time – particularly during city driving or when you’re trying to make passengers’ lives as pleasant as possible – you really don’t want to be bouncing off the red line, which then means you miss out on the good part of the engine’s stage show.

Driven_Jaguar_XF_2.0_Ti_review_ 052

Sometimes, all you want is a nice, effortless wave of torque to carry you along. Below, say, 3,500 rpm though, the engine feels decidedly ordinary, lacking the torque-fuelled low-rev tractability of newer Bimmers and Mercs and even the old 3.0 V6 Jag.

Truth be told, it would be far more usable if the EcoBoost motor is tuned to offer more low down delivery, even if that comes at the expense of top-end power. The oddly spaced and programmed eight-speed ZF automatic transmission doesn’t help either. Somehow, the same gearbox feels more flexible and far quicker to react when paired to BMWs.

While it may be frustrating at times, the XF is 100% up for a cross-state blast, if you are. On these occasions, it all comes together in an enormously satisfying way, the driver feeling connected to the car in the best possible manner, through the throttle, the steering wheel and seat.

Driven_Jaguar_XF_2.0_Ti_review_ 007

In place of the Mercedes E-Class’ numb, understeer-laden chassis, there’s one with real feel and control and adjustability. And in place of the Audi A6’s light, lifeless steering, there’s weight, feedback and smooth precision. The meatiness of the steering comes as quite a shock the first time you drive the XF, but after that it simply feels brilliant.

The only caveat is that the steering’s performance deteriorates swiftly when the roads get rough, showing a tendency to tramline on uneven surfaces. Given the state of our local roads, the Jaguar will inevitable end up spending a fair bit of its time with less-than-perfect steering.

The intimacy of the relationship between the car and driver is taken to greater heights by the cocooning interior. It feels like a classy gentlemen’s club in there, with supple leather, polished walnut and real aluminium trim everywhere. Real British ingenuity is clear to be seen.

It’s not the last word in modernity, though. It may have been a real game-changer when it first appeared in 2007, but in the eight years since, the game has truly and deeply moved on.

Between then and now, BMW, Mercedes-Benz and Audi have all released all-new models, and the 5 Series and E-Class have even gone through their mid-life facelifts. And it’s in the interior department that the XF’s age is most exposed. It just feels old, and not in the good aged Victorian way, either.

Virtually everyone who has tested the Jag XF has come back waxing lyrical about what a sensational piece of kit it is. There are plenty of times when I’m of the same opinion. But on the whole, I had more of a love/hate relationship with it during the drive session.

Driven_Jaguar_XF_2.0_Ti_review_ 005

When I was in the mood to drive quickly, it came to the party with gusto and a flurry of activity that was hugely rewarding. But when I was commuting to work, hacking up a highway or carrying passengers, I kept finding myself wishing it wasn’t quite so busy. And the passengers tended to agree.

More than anything else, the Jaguar XF 2.0 Ti would benefit from a better-tuned transmission and more low-end torque from the engine. As is, it makes for a fantastic party piece, but is far from being relaxed or refined on a highway cruise. Inspiring and highly talented though it is, the Jag is a little too compromised to be a truly satisfying car to own.

Let’s put it this way: more than ever, it’s a worthy alternative to the usual suspects, but an alternative it remains, still.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Jaguar Malaysia is also not doing much to improve the Jaguar brand here.

Either way, while the outside of the XF does look sharp (and different from the sea of F10s and W212s) the interior seriously looks dated.

In terms of value it is actually not bad though. Considering that is CBU while the 2 other Germans are CKD and all. Wonder if the diesel is any good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • dino years on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:15 pm

have sat in a friend’s diesel one in singapore, and boy it is refined. wouldn’t have known it was an oil burner if not for the rush of power at the traffic lights.

• KL Stray Cat on Jan 29, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Does the fact that SG diesel quality is better than MY which may lead to a quieter rattle?

• DSG Tow Truck on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Such a pity. Such a good brand but managed by idiots and clowns in Malaysia. A prestige brand like this must have a proper service centre for example.

If you go to their only service centre in Glenmarie, there are no places to sit. Shockingly, it is true. You have to stand like a pariah dog looking at your car. Also, the coffee machine is spoilt and even the water dispenser is spoilt. So, you stand and stand in thirst. No TV, no Wifi, No reading material. Even your small chinaman car workshop also give you a chair and some newspaper to read.

Contrast that with Honda or Toyota. you got a place and chair to sit. You are given drinks, TV, wifi, biscuits, tea, coffee, newspapers etc.

Shocking a brand like Jaguar got this kind of service centre. Jaguar UK should strip Sisma of their dealership and give it to a company that can treat its customers with basic dignity and facilities. Nobody is asking for red carpet, all Jaguar owners at least deserve some basic clean water, biscuits and a chair to sit.

Please Sisma, don’t treat the prestigious brand like dirt!

• sudonano on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Quite ironic. Land Rover service is probably the best imo among the Contis so far. Compared to VW, BMW/MINI, I felt that Land Rover really respected me and all. Everyone is polite, offer you drink and all. BMW does that too, but in BMW the only layan you well if you walk in with your BMW fob in your hand.

• I’m not sure which Glenmarie service centre you went to but the one I normally go has sofas on the ground floor just off the service bays, with reading materials and a lot more seating area with coffee machine and titbits to eat on the upper floor…..

• Teh Tarik on Jan 30, 2014 at 3:04 pm

I think DSG Tow Truck got confused with Tow Truck service centre…

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Jan 29, 2014 at 4:49 pm

I was considering this XF & 520d . Looks like the 520d is a better choice. hmm….

• Lembab.. buruk… Kuat minyak…
    X ada apa perlu di bangga..

• paucharsiew on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:08 pm

asal boleh cakap…in my JAGGGGGGG

• kuok99 on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Have been into one, the interior quality just doesn’t compare to the f10, w212, c8, even the ridiculously dated S80 have a better built interior if i am being honest.

• mmaker on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:56 am

Why must sell at RM388888 while actually they can sell it at RM368888?

• Archangel on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:34 pm

This model is very nice. Too bad the price is high, thanks to NAP.