2015 Ford F-150 unveiled – “toughest, smartest ever”

ford-f-150-2015-3

America’s best-selling truck for 37 consecutive years and the nation’s best-selling vehicle for 32 years has entered its 13th generation. The 2015 Ford F-150 has debuted at the 2014 NAIAS in Detroit, and the company touts it as the “toughest, smartest and most capable F-150 ever.”

Taking styling cues from the Atlas concept of last year’s Detroit show, the new Ford F-150 is up to 318 kg lighter than the outgoing model, thanks to a new high-strength steel frame and an aluminium-alloy body.

Stand-out features include LED head and tail lamps, integrated loading ramps, trailer hitch assist, trailer brake controller, a smart trailer tow module and an integrated and retractable tailgate step.

Step inside and you’ll be greeted by a largely right-angled dashboard that reinforces the full-size pick-up truck’s ‘tough’ persona. There’s an eight-inch ‘productivity screen’ in the instrument panel, Sync with MyFord Touch, in-cab high-wattage power outlets (400W, 110V) and 360-degree camera view.

As for safety, the 2015 Ford F-150 features second-row inflatable seat belts, Curve Control, hill start assist, radar-guided adaptive cruise control, blind spot monitoring, cross-traffic alert and lane-keep assist.

Four engines will be available – EcoBoost V6s in 2.7 and 3.5 litre displacements, a 3.5 litre Ti-VCT V6 and a 5.0 litre Ti-VCT V8. Transmission will be handled by a six-speed auto, regardless of the engine. Five trim levels will be offered when the truck goes on sale later this year – XL, XLT, Lariat, King Ranch and Platinum.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Chris on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:35 am

I grew extra chest hair just by looking at the photos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • why can’t we get one in Malaysia?

• you ll hv a hard time parking in parking lots here bcoz its so big that it makes bmw 7series look small

• Hadi75 on Jan 30, 2014 at 7:46 am

Nissan navara is already a tight fit in our parking space….this truck is bigger

• Well, even the smallest engine is 2.7 litres, that’s more than double the average C-segment car engine in displacement. The current 2014 F-150 has a huge 6.2 litre as well.

If Ford brings these ‘muscle trucks’ here, they would cost many times more than the Hilux. That is why Ford has a smaller ASEAN truck, the Ford Ranger. Unlike its American brother, the Ranger comes with a 2.2 litre or 3.2 litre engine. So less tax overall.

• suddenly i feel like chuck norris…

• one of the late Paul walkers favorite cars.

• motorhead on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Look at the engine displacement. . Can’t believe she the best selling truck in US.. Americans is indeed, crazy.. & I like it.. Even our mother trucker like sissy dy compare to this. If reach here sure price like hell.. eco boost 3.5??.5.0??. fuhhh.

• lonelyobserve on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Ford F-150 is full-size pickup truck whereas mother trucker (Nissan Navara) is mid-size pickup truck. Size difference is quite obvious.

• sonyman on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:14 pm

why cant ford malaysia be better. They got good products, but the representation here sucks.

All technology comes from Volvo

• pearjai on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:22 pm

These model better with diesel in our market ! Petrol ? Don think so….

• superbird #43 on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:00 pm

diesel variants does not meet emission requirements in the States, particularly California.

• Gently Speaking on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Ecoboost engine has caused Ford become the Top least Reliable car.

if F-150 use it, I shall expect the Crown Sales be taken off.

• Josh Ling on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:48 pm

i wish more pickup here have that look. why can’t we have at least some manly man pickup here?? most of them are man enough, but still, it’s sissy compared to what they have in the US!

• Denaihati on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:23 pm

I noticed one photo show rear door open in opposite normal direction, so interesting and it is a nice premium truck, hope one day will enter malaysia.

• until the AP and excise duty exist in MAlaysia , there is x way of this kind vehicle to come in … too bad.

& the petrol/diesel quality which we are “enjoying” here also contributed y the new techs taking longer or never comes to bolehland.

• shahzadofkl on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:01 pm

how i wish i could own one….its a beast of a machine….but if it comes to Malaysia i think can only afford the 2.7L version :(

• Chris on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Hmmm, now you mention it… a truck is a commercial vehicle. A CKD truck within Asean only carries 10% tax, and a CBU truck would have 30% import + 10% sales. No excise.

We could potentially have a muscle truck for less than 140k… except I don’t know if they have a RHD version…

• lonelyobserve on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:18 am

Indeed. 2.7L has the lowest road tax among other bigger engines. But remember annual insurance is not cheap.

As for Chris mentioned, RHD F-150 is a possibility since Mustang is confirmed with RHD due to global car initiative by Ford. However, for F-150 to have around RM140K, the truck must be assembled in ASEAN, which Ford needs to consider (Philipines does have F-150 for sale, as the vehicles there are LHD).

• superbird #43 on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:04 pm

if only Ford make our beloved Ranger to have this authoritative looks…..

• powershot on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:50 am

ecoboost v6 2.7 litre displacement. drool

• niterunner99 on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:55 am

Where is Mr. Hilux? I like to hear his comment after he looked at this monster.

• Netsoft on Feb 01, 2014 at 1:44 am

Either you’re ignorant or stupid – Hilux and all the other common pick-ups (ranger, navara, triton) that you see in Malaysia are classified as mid-sized Pick up. F-150, Tundra etc are full-sized pick ups.

• Where can i get this F150 2.7L in Malaysia?