Nissan sales jump 48% in 2013, maintains No.2 spot

Nissan Almera Nismo-18

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) achieved its highest ever annual sales figure in 2013 with 51,875 Nissans sold. The 2013 total is 48% higher compared to the year before, helping Nissan maintain its No.2 position in the non-national segment behind Toyota and ahead of Honda.

“This is the second year that Nissan has gained the No.2 position in the non-national segment. We are pleased to know that Nissan is a well-accepted brand for its credibility and reliability in Malaysia. We would also like to take this opportunity to convey our sincere gratitude to all our loyal and supportive customers who helped in this achievement,” said Datuk David Chen, ETCM’s executive director.

No prizes for guessing that the main contributor is the Nissan Almera. The B-segment sedan accounted for 57% of total sales, or 29,647 units. Since its launch in October 2012, ETCM has shifted over 35,000 units of the Almera, which is priced from RM66,800. ETCM launched a Nismo Performance Package for the Almera at KLIMS13.

Almera aside, last year saw ETCM introduce the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid and Nissan Leaf electric car in our market, as well as refreshed versions of the Nissan Grand Livina MPV and Nissan Navara pick-up truck.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Almera! @@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Henry on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:45 pm

It is not pretty to many people but if I am just starting out and on a budget I might consider buying this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • DSG Tow Truck on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Is this the scum director that said it was good to keep taxes and excise duties high in Malaysia and maintain high car prices so that 30 million people can suffer further?

The data is wrong. Common sense. You see very few Nissans on the road compared to Honda and Toyota. Somemore, it contradicts MAA data. I think this data just given to the press to excite everybody.

Of course MAA got no balls now to justify their data. By now, MAA PR department should come out with a statement saying that Nissan’s figures are either true or untrue.

But then again MAA is like MAI, just puppet organisations spurting out false data and bogus figures to confuse the motoring community.

Come on lah Aishah, get your act together. Before your Datukship, you were so good, after your Datukship, you seem to dance to the tune of the government and even your data is questionable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • simon on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:17 am

that’s Ang Bon Beng la. He has already moved to head Vietnam operations.

Why still harping on it?

At least there’s improvement from them, though it could be faster.

• maliq on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:02 pm

I had the choice of buying either almera or swift. I test drove both, i shall say the almera is super nice and smooth, it have a big boot and very nice suspension. The suzuki swift have small boot, rather smaller cabin with a tiff suspension. In the end, i still buy the swift maybe due to im a student where i think the almera is more suitable for a small family and the swift looks cuter base on my opinion.

• Wattalk on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:50 am

Okay, i repeat my question.

What is the cheapest Nissan car in Malaysia equipped with stability control? At what price? Anybody can answer?

Thanx.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • motorhead on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:13 am

What is the point of your question? The same old lotus elise or Caterham don’t ve stability control or whatsoever… it’s how you drive & the behavior of the car itself… Again some ppl drive & think that they want to ramp on something… true driver knows what he drives… & in any car he drives well. Want superb handling buy a sport car. Even some sport cars have less electronic assist controls. Pure mechanical the best. Less problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
      • Wow. I cant wait to laugh at u when yr nissan masuk longkang or hit the barrier when you aquaplane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 26
        • motorhead on Jan 29, 2014 at 3:24 pm

I don’t ve a nissan, yet & not a nissan salesman.. but I can’t wait to see you masuk kubur terus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
          • Don’t worry, my car have all the active and passive safety to pull me out of trouble.

Your jap milo shit will become good sandwich spread for the plus workers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
        • motorhead on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Oh yeah? Don’t forget Paul Walker.. he did not died in japs shit.. wait till angel of death come to collect you & see if all of your safety systems can save you.. pray hard.. if you ve any religion.. it seems you are a free thinker. Never ve any idea of fate.. & so arrogant think that you are safer than me, because I drive a jap milo tin? Watch your back man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • Sam Insurance on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:50 am

Look like I need to increase your insurance premium since you drive milo tin. You know la…insurance payout for milo tin car with no safety is making my business bad. Sigh.

Dont forget we have a clause that milo t

• Wattalk on Jan 29, 2014 at 3:33 pm

So do you have the answer?

• You should ask which cheapest car with stability control in Malaysia but with very low sales figure.

• dugongbaru on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Nissan says their amisai chasis is so strong they dont need Side airbags. And since most nissan drivers r ah pek and pussy driver causing massive jam in kl crawling at 40km/h…no need front airbags too. And stability control also no need since cycling is faster than nissan drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 17
  • Datuk on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:56 am

Girl on the left who stand alone, available for test drive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • she looks like Sarah Hyland a.k.a Haley Dunphy in Modern Family.

• you have to test all three coz each have their own driving charateristics and offer different ride and handling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • hanssen on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:56 am

The sound of engine starting is sweeter to my ear compare to 2.4 vell engine, quieter

• totti on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:02 am

The new Almera has contributed 60% of the total sale for due to the aging Honda City and vios.

I am sure this year will be bad for nissan due to the introduction of T. Vios asnd new City.

They need to bring in the new slyphy and teana to maintain the number 2 spot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • AutoFrenz on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:11 am

Yay…nissan is ahead of honda…what have honda fanboys got to say…oh well honda is a premium brand therefore not many people can afford it bla bla bla…just accept the defeat…no need to corner baring like guan eng…always full of excuses and lies…cannot trust one…anyway happy CNY lor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 43
    • dugong on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Honda is losing out big in the pick-up truck segment while nissan got navara and toyota’s got hailax.

• Sam Loo on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:35 pm

now ahead of Honda.
        Then by the time Ahpek tan chong launch the sylphilis and tiana,Civic,Cerato and Accord already floding the road.

• Sam Loo on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:36 pm

No.2 only for a few months,then we will see Honda and Kia will be top 1 and 2 for non national car.

• mmaker on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:21 am

This year they will bring new sylphy and teanna

• sonic31s on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:18 pm

New sylphy, if the price fair enough and safety equip. Bye2 to out-dated civic and expensive altis…

• Fulcrum on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:45 am

Odd… MAA statistics revealed earlier stated differently. Does that mean MAA’s data is undependable?

• alldisc on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:46 am

this is the car that toyota says brings healthy competition but at the same time giving headaches to the sales team.

imagine 29,000 sales lost to nissan. coz half may have considered to buy vios. better luck next time toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Edward on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:22 pm

I considered buying Honda….but turned away to buy Almera….not regretting it.

• MAA 2013 report show Nissan at 45k sales figure behind Honda 51k sales. Which one is the true data?

• The data you saw where honda has more sales than nissan is from passenger car sales only. When you take into account commercial vehicles like Navara, Hilux then nissan and toyota wins as honda has zero sales there

• What the shit? on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:48 am

‘We are pleased to know that Nissan is a well-accepted brand for its credibility and reliability in Malaysia. We would also like to take this opportunity to convey our sincere gratitude to all our loyal and supportive customers who helped in this achievement,” said Datuk David Chen, ETCM’s executive director.’ Like HELL we are loyal and supportive!!! People already switched to Hondas and Toyotas, even korean brands man!
    Stupid Jokers must bring in the new models faster La! Hell, currently, even thailand has the nissan juke for sale.By the time the NOTE reaches malaysia, an all new model will be launched by then.These clowns should follow their very own Tan Chong Singapore distributor.Hell people,when i was there last month they have nissan gtrs(brand new cbu from japan!!not recond shitboxes like here in malaysia!),Nissan Note,New 2014 Teana!(Damn beautiful compared to the old junk model here in malaysia).Bloody hell they even have the juke on sale.LOL!WtD!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • vee-oh on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:56 am

that girl on the left is quite hot

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Bravo Nissan

Give me a thumb up if u agree that DRB Hicom is the reason Honda start experiencing upset from Nisan in last 2 years

Honda has done so great in Thailand and even toppled Toyota as the no 1 in passenger car recently

How else can you explain it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:37 pm

FYI in japan honda has always been behind toyota and nissan…so not surprising though…honda doesnt have that many models compared to these two giants…

• Denaihati on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:21 pm

congratulation Nissan, it is a big number. Aggressive introduce new model 2013 and value for money gave a great sale.

• shaun on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Do u really think this data is correct? I personally don’t think so. Why we still see tons of Honda on the road but very few nissan?

Plus, almera is ugly, soon more people will be buying vios n city, even though they r also not really good looking cars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Tan Chong syok sendiri. Same like proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • swaik on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Malaysian market is starting to show senses as world wide it’s been T, N and H and not T and H as what can be read in lots of Malaysian post. As TC brings more models and close the latency gap, more people is starting to appreciate Nissan. I have been driving Sentra, Sylphy and Teana one after another for more than 10 years and no regret so far. Nissan makes pretty reliable machine with very low total cost of ownership. Styling is subjective though ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Henry on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Congratulations, Nissan & Tan Chong. I hope you will bring in better and more interesting models in the future.

• come on.. bring in the new x-trail. Kill crv and cx5..

• skatax on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:08 pm

you must be joking….should be qashqai

• Sam Loo on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:42 pm

By the time Apek bring in that model,CR-V,CX5 and even Kuga already flooding the road until massive jam.

• from my friend working with toyota before jump to Nissan, he mentioned that service in N much cheaper than T, regretted to own a vios. The warranty by T also doesnt make sense, add bodykit also can void warranty.

• IMHO the problem with Nissan distributed by ETCM is poor safety spec (when compare to same car segment), mass delay in bringing in latest model and questionable taste in their car design..I hope they will improve on these aspects.

• skatax on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:03 pm

as passenger car enthusiast, i think the non-commercial figures should be announced by ETCM separately. they hardly have many 3S/4S centres in Malaysia for passenger cars, unlike UMW and HM with their huge 3S showrooms. commercial vehicles (pick-up, light trucks and vans) are usually sold in fleets and the marketing strategy is always different. woi, cheating laa…

• Albert lee on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Nissan sales 48 % up.Where is proton?It has dropped more than 48% to 138k units in 2013 after the last 5 years.In 2-3 years time,if Proton keep dropping,JUST CLOSE SHOP and become AP KING,make more sense?

• civicEK on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:13 pm

the recipe for d success? reliable car with big room interior + affordable price. performance? nahhhh..

• Archangel on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Beware Toyota, Nissan is tailgating you. Hehe.