Petronas Coffee Break is back for CNY, goodies for all!

petronas coffee breakClick to enlarge map

Another holiday, another balik kampung exodus; and as usual, Petronas Coffee Break will be there to make your drive back to the hometown a little bit more pleasant.

This Chinese New Year holidays, there will be two phases of the Petronas Coffee Break campaign, on January 29-30 and February 2-3 for the return leg. This year, Petronas will be giving out bright red goodie pouches to motorists, containing a can of Wonda Premium Coffee, a pack of crispy Julie’s Love Letters crackers and Petronas ang pow packets.

Organised for the 15th consecutive year, the company’s flagship road safety programme aims to educate motorists to embrace road safety measures during their journey. The Coffee Break campaign is available at 39 Petronas stations located along highways and major trunk roads nationwide.

“For 15 years, we have been offering our Petronas stations as a place for motorists to conveniently pull over to rest and refresh themselves with the complimentary serving of coffee and snacks. Our stations, which have been designed to provide total convenience under one roof, also serve to be the one-stop centre for motorists to fuel up, dine, top up their Touch N Go, withdraw cash as well as stock up on snacks and drinks for the family,” said Shaharuddin Muhammad Sidek, head of retail business division at Petronas Dagangan Berhad.

Petronas

To ensure that adequate highway emergency services are available during this balik kampung period, Petronas will be contributing RM20,000 to fuel up St John Malaysia’s ambulances that are patrolling the highways. This initiative is being carried out by Petronas for the 20th consecutive year.

“At Petronas, our role is to remind all motorists on the importance of road safety and help them stay awake during the journey via our Coffee Break campaign. Malaysians need to know that everyone of us plays a role in keeping our roads safe for all to use. We all share the same roads and if we don’t drive responsibly, we are not just putting ourselves at risk but also others,” Shaharuddin added.

Preparing for the journey? Read our balik kampung vehicle checklist and guide. Already on the road? Those with iOS or Android smartphones can locate participating Petronas stations with the Petronas Pitstop app. For further info, you can also go to www.mymesra.com.my. Have a safe drive and happy holidays!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• How to get the goodies? I’m gonna balik kampung tonight. Thought of getting this goodies at Ayer Keroh.

• DSG Tow Truck on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:05 pm

They should be giving cheaper petrol instead of this nonsense. Last year Petronas made over 100 Billion in clean profit and all they can give is keropok and love letters?

Nonsense lah. Give back to your rakyat cheaper Petrol for the festive season.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • nabill on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Good CSR ….

• i like..

• Haiyah this is a crony company lorr, why want to get the goodies. Boycott boycott!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • Ash Crimson on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Stop politicising everything. Sheesh. Oh by the way, thank you so paultan. ;)

• old dog on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:30 am

People like you made us the true patriot looks idiot. Petronas IS our country’s asset, and we should support it without a doubt. It is the people running it idiot only. PETRON is by biggest Cronies on the other hand infact. Not Petronas.
      How can we have a Philippine beer company running big petrol business in Malaysia? and you tell me this not haram? and we shout against the Halliburton in Malaysia? LOL. not that is true Cronies twist and turn for double standard.

• Jinggo on Jan 29, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Hidop Petronas!

• _xXx_ on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:22 pm

no thanks…tell ur boss to bring down fuel price instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Eau De Coutune on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:38 pm

I rather boycott Shell. Some cases from Shell stations cheating to the customers. They manipulate the meter and giving false quantity of gasoline. I one of the victim.

It might be happen to other brands but not for Shell they did not take any action towards those stations. Seriously never come back to Shell.

• Ash Crimson on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Serious? You should file a report then mate.

• kidding are u? on Jan 30, 2014 at 3:06 pm

False meter! Must be a joke of the day. Then u shall report it to police . Or go bck to yr lover petronut

• nobody on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Yeah me too and some of my friends. And it all happen in early morning (around 6 am) at Shell and Petronas but not sure if other petrol station had this problem .Heard it because of pressure problem in the morning .

• Denaihati on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:07 am

have a nice coffee break this CNY to all. pandu cermat jiwa selamat.

• Tekeo1070 on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Happy Chinese New Year and Happy Holiday Forummer…drive safely

• superbird #43 on Jan 30, 2014 at 1:54 pm

saratok, sibu, bintulu, mukah and miri? the stations provided in the peninsular outnumbered those in the east by almost 6x. …..
    huhu not fair….

• Syuhada on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Happy Chinese New Year & Happy Holiday!
    Safe journey.

• Archangel on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Hope not too late to wish. Happy Chinese New Year.