SPYSHOTS: Proton P2-30A GSC sighted in the snow

Proton-GSC-002

These are not the clearest shots of Proton’s upcoming B-segment hatchback so far, but it’s interesting to see that the car is still on test overseas.

The new Proton which we’ve come to know as the P2-30A Global Small Car for now was sighted driving out of a petrol station in northern Sweden, where it went on to continue its cold climate testing.

Proton-GSC-Dash-Top

We did manage to catch a very slight glimpse of the top section of the dashboard in one of the pix. You can see bits of red in the instrument cluster, which is similiar to the multi-info display of recently launched Proton cars such as the Proton Preve and Proton Suprima S.

Check out our Proton P2-30A Global Small Car infohub for our full coverage on this upcoming Proton thus far. It is expected to be launched sometime this year.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• IB4 INFART

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
    • Aerro on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Smart Europeans are not fools to buy Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 85
      • 16000 Proton sold in Germany from 1995 to 2001…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • obama on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:32 am

Where do u get your stats from? As I know from 2001 to 2013 is 1000 sold. No snowing country will ever buy proton, so don’t waste money to test it there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
          • Proton left Germany in 2001. So it’s impossible that they sold 1000 cars from 2001 to 2013 there… ;)

More than 4000 Proton were still registered in Germany in 2013. A survival rate of 20% for cars that are at least 12 years old is not too bad in country with mandatory TÜV (Puspakom) inspection every two years and forced de-registration if the vehicle is found not road-worthy.

BTW: My source is the KBA (‘Kraftfahrtbundesamt’), the vehicle registration authority of Germany: http://www.kba.de

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
        • Aerro on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:39 am

16,000 German fools out of millions. Minority idiots

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 51
          • pirlo on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:57 pm

that is quite offensive remark towards german people. this blog was also read by foreigners, not malaysian only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
          • achtung on Feb 07, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Dear Aerro, your usage of language shows the shallowness of your thinking… Dont ever INSULT other people

• if you like,you will buy,but if you don’t just
        ignore.

• tambah spoiler baru cantik ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • Now I get it …..this proton is designed by IKEA designers. No wonder it has the look and feel of my IKEA dustbin I bought at RM12.90.
      Good job Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 110
      • Low Budget on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:11 pm

More like designed by Swedish Volvo. This could be the P2 Viva and MyVi killer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
    • OMG…Boring the test and spy shot….what so special abt this piece of crap? Myvi still the BEST lah…Big car cant sell well, now wanna sell small car…lol…puihhh…

• robot boy on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:46 am

se the sign says INFART!! pointing at the car. it is a FART aafter all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 104
    • robotman on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:40 pm

since that place famous for testing car, BMW, MERC, JAGUAR, etc must be fart too. except for P2 as they never send there, right robot boy?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 1
      • robot Boy on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:31 pm

at least they dont take their pictures near the infart sign.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 55
        • Robot Boy Shit on Jan 29, 2014 at 4:28 pm

robot Boy, you are poor kid la. Signboard also become issue. Typical PR supporter. What a shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 35
          • Hadi75 on Jan 30, 2014 at 7:52 am

Malaysians….even in car blog need to involve political parties…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Infart means “entrance” in Swedish lah idiot…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 2
      • Aerro on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 150
        • how can be ‘kentut masuk’ since the spelling is infart? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
        • Ash Crimson on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:46 pm

You just went full retard. Never go full retard, mate. Never.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Ash Crimson on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:47 pm

You just went full retard. Never go full retard, mate. Never.

• Ass Crimson on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:11 am

Retard – Fools that keep support Proton knowing it’s proven hopeless crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
  • shamshaw on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:46 am

May I know how do you know it was a proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 53
    • Aerro on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Skill hidu macai Proton memang best. They can smell Proton miles away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 78
      • I can smell your butthurtness from very far away. I can see black heart too.. Pity you.

• inderaloka on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:57 am

Gen.2 CPS alloy rims spotted. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • gtmaniac on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:47 pm

It looks quite right-sized at Gen2, but kinda smallish in this test car. Imagine how big this car actually is..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • rifle on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:59 am

this boy seriously wanted to go global right..hope that it will success in our country and also globally..bashers will always be bashers..but there are also people that believe proton today are not the same as the old days..we strive to go further and further..hopefully it will be a success eventhough we will never could shut off the bashers’ mouths n fingertips

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 147 Thumb down 158
    • Low Budget on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:15 pm

If it does sell well globally, all Boleh Landers Proton bashers will change their minds and praise Proton endlessly..
      If it can’t sell even in Bangladesh, then P1 is in deep shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • So let me get this clear, you’re saying that you’re willing to put faith in a car manufacturer that is almost 30 years old and STILL being protected by the government and funded by cronies. A company that started out building it’s foundations from Japanese cars; which is fine, but what isn’t is that THEY STILL DO IT TODAY. And then of course it takes pride in REBADGING, namely the Mitsubishi Lancer (INSPIRA for inspiration, joke of the year) and the most recent Pronda Accordana. Above else, their “original” cars are still running on continuous obsolete technology from Honda and Mitsubishi(CAMPRO). You’re right, they’re not where they were in 1985; they’re even further behind than they should be.

All said though, yes. You say you have faith in them. I will too, when the government finally stops protecting, bailing, and letting them stand as a private company of which the government only holds shares in and cannot take any further action than an average member of board can. Then I’ll share the same sentiment as you. Lets not forget, bashers bash for a reason and there are more reasons than your fingers can count to “bash” Proton. That includes the fact that cronies are still benefiting handsomely from the company. Proton is really a product of externality; a spillover of the true benefactors.

Sorry for the hate but Proton being cheap is perfectly fine, in fact, it’s good for households who can’t afford an average car. It’s the people running the corporation that get me. Think twice about what you put your faith into because it’s not only the local car maker you’re supporting here if you do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 49
      • 30 years is nothing.
        Australia protected Ford and Holden for FAR FAR LONGER than Proton… and for much more $$ as well. Sure taxes are fair, but the govt replaces its entire fleet every 100k km (less than one year!). F*ck the 49% tax bracket.

Proton currently causes prices to be roughly RM20k more expensive for a 1.6 ton class sedan in Malaysia.

Only RM20k?

Check out the OTR prices on Australian sites of cars of a *similar trim*. Eg. The Honda Accord 2.4 VTi leather trimmed ends up being around RM150k OTR in Melbourne…. and is RM170k OTR in Malaysia.

Yes, proton pays tax too, and are competitive in Langkawi. They make genuinely cheap cars.

Their latest move with the Suprema is commendable. A 5 star ANCAP car with bootloads of features simply not found at its price point. It’s more expensive OTR in Melbourne than in Malaysia, yet, on-paper at least, edges out similar ~1.4ton cars (civic/corolla/elantra) in terms of sheer specs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
        • Well said Ezra. Good info. A relief from all those ‘unhealthy’ comments.

• Aerro on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:53 am

Australians always prefer Corolla Altis, Camry, Cerato, Elantra. Proton just wasting time there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
        • achtung on Feb 07, 2014 at 11:14 pm

i’ve read this comment before… Ezra, too lazy to type ahh, just ‘cut-and-paste’ only ahh…?

• Tracks on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:19 am

I generally agree with your comments. However, CAMPRO is not by Mitsubishi as it was joint developed with Lotus. Originally, CAMPRO was a DOHC engine with CAM PROfile Switching and hence the name. However, it was first launched as a half baked standard DOHC engine without the CAM PROfile switching powering the first generation of Gen2. It was a rubbish engine having a significant torque dipped between 2k ~ 3k RPM. Then, they improved the engine and made it available with the IAFM (Intergrated Air-Fuel Module) for both 1.3 and 1.6 variant of the so called CAMPRO engine. It was better but produces a very noticeable noise during switching even though further improvement to the IAFM was done.
        Later, they finally launched the 1.6 CAMPRO CPS (Cam Profile Switching) first used in Waja 1.6 CPS. What most people miss out also is that the 1.6 CPS engine works in conjunction with VIM (Variable Induction Module) which main function helps improve the low end torque. CPS main function was improving the top end power but limited to the intake valve mechanism only.

• Low Budget on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:28 am

If benchmark latest CAMPRO against the latest Japanese or the Korean cars engine, CAMPRO got fight or not?

• caprico on Feb 05, 2014 at 12:21 pm

if you want to benchmark using latest engine from japs or koreans, then use proton’s latest engine, the CFE (CAMPRO Fuel Efficient).

• harris on Mar 17, 2014 at 3:51 pm

What can I say is..PROTON is pretty much the mirror of Malaysian…How could u expect a world class car when we have citizen, bashers, and engineers like Malaysian?
        Malas..racist…and all those negative thing?
        Bullshit! it’ll never happen..

• srubbish on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:02 pm

taking too long! I’m gonna get another car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 47
    • rifle on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:27 pm

the launching date was planned between april-june this year sir..not too long to go now if the plan is not disturbed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • robotman on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:40 pm

nobody stop you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • bujingyun on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:05 pm

hay PaulTan..there’s clerical error…’similar’ instead od ‘similiar”

• There’s a good sign that the front fascia could be a stylish design. Creases on the bonnet, elongated headlamp, flared eyelids, big grille mouth at the bottom, kinda looks like Prefacelift fiesta’s grille

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • niceone on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:14 pm

proton cars’ front design usually is good looking. it’s the rear that we should worry about

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
  • Is this the same place where other carmaker test their car in cold weather.?
    hope the car can prove proton is serious to “fight” with other carmaker.

btw i rally wish to see proton improve alot especially interm of quality. My Saga FLX 2013 was “great”.not even 1 year, 2 big thing happen.. first is the rear break drum. changed due to freaking weird soud from the break while driving. second is the radiator fail causing the temperature sky high, while driving.. my car not even 1year, not even 20k KM yet, i just drive go and back to work which is 50KM journey daily. because of not trusting the car reliability since first incidence , i never ever drive it outside KL, Balik Kampung or for pleasure long distance run.
    if anyProton staff see this message. please forward this to ur top level management.. i know there must be a way for the staff to contact the management..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
    • notprotonsalespeople on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:29 pm

I have a 18 year old Charade, problem only arises once in a while.. changed a lot of major parts, but after that, no more major problems.. do you service your car right on schedule? do you often check the water level of the radiator?

• Yes i do service on time and yes i do all the water level.. anything else? u want me to email u my service book?

• rifle on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Not all of proton cars has problems..maybe its from the production line..cases like this happens to all car manufacturers..but as I said, not to all cars, and maybe u are 1 of the unlucky person to get the car..my saga blm se 2009 never had major faulty..u should ask proton i-care for further assistance..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • 2009 Blm too, no big problem. Alignment, battery, most serious one gasket seal leak..

• yes not all.. i agree. no wonder laa my friend that bought the same model RECENTLY face same problem with me.. probably his car also came same batch as me..

• I have a 7 year old Persona. Still running like brand new. Only those wear and tear stuff that cost me but no major issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • i know brake is wear and tear but in first month, KM not even 500km, i cant consider is wear and tear issue unless i drive with hand break pulled.

• toyol on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:12 pm

forward your message to proton i care la..make a formal report.not here la tambii..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • yes i already done the icare thing, and also already done my checking with puspakom and AAM.. i’ve done my report to tribunal pengguna.. no need to know the detail of what are my complaint..

• I have a 7+ years old unreliable first batch “fat” 60GB PlayStation 3 that still works today under heavy use. Many PS3 from this first batch will usually have hardware failures after 3 years of normal use.

Not related to cars but I’m just saying that things like this just a matter of luck. Can happen to ANYTHING.

I hope you really make use of your warranty. You probably will need to force them to change everything related to the defect part. Yeah, “force them” because it’s normal. No company in this world wants their money lost due to warranty claims.

• SIRIM on Jan 29, 2014 at 4:04 pm

the problem with proton is their QC.. my 3 yrs old saga fl never give me problem, almost 80k km now. really happy with the car.

• good to know that.. u are lucky sir.. :)

• Leong on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:54 am

SIRIM,our current proton saga really should not have any problem as most technology used in the car are widely known and easily available to any engineers,considered text book subject matters.We are now in the age of how to use less fuel,have more fun drives and how to pack more electronic toys in a car and still maintain the reliabiltiy.

• The problem is not with the Proton QC but the manufacturers who supply the parts. QC cant do anything if the parts is sucks at the beginning. Don’t tell them to reject all the cars.

• I’m sure it’s Proton QC ‘terlepas pandang’ during final assembly. Maybe their worker did an error and went unnoticed.

I worked in a supplier once, if our parts are found defective at the receiving gate, Proton would reject the WHOLE batch of that part.

• Aerro on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:54 am

Go tell that with TUV and Savvy

• Low Budget on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Mine had 5 big things happened in the 1st 12 months, I keep going back to Proton and fixed it, until at last I sold it, I know fixing is free of charge by Proton but because I cannot “tahan” keep going back to Proton to complain.

• Tracks on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:02 am

For the Saga BLM, the rear drum brake having problem is a very common issue as mostly related to the brake pump piston jammed.
      For your radiator failure, it is a leakage of coolant the problem causing overheating? Or the radiator fan was not working?

My advise is to make lots of complaint to Proton SC and try to get it rectified.

• Aerro on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:56 am

“make lots of complaint to Proton SC and try to get it rectified.”

Macam tunggu kucing bertanduk.

• Complaining to Proton SC is still much easier, quick to resolve and less headache than complaining to Ford’s SDAC, VW Malaysia or Peugeot.

Have problems with your conti cars? Get ready to walk and take public transport for few weeks or even months if you have no other cars.

• Wick3dbox on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:36 pm

If complaining to SC don’t work, i recommend writing an email to Proton HQ or write a letter to complaint. make lots of Hu ha, bring it to the top and make the top management call you to solve your problems. if they don’t care, then bring it to the media. Somehow someone somewhere will listen and do something about your car problems.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 30, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Please flood your Complaints to these mail addresses:
      NORHISHAM BIN ITHNIN, DEPUTY CEO OFFICE ; AMIR HISHAM BIN ABD RAHIM, WE- CARE & TECHNICAL ;ZULKIFLI BIN SENU, GROUP QUALITY/POWERTRAIN QUALITY ;KHAIRUDDIN BIN MAT ARIF, GROUP CONTROL/QUALITY SALES & SERVICES ;’ADAM BIN MOHD ANSHAR, GROUP QUALITY/POWERTRAIN QUALITY’ ;PROTON We-Care ; [email protected]

I’ve done lots of complaints and they have to listen. So far I’ve got what I want from Proton. And yeah, the QC really sucks but we are blaming the service centres. Now it’s time to channeled the complaints to the right person.

• Random on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Based on mitsubishi colt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
    • W3261L on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:38 pm

No.. Honda Brio, which only available in Thailand. That’s why Honda Malaysia refuse to bring in Honda Brio to Malaysia, since Proton already seal an agreement with them to re-badge the model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 65
      • Aerro on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Proton said no more rebadge in future models. Janji dicapati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
      • no name on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:55 pm

what kinda shit r u talking about…where did u get this fact..?? it’s totally new model based on wider n longer savvy platform…even the size also different…brio is in A segment meanwhile GSC is in B segment…do ur homework first b4 come out with this false conclusion…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
        • W3261L on Jan 29, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Proton Salesman told me lah.. They already went for training for that model.. Yes I’m not doing my homework. But getting the info from a reliable source.. At lease I’m better than you that only know to shoot people blindly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
          • NO NO NO.. this is NOT a rebadge model.. but it’s benchmark is honda brio..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
          • no name on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:30 pm

I think i did’t shoot u blindly about this matter..paultan commenters already mention about this in paultan’s previous article…thus u did not properly following this GSC thingy…most of commenters here already know that proton edar guys cannot be 100% trusted (no offence)…nowadays u can get clear information from other blogs which similar to paultan…im sorry if u did not really like my explaination…peace..

• are you sure the salesman is the reliable source to be quoted? err…

• Zapruder on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Ha.. Proton salesmen? Most of them don’t even know where’s the Proton preve cfe intercooler installed.. How can you say they’re reliable sources?

• Ai yooo.. u believe the proton salesman. Enuf said (pacepalm)

• Uzair on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Not mitsu, not honda, this car is based on revised savvy chassis design by proton with the help of a korean consultant company. It a new car entirely. Not a rebadge from any japs or koreans or europeans or chinese or american.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
      • Korean again.
        How much they want to conquer the world ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • Low Budget on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Take turn to conquer the World, 1st it was Japanese with Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Mazda and then next comes the Koreans with Hyundai and Kia and now the latest, our very own Proton.

• as long as not K-pop, it is ok la kot.

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Proton in the end, still proton. If they can compete with other car brand in msia without the protection scheme given by government, then I will RESPECT PROTON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 34
    • robotman on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Proton in the end, still Proton
      Toyota in the end, still Toyota
      Honda in the end, still Honda

boy, why telling the obvious thing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • driver on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Is it just me? Or the car parked behind looks similar to this GSC in the last picture?

• driveabird on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:42 pm

I think the quarter glass at the ‘A’ pillar is too big…could obstruct driver’s view on incoming traffic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • mark foster on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:10 pm

you can see clearly the mirror has been taped. just beside the side mirror

• kadajawi on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:46 pm

I wonder where they intend to sell this. Europe? Russia? China? America? There are plenty of cold places…

• North pole n greenland maybe..huhu

• Must be China, the U.K. and maybe Russia. U.K. is 101% confirmed. China, most likely. But Russia, need to wait and see how.

At this stage, I doubt Proton will sell the GSC in the rest of Europe, but I could be wrong. The GSC is VERRRYYYYY similar to the Hyundai i10. It’s one of Hyundai’s best selling models currently. If Proton can do whatever Hyundai did with the i10, and sell it a bit cheaper and with more kit and longer warranties = sure winner.

Time will tell.

• Ass Crimson on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:09 am

Sure winner…time will tell…

Dude stop taking LSD lah OK.

• nabill on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:51 pm

If im not mistaken,Bosch have a big test facility up thr to test out their ecu,abs,tc n all those things…i can assume its their for tc n electronics testing so we kno it might b an option on one of the variants….word is its using an ‘enhanced’ campro 1.3 iamf+ engine…..

• Myvi78 on Jan 29, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Ha..nmpak jgk sket panel meter..sah temp bar n fuel bar mcm preve..

• Sorry! I love the snow more …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Same Loor on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:18 pm

If you bring your car to Sweden, please SELL THERE and DON’T BRING BACK. Don’t con Malaysian driver with your sub-quality car again. No one really interested on this car.

Even Kimchis are much better than you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 63
    • Wick3dbox on Feb 13, 2014 at 7:48 pm

I agree with the sub quality car part. I also agree with the con malaysians part too.
      I dont understand why so many dislike with your comment though. Maybe too many Malaysians are blinded by the gomen and Proton’s top management and cronies who benefit most at the expense of Malaysians hard earn money.

• Uzair on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Wiper sensor spotted!

• Obviously on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:19 pm

They even put disguise tape on the window where the door lock stick thingy probably is if they use it. So I guess it’s safe to say that it shares the same door lock stick thingy as the Saga and not the rolling lock thingy as found in the Preve and Suprima S?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Obviously on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:20 pm

On closer inspection, looks like they just want to disguise the information etched onto the windows. My bad.

• Whitegoh on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:21 pm

5 star ancap is a must!
    Reliability must improve!
    Lesser engine power is okay if interior is “acceptable”.
    Price must be around 40 to 50k based on spec I will buy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • makigoto on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:22 pm

nice..got rain sensor

• SpongeWai on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Questions over the new B-segment hatchback Proton

how much the price?!
    how many air-bags?!
    using the same engine 1.6 CFE or new engine?!
    how many target to sell?!

and last will it beat Perodua Myvi sales in the future?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • KillBox1Alpha on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Test in snow for what…no ones gonna buy it there anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
    • DrCooper on Jan 29, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Snow is the most severe challenge for handling..if it perform well on it then the car can perform well every where & anywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Ass Crimson on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:08 am

I disagree. Arab people always prefer reliable Camels than Proton cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Ash Crimson on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Your comment shows how ‘genius’ you are.

• muhgin on Jan 29, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Is it just me or the black car at the back looks similar to the disguised Proton??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • ntah pa2 on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Kenapa test di sweden nnt kena tangkap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • thedarkside on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:09 pm

hope the new proton will improve its fuel consumption significantly. maybe they can benchmark the hyundai 1.2 kappa engine or the mitsu mirage. the specs must be comparable to picanto. slap a 45K price tag or less i believe proton will have a mean selling machine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • wanabe on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:16 pm

how about the engine???…engine campro 1.3 turbo maybe??? anyone have any news about it???

• vee-oh on Jan 29, 2014 at 2:38 pm

this is the same location perodua sent their new bumper design for durability testing

• Better test at hot weather places like the middle east to know how the plastic & rubber parts can withstand malaysian weather.. Currently my saga window n roof rubber all messed up due to heat. The wiper area plastic cover also faded already.. If anyone realise, when parked under hot sun, saga interior plastic gets very ‘hollow’ n soft..

• Amboi on Jan 29, 2014 at 3:41 pm

I will consider buying this car, provided that it comes with ESC.

Saga here doesn’t come with ESC, and yet they provide it to Aussie. I really hope this time, Proton will serve their own rakyat well, same as how Japan carmakers serve the Japanese.

• DrCooper on Jan 29, 2014 at 3:41 pm

I really hope it came with turbo…after driving Gen2 then Preve, I can conclude the SP4H is rubbish without turbo.

• Datuk Hisham Othman on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Turbo for R3? Checked!

• what i hear is only 1.3L version still the same IAFM+..

but 1.6L version is different.. essentially a CFE with no turbo.

What I know/heard: -completely different exhaust manifold design compared to other NA Campro
      -now has Continuous Variable Valve Timing on intake side (same with CFE)
      -since it’s based on CFE, maybe 1561cc instead of 1597cc
      -target is 122+hp, wide torqueband
      -have Auto Start/Stop like conti
      -most likely no IAFM. not necessary anymore.
      -Euro 5

• no name on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:44 pm

i agree with the details upon the 1.6 version…i also have similar information from trusted person from powertrain department…

• Faiz Izzuddin on Jan 29, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Great story,i saw Proton GSC parked at Proton Alor Setar. Parked at a parking lot. go check it out before it’s too late.

• Tengokaje.. on Jan 29, 2014 at 4:38 pm

heard that P1 will launch this baby mid April this year..hmmm…

• no name on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:49 pm

if according to the master plan..april 2014 is the expected launching date…but currently they still working on supplier parts defect issue..that’s why they still running all kinds of test…these matter are very important to avoid any kinds of stupid problems even for the first batch of the mass production..trust me..proton staff were working really hard for this GSC…despite the pressure from DRB big guns inside….

• The rear seats are just like one in Suprima S. yumms!
    http://s2.paultan.org/image/2014/01/Proton-GSC-003.jpg

• Spyshots? Haha … in sweden? Come on… are Malaysians that stupid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 30
    • We'renotthestupidone on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:00 pm

How many times have Paul Tan mentioned that he gets these global spyshots from a few international agencies?

See all those spyshots of all cars from over the world with the paultan.org watermarks? Those are all used under license. Means paultan.org is paying for all those pictures for us to see.

As for this Proton GSC, surely Paul Tan would have told his contracted spy photographers to look out for this car, as this is the only prominent car website that would run such photos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Datuk Hisham Othman on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Sorry, no Perodua spyshots in Sweden..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Ash Crimson on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Only you maybe.

• Ass Crimson on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:06 am

Maybe they can test syok sendiri in Sweden, but folks there only buy Volvo and never give a hoot to crap called Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Global Silly Car on Jan 29, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Hopefully not another Savvy failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • DO NOT kick this car if the engine not working in the Swedish snow, as it is against the Swedish law. Can be prosecuted for corporal punishment against the car & go to jail.

• Vikingdom on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Yes always kiss your car no matter how crap it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • That’s why Volvo is always the safest car, safe from whipping coz protected by ridiculous Swedish law….even Odin also can go to jail if he give Thor & Loki a spanking :-P

• Looks like another Proton Savvy is on its way.Simply pathetic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
  • sorry proton not this time on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Proton is the cause of car prices to be the level they are today. Seriously u still want to support them. The un viable national car project forced the price of other cars to be pegged at higher price.Think about it and dont be a blind supporter. There is no free market. Monopoly has gotten all malaysian strapped with high loan. Dont keep feeding the devil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • sorry proton not this time on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:12 pm

We have given proton 29 years and still cant compete. What free market sumore. We will continue
    To suffer if we support them. Better close shop and open up the car market for competition. Win win for all. Dont worry jobs will still there. It is just with another car company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Albert Lee on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:35 pm

Has any car from Proton succeeded internationally?At one time,those proton engineers boasted the Preve will be marketed globally successfully.More Nissan Almeras were sold than the Preve in Malaysia in 2013.
    We dont care if the car is small or big.Proton,you have been failing non stop for 10 years now,with Lotus spewing more red ink.
    Take the rakyat’s advise.Channel all the staff to perodua,UMW,Naza,Tan Chong and even Cherry.Just SHUT down instead of asking for more taxpayers sponsored Government grants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • You want to compare that puny 1.5l engine to turbo engine? That’s pathetic. Better compare Almera with saga. It’s better seller too.

• tombyron on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:53 pm

looks like fiat punto..

• Steve Kok on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:54 pm

I know i will be getting a lot of Dislike for this ..

Aiya.. testing here and there for what? After all it will be a Campro 1.3 or 1.5 engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Ash Crimson on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Funny how some people who never buy a Proton complained about Proton’s failure.

• Ass Crimson on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:04 am

Funny how some fools keep support Proton root cause of car buyers’ suffering. Maybe the keep their eyes in the cupboard, that’s why they’re blind cannot see how crap junk Proton is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Flat Black on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Rebadge VW Polo please… will happily buy if can offer 70k.

• Old dog on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:07 am

I wanted to know who is the protong finance manager who approve this and how many cars at what target price to sell in order to break even outside go Malaysia .

• ruffstuff on Jan 30, 2014 at 6:49 am

People who thought Proton close shop will get us a cheaper ‘import’ cars have no idea how the industry works.

Proton is not being protected anymore. The NAP is clearly does not give any benefit. The AFTA force Proton to have similar excise tax, and import tax at 0 percent for Thailand/Indo cars.

Closing Proton is not a solution to a cheaper car. Changing the government is one of the solution, if the current government still does not want to reduce the excise tax and abolish open AP.

• ala kassim on Jan 30, 2014 at 7:59 am

waiting seriuosly n patiently. hopefully it is the best from proton. please make it in good balancing in terms of technolgy, reliability, performance, safety n the price.. i will put a deposit

• Yamin on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:36 am

Just to relate my experience with a Proton. I bought a first batch Waja in year 2000. I remember there were a lot of complaints about the Waja when it was first launched, just as there are now with every new Proton. But I had a good experience with my Waja. It served me well for 13 years and it clocked almost 400,000 kms when I changed cars. Didn’t need a major engine overhaul during the time. Only needed one top overhaul due to overheating. I only serviced every 10,000 kms with semi-synthetic. Basically low maintenance and the parts were cheap as its a local car. The only reason I changed was because I wanted an MPV. One of my wife’s uncles is driving the car now without any issues. I’m not a Malaysian. I’m a PR and I don’t work with Proton. We should stop complaining. If we don’t support Malaysian made products nobody will!

• Tracks on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:21 am

Just wondering, for the MPV, did you purchase the Exora? If not, what was the vehicle that you purchased and can you share why?

• Aerro on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:47 am

You’re just damn lucky. Other millions of local car owners here not so lucky suffered by Proton.

• Yamin on Jan 31, 2014 at 7:26 am

I don’t think so. Proton do build good cars and they last a lifetime if you look after them. Look on the roads, there are still many old Protons driving around.

• Yamin on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:53 am

I did consider the Exora but I bought a 3 year old Ssangyong Stavic instead as it was more spacious and was in very good condition. It only had 48,500 kms on the clock and I got it at a bargain.

• tehsarbat on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:41 am

i bought the 1st batch exora bold, to date it works just fine. no major issues. sometime it depends on luck also.

• how about

• a t x x n on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:49 am

How bout side mirror..

• a t x x n on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:26 pm

How bout d side mirror?

• tehsarbat on Jan 30, 2014 at 1:52 pm

my side mirror seems ok. whats wrong with it?

• ammarus on Jan 31, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Untuk Proton berjaya kali ni.

Masalah kereta Proton yang customer paling tak tahan adalah masalah enjin…..masalah enjin menyebabkan customer tak boleh bergerak ke ofis…….
    masalah kedua adalah masalah pusat servis lambat menyiapkan kereta yang kadang2 mengambil masa selama beberapa hari dan menyebabkan customer tak ada transport untuk ke tempat kerja.
    Layanan dari pusat servis pun agak lambat dan berlagak serta meremehkan customer berbanding syarikat kereta lain

Cadangan saya untuk Proton adalah
    1) Wujudkan satu pusat servis yang mempunyai rekod yang baik dari segi layanan dan kecepatan bekerja (bersungguh2).
    2) Wujudkan satu sistem di mana pekerja bawahan yang dapat menyelesaikan kerja servis yang baru (tak pernah terjadi) mendapat imbuhan yang agak besar
    3) Wujudkan penyimpanan rekod servis dimana data yang di rekod itu akan menyimpan masalah pada kereta dan cara penyelesaian dan diminta proton untuk simpan rekod tu secara online supaya pusat servis di seluruh negara dapat melihat masalah dan cara penyelesaian.
    4) pusat servis di seluruh negara juga dapat memasukkan data masalah dan cara penyelesaian dan sesiapa yang masukkan data akan mendapat
    imbuhan tu. cadangan agar jurutera sahaja yang dapat memasukkan data dan perlu mempunyai password untuk akses ke laman web
    online tersebut
    5) wujudkan satu pusat servis yang hanya fokus pada pembaikan enjin sahaja
    6) Wujudkan pengiraan kepada pelanggan yang ingin membeli kereta dengan menunjukkan kereta proton mempunyai kos penggunaan dan pembaikan yang murah termasuk harga kereta yang murah, harga barang, servis yang murah, servis minyak hitam yang murah dan lama penggunaannya, dan servis2 diatas.

• Archangel on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Hope to see interior spyshot in the near future.

• stephen on Feb 05, 2014 at 7:47 pm

feel like this is based on their old emas concept but with the size of a Passo or Myvi. not a bad job ….key is still quality. Yup. European consumer are smart and the law protect consumer rights but lets see how well Proton play the card of improvement

• Flat Black on Feb 06, 2014 at 8:46 am

I am a die-hard-fan of Proton. Will only buy Proton. So Proton… Rebadge la VW Golf TSI for me… Subaru BRZ sounds good too.

• Luahan Jurutera Proton on Feb 06, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Dipetik dari luahan engineer Proton…(sumber syok.org)

Assalamualaikum,

Yang ni saya kena jawab la sebab banyak sangat misinformation. Biasanya information yang berpindah dari satu mulut ke satu mulut yang lain akan berubah menjadi sensasi. Itu lah masyarakat kita. Kita bukan mendapat firsthand info tapi berdasarkan cerita yang telah ditokok tambah. Ini dia cerita dari orang dalam yang duduk ditengah-tengah R&D PROTON.

“Saya ada kenalan dari kastam boleh confirmkan perkara ni.. member saya kerja kastam kat kelang dan beliau sendiri yang maklumkan yg salah satu tugas dia adalah buat checking penerimaan barangan proton untuk di pasangkan di negara ni. Satu kontena enjin je.. manakala kontena lain adalah pintu, body dan sebagainya. sama lah dengan kereta lain juga.”

Kalau kita lalu kat kawasan glenmarie tu, akan ternampak lah satu tanda… Kilang Enjin Proton. Tanda tu tak duduk kat situ untuk suka suka je. Kalau kita jengok kat dalam…. Boleh nampak besi cair yang dituang kedalam acuan untuk membuat enjin block. Memang proton ada mengimpot enjin tapi dari kelas 1.2 dan 2 liter. 1.2liter untuk Savvy (enjin Renault) dan
    2.0liter untuk Perdana. Tapi untuk enjin 1.3, 1.5, 1.6 proton buat sendiri. Untuk pintu pulak… hanya kereta-kereta Perdana sahaja yang proton beli pintu dari Mitsubishi. For your information, Untuk membuat pintu sahaja memerlukan dekat 20 acuan. Bayangkan lah 4 pintu. Modal itu shaja sudah hampir RM50 juta. So untuk kereta yang volume kecil, kita beli dari luar.
    Untuk kereta Isawara, Wira, Waja, Gen2, Savvy… 100% body dibuat di Malaysia .

“Bayangkan dah 20 tahun menanti kereta Malaysia yang sebenarnya tak
    keluar-keluar lagi. Bagi yang berkemampuan sudah tentu tak mahu
    menggunakan injin kenderaan berteknologi 70an, 80an dan 90an yang
    diubahsuai. Sudah tentu ramai nak teknologi terkini dan sebenarnya milik kita. Secara umumnya proton masih belum ada enjin sendiri lagi.. jadi adalah sukar hendak dikatakan kalau ianya adalah kereta Malaysia
    yang sebenarnya. Pengeluaran kenderaan adalah berdasarkan injinnya barulah boleh dikatakan ianya kenderaan negara sebenarnya.”

Disini lagi ada misinformation. Memang untuk kereta Perdana kita impot enjin dari Jepun. Untuk Savvy kita gunakan enjin Renault. Untuk Isawara, Wira dan Waja kita buat enjin di Malaysia walaupun design original
    dia dari Mitsubishi. Tapi enjin Gen-2 adalah enjin terkini yang direka oleh jurutera Proton dan dibina di Malaysia. Enjin tersebut menggunakan teknologi terkini. Jadi kenyataan diatas agak menyesatkan sedikit. Naza, Perodua…. Masih lagi membawa enjin dari luar. Modal untuk mereka dan mengeluarkan enjin ni amat besar. Nak dapat return pun bukan nya sekejap. Tapi demi maruah dan kemajuan, kita korbankan keuntungan jangka pendek. Selagi kita tidak mengeluarkan enjin sendiri.. selagi itu kita tidak tahu. Sekarang kita telah pun mengeluarkan enjin sendiri… orang masih tidak percaya. Itu lah masalah orang kita… memandang rendah kebolehan anak negara sendiri.

“Selama ini proton bergantung kepada Mitsubishi sebagai rakan teknikal. Oleh kerana kontrak selama 20 tahun telah tamat. Maka proton terpaksalah mencari rakan teknikal yang baru dan bermulalah masalah melanda proton. Sudah tentu rakan teknikal baru tidak mahu meneruskan rekaan dan teknologi mitshubishi lagi. So apa kan jadi pada kereta proton yang ada
    sekarang ni untuk masa akan datang.”

Tidak wujud kontrak 20 tahun dengan Mitsubishi. Mereka adalah rakan kongsi. Bertahun tahun kita berkerjasama dengan Mitsubishi tetapi teknikal apa yang mereka turunkan. Kalau kita pernah berkerja dengan orang Jepun atau Korea , mereka inilah yang paling kemut ilmu. Tapi bab nak korek ilmu kita, dia orang rajin habis.Korang jangan terkejut bila saya cakap yang idea
    kita pun banyak yang Jepun curi. So bila kita mula menuntut teknologi baru dari mereka… mula lah nak caj dan nak ikat royalti yang tak munasabah. Nak mintak copy teknikal drawing zaman dulu sekeping pun dia orang caj beribu ribu. Mulalah kita pandang teknologi dari barat dan teknologi sendiri. Sebab itu kita beli Lotus.. Kita ignore Jepun. Bila kita design sesuatu yang lebih baik… laju je dia orang hantar balik information ke Mitsubishi. Last-last kita pun mula bersikap secrecy dengan dia orang… lama lama
    diaorang fed up dan mintak keluar. Lagi pun dia orang dah nampak afta nanti dia orang akan masuk balik ke Malaysia.

Perodua… kenapa daihatsu/toyota memberi enjin latest dia orang…. Sebab Perodua tu 100% milik Toyota/Daihatsu. Dah lama UMW menjual saham dia orang kepada Jepun. Proton…. Milik Malaysia .

“Mungkin ada yang tahu dan ada yang tak tahu yang proton yang digunakan pakai sekarang adalah barangan Mitshubishi. Samalah seperti kereta lain.. tukar lambang je..”

Inilah susah orang kita ni…. Banyak mendengar cerita sensasi yang
    banyak ditaruk banyak rempah ratusnya….. Memang pada mulanya kita
    belajar… selepas itu kita buat sendiri.Saya adalah seorang yang terlibat dengan kerja kerja tersebut.

Saga – base dia Lancer lama. Kita Cuma tukar depan dan belakang
    sikit.

Iswara – base Saga, kita mula belajar untuk design kereta sendiri. Masa ni Mitsubishi dah tak berapa setuju bila kita menubuhkan R&D. So kita menggunakan khidmat penasihat dari UK .

Wira – Disini berpuluh puluh designer dan engineer Proton dihantar ke Jepun untuk kerjasama design kereta baru. Proton dan Mitsubishi kongsi modal. Hampir 2 tahun kami disana. Bahagian tengah dikongsi bersama.
    Depan dan Belakang, design asing-asing. Lampu depan dan belakang share sebab nak kurang kan cost. Hasilnya Proton Wira-Mitsubishi Lancer.

Orang akan kata hah kongsi je sebab tak tahu buat kerja…. Tapi ada orang kata apa apa bila Ford dan Mazda berkongsi bahagian tengah? Ford Laser dan Mazda 323 adalah kereta yang sama. Ada orang komplen? Bila
    orang Malaysia yang buat begitu… orang Malaysia sendiri yang nak mengutuk. Tak ramai yang tahu seksa bekerja kat Jepun sebab dia orang suka curi idea. Bayang kanlah semasa kami design dashboard untuk
    Wira… masa tu Mitsubishi sudah pun siap soft tooling mould untuk dashboard kereta dia… Bila mereka tengok dashboard Proton, Mereka sanggup letak designer dia depan design kita untuk mengubahsuai kembali rupa bentuk dashboard mereka. Kalau kita pernah tengok dashboard mitsubishi lancer… hampir samakan. Itu mereka yang meniru bukan kita. Ianya menunjukkan kita bukan tak pandai… Cuma masyarakat sendiri berfikiran macam itu.
    Perdana – untuk membuat satu satu design bukannya murah. Nak balik modal pun lama. Jumlah kereta yang dijual pun kena banyak.

So, kalau nak buat Perdana…. Sampai habis pun tak balik modal. So yang ni memang
    kita ambil kereta dari mitsubishi dan pasang di Malaysia. Cuma kita tukar depan dan belakang, dan bahagian dalaman.

Tiara – Tiara adalah bukan product Proton. Ia adalah keluaran DRB. Tapi kita kena tunduk dengan arahan dari atas untuk mereka menggunakan lambang Proton.

Waja – Waja adalah permulaan kita untuk menunjukkan kita mampu melakukan kerja sendiri. 100% didesign orang orang kita. Tapi untuk kejuruteraan kita memerlukan consultant dari luar.. mainly dari Eropah
    dan Amerika. Bukan sebab tak pandai tapi kita tak cukup kakitangan. Nak design kereta bukan seperti menjahit baju. Kebaikan dari mengambil consultant dari luar memang membuka mata kita… kita adalah setaraf
    dengan kebolehan mereka. Nak design kereta ni memerlukan beratus ratus kakitangan. Bukannya sedikit.

Gen2 – 100% didesign oleh orang kita. Consultant dari luar hanya sedikit sebab kakitangan kita semakin ramai. Kita mula menggunakan enjin yang didesign sendiri.

Savvy – 100% dedesign sendiri. Cuma enjin sahaja kita menggunakan Renault sebab kita tidak ada enjin bersaiz kecil. Well…. Kehebatan enjin Renault sudah terbukti bila mereka memenangi F1. Disin banyak berita palsu disebarkan oleh mereka yang tidak bertanggung jawab.Contohnya… Savvy adalah Tiara dan menggunakan chasis Tiara lama. Savvy tidak ada kena mengena dengan Tiara. Savvy adalah baru, 100%. Tidak ramai yang tahu bahawa Savvy menggunakan HTHS steel (High Tensile High Strength Steel). Sebab tu body Savvy kuat. Memang ada terpampang kereta Savvy kemek kerana accident. Well… kereta mercedes, volvo, BMW pun kemek bila accident. Tapi tak ramai yang tengok keadaan dalaman Savvy yang
    accident tu… In fact. Kukuh. Saudara saudari… Bila kita design kereta ni.. yang paling penting adalah keselamatan penumpang. Memang kereta didesign untuk crumple bila ada impact. Itu untuk menyerap daya
    hentakan supaya bukan manusia yang menerima hentakan kuat. Rating TUV Germany memberikan 3 star untuk Proton. BMW 5 series pun dapat 3 star. Ramai yang kata Savvy ni tak sedap bila memandu. Tapi tanyalah yang
    bercakap tu… adakah mereka pernah memandu Savvy. Kebanyakan nya tidak. Hanya mendengar dari orang lain.

Lain lain – Ada banyak lagi yang saya tak boleh cerita sebab ada secrecy act. Proton pun ada design kereta untuk company lain dan ada membuat part untuk company lain. Proton ada juga buat reverse engineering untuk
    motosikal lumba (tahun tu dia champion) tapi kita tidak boleh menceritakan sebab dasar secrecy kita. Mungkin sesetengah orang yang memakai certain kereta mewah tidak tahu yang part kereta mereka dibuat di proton. Kalau Proton tak elok… masakan mereka mengkontrakkan proton untuk membuat kereta mereka.

“Berbalik kepada masalah yang sedang dihadapi oleh proton. Kenapa ianya harus berlaku perkara sebegini. Apakah yang sebenarnya telah berlaku dan dibuat oleh proton dalam masa 20 tahun untuk membina kenderaan nasional sendiri. Memang ada R&D proton cuba mendapatkan struktur dan bahan-bahan untuk membuat injin tapi gagal mendapatkan resepinya.”

Proton memang dah ada enjin sendiri. Yang terpasang dekat Gen-2 tu apa dia. Bab-bab bahan untuk membuat enjin tu senang je. Kebanyakan pengeluar kereta menggunakan besi yang sama sebab pengeluar besi
    dalam dunia ni bukan banyak. Kita Cuma bagi specifikasi je. Nak design enjin tu yang susah. Transmition yang paling susah. Untuk info lah… kami
    masih lagi dalam proses untuk mereka cipta transmition sendiri. Bukan macam nak buat karipap tau.

“Penubuhan proton sejak 20 tahun yang lampau tidak mencapai objektif yang sebenarnya. Dimana silapnya? Berapa ramaikah yang tahu bilakah ilham proton ini sebenarnya timbul dan berapa lamakah usaha dilakukan
    bagi membolehkan impian ini tercapai.”

Mungkin ramai yang mengganggap hanya seorang perdana menteri sahaja terlibat. Cuma pada zaman Tun M baru persetujuan dapat dicapai setelah Mitshubishi bersetuju menjadi rakan teknikal dengan bersyarat. (syarat ni tak bolehlah diberi tahu.. sebab ianya adalah OSA)

Penubuhan Proton lebih mencapai objectif nya. Pada mulanya Proton hanya di rancang untuk membuat kereta bukan untuk merekacipta kereta. Kita menubuh R&D, Mitsubishi tidak setuju. Ye la… siapa nak bagi kita pandai kan . Cuba check dekat Perodua, berapa ramai jurutera dari Proton bekerja dekat sana, Head of R&D Perodua…bekas Proton, Head of Styling…bekas
    Proton, Head of Planning…bekas Proton, Head of Production…bekas Proton (rasa-rasanya dah kena kebas dekat Naza), Head of Engineering Services…bekas
    Proton. Ratarata mereka yang senior dekat sana dari proton. We trained them… orang lain ambil cara senang je.

Naza pulak.. Head of R&D….bekas Proton. Head of Production…bekas
    Proton. Honda pun ramai bekas Proton, DRB Pekan… Head dia pun bekas
    proton, Inokom… head dia pun bekas proton. Itu kira head je…bukan lagi kira engineer dan designer. So it meets its objective untuk memajukan orang-orang kita. Mainly orang Melayu. Naza sendiri tidak menyangkal
    kereta Naza mainly didevelop oleh bekas kakitangan Proton. So… orang Proton tak bagus?

Kita belum lagi kira bekas pekerja proton yang diambil oleh consultant luar negara… dari America, Eropah sampai ke Jepun.Tau tak kita kakitangan Proton telah memenangi pertandingan mereka design kereta anjuran Ford. Beliau mendapat tempat pertama. Bukan bertanding diperingkat Malaysia . Tapi di peringkat antarabangsa. Memang beliau mendapat tawaran kerja dari syarikat kereta gergasi Amerika dan Eropah. Tapi kami tabik bila dia decide nak stay dekat Malaysia sebab taknak anak-anak membesar dinegara lain. Ada orang tau…?
    “Selama 20 tahun proton pergantung kepada pemerintah yang sepatutnya telah boleh berdiri dengan sendirinya sekarang ini selepas perjanjian tamat. Ibarat kata.. berapa lama perlu bergantung.. tak kan dah 20 tahun
    nak merangkak lagi.. nak tambah masa untuk merangkak lagi.. so bila lak nak belajar berdiri dan berjalan sendiri tanpa dipimpin lagi..sebab tu exPM kata.. kalau dah tak boleh tutup aja…”

Proton boleh menjadi lebih baik kalau tidak ada tanggung jawab kepada negara. Senang aja… buang sahaja pengeluar-pengeluar yang bermasalah. Tapi apa akan jadi dengan ekonomi. Itu tanggungjawab Proton untuk negara. Bayangkanlah penjanaan ekonomi proton untuk negara… berapa banyak kaki tangan Proton… 8000. Berapa banyak kakitangan syarikat yang secara lansung untuk membuat part Proton…100,000 orang. Berapa banyak bank dapat untung, berapa banyak syarikat bumiputra yang naik? Bayangkanlah kami boleh membantu sedangkan polisi kerajaan tidak membantu.
    Cuba ingat sebelum timbulnya proton. Berapa banyak wakil jualan bumiputra untuk kereta toyota , nissan, honda? 0… Kosong.

Mengenai masalah AP pulak perkara tu bukan perkara baru. Mungkin ada yang tak tahu yang proton juga mendapat AP. Kalau tak.. sure harga kereta proton tak serendah sekarang ini. Tak percaya boleh check duti import yang dibayar untuk sebuah kereta proton. Nak check duti import tak susah sgt.. cuma bandingkan harga kereta proton di kawasan bebas cukai.

Kita memang tak payah bayar duti impot sebab kita buat kereta kat dalam Malaysia . Tapi tetap kena cukai. Kita tak ada AP. Yang Proton kecewa kenapa terlampau banyak AP dikeluarkan. Lepas tu sebijik-sebijik kerajaan kena
    tipu. Bayangkan lah kalau kereta KIA yang dibawa masuk ke Malaysia … harga yang di declare adalah RM8000. Tak masuk akalkan bila kastam approve benda ni. Paling murah kereta yang pernah dibuat adalah dalam dunia ni adalah lebih kurang RM18,000. Itu baru bahan bahan dia. Belum lagi kira cost modal acuan, cost tenaga kerja, cost R&D. Bayangkan lah banyak mana kerjaan rugi pada cukai. Bayangkanlah banyak mana Naza untung.

Dasar Automotif Negara di perlukan bagi meneruskan perjuangan yang belum tercapai disamping menjaga serta melindungi pemilik kereta proton sekarang ini. sejauh mana boleh bertahan tak tahula..kalau tidak akan
    bertimbunlah bakal besi buruk bila tiada lagi sparepart proton (asalnya milik Mitsubishi) dan akan timbulah barangan made in Jinjang atau sewaktu
    dengannya.

Saudara… Dalam banyak banyak negara pengeluar kereta, Malaysia lah yang paling kurang memprotect industry automotive mereka. Rakyat Malaysia juga lah yang paling tidak patriotik dalam hal-hal kereta ni. Walaupun kita telah merdeka, minda kita tetap diajar barangan lain lebih elok dan tidak membantu barangan sendiri. Saya ambil contoh… Thailand membuka pintu
    mereka untuk industri automotif… tapi ada syarat. Kereta yang dibina di Thailand harus lah di export keluar lebih dari yang dijual dalam negara nya. Korea… cuba pergi ke Korea dan lihat sendiri disana. Nak cari kereta yang bukan dari Korea …susah. Sebabnya…

1. memang mereka patriotik.
    2. Cuba pakai kereta import… Lembaga Cukai mereka
    akan menyusahkan pembeli kereta tu. Sebab kata mereka
    tentu banyak duit.

Jepun… Semasa mereka belajar membuat kereta hampir 80 tahun dulu… nak naik bukit pun boleh undur (baca sejarah toyota ), tapi rakyat mereka tetap bangga dan tetap membeli. Cuba kat Malaysia …. Kutuk lagi ada.

Saudara semua… kejayaan sesuatu project negara bergantung kepada sokongan dari rakyat sendiri. The more people buy, the cheaper things can be. Economic of scale lah tu. Lagi banyak dijual, lagi rendah cost pembalikan modal untuk setiap kereta. Nak buat sebijik
    kereta hampir 1 billion cost dia. Macam mana nak balik modal kalau kita tak ambil untung. Kilang enjin lagi mahal… tapi kita korbankan keuntungan kerana kalau kita dok asyik beli enjin dari luar, masa mana kita nak belajar dan maju. Proton baru 20 tahun. Korea mengambil masa 40 tahun untuk kereta dia tiba ditahap ini. Jepun sudah 80 tahun, Barat sudah 100 tahun. Ini
    industri kereta. Kalau orang suruh kita fikir nak buat plastik aiskrim tu pun majority kita tak boleh. Ini kereta. So yang mengutuk tu… fikir. Lagi banyak kita jual, lagi murah kita boleh jual… lagi banyak duit, lagi baik pembangunan yang kita boleh buat. Setiap test dan setiap bahan baru yang nak direka memerlukan wang yang banyak.

Masalahnya sekarang siapakah yang bakal atau boleh dijadikan rakan teknikal. Walau pun volkswagen nak join ngan proton tapi persoalannya boleh ke..?

Kenapa..saya kata macam tu..sebab Volkswagen ni guna euro. Sudah tentu la harga kereta proton pada masa akan datang lebih mahal lagi. (salah satu sebab isu AP keluar) Nak mohon Nissan atau Honda atau Toyata jadi rakan teknikal memang agak sukar. Errr…. Ini kita bagi hint sikit sebab teruk sangat

Gila2FX 01-06-2008 10:50 PM

——————————————————————————–

dah ni. Kita tengah develop kereta dengan VW. Sebab tu kita jangan dengar saja orang cakap.

Kalau semua AP ditarik balik lagi banyak masalah akan timbul.. salah satunya adalah AFTA. Mampukah negara kita membayar ganti rugi kepada negara lain yang telah melaksana AFTA. Mungkin ada yang tak sedar yang negara kita telah membayar ganti rugi RM billion sebab menangguh perlaksanaan AFTA sebelum ni kapada negara Asean yg berkaitan.

Memang kita akan kena penalti sebab ada perjanjian AFTA. Tapi bukan kita nak tarik AP macam tu aja. Jalan penyelesaian masih ada. Kalau negara lain boleh ada polisi dia orang yang membantu industri kereta mereka… kenapa kita tidak boleh. Kerana AP China boleh mengeksport kereta mereka ke Malaysia (kereta Chery hampis masuk), tapi polisi China masih
    lagi tidak membenarkan kereta kita masuk kesana. Memang dia kata boleh masuk tapi dah 5 tahun mencuba pun belum dapat kelulusan lagi. Banyak syarat lagi. India… nak masuk kesana kena letak deposit USD200 Million. Belum lagi nak set up kilang dan infrastruktur jualan. Cuba masuk kat Korea … Kita nak jual kain kita kat sana pun diaorang tak nak beli walau pun kualiti kita bagus. Kuat nya patriotik diaorang. Kita… apa yang nama lain selain dari barang sendiri mesti bagus punya.

Bagi yang nak membandingkan kereta kita dengan kereta German…. Bukan tak boleh buat. Boleh… tapi sanggup ke bayar harga kereta German untuk kereta buatan Malaysia .

Naza yang rata rata import kereta Cuma tukar bumper pun boleh jadi taraf kereta nasional. Perodua yang tak pernah design kereta sendiri (cuma design bumper depan belakang) pun dapat taraf kereta nasional… Proton sekurang-kurangnya telah mendidik ramai anak bangsa dalam kemajuan teknologi. Dah ramai hasil dari pengalamn bekerja dengan proton diambil untuk sektor R&D ditempat lain. Bayangkan lah satu kumpulan Advance Engine Research Proton terus diambil oleh Petronas. Bukan sorang…. Kesemuanya. Nak kerja dengan R&D proton….. Paling minimum 2nd class upper. 1st class berlambak. Selepas berpengalaman… Perodua, Naza ambil.

Tapi saya tak marah bila orang kata macam-macam pasal proton. Itu hak mereka. Tapi fikirkanlah tenaga yang kami beri untuk memajukan negara dalam bidang teknologi. Boleh sebut tak company mana lagi dalam bidang industri yang betul-betul menggunakan kepakaran anak Malaysia dalam bidang R&D ni. Kalau kita tidak belajar… sampai bila kita tidak akan tahu. Dan sampai bila kita akan bergantung dengan orang luar.

Tapi bab support selepas jualan…. saya sendiri pun tak puas hati. Sabotaj pun Proton dah biasa kena…. Orang curi part semasa delivery kerata tukar dengan part tiruan atau lama. Yang kena komplen… proton….nasihat saya.… check performance dulu… Then baru tahu nak kata apa. Jangan dengar orang cakap je… test sendiri. Baru tau…nihh baru2 ni Suprima S…pergi test dahulu…orang yang pernah pandu sahaja yg dapat menilainya dan ikhlas dalam percakapan…

• Flat Black on Feb 08, 2014 at 12:14 am

En Jurutera Proton… Bukan ke engine Campro tu da outdated performance dia? Kalau compare dgn engine Kia/Hyundai Gamma 1.6 tu boleh beritahu dimana advantage of campro 1.6?

Selain dari itu Proton selalu menghadapi masalah refinement yg menyebabkan timbul bunyi2 getaran kecil semasa memandu walaupun pada kereta hi-line. Saya selalu pandu Persona iafm 1.6 hi-line. Mazda 2 sedan pun lg senyap cockpitnya.

Untuk kereta yg cuma acheive 12+seconds for 0-100km test, fuel consumption agak tinggi lebih2 lagi di bandar. Personally sy x rs iafm berjaya eliminate mid range torque dip in campro sbb sy mmg rs kelembapannya. The only good campro engine is by far the CPS in term of performance. But still have you compare it with other 1.6 engine? You might want to have a look on Kia/Hyundai Gamma 1.6, Volkswagon 1.6, or even the 1.5 Toyota Vios engine. Compile the specs and lets find out where are the area that campro is winning. Kindly share with us your finding then.

Final advise on Proton designer. Please stop with the fake cosmetic design thing. Eg fake allen key on satria neo fuel cap, fake bulb in rear persona elegance lamp. Great job on Preve. However prototype headlamp n bumper is way better. Hope it acheive great sale outside Malaysia. Not so good on Suprima maybe because malaysian dont prefer that bodytype or simply because of the rear lamp.