2015 VW Polo GTI to get more power, manual option

Volkswagen_Polo_GTI_ 001

While the standard Volkswagen Polo range has just been given a mid-life facelift, the hot GTI variant (pictured here) will soldier on as is until next year. The good news is, when the 2015 VW Polo GTI does arrive, it will have even more power and finally, a manual transmission option.

The introduction of a six-speed manual ‘box as an alternative to the existing seven-speed dual-clutch DSG tranny will widen the little hot-hatch’s appeal to cover the more traditional driving enthusiasts. That, and a power boost from 180 PS to 192 PS will also bring it closer to its two manual-only rivals, the Ford Fiesta ST and Peugeot 208 GTi.

Also in store are the facelifted Polo’s Sport Select suspension and new electric power steering system, which should address two of the Polo GTI’s biggest shortcomings – its overly harsh ride and numb steering. Pair all that with a more upscale interior and we could soon have a proper mini-Golf GTI on our hands.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• YeapyEvo on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Good to introduce manual ! The dry clutch DSG is prone to failure, now there will be 3 choices for me (Fiesta ST / 208Gti/ Polo GTi), gonna change car this year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • farhan on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:59 pm

but this polo gti is due next year

• The dry DSG is not just prone to failure, every single unit is a failure in hot climate. VW fanbois for years deny and say DSG okey until last year, VW Germany admit ALL their DSG right up to even the 2013 (and for surely 2014) all cannot handle hot weather and sure to breakdown in hot weather

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • When and where they admit it?

• Kah Chon on Feb 01, 2014 at 11:56 am

VW Germeny has confirmed and admit this defect is caused by the synthetic oil on last year 15th Nov. They claimed that they have rectified this problem by replacing with the “mineral oil” which I’m not sure whether it’s really solve the problem. But I hope this really adressed the DSG fatal issue. According to the official statement, they have recalled 2.6mil of VW, this inclusive the other problematic car like potential fuel leak and electric fuse problem that cause all the lighting cannot function.

• And what does it have to do with ‘cannot handle hot weather and sure to breakdown in hot weather’?

• Heng Lee on Jan 31, 2014 at 10:08 pm

‘According to the official statement, synthetic oil is responsible for causing short circuiting. This problem is especially bad in countries with humid and hot environment and where stop and go traffic is seen. But VW wants to fix every DS200, no matter the location, to “continue to ensure customer satisfaction”.’

• wow, kzm, how come i still see tons of VW on the road speeding past me if every single one of them is a failure in hot climate?

you sound a bit on the sour grape side. do you really own a VW or are u just a useless armchair critic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • farq+Mohd on Feb 06, 2014 at 12:10 pm

VW Fanboy detected!

• I owned a passat and I can assure you, the problems are real. Sold it after having mechatronic issues within a year of ownership, I don’t have time to keep going back to the sc. Friend’s golf gti has not suffered the same fate.

• Vw malaysia shud consider bringing the manual version of all its model here in Msia. The manual are more reliable than its current dsg equipped vehicles…what with all the dsg fiasco/problem hoohah!…..guess, thats why not much compains from Euro customer coz overthere, majority bought the manual version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Simsim on Feb 01, 2014 at 5:12 pm

2015? It is too late. By the time it reaches here, pug 208 gti might has taken a big lead, not to mention fiesta st also might come in this year.

• anonymous on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Got to love and hate this…

• tricycle on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Bro Hafriz, this Polo Gti, is for the Malaysian or for the international market?

• yes mr writer, pls confirm. i highly doubt vw malaysia will bring in manual version after what they experienced with previous gen polo GTI. But if they do, i’m not complaining.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:36 pm

This is for the international market for now. No news if it’ll make it here, though looking at the local all-DSG Golf GTI Mk7 range, it’s rather unlikely that it will.

• spongewai on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:57 pm

I would like to choose Nissan Almera Nismo version but the engine I will swap to 3-cylinder 1.5 turbocharged Nismo engine which approximately 400bhp from normal 1.5 4-cylinder is better lo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 26
    • Autoexpert on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Let’s see who are the ‘sportscar wanna be’ idiots on the road driving these German Kapchai/Kancils this year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 39
      • Notexpertbuttryinghard on Jan 30, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Trust me, there’ll be a lots more than you would like to see. By the way, have you seen their new Superbowl ad in the US? It says that VW has more cars that hit 100,000 kms than any other car in the world. Now thats something to think about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • spongewai, are u for real or just a dream junkie? ur almera chassis will be torn to pieces when u step on the accelerator of that engine swap.

• Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Jan 30, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Can’t agree more with the mentioned shortcomings, coming from the current owner of the Mk5 Polo GTI, overall still an awesome hot hatch to drive. I wonder if the 2015 model will see an increase of torque to at least 275 Nm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • amirad on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:19 pm

250 Nm torque the polo steering wheel already shaking like a brazilian samba dancer when floored the pedal. With more torque, they really need to sort out the steering. Adaptive chassis control would be most welcome.

• droll on Jan 31, 2014 at 11:00 am

part of the fun what. torque steer is fun. a hot hatch should not be boring.

• lonelyobserve on Jan 30, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Manual transmission lovers should borrow Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson’s infamous quote and say this, “Finally… VW cars with manual transmission have come back to Malaysia!!!”

• finallyamanualvw on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:17 pm

YES FINALLY!!! save the manuals!!

• Mamak Kayu on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:24 pm

What the hell….I am going to sue VW for using my staff kain pelikat for the seat cover.

Is VW trying to be racist here….looking down on mamak by making our pride cloth as a seat for non-mamak to sit upon ????

This is outrageous. I am going to call for Katak Perkosa to stage a protest in front of VW tomorrow and boycott VW for their insensitive seat choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
  • paucharsiew on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:54 pm

don reli care about this car. will renaultsport clio come with manual, that is the desired car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • amirad on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Good news and sad news. Even though manual golf GTi and golf R are a hit in Europe, they never made it to our shore. I foresee the same fate for the manual mk5 polo GTi. Unexpectedly the previous mk4 polo GTi was a manual and it seems like their owners are enjoying them.

• Pls la VW Malaysia if you can’t equip all cars with conventional auto, at least give manual versions.. tired la these DSG issues..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Finally VW Polo GTI MT with more power! Preve and Neo beware!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 16
    • Autoexpert on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Let’s see who are the ‘sportscar wanna be’ idiots on the road driving these German Kapchai/Kancils this year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 45
      • DrDreLover on Jan 30, 2014 at 7:55 pm

You’re the idiot for making a comment that does not make sense. Comparing a bike with a car, what a jerk-off!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
      • LimGTong on Jan 31, 2014 at 4:58 pm

They are growing bigger in China. Read the story on the link below from Autocar UK:

http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/industry/volkswagen-tops-china-sales

• euthanasia333 on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:13 pm

When the car was introduced back in August 2011, I test drove the car around Sepang and probably had an erection in my pants.

I was so sad that they told me that they waiting list is about one year!

However, probably through some divine intervention or maybe because my family bought another 2 Golfs (1 Gti SE and Tsi)at the same time and that is why I was able to get my Polo Gti in two weeks.

Moving on 2 years and 3 months after that, indeed I could tell you that they car was like god’s mini chariot. I can even recount my experience of going down to AMcorp Auto at Jalan Ipoh and how I was smiling from cheek to cheek listening to the small engine growl as I was driving to Shell and putting fuel for it. I was so excited about it all that I didn’t complain to the salesperson that he broke his promise to give me a full tank of fuel.

But… I am not going to tell you the sweet stories, I could only tell you stories of frustration as I think all potential Polo Gti owners out there should consider before getting one.

For the entire 2013 my car was in the workshop not less than 10 times with major breakdowns so much so that the workshop is like my part time parking space.

Problems with Mechatronics, clutch,radiator, supercharger, gearbox then now my clutch again.

So yes, I’m not being sour about VW but you would be pissed at them if you almost lost your job too because of not having your only mode of transport in working condition.

• Can anybody tell me what Germany says about the oil consumption problem? Polo GTI 6R CTHE engine 2013 model.

• I guess manual transmission not available in Malaysia

• bringbackmanualcars on Mar 24, 2016 at 3:25 pm

2016 and still no manual option from VW. your rumor is flawed