Ford Fiesta facelift – 1.5L manual at JPJ Putrajaya

Ford Fiesta FL MT AA spy 01

Before you get your hopes up on seeing that this sixth-gen facelift happens to be a stick shifter and is tucked away in the JPJ Putrajaya carpark, and might therefore be a 1.0 EcoBoost manual, it’s not – this Ford Fiesta facelift is a 1.5 Ti-VCT model.

Regular pix contributor Anol Alias spotted the Arctic White B299 earlier in the week, and by the looks of it the car has been around for a while, looking a tad weathered (it’s a mid-2013 production batch unit). No idea why it has suddenly popped up to sight – the only thing that would explain it would be type approval.

Could it be that there are plans to introduce a stick-shift baseline Fiesta model like in the past, with the pre-facelift 1.4 LX? If it does come about, expect the manual 1.5 to be bare-boned, and I mean bare-boned.

Ford Fiesta FL MT AA spy 04

This particular B299 looks to be an Australian entry-level Ambiente trim specification unit (curiously enough, Ford Thailand is still advertising the pre-facelift Fiesta 1.5 and 1.4 variants).

The cues that give it away as such include 15-inch steel wheels with full covers, no front foglamps, manual air-conditioning – there’s not even a single switch button on the steering wheel, which also happens to be missing any silver-accented garnish. You can probably forget about it having a Safety Pack and the accompanying seven airbags, for sure.

Closer to reality is the 1.0 EcoBoost model in its six-speed dual-clutch guise – we hear the debut will be sometime in April. No, we haven’t heard if there are plans to bring in a stick-shifter version for that – unlikely, unless we get an Oz-spec car. The manual 1.0 EB isn’t sold in Thailand, the four-door Titanium and five-door Sport hatch only available with the Getrag 6DCT250.

Read our Ford Fiesta facelift test drive reports on the 1.5 Sport and 1.0 EcoBoost.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• finallyamanualfordfiesta on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:28 pm

i’m liking this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • Finally a manual. Every other Fiesta always breakdown because of the dual clutch problems.

Ford is famous for breaking down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 42
      • Are u sure Ford is still famous for breaking down?? Go update urself Man ,its 2014 alrd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
      • Bawakereta on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Are you sure? My 2005 Ford Lynx RS still running good. No engine problem or gear problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
        • hey another Lynx RS owner! Mine’s running good too!

P/S: ours shouldn’t break down ler.. we use conventional 4-speeder…

• Gentleman on Feb 01, 2014 at 1:18 am

Ford is old story.

in American Consumer Report 2013.

5 out of 10 Top Least Reliable Cars
          are Ford.

Mainly thanks to Ecoboost that helped them for award.

• powershot on Feb 01, 2014 at 6:16 am

the problematic fords are from the thai plant. other than that all is good

• justanotherfordGuy on Jan 31, 2014 at 6:39 am

Not my fiesta.
        The dual.clutch system works fine.
        But the steering rack does produce some klak klak sound. This will be my 3rd repair.

But to hell with that… it is a fun car to drive. Worth every penny paying the monthly installment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • kadajawi on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Hm, but previously the cheaper Fiestas had more airbags than the more expensive ones…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • sepul on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:43 pm

SDAC should consider the Ecoboost with a manual instead of this. For enthusiast who cannot afford the ST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • lonelyobserve on Jan 30, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Correct. At least there is a manual transmission equipped cili padi (1.0L Ecoboost) Fiesta as an option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • azrai on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Another cheaper option for Fiesta.

• comrade on Jan 30, 2014 at 5:36 pm

selling manual with so little accessories yet lament the lack of interest toward manual…in other countries even manual offers with high spec…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Should’ve offered Focus 2.0 manual also..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Rashuk Khan2 on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Only old man afford to buy 2.0. At this age man doesn’t want to drive MT…For young boy they interested to buy MT but with low spec. money constraint…No point for Ford to offer MT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
      • Hafiz on Jan 31, 2014 at 10:40 am

Haha..wrt conventional AT, Malaysian but not all are either:

1. Lazy – “cannot tahan la changing gears, traffic jam every day”
        2. Lembik – “penat la step on clutch pedal during traffic jam”
        3. Bollock – “oh Vios FC very good. Save money. No need MT”
        4. Arse – “MT only for young boy. Money constraint”

So which category are u guys in?
        Oh btw I’m driving stock MT Kelisa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • TRUCKMAN on Feb 01, 2014 at 4:29 am

Well driving MT is fun if you have a powerful car engine or atleast a good power-to-weight car. But if u have just a weak standard one you will endup swearing, blabering and tiring yourself at the traffic jam, start-stop, steep hills or at the mountainous trails. Im an MT lover myself

• theanswer on Feb 01, 2014 at 11:05 am

manual only for fun car. for city car..i prefer auto. but having both tranny in your garage is good.

• Gently Speaking on Feb 02, 2014 at 11:13 pm

I will not buy lousy car with Manual.

give me at least 200hp with manual.

Not kelisa with manual.. please.

• motorhead on Jan 30, 2014 at 6:10 pm

For hard drivers.. I like.. keep it light.. no need so much accessories.. I just like to drive hard.

• motorass on Feb 02, 2014 at 6:29 pm

And risk other motorists. Want to drive hard and kill yourself, go track la in your tofu car.

• pooyu on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:57 pm

tq anol alias…u r cool…

• Why must a manual transmission cars in Malaysia must be in the ‘cheapskate’ variant? Like no front fog lights, no this, no there.
    Why don’t just offer us a full-spec car but with manual transmission?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • _xXx_ on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:54 pm

it’s the same question I was about to ask. Stupid mentality. They assume manual buyers can’t afford those stuff…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • harris murad on Feb 02, 2014 at 1:49 am

couldnt agree more.
      like come on laa..
      steel rims???
      my mt stock standard kelisa gxi also comes standard with rims ok?

and i am talking about the year 2007.

• theanswer on Feb 03, 2014 at 8:54 am

i’d prefer safety spec than alloy rim. it’s ok with steel rim as long as they provide good safety spec.

• sltan on Jan 31, 2014 at 2:10 am

well done ford!

• budlee on Jan 31, 2014 at 9:53 am

i give up on the 6 airbags too, apparently, their focus group prefer shiny buttons and fancy colors over airbags

• Is D sticker refer to diesel model as this also manual model….

• the only manual gear import car left

• NV Car Rental on Feb 01, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Apsal nampak kereta ni dalam gambar kualiti macam proton je? ke mata aku yang spero?

• theanswer on Feb 03, 2014 at 8:56 am

material might look the same. but the differences is fittings and finishing. no obvious gap..no misaligned gap..

• @Anthony Lim, based on the VIN number, that’s from the “B299 MCA APA” Vehicle Line, Territory is “West Malaysia”. That model (in LHD form) has been part of the Philippine lineup since June 2013. It’s actually not that bare for a base model, it has full power features (windows, locks, side mirrors) and comes with dual airbags and ABS. In the Philippines, the Fiesta is offered in 5 trims and two body styles, the 1.5 Ambiente Manual (sedan and hatch), 1.5 Trend Manual & Powershift (sedan and hatch), 1.5 Titanium Powershift (sedan only), 1.5 Sport Powershift (hatch only), and 1.0 EcoBoost Sport+ Powershift (hatch only).
    PS: The Australian-spec Ambiente has steering wheel mounted audio & phone controls and silver trim (SYNC is standard)