2014 Honda City appears on oto.my, March launch?

2014-Honda-City-Thailand-0016

Here’s the next car of the moment – the 2014 Honda City, which made its world debut in India last November before launching in Thailand only last week, has popped up on our sister classifieds site oto.my.

The ad estimates a Malaysian launch in March before the start of deliveries in April, and that four variants will be available. It goes on to say that bookings are open now, and lists an estimated ballpark price of RM85,900.

Motivation should come from a 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine that develops 117 hp at 6,000 rpm and 146 Nm of torque at 4,700 rpm. The mill should be mated to a seven-virtual ratio CVT. Will we get VSA across the range, like our northern neighbours do?

At 4,440 mm long, the 2014 Honda City is just 25 mm longer than the current car but the new 2,600-mm wheelbase (matching the Nissan Almera‘s) is a significant 50 mm longer, minimising overhangs and affording more space inside.

The Malaysian-market 2014 Honda City is set to be locally-assembled at Honda Malaysia’s new No. 2 Line in Melaka, alongside the second-gen Jazz petrol and Jazz Hybrid. See the full oto.my ad here, or learn more about the 2014 Honda City here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Wilfred on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:00 am

shouldn’t it go as cheap as the jazz into 70-80k range if it is CKD enough…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:27 pm

With this so-called new city the sales wd b siding vios 3 to 1 from the current 2 to 1…hail vios…the legend continues to conquer…sorry city…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 45
      • Najib, where is the 30% you Promised? on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 8 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise?

This car in Thailand starts at RM56,000. At this price it comes with VSC and so many more airbags.

Unfortunately when it comes to Malaysia, it will start at RM85,000.

bear in mind that at RM56,000, The Thailand governemtn already collected taxes and duties and the Honda dealership in Thailand also made their untung bersih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib eat all already la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
          • Low Budget on Feb 01, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Some money also gone to Las Vegas shopping mall and perhaps ‘roulette’s table’.

• Thinking on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:21 am

The price start from 70K++. RM85k is high spec version. Previous City start from 83K. I think prices start at rm70k is worth. Please dont be lazy and waste time loitering or play guitar in your village. If you choose lazy, you have to dare to bear hard

• Gently Speaking on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:32 pm

RM70k – RM80k.

That’s the way.

Sharing so many part with Honda Jazz.
      and Honda should get EEV and City should get high tax exemption with high local part content.

Maybe RM85k is a marketing gimmick.
      When Laucnhed, it may be RM70k to RM80k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • arief on Jan 31, 2014 at 12:26 am

I just booked all new city.. the salesperson just finished the training for the new honda city and I already get the clear spec.. (just hindwritten in his note).. the exact date of launching is 18th of march and honda sets to fight against vios which now offers 4 variant.. as low as 70k+…
      There are for variant confirmed.. s, s+, e and v spec…
      yes, we will see 6 airbag for v spec and others have 2…rear vent also provided in e and v spec.. vsa also for only e and v spec.. but we will missed the paddle shifters which now not included in all variants…. there also no leather seats for all variants… maybe they reserved it for another spec (v+ perhaps) in some times after the launch…

the price range is gonna be around 70+ for s… e spec around 85k and v spec gonna fight with vios trd which I think with all the feautures given surely going to kill vios trd…(around 90k-93k).. with touch screen air conditioning control, 6 airbags, 7inch monitor, cruise control, vsa, hill assist, n many tech..sadly still without paddle shifters..:(..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
      • arief on Jan 31, 2014 at 12:36 am

Haha..sorry there’s a lot of typo… im using my hp only.. haha… :p

• Low Budget on Feb 01, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Too ambitious to kill Vios-lah, many Apek and Nyonya driving Vios, Honda must lower their expectation and fight to kill of Proton Suprima and Inspira, but then me think the Gomen won’t allow it to happen due to ‘negotiated incentive’ for Honda CKD cars.

• armandd on Feb 07, 2014 at 3:04 am

What kill of? Suprima and Inspira are C-segment cars, Vios and City are from B-segment.

• apekgoh on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:03 am

is the chasis the same, or entire new?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • orion on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:05 am

Shouldn’t it be cheaper since it is CKD? Why still remain almost same as the old price…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • hondaman on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:44 pm

current CT is also CKD. the price will be nearly the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Low Budget on Feb 01, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Even Honda want to sell cheap also cannot-lah, the amount of tax is controlled by Gomen and it varies from manufacturer to manufacturer and also from model to model.

• RON97 on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:06 am

For average people, this car is good enough -Space, fuel, highway cruising only steering bit soft.

• Maserati on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:06 am

Great car. Puts the elantra n cerato to shame in terms of chassis and drivability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 61
    • do you know elantra and cerato is what segment ? city is what segment ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 11
      • Maserati on Jan 31, 2014 at 8:26 am

Exactly! Elantra and cerato C segment but drives worst than a B segment 2009 Honda City let alone this new one.

Go figure!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
        • masak roti on Jan 31, 2014 at 10:43 am

Obviously u are another liar like Sam Loo. Like what pakcik said, fo clinic, take medicine and go sleep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Anti basher on Feb 01, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Maserati…go and test drive both of the car u bashed and give a clean and unbiased review here then u will know where it belongs….if not dare u r just another sam loo shadow hard core basher

• Maserati on Feb 02, 2014 at 9:34 am

FYI , i test drove both Elantra n Cerato and both never came close to the joy of driving a Civic or even the current city model.

Heck, even a Waja drove better than the above 2.

• PakcikSakitKah on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Pakcik Sam family member, you mimpi lagi atau massih sakit? Tolong pergi ambil satu malaysia ubat dekat klinik, lepas itu tidur diam diam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Feb 01, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Kimchi D-Segment owners will ask used car dealers for a trade in on their 3rd grade vehicles as replacement. They will go for either sushi B or C segmen, coz thats all they can afford with 15month old Sonata going at RM70k trade in value

• SamLooTheLiarHead on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Hahahahahah, Sam liar still Sam liar in year 2014

• Low Budget on Feb 01, 2014 at 5:53 pm

AiYoYo, Elantra is much bigger and spacious than this City, You need to compare City with Vios, Almera or Hyundai Accent (if there is new model coming).

• elantra/i30/cerato/ ceed are sold in north america/ europe mkt…this city is only sold in 3rd world countries like asean, india ….go figure, which is a world class product & why city is not sold in developed countries?

• City > Vios on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:19 am

city > vios =)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 5
  • Honda is not working hard on the styling both interior and exterior for 2014 City!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • HondaLover on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:30 am

Thats the time.
    The ugly junk vios and almera can bungkus now!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 9
    • no u re wrong.. the one who only can bungkus is vios….
      almera still has its own fans due to cheaper price and spacious cabin in its class….but between vios and city,,,,city is better…vios is a totally junk..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
  • azrai on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:33 am

Wah…so fast. To find the truth, it is easy. Ask Honda dealer is there any more current City stock. Is there is no or only limited unit, then yes the new city is on the production line already.

• Now,if Honda could price their City competitively loaded with features, I’m sure it could overtake the Vios and Almera sales which offer kosong specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • sudonano on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:37 am

My vote is they would follow the City specs in Thailand here, since there are expected 4 variants, I’d assume the S MT, V AT, V+ (with the 6 airbags) AT, and the SV+ AT (also with 6 airbags, and the touch screen nav and climatronic).

The S MT can help reduce the base price, and also give the Vios J MT a run for the money, cause the Vios J MT is the only manual Japanese car below the 100k mark.

Or it could be that they keep only 3 variants, and drop the Manual City.

Either way, Honda better be smart, Vios is not well equipped for the price.

Any ideas if the hybrid will come?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • nichkhun on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Almera manual e spec rm66k and mitsubishi attrage manual price rm61k for gL spec..much more affordable compared to vios j manual rm74k

• sudonano on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Oh yea forgot the Almera MT. Attrage is smaller than a Vios/Almera I think. And most likely the Honda will get superior safety too…

• donut on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:43 am

VSA for 2 variant only…while all variant use rear drum brake..confirmed! true story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • ntah pa2 on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:48 am

city baru tak cantik pon..vios baru pon tak cantik almera tak cantik..keta segment B skrg mmg design tak cantik ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • Ok I understand you want to say your kancil is cantik right?

Lolololololololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • civicowner on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:52 am

dont expect too much lor,2 variant only both come with vsa, dual airbag, no touchscreen, no climate control, and still better than vios, reliable enough than cerato

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • longer than almera? i’m eagerly looking for this in solid, almera is too long in its segment, and this is even longer…i’m really wants to see how city looks like

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Back to CVT??!!! Is service interval still every 3 months? I’m gonna look elsewhere

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Xplorer on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Wondering… 100% same 7 Speeds CVT Gearbox or totally brand new gear box? Anyone know bout this? TQ.

• Yeah, still remember the old dugong’s city CVT problems….lots of -ve feedback which prompt honda to revert back to normal torque converter gb for the prev City…now back to CVT?…btw, future jazz will be available wt DCT (honda’s term on twin clutch GB ala VW’s DSG)….guess, msian are bttr off wt a cvt due to our heavy traffic jams, DCT will be jerky in stop starts traffic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • The price is more or less expected but I am more concearn of the spec. I am very certain of VSC available in all models but Honda Malaysia has never been promising with their airbags offering considering that in Thailand the Accord gets 6 airbags while Malaysia….it was depleted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Denaihati on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:42 pm

although not much different in-term of exterior design compare to current model, looks like have much changes, stop button, air-con switch, inside temp, indicator and etc. i think have a quite attractive feature to compete. uses of current engine is good enough but if have hybrid version is much better.

• spongewai on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:50 pm

the price of new City is still unchanged I think… hmm, good move or bad?!

=|

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Jaybond on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:56 pm

This car could be the best value for money in the B segment judging from the specs.VW Malaysia must be scratching their heads now given the downgraded specs of the CKD Polo Sedan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • hoong on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:57 pm

If honda smarten up, then give 6x airbags, vsa, all three-point seat belts etc safety features. And I hope buyers will buy the seller not just the product. Safety features shd not come in a premium, it shd be made standard.

• There will be 4 variants of the new City. The lowest grade will be priced the same as Almera.

• Welcome back rubber band gearbox! Good news coz more fc saving. Bad news is still same old engine la.. time to TC it la Honda.

• skatax on Jan 30, 2014 at 7:17 pm

HM already screwed up the City RV when they gave 8k discount selling current City since end last year. In used car market, the starting price for 2nd hand City dropped > 10k alone due to this. Selling the new City at original price can no longer revert the screwed up RV.

HM should start selling the new car at current discounted price, say 82k for the highest spec. In terms of overall package, HM still suck anyway. At this car segment, the final verdict will be on personal preference since all cars in this segment looks bland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
  • Sunroof on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:06 pm

No sunroof? :o

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Jebat on Jan 31, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Dari belakang nampak macam Preve kan? Honda dah tiru design Preve nampaknya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • honda lover on Jan 31, 2014 at 10:46 pm

we want diesel varian.. 26 km/l

• Question on Feb 03, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Is the new city build in China ?

• city lover on Feb 07, 2014 at 9:41 am

Does city still required 3 month service(5k mileage service??). It was very bad. Vios can last for 6 month service. I think it will be part of the consideration to choose the car.

• Xplorer on Feb 20, 2014 at 9:37 am

Hope not the same 100% from Previous CVT 7 Speeds Gearbox !!!